HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 15c Scientific Calculator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 15c Scientific Calculator

HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(125 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 125 reviews
5 Stars
99
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
120 out of 125(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Review 1 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mandeville, LA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the the HP 15C because I had heard so many people raving about it. I was not disappointed. This baby is now a part of my HP calculator collection. It will not be a daily use calc, I have a 50g for that purpose, but I will take it out from time to time, just to experience the glory days of HP calculators.
HP please bring back the 42s and WebOS!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thanks for listening

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Bought my first 15C in the early eighties. Scientist stuck behind a banker's desk, I plugged in my 'Annuities & Compound Amounts' program and used it daily for nearly thirty years. Changed the batteries once. Never had to re-key the program. I've still got it and it still works but the rubber feet finally came off and when I left banking, I removed the batteries and carefully packed it away to preserved what life was left.
Thanks for listening to your customers HP. The Limited will do just fine and gives me the chance to carry it everywhere again. Complaints about key texture, battery consumption, and the PSE bug in my mind are overblown fixations. It is back. And whoever was responsible for its reincarnation deserves a raise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Return of a Classic

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had an HP-16C, but this 15C LE is my first HP-15C. All the classic looks, nice feel, buttons a little different than my recollections of the HP-16C, but nice feel nonethless. For those not familiar with the size, the 15C is over an inch shorter in width than the 35s is in length, so it sits better in a shirt pocket.
I have HP calculators dating back to 1975, and all of them still work. Hoping this new LE will also be long-lived. Aside from the fact that I'm an RPN fan, I've also not had good luck with survival of other calculator brands, of which my wife and I have had many since the dawn of the era of consumer calculators. No other brand has had the quality keyboard feel that HP has in their classic calculators, and it's nice to see it revived with the HP-35s, HP-50g, and now the revived HP-15C LE. Thanks for listening, HP! We may be a dying breed, but there's still a lot of us that appreciate quality (and you know better than anyone how nit-picky we are) and we are willing to pay for it.
If you're looking for a practical, daily-use, quality RPN calculator, I heartily recommend this one. You won't be disappointed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Evah!

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my HP 15C. It is hands down the best scientific calculator out there.
It feels like a real tool, not a toy. You hold it and it naturally falls into your hands. The buttons feel like they are a well-oiled machine. Solid keypresses. Solid body. Solid numerics.
The landscape orientation looks odd, but it is natural and fast for manipulation by people trying to get work done.
RPN seems awkward at first, but it is the best way to compute numerical answers. Way faster, and it makes sense to a numerical mind.
Plus this thing can do tons of advanced features, given a chance. Tons.
I got my first in high school 20 years ago. I had my name engraved on it. I just got my dad's spare, now that he is retired. If they release additional supply of the limited edition, I will get two for my kids.
Only problem, they don't come in pink (for my daughter). Is that too much to ask? :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great HP11c Replacement

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was sorry that I sold my HP11c years ago after getting out of the electronics industry, but the HP15c is a great replacement. Both calculators (HP11c or HP15c) have more features than I ever need for the electronics formulas I use. I've never found a formula that RPN couldn't solve frontwards, backwards, or inside-out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

15c is unsurpassed in design

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Safford, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best-designed calculator ever manufactured. The software logic is a little antiquated (in programm mode, for example, the commands are listed by key locations still, rather than by actual function).
If the calculator is ever updated with the same keyboard layout but the software updated to a friendlier format, the 15c fans will buy it again - even though their other 15cs are still running like champs.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I love this calculator!

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlington, VA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the third 15C that I own. I have the one I bought in graduate school in the 1980s plus another used model I bought on EBay in 2006. I paid more for the EBay model than this brand new model from HP that works much faster. The 15C is the caqlculator of choice for scientists and I love it. I am glad HP decided to reissue it, thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to have the HP 15C back.

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wichita, KS
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased, as with the original. My original was retired years ago because I loved the thing but was afraid it might wear out. It still works perfectly. The new one works great and looks like it's well built too. It's nice to have one for everyday use again. Hats off to HP for listening to their customers and bringing the HP 15C back again. Whoever proposed this re-introduction at HP should be promoted to the top. Thanks HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP15c finally is back!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cancun Q. Roo
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definitely the best scientific calculator. My old hp15c still working perfectly since 1985
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just like I remembered....

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like many other reviewers, I used one of these 15c's in my college days. This one is every bit as good as my (still working) original -- except faster. The keys on my unit were not loose as some other reviewers had mentioned.
If you had one of these -- go for it , you won't be dissappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A walk back in time...

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brighton, MI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought the HP15C limited edition and then I just bought another one..! I've been using one since the 1980's when they came out and love how fast and compact they are. My original one finally started acting up a few months ago and I went on a search to find a replacement when I discovered to my dismay that HP had come out with a Limited Edition and were sold out of them about the time I found out about it. I thought about buying a vintage on ebay but the prices were ridiculous as were the prices people wanted for the Limited Edition since HP was out so, I waited and I watched the HP website betting that they would do another run and they did. Thanks HP for that second run of the Limited Edition HP15C... You can stop now. I have all I need..!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice revision!

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This new model holds up well to the HP calculator tradition. The keys feel good. Construction is good. The form factor is ideal. The increased speed is nice, too.
Oh, the box! If you are looking for a Dad/Grad gift, the box alone is sure to impress.
I'm a longtime HP calculator fan. My first was an 11C back in the early 80's. Quickly upgraded to the 15C, which got me through college. Got a 48gx, and then a couple years ago got a 50g. Always preferred the 15C.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The definitive engineering calculator

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you prefer RPN (and you should) the HP15C is the perfect calculator. I have been an engineer for over 30 years (still technical) and have lived in fear of my old HP15C giving out. Although it is still going strong I was delighted by the new run of limited edition units (I got two). If you have a problem that is beyond it, you should be using a computer anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's great HP re-released the HP15C. My original was stolen at work in the 1990s and I've missed it ever since. The new Limited Edition version is every bit as good as the original. Perfect layout. Good tactile feedback on the keys. That old solid HP calculator feel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad to have a new RPN calculator

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it! My original 11C (~30 years old) is still working great, but it is great to have a new, faster RPN calculator in case the 11C ever dies. I put the 15C to a test and it really is much faster than the 11C.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's About Time...

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Riverside, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a used 15C years ago from my brother. It is one of my most cherished engineering tools. Now I am able to have two more and I've been giving others away as presents.
Good job Hewlett-Packard!
Now bring back the HP 41CX.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank You!!!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been watching Ebay for 11c and 15c for years debating whether or not to buy one. My old friend, 11c, was starting to fade on the display and the keys sometimes had to be pressed hard to connect. I never could cough up $150-$250 for a calculator that may have the same issues I already had, so I bought a 33s. Never got used to the enter key and sometimes hit the decimal key instead. Hated it! Bought the 15C LE and saw reviews that the manual was not as good as original. Saw on Ebay that someone offers a reproduction of the 15c that is wirebound - $30. Bought it also. Got both now and LOVE the new 15C. Keys are crisp and display is clear - no scratches - yet! The repro manual is pretty good. It is a bit thick compared to the one out of the box, but I like it. I work in an engineering firm and now 4 others have ordered theirs after seeing mine. My kids think I am such a nerd because I am so excited about a calculator. Feel like a kid at Christmas!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Engineering Calculator

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used the HP-15C in the '80s as an electronic design engineer, and it was always my favorite engineering calculator. The keyboard layout seems perfectly natural and logcal, and the advanced functions are extensive.
The new "Limited Edition" is virtually identical to the original (except for back panel & battery layout), but MUCH faster with an updated ARM processor. I like the "feel" of the keys even better than the original (which I still own), although the f and g keys (on one of the two units I bought) feel slightly loose, unlike the original. However, this is a minor quibble and I still give an overall rating of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's about time.

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:US Midwest
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's about time that HP finally is again making available a RPN calculator worth purchasing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 15c Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally back . . .

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I could never afford this calculator when it first came out. I was only in grade school at the time. I always wanted one. Later when I started working and started college, I chose the first HP Scientific calculator I could afford, the 20S. I still have that calculator today. Wish I had a 40S (hint, hint HP). I truly thank HP for listening to customers and bringing back the 15C. The quality is decent and the price seems fair. I will use this calculator as my go-to. It really is a true representation of, if you will, goldilocks design.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>