HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator

hp HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator

HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Review 1 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Get a better one

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-The buttons on this are terrible. About 70% of the time they don't register being pushed, unless you smash the button like driving nails. Very frustrating when doing anything, because it slows you way down, and you have to be looking at the screen for each button push to be sure it registers. Typing 123456789 will almost always show a random number that it didn't pick up.
-No auto off. No solar.
-The C and power button need to be reversed. The power button feels like it is where the C button should be, I find myself hitting power over and over to try to get it to clear. C is in an unusual spot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great financial calculator!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Eagle Mountain, UT
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeping up with the HP name, this is a great quality calculator. It is well built and performs many necessary financial calculations. The little carrying pouch it comes with is a great added touch as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 10bll+ Financial Calculatot

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well, has many features. I've been usung financial calulatoes for 40 years, they come in handy for small jobs and can be carried in a shirt pocket. This calulator is up too or ahead of the many I have used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best handheld calculator?

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Lafayette IN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I graduated with a BS of Mechanical Engineering in the mid-eighties. I extensively used many classic HP calculators like the HP-41 in its V and X versions. I currently own an HP-15C, an HP-17BII, HP-27S and other middle liners pioneers, including an HP-21S and an HP-10B in its original pioneer iteration. Said that, just to warrant I know previous HP calculator quality fairly well. This new HP-10BII+ is light, its display is crystal clear and has great contrast, the keyboard has a firm click feel and all the functions are a couple of keys away. A calculator is all about human-machine interface. This calculator is well rounded as a device with simple and straight to the point interfacing. It allows quick execution of its functions that are way beyond any other calculator of its class/price. Personally, I prefer to have only basic functionality in a calculator, anything more complex goes to either, Mathematica, Excel, SAS or R in a computer. The function set in the HP-10BII+ is a good example of an almost ideal set before to need a computer. What else could be asked for in a calculator of this price? As an engineer working now in management, that requires occasional basic arithmetic, some business estimation to crack numbers when analyzing financial statement in a board room or verifying a formula results in excel and the likes, I cannot think in a better match for a calculator to have handy. Besides it looks classy without being outdated. Once, a recent graduated engineer, when saw my HP-15C in my desk told me, Ah! My grandfather used to have one calculator like that, are you really that old? I am pretty sure I will not need to explain my age to anybody using this nice updated classy calculator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

keys are HORRIBLE feeling

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am sad. As someone who has owned HP-01, 35, 80, 45, 91, 65, 41CX, 18C, 19, 32S, 49G, 110, 300, 9862A, 3585B (and almost ALL available accessories), ALL good quality products, this one has a key feel as though you got it in a ceral box for free.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic upgrade

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just replaced my beloved HP10 business calculator from 1987 (yeah, it still works 100%) with this brand new HP10bII+ and my world was updated beautifully. All the functions I require, including additional stats and trig. Fast, well designed, and with similar/few keystrokes. Incredibly priced and very satisfying to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 10b II vs TI BA II Plus

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I’m taking Intro to Accounting & Finance, and Biostatistics and needed a special calculator for both classes.
I had purchased a basic TI statistics calculator in the early 90’s and was very pleased with it, but it didn’t have the financial functions I needed. So decided to ‘upgrade’ to the newer TI BA II Plus, thinking it would be similar quality, ease of use, and that it would work for both classes. I was very disappointed.
The BA II Plus is not intuitive to use. There are endless keystrokes required for most functions (e.g. TVM), and you’ll never remember how to do them without consulting the manual. Unfortunately, the manual is very poorly written, adding to frustration. The quality of the BA II Plus was less than I expected. I had to s-l-o-w-l-y punch each button or it wouldn’t register on the unit. The case is 100% plastic (vs. 99.98% for the HP unit, which I will explain later). The unit was not “square” so when I put it on my desk it rocked back and forth with every keystroke. I HATED this. It always slid around on the tabletop, too. The unit is supposed to do Standard Deviations and other statistics functions, but they were even more cumbersome than the Financial functions. I decided to exchange the BA II Plus for the HP 10b II, and am very glad I did.
The HP 10b II is a little wider than the TI model, but the extra space actually makes the buttons easier to push. They have a good, solid feel when entering numbers (other reviews have complained about them – I disagree). The HP 10b II is 99.98% plastic, but that last .02% comes in the form of tiny rubber feet at each corner of the unit, and you won’t believe what a difference that makes!!! The unit sits squarely on the table, and it does NOT move. I love it! The keystroke combinations are much more intuitive than the TI model, and fewer entries are required for the same calculation. It handles both Financial and Stat problems very well. The user manual is clearly written in plain English, with numerous real-world examples. It is a dream compared to the TI manual. Some reviews have complained that the HP 10b II case/cover is too flimsy to do any good. I also disagree with that. Yes, it is made of flexible vinyl, but it has a durable, leather-like feel that will not tear or wear out easily. Yes, the buttons can be pushed even with the unit inside the cover, but there is an automatic shut-off function to preserve battery life even if it is accidentally turned on. Unless you plan to pound on the unit with an axe, the case is definitely acceptable and offers all the protection you need for everyday use – even carrying in a backpack. Don’t waste your time with the TI BA II Plus – go for the HP 10b II.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

save your receipt

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this calculator as it was recommended for a class. Ended up not using the calculator for first month. Went to use it to simple TVM problem and the number of payments per year is stuck at 12. Already threw the receipt away so I cannot return it. Make sure you save your receipt. Spent time looking through support questions reading manual, but didnt see this issue addressed anywhere. Now I cannot trust the calculations because I do not know what else is possibly wrong with the calculator.
Poor quality.
I had heard great things about this calculator and I am sure another might do better, but for the price I shouldnt have to be going back and forth to the store to find one that works.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Calculator

PostedMay 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA (USA)
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this calculator just for fun and to use around the house and I have to say it has been well worth it. This past tax season it came in handy. This calculator has been a good investment and lots of fun to use. I would tell anyone to look into getting this. Another great HP product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 10bII+ is great! Kills the TI BAII+

PostedApril 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:tennessee
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP 10bII+ Financial Calculator
Review as it appears in the HP Solve Newsletter, published by Hewlett Packard
What is it?
The HP 10bII+ is Hewlett Packard’s revised entry-level financial calculator. It updates the functionality of the HP 10bII for the first time since the introduction of the original HP 10B back in January of 1989. These changes really increase the functionality provided on this entry-level financial calculator – so much so that calling it entry-level just seems wrong! Packing all these new features into the HP 10bII is incredible!
Physical differences
Two shift keys are now present: The familiar yellow for functions written on the front of the keys and a new light blue for functions written above the keys. The shift keys even show an arrow that actually indicates the “up” or “down” nature of the shifted functions. The silver band around the key area is gone. This was removed partly to make room for the blue-shifted function nomenclature. More display annunciators are present: two shift indicators, an indicator for the inverse key, indicators for the 360-day calendar mode and semiannual coupons, and an indicator for radians mode. The STATS indicators have been beefed up to indicate whether an X or Y value is being displayed.
Chain and algebraic mode
The HP 10bII+ can be placed into either chain mode or an algebraic mode with hierarchy by the mode toggle ALG/CHAIN. When pressed, the display flashes a message to indicate which mode is active. In chain mode, 1+2x3 returns a result of 9, while in algebraic mode, it evaluates to 7. Sadly, RPN is not present on this model. The operator stack has 13 locations available for a combination of operators and parentheses.
Trig and hyperbolic functions
The HP 10bII+ includes trigonometric functions and their inverse functions as well as the corresponding hyperbolic functions with their inverses. The angle mode can be set to degrees or radians using the mode toggle DEG/RAD. The INV key is intelligent enough to know that if you just pressed SHIFT INV, you intend to compute an inverse sine if you follow those two keypresses with the 4 key, since the sine function is above it. Similarly, the HYP key can be pressed without additional shift key presses. Very smart!
Bond calculations
The HP 10bII+ receives a nice upgrade by providing functions to calculate bond price and yield. A bond with a call provision is also handled nicely by changing the default value of 100 stored in the CALL register to the appropriate call value.
Date calculations
The HP 10bII+ now does date calculations in actual or 360-day calendar modes. To compute the days between two dates, key the first date, press INPUT, key the second date and press SHIFT DAYS. For a date given a date and a number of days, key the date, press INPUT, key the number of days and press SHIFT DATE. Dates may be entered in M.DY or D.MY formats, depending on the mode setting. When a date is displayed the last digit on the right indicates the day of the week.
Breakeven calculations
The breakeven relationship including a target profit is calculated using the third row of blue-shifted functions. FC is the fixed cost, SP is the sales price per unit and VC is the variable cost per unit. This is very handy for the student.
Depreciation calculations
The HP 10bII+ handles depreciation calculations in the same way that the HP 12c models do. The original cost is stored in PV, the salvage value is stored in FV while I/YR is used to hold the declining balance factor and N holds the expected life of the asset. The user enters the year for which the depreciation is to be calculated and presses SHIFT followed by the SL, SOYD or DB function to compute straight line, sum of the year’s digits, or declining balance method. The depreciation is returned to the display and the X and TVM indicators are turned on. Pressing shift SWAP will display the remaining depreciable value and turn on the Y indicator. The TVM indicator is on to indicate a TVM calculation is in progress and that TVM registers are being used.
Enhanced statistics
The HP 10bII+ now has a random number generator, permutations, and combinations built-in. The random number seed can be set by keying a value and pressing SHIFT STO RAND. Having two key positions dedicated to directly compute permutations and combinations may not seem like a big deal, since the calculation using factorials isn’t all that complicated. However, if a student is computing a hypergeometric probability calculation by hand (and yes, I used to make my students do this), having these built-in rather than computing them using the factorial key will be a big time saver, since it is essentially three combination calculations in sequence.
Probability Distributions
In addition, the factorial function will compute the gamma function if given a non-integer argument. The HP 10bII+ also has two probability distributions built-in: the normal and student’s t-distributions. For the normal distribution, enter a standardized z-value and press Shift Z->P. To find the inverse normal distribution, enter the cumulative probability and press SHIFT INV Z->P to compute the z-value. To find a probability using the student’s t distribution, enter the degrees of freedom, press SHIFT t->P, enter a t-value and press =. To compute an inverse student’s t distribution calculation, enter the degrees of freedom, press Shift t->P, enter the probability, and press =. The student’s t calculation can also be set up as a constant calculation using K, the constant key. This is very useful for students, as tables won’t need to be referenced in the back of a textbook any longer.
Six regression models and best fit
In addition to linear regression, the HP 10bII+ can fit logarithm, exponential, power, exponent and inverse models to data by opening the regression environment by pressing SHIFT REGR. The presently selected model is displayed and + and - move up and down through the choices. When the display indicates the model desired, pressing INPUT will select that model. The actual fit occurs when a regression function is executed. Pressing SHIFT 4 will estimate an X value given a Y value and return the correlation in the SWAP position. Pressing SHIFT 5 will estimate a Y value given an X value and return the slope (the m coefficient for other models) in the SWAP position. Pressing SHIFT 6 will compute the weighted average (X weighted by Y) but also returns the slope (the b coefficient for other models) in the SWAP position. When best fit is selected, the HP 10bII+ quickly selects the model with the best correlation and then displays “Best fit” for a moment followed a quick display of the model chosen. .
New data editors
The HP 10bII+ also includes the ability to review and edit statistics and cash flow data. Pressing RCL CF or RCL SIGMA+ opens up a data review editor where pressing + or - moves you up or down through entered X,Y data values or cash flow values and cash flow frequencies.
There is now dedicated space for 15 cash flows and 15 statistics data points. In addition, there is a shared data space for any combination of up to 30 additional cash flows or statistics data points. So it is possible to have 15 cash flows and 45 statistics data points, 30 cash flows and 30 statistics data points, 45 cash flows and 15 statistics data points, or any other valid combination.
The HP 10bII+ also allows the direct computation of values such as the coefficient of variation, which is the standard deviation divided by the mean. Simply compute the standard deviation, press +, compute the mean and press the = key. On the earlier HP 10bII model, the mean must be computed first and stored into a memory.
Other goodies
The HP 10bII+ gets a previous answer function whereby the value previously computed when = was pressed can be recalled at any point by pressing RCL =. This is very useful. Note that this stores the value displayed anytime the = key is pressed.
The HP 10bII+ also includes 10 extra memories, 10-19, which are accessed using the old method of pressing the decimal point before the memory digit. Memory 1 is accessed by STO 1, while memory 11 is accessed by STO . 1 for example. Given the “M” register, the HP 10bII+ now has 21 addressable data memories.
Compared to the competition
The basic competitor for the HP 10bII+ calculator is probably the Texas Instruments BAII+ calculator. The TI engineers are probably not happy with this new HP entry, since each of the functions shown below are present on the HP 10bII+ and are missing from the TI BAII+ calculator. Perhaps TI should rename their model the TI BAII– instead?
Entry of a number in scientific notation
Entry of a number with 12 digits
11 extra storage memories
PI
Normal distribution
Inverse Normal distribution
Student’s t distribution
Inverse Student’s t distribution
Best fit regression choice
Exponent regression model
Inverse (1/x) regression model
Weighted average
Gamma function
Markup calculations
Initial CF0 frequency other than one
No CPT (compute) key needed to solve
That's quite a list! TI might be asleep at the wheel here.
Conclusion
HP has upgraded the HP 10bII with a host of useful functions. If a primary market for the HP 10bII were university students, they can now purchase an HP 10bII+ which should have all the functions for their business and science/mathematics classes. At the suggested MSRP, this is an incredible price / performance point.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.