HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP CalcPad 200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP CalcPad 200

HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating:
2.7 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
6 out of 10(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP CalcPad 200
Review 1 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mid-Level Quality

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
All features as listed work properly. The viewable screen is easy-to-read and makes the product easy to use. I do like being able to input the number into the calculator and then "send" the numbers to the computer. I also appreciate the automatic launch of MS Office applications, such as Word or Excel.
The only performance issue I have noted is that some of the keys do not register when struck, especially if you are using the keypad to enter numbers quickly. As I am an accountant and have a frequent need to enter numeric values, I have had several experiences with this product where the digits I have attempted to enter were omitted on the screen, even if I knew that I had struck the proper keys. If you take a one second pause between each entry, numbers will properly display; however, if you have a need to enter the numbers quickly without error, the correct digits are often lacking. I will likely need to make a different purchase to avoid these frustrations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for me

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WI
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all i'm 75 yrs old and i need large letters and numbers,it's perfect for me.it's the perfect size i love it it's HPCalc Pad 200 thank you so much. Patty of WI.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I do a lot of data entry and wanted a number pad for a new laptop. Works great and will push calculations into excel which is cool. The keys are a little stiff but starting to break in, and the zero is in a different spot than my desktop keyboard. Other than that it is perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tactile Touch

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HP Calc Pad does what it says it will do. It calculates, it plugs into your PC, it opens Software at the touch of a button, it transmits numbers, or it keys it into the cell on the screen. It works well, and it creates two additional USB ports that work.
The tactile feel is heavier than "normal" keyboards and it clicks loudly, but you KNOW when the numbers have been input. Would prefer a little softer and quieter touch (4 stars for Performance).
"Bonus" if you are left handed; I found it very helpful to place it left of the keyboard. I can now use the keyboard's numbers with my right hand, or use my new CalcPad with the left hand. 8-)
It does what it claims to do. It would be really cool if it had a bunch of Mathematical features, but that's why they offer the 10B right?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, D.C.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, I don't understand what all the other reviewers are saying about the keys being hard to push. Either I have a different calcpad 200 or those folks don't know how to use a 10 key machine. keys work fine for me and I've got big hands with big fingers.
Only problem I've got with it is the button for HP Calc isn't hooked up to software automatically. All the other hot keys are cool and the extra USB ports make this product very versatile.
I do agree though, that the device should be half price if sold alone or added as a free extra when purchased with a laptop.
Overall, its a good product that I'll use often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Amherst MA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:Under 25
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst HP product I have ever purchased. The buttons are difficult to press and do not always register with the computer when connected. I would NEVER recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money...

PostedMay 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Concept is great. USB hub, solar powered, standalone calc, and MS Office hot keys. Too bad the features didn't translate to functionality. Keys punch like the old 'chick-let-style' keyboards with very short and hard throws. You must also hit the key squarely in the center, or the stroke will bind and not register. 0 is too small, and all the keys are flatly in the same plane - no elevation to the key stacks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keys too hard to press

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I don't see why anything would have been made with key action like this. The keys should be smooth and easy to press, like any other keyboard on the planet. In theory, it's a great idea but had I been able to feel it before buying it, I would not have bought it.
The way it launches the apps via Start>Run with some kind of macro inputting in the command line is about as far from elegant as possible. I would have left the feature off rather than do it this way.
It's really too big and could have been angled up more towards the user. Not only for comfort but to see the display better. At least the display could have been angled up.
I'll use it for a while to see if I can get used to it and if not, I'll go back to my regular USB 10-key. Likely a waste of $30. Too bad because my HP laptops and HP printers have all been stellar and HP support has been fantastic when one of my laptops needed repair because I dropped it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

MBAstudent

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I purchased this product with the idea that it would be very similar to using the 10 key portion of a full keyboard - It looks like that, but it doesn't work like that.
The fact that it is a stand alone calculator is very cool, because a lot of what you would use 10 key for is in the calculator function. It is also very cool to quickly open Word or Excel with the quick keys.
The problems I ran into started with just trying to type like I was using a 10 key pad on a keyboard. The bottom '0' button is not elevated like a normal keyboard, so my thumb keeps hitting the edge of the keypad instead of the number '0.' The other keys work just the same, because they are not elevated they cannot be punched from a hand on the desk, they have to be punched from above like using a calculator. The next problem I found was that the keys were hard to punch. It took me an average of 2-3 strokes to have the key register on the display. This is very frustrating when trying to type at 10-key speeds.
Overall, I didn't like using the keypad because the buttons didn't work as I expected them to, and it was also loud when hitting each key. It was bothersome to sit in class trying to type each number, keep up with the rest of the class because the buttons don't work, and make a racket while doing it.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP CalcPad 200
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not easy to "type" with

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
For $29.95 it is NOT worth it, but for free when you buy a laptop, why not? The keys are a little tough to type on, since you really have to smash down on them, but the fact that it can be used as an independent calculator is cool, but then again, you can get a calculator like this for free by subscribing to magazine. I guess the real benefit is the 10 key as an auxiliary input for your computer, and the two extra pass-thru USB ports that the CalcPad 200 has. When it is in "PC USB" mode it works like an extension of a regular keyboard. But even when it is not in PC USB mode you can [Send] the numeric data to the application. Having a 12 digit/decimal keypad is nice too. I would say it is worthwhile to get the pad as a "free" add-on, but not worth the retail price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.