HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor

16:9 aspect ratio for optimal viewing of movies, photos, on-line games BrightView technology for reduced glare, sharp images Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic contrast ratio: 30,000:1 Response time: 5ms Integrated speakers: 2W per channel VGA, DVI-D, and HDMI inputs
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
30 out of 36(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Review 1 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Very Good!!

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This really is an amazing monitor. Colors are fantastic. Viewing angle is also very good. The Glossy Brightview screen makes the colors pop very well. Black Blacks, and great response time.
Be sure to use the $100 coupon you can find online.
A 27" monitor for $399.........game over!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stuff

PostedAugust 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: Picture, customizable settings, appearance
Cons: Wimpy speakers (oh well), only 1 HDMI input
had this about 5 days, i'm extremely satisfied thus far. Using the VGA input from a laptop, running at 1920x1080, picture is very good, especially considering the input. Haven't got to use the HDMI or DVI-D inputs yet. Monitor has a a ton of settings accessible through the on-screen menu, using the buttons to set it up is kind of a pain but definitely worth the time as I really got the picture popping with a little bit of tweaking. Monitor is also very aesthetically pleasing, which is a huge plus since it's basically set up in my living room. Speakers are underwhelming, but who honestly buys a monitor based on sound?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so great!

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pros - Size is great and controls are easy enough to get around. HP has excellent customer service even when returning items.
Cons - I tried the DVI connector. Very bad picture. Colors are washed out. There are several settings such as a Games setting that automatically sets the colors and such. When I tried this, the screen was way too bright and the colors became even more washed out. I tried tinkering around with the settings but with little success. I was not able to get full-rich colors like I have been reading from other reviews here. The viewing angle is horrible as well. If you move your head even slightly in any direction, The picture quality goes from bad to worse.
If you are using this monitor for every day office type stuff or even just surfing the internet, it's fine. If you are a gamer, forget it. The game Crysis seemed okay I guess but Age of Conan looked terrible. The problems I list are not defects but appear to be part of design. I didn't try the speakers. I have since returned this monitor to HP.
Other thoughts - I have been in the computer business for nearly 15 years now. I have always purchased (within a certain budget of course) the best of everything so I have a pretty good idea of what to look for. HP usually has excellent products and I have purchased from them before. They just need to do some tweeking for the next round of 27" monitors.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Monitor for the Price

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the 2709m for a week at my office. After a week of use, I am ordering another one for my home. The image and colors are excellent. Set-up was simple and went without a hitch. I used the DVI cable with none of the issues described by another reviewer here (I suspect his problem is a driver and/or software issue, not one with the monitor itself).
The only drawback I see to the monitor, which others have commented on, is red-shift, i.e., when viewed from an angle of more than 45 degrees off center, whites and yellows appear to have a reddish tint. That's not a problem for use as a computer monitor at all, which is how I intend to use it, since you mostly sit right in front of the monitor----it's only an issue for use as a TV/movie monitor for more than 2-3 people, when someone will be sitting off to the side. All in all, not much of a drawback.
Others have commented that the monitor does not have all the features of the HP w2558hc monitor with memory card readers, USB ports, task light, 1920 x 1200 resolution, etc. Personally, I don't miss these. I could have bought the HP w2558hc for about $100 more, but I didn't think those extra features were worth the extra cost, at least for me.
Overall, a great monitor for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

USB

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I personally love this monitor, but the lack of USB ports and the diminished resolution is a bit distracting when setting next to the HP 24 inch with a resolution of 1920 by 1200. Even so I would purchase it again and can not wait until the next one with better resolution comes along.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wowow

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tv or monitor.... MONITOR!!! Really, this has a much better picture than my Tv. It has such rich colors and draws me into whatever I'm doing. Thank you HP for another great product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eyes&Ears

PostedSeptember 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent upgrade from your old 25". But the lack of a built-in camera is a terrible downgrade. A monitor this good needs at least a 5W/channel speaker. As industrry leader, HP please, don't be afraid to set the trend. Put a camera and 5W/ch speakers on your 25 and 27" beauties. You can be sure to sell a lot more. By the way, I'm still buying HP. I definitely recommend it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Picture

PostedSeptember 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My recent purchase of this monitor has been satisfactory. I am quite satified with the quality of the images it produces.
However, there is one item that you should be made aware of. All of the literature I have seen for this monitor specifies that it has two HDNIU inputs. At least for the unit that i received, it onl;y has one HDMI and one DVI input. If you are counting on having two HDMI inputs, you will be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Monitor

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got the monitor few days back. This monitor is simply great with crystal clear picture quality and also value for money. I was looking for some other competitors but hp stands out. Other monitors have bright colors and pictures looks artificial. I do a lot of programming and I have to read a lot of code. Wat I think is sharpness of each letters is the real test. I observed and found HP 2709m had the best sharpness and pixel quality. Only drawback is that it should have an inbuilt web cam and the speaker sound is a little low. I think if they add better speakers and a web cam this monitor will rock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Have Got The HP 2709m And It's Very Nice I Had It For About 2 Mouth And Works Great, And Now It Cheap Has Heck, So I Would Probably Get Anther Now Soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice picture, but...

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, the monitor works great. But I originally brought it because the specs say 2 HDMI ports. Well this monitor only has 1. I went back and forth with HP on this. They finally after sending me another monitor with just the 1 HDMI port, that it is a marketing error. So if you’re looking for 2 HDMI ports, this might not work. HP did send me a DVI to HDMI cable to fix my issue. So there are ways around this. Other then the HDMI issue, I love the monitor. It is big with great picture quality. I use it with my dv7 HP laptop. Plus it is also used along with my HD DirecTV receiver, to watch TV. I was looking at buying a 28inch HDTV for this use. But for the cost and 1080P quality you can't beat this monitor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clear and Bright

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I almost did not purchase the HP2709m as there are some negative reviews on the net. Points taken away because of no web cam, no usb ports, limited resolution low powered speakers, not energy star, etc. After seeing one in person I took the plunge as I have a web cam, usb hub, less than perfect eyesight and I turn the monitor off when not in use.
What I can say is that the the 2709 is considerably easier on my eyes than the Samsung 204B that I am now using as a 2nd monitor. It did need adjustment out of the box but less than I was led to expect. One feature totally under reported and under rated is the ambient light sensor which adjusts the monitor to the room light level.
I challenge anyone to match the picture quality at a price less than others are charging for a 24" monitor. With what I saved I can buy a web cam, USB hub and quite a bit more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!!!!!

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got this new monitor. It is outstanding. Perfect color and sound. Make sure you use the resolution 1920 x 1080 when you set it up. Love the monitor. I can have two or three windows open at the same time and work in a spreadsheet and listen to Christmas music. This was the best Christmas present I have ever gotten myself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Monitor

PostedDecember 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This monitor exceeded my expectations. My first thought was the screen was too bright. But after I adjusted both the monitor and the display driver settings, lowered both the brightness and contrast, it looks great. The quality of the workmanship is first class. Bluray DVD's look outstanding. As to the internal speakers I'm not using them. The screen sits low on the stand, so your not looking up, the stand is solidly built.
Currently running Win7 64bit.
Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice monitor

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-No dead pixels
-It's freaking 27", it is HUGE, but not in a bad way. On the first day I thought it was too big, but it's actually not.
-It's too bright out of the box, but I have adjusted the brightness to 100%, contrast to 0%, and tweaked the brightness and contrast, and gamma manually through my ati radeon video card's catalyst and now it looks wonderful, just the way I want.
-This monitor will make a minor screeching noise under 95% brightness but you shouldn't notice unless the rest of your computer is almost silent (like my computer is). At 100% brightness, it is virtually silent unless your ears are right near the back of the monitor.
-The blacks get very black, and the whites are VERYYY bright. You can tell the difference between 96% and 98% black and 2% and 4% brightness if properly calibrated.
-1 con is that this monitor is quite susceptible to background lighting, and may produce glares.
-This monitor works REALLY GOOD in 720P resolution, in fact I have my desktop running in 720P resolution and everything looks just as good as it does in 1080P (which is its native resolution). The videos look amazing in 720P resolution. (make sure to switch to 1080p resolution before viewing 1080p native videos). But there really aren't that many 1080P videos except for movies on bluray.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attractive Image & Build, Negative Features Set

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had this monitor for a couple of weeks. No dead pixels. Must be setup in native resolution. It is big and wide, though I wish it had more image height. It is set up for 1080p movies.
The speakers are fine for an office enviroment (background music or Windows sounds) and acceptable for limited home entertainment. The build quality of the monitor seems high and is attractively made with a burnished aluminim stand that cannot be adjusted for height, only tilts the monitor up and down and sideways.
Colors are bright and accurate as can be for this type of monitor and reasonably passes assorted gray scale test. Contrast and brightness can be turned way up but it is too bright IMO. Just to let you know it can be cranked up if need be.
Photos and graphics can be stunning depending on application input. Some slight grainyness is observable only upon very close inspection due to native resolution. (It is not the highest). But it is certainly acceptable for all office, photowork and casual viewing and is not detracting at all.
Text is razor sharp in office documents and web browsing and I can actually read sharp text down to about 1/16 of an inch on the screen.
Movies play as good as it gets and gaming graphics are excellent and portrayed realisticly. I have not played a Blu-Ray disc yet.
Now the nitty gritty. It's abient light sensor is too sensitive, (though I like the feature). Often dimming or brightening the screen up and down within a few seconds like a slow flicker. This occurs whether using it night or day to the very very slightest change of light conditions. For instance yawning with my arms raised will change the screen brightness. And if you have this monitor by a window on a cloudy day, forget it. Turn the ambient lite sensor off. I do not know if this is damaging to the monitor or not.
There is some glare to the monitor due to the glossy screen, (which I believe helps to make images more attractive) thought it is advertised with anti-reflective coating. Some people may find it bothersome. You may just have to rearrange the lights in your room. The anti-reflective coat does keep reflection to a minimum.
The worst thing about this monitor is that it is advertised with 30,000 dynamic ratio, but I did not know it is available only in the video mode. You must manually change into this and every other mode advertised. There are 3 buttons on the bottom right of the monitor and I have learned to use 3 fingers do about 12 clicks on average to change modes. And anytime you change any adjustment on the monitor it knocks off the ambient lite sensor and you must go back do some more clicking to turn it back on!
The suggested setting for different modes; photo, movie, etc., still has not been corrected for being overly saturated and is factory set. For istance if you leave it in gaming mode and switch to text, the resulting text are all rainbow colored. Any of these mode changes require huge manual input and ought to really be done automatically by the computer given todays power and memory available. This is a terrible oversight by HP IMO.
That said, I still like the monitor and the price is very reasonable. There was a better monitor from HP, the 2558, but it has been discontinued. Also, the 2809 is advertised to use EasyClip, but strangely it is not available anymore. The ambient lite sensor is also weirdly NOT an advertised feature.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this Monitor!

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought this monitor a couple weeks ago and have had nothing but success. The Graphics are great when i play my PS3 on it and just using my normal Windows. I was scared at first that it would not work with My ps3 but it was just plug and play. Very good quality and think it is the best monitor that i have used so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice picture

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hooked this monitor up to my desktop laptop and PS3 and it all looks very good. Even on my 7 year old desktop it looks like a really nice HD picture. It is a lot bigger than I expected though but I guess that is expected since I upgraded from a 15" screen to this one.
I am very happy with this monitor it runs my PS3 very well. No ghosting no dead pixels and everything seems too be great so far only had it about a week but I am very impressed with everything this monitor has to offer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CADD

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using this monitor for a few months and it works great in a CADD enviorment. I have it set as the main monitor and a 22" as the second monitor in a vertical (letter) format. The 22" montior to my surprise works perfect next the 27" in height.
The 27" monitor is fast and no lag time for drawing and reduces the amount of zooms throughout the day. If your thinking about using this for a cadd station I would buy this monitor again and again. At the price it is hard to beat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 2709m 27" Diagonal Full HD Widescreen LCD Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Screen & Value

PostedJanuary 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this for myself to use, and just opened up the box and fired it up today. All I can say is WOW. SUPER easy setup, and the colors are just breathtaking! (I'm a designer, and a gamer).
I'm running full detail Modern Warfare 2, no ghosting. Excellent detail! After lots of research and looking around, this monitor is amazing!
The only thing it didn't have, was a vertical adjustment, but that's very minor.
I don't use the speakers, as i use external.. so I can't comment on that. I'm hooked in via DVI cable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.