HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive

Stylish and affordable
Overall rating:
2.625 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
6 out of 16(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Review 1 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have for anyone, especially with HP computer

PostedMay 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I bought this to supplement my other USB flash drives and my external hard drive. I wanted another flash drive, so I decided to look for an HP brand. I guess I should have known, but I didn't know HP made a flash drive. When I saw it, I had to buy it. It goes well with my HP Pavilion Entertainment laptop and my HP Pavilion Media Center desktop. Very stylish and sleek. It holds 16 GBs of music, movies, videos, photos, documents, pretty much anything you want to save. This is a must have for anyone with a computer, especially with an HP computer. I am a college student, so I use flash drives to save and store essays, reports, and papers. I can carry them with me anywhere. I'll probably be getting an HP external hard drive as well. Love HP. Top of the line. And their customer service is top notch!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a reliable flash drive

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Flash drive worked great for about five months and now none of my computers or laptops recognize it; it's fried. HP should charge less for something that lasts only a short period of time. I expected this flash drive to last much longer. Buyer beware.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Failed in less than a year

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this because I had a HP credit to use -- the USB flash drive worked fine in a Windows 7 HP laptop, however about 10 months later while copying files to it using Windows XP (SP3) it began running slower and slower to the point of becoming unresponsive.
After that it no longer worked on any PC I tried it on. It showed no space used or available. Could not reformat it. Dead. I'll look for another brand for a replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It did not work on win XP SP3

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Windows XP SP3 recognized the flash drive as a Removable Disk, however, it shows "X:\is not accessible. Access is denied" whenever I try to use it.
In short, I could not use it and there are no drivers on HP page to download.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this to transfer files from work to home, and from my home computer to my laptop. I have had it for about 6 months now and I don't have a single complaint. I really like the fact that it is small enough to fit in my pocket or on a key chain and it can carry a somewhat large quality of information. I use it for work files, pictures, music, and movies. I like it so much that I am now in the market for a larger one. For the price, you can't beat it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Windows 7 Backup

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this USB Flash Drive (16GB) to run backups. Windows 7 does not recognize it as an available backup destination.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well with all my HP products

PostedJune 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mesa, AZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use primarily HP products and have had no problems with my current 16GB Flash Drive and am in the process of buying another one. It stores all my files for back-up and uplaods and downloads to and from my PC and Notebook very quickly.
Dust Devil Mike ........................
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

"did you know"

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Stoke on Trent England
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the 4g 8g 16g memory sticks from hp are all compatable with windows ready boost meaning that if your pc has not got much memory plugging in one of these your pc should automaticly regognise the stick bringing up a properties box along the options on the top you ll see readyboost then clicking on that box gives you the option to use all or part of the devise for it this works on vista and windows 7 only though i have a 4g stick and on mine i dont see much difference as i have ample memory installed but on my mums pc which only has 2g of memory the results are really noticable and you can tell it is working
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A very flakey jump drive

PostedJune 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Albany, OR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I saw this jump drive at the college bookstore this week and picked it up since I needed to upgrade from 8 gb to 16 gb. While the files copied over to the new drive fine it does have a problem when I put videos from another computer into it corrupting the folder the files were copied to. Make sure you use the safe eject program when you use this one or you might be formatting your jump drive all the time and you should back it up to another reliable source as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fried after a couple of months

PostedApril 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
The USB does not work after a few months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer beware...

PostedMarch 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Just bought this at my local Staples. Came home, popped it into the computer and, nothing at all. I'm running Windows Vista Home Premium and the thumbdrive caused my computer to lock-up....three times. The thumb drive was never recognized. The computer locked-up every time I opened Explorer to look for the device.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable POC

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I trusted the HP brand, thinking it was top of the line and reliable. However, after utilizing the 16g flash drive I purchased for about 3 weeks, it completely fried on my. I cannot even get any PC to recognize that the flash drive is connected. Think twice before storing anything you need on this type of device. If your experience is like mine, you WILL be disappointed.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Backup using Vista

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using a 4G PNY flash Drive for backup on my Vista Dell computer. I ran out of space and bought a v125w 8G HP Flash Drive. When I try to backup Vista it will not recognize the HP drive. I have another 8G PNY drive and it works just fine. This is the case on two different computers. So the statement on the HP drive that it supports Vista does not seem to be exactly true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

16g usb flash drive

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it. it helps store all my personal files pictures music and so on. It makes it easy to go from one computer to the next without any hassles.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't work in Honda

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought 4 of these for use in my 09 Honda Pilot to hold my mp3 files. One works fine, The other three do not. So they may, or may not, work in your application. Feel lucky????
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP v125w 16GB USB Flash Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More Power For You!

PostedJune 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Read my other posts on the 4 GB and 8 GB, and this 16 GB will have you just dizzy! Giving your Wi-Fi sufficient and ample room to breathe - par excellence for those using multi-medias or gaming ~ or if you happen to be one of those who are addicted to everything - movies, music, games, to everything galore ... this 16 GB really gets you going and makes everything just flows oh so smoothly. Wonderful for those who have those Multi-Media Notebook / laptop stands with additional USB ports! When you gotta, you got it!
My only sad regrets is that it lacks the rubber protective coverages of the 4 and 8 GB that I desperately adore, that is the only downside of it - the very reason why it did not receive a full 5 and 5 star ratings as a whole in all and plus it does lose its clear cap easily. My strongest recommendation would be to keep this stored in a small velvet or soft cloth case - such as a sunglasses or jewelry bag so that you can loop around to a wire - for that is how I store all my flash cards! They don't get lost, it breathes, and it goes with you!
:) *grins*
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.