HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop DVD-Writers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer

Slim external multiformat drive DVD±R DL writing, DVD-RAM support, and LightScribe disc labeling Sleek, compact design
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
5 out of 9(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Review 1 for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not so portable

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the 555 model to take on the road with my Mini 110, but what I didn't realize is that you have to be near an AC outlet to use it. The 556 model, which wasn't out when I ordered mine, is USB powered and is the best choice for the avid traveler. Also I'm very disapointed with the space needed to carry the power block and the inconvenace of having to carry one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

functional but not very portable

PostedAugust 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to go with my HP mini 110 laptop, which doesn't have any drives for ultimate portability. But, sometimes you might need to install software or want to watch a DVD or listen to a CD on the road - especially since these minis have small hard drives. This drive was listed as an accessory for the mini laptop. The only problem is, it is not USB-powered, so you have to have another external plug-in for it, and this power supply is nearly as big and heavier than the actual drive, as well as bigger than the power supply for the mini. If you are going to use this at home or in the office, great, but for being portable, not great. I noticed that HP now has the 556s, which is USB-powered but otherwise seems identical. I would recommend that mini buyers looking for portability buy the 556s instead of the 555s, and opt for the 6-cell battery so that you have enough power to run the dvd drive if not always plugged in. But even if you are using it with your laptop plugged in, it saves you from lugging around a second power supply cord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What a waste...

PostedJune 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What the description doesn't show is that you must have a power outlet handy to use this drive whereas others don't require a dedicated power brick. The brick weighs more than the drive itself. What's wrong with this picture?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low profile/Good product

PostedJune 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this external drive to store my photo's/drawings from my photograph/drawing hobbies. I also burn my music files without any problems.
I recommend it for any one looking and needing an externsl DVD hard driver.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

On sale for a reason.

PostedJune 1, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The drive seems nice enough from what I can use so far, but the Nero 7 essentials included is questionable. I can't say how it works since I can't get it to install. It starts the install process, takes my email address to sign me up for marketing literature from them then sends me off to a web page selling me an upgrade for more than the original cost of the drive. I've tried for hours now to get something installed. There appears to be software on the disk, but it will only install via their utility and it doesn't attempt to do the install. Maybe it's not compatible with the Mini Netbook, but since the drive was on the page of accessories for the Netbook, I have to assume HP at least believes it's compatible. Nero appears better at sales/marketing than at software. At this point I'm not impressed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Really Portable

PostedMay 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this unit for several months and bought it because of the HP brand name. I feel it is a very good unit and has performed well , but I don't believe it's portable. I bought it to use with my netbook but didnt realize it needs external 110v power to operate, until I got it home. There is an AC adapter included with the 555s. Also while it is a lightscribe unit, there is no lightscribe software included with it. Luckily lightscribe offers some basic labeling programs on thier website. The 555s does everything I expected it to, and in fact writes lightscribe labels as well as the internal unit on my desktop.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and Portable

PostedMay 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have one of this morning which i use for my business usage.. I bet i have never regreted using my fund for this product, very light and thin. I will urge you to get one..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the one you need

PostedMay 10, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it is by far the best exturnal dvd burner ive ever used,
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP dvd555s 8X External Multiformat DVD Writer
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5