HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum

Lightweight design, heavyweight performance Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit §§ § 14" diagonal high-definition §§ BrightView LED display (1366 x 768) Intel Core i5-2410M processor (2.3GHz) ‡ 6GB DDR3 memory 640GB hard drive with built-in protection § Built-in webcam with integrated microphone, fingerprint reader 802.11b/g/n wireless LAN, Widi 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 6.75 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good +++

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent performance, running all time cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only two out of 3 USB ports work

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size for me, love the finish material, the keyboard and fingerprint reader, memory, everything expect the USB ports. When I purchased it I was not using the USB ports so when I noticed that only 1/3 USB ports was working it was late for me to return it. Now when I using my flash drive and then need to print I need to unplog it to print -.- because nothing fit on the two USB on the right side of the pc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good looking but

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The laptop looks good but i totally agree with the cons pointed out by Goforaj esp with the battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance, features!

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this a couple of weeks ago and am thoroughly enjoying the speed, features and overall feel of the machine. Keyboard is great size for a 14 inch monitor - not so small like many other laptops with smaller screens. I don't use the touch pad much - use wireless mouse- but have not had any problem with it when used as reported in a couple of other reviews!
Very pleased and recommend to others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not wowed

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just bought this laptop. Very good price for CPU speed/RAM/HD. Sound seems very tinny with more noticeable backround noise. I have compared this directly with my older HP dm4t which to me has a much better sound quality. I wonder if these lighter models are using less robust speakers. Cannot find details about the audio cards in the specs. Anyone else notice an issue with sound? Also, keyboard has a very light touch and seems less reliable than the other model. The screen proportion has changed. Now using narrower aspect. Probably good for movies but overall screen size is smaller compared to prior 14" model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love my new HP Pavilion dm4! It is light and portable but powerful enough that I don't need to worry about compromising speed. The battery lasts for about twice as long as my previous laptop's! Overall it was an extremely good purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good buy

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this laptop primary bacause I needed something portable, ie, lightweight and that came with a optical drive. This computer is a good value, attractive, and has everything I need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Expectations NOT Met

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this DM4-2070 about two weeks ago.
Pros: It is VERY fast with the new 2nd Generation Intel Core i5 processor. Big hard drive, great amount of memory, sleek and light, good overall design.
Cons:
-Touchpad is finicky despite most recent touchpad update. Only way to scroll is with two fingers, but oftentimes, this also ends up zooming the page in and out if you even move your fingers SLIGHTLY closer together/ farther apart.
-The wireless adapter only has ONE antenna as compared to the standard two. It only has the 2.4 GHz antenna, not the 5 GHz one. I have had to go into my router to change adapter settings to transmit at a 2.4 GHz frequency, which I wouldn't have had to do with other laptops that usually come with BOTH antennas.
-This laptop DOES NOT contain the combined USB/eSATA port. Despite what the specifications say at shopping.hp.com for the DM4-2070us, there is no eSATA port on this laptop. Thus, this computer only has 3 USB 2.0 ports, and doesn't have eSATA or USB 3.0 that seems to be found on many other DM4's that HP offers.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellente

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this laptop. Lightweight, superfast, sleek, and has 640 GB worth of storage. I had bought the HP DM7 a week before and it is terrible compare to this beast. It was $300 dollars more but it was well worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent laptop

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent computer, very light. Does not get too hot. Only complaint: so-so track pad and buttons. They feel cheap. Two-fingered scrolling doesn't always work quite right. I wish it had a back-lit keyboard. Good battery life. Cooling system has an automatic mode so it doesn't unnecessarily drain the batter. Overall I'm happy with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT LAPTOP !

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ft Worth,Tx
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just picked this up 2 weeks ago at Frys Electronics. Very satisfied with this laptop.Super fast I5,640gb hard drive,everything you need.I was going to buy last year's model,but I did not like the touch-pad. It was a one piece touch-pad. Now the upper & lower parts have been separated,much better design.This little jewel also is very quiet I never hear the fan motor & it runs very cool. Also at 4.4 lbs this unit is Very portable.I have had a few problems with HP's in the past ,but when I needed their service was very good! I'm back to being an HP fan. I need a work laptop & I'm also considering a HP Probook for work.
I was going to but a Sony laptop,but they look much cheaper in quality for the same price. HP won out on that decision. Hp well done ! I'm very pleased !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scholarship Gift

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this computer as an additional gift from a private scholarship. I have been using it for about two months, and it is by far the best computer I have owned. The performance of every feature on this laptop is simply excellent. As of yet I have not had a single issue, major or minor, with this computer. I highly recommend it to any future college student. I use it for studying, notekeeping, gaming and socializing. This is a great buy. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice!!!

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Hartford, CT
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with this laptop, touch pad is excellent! Best laptop purchase ever; I would highly recommend purchasing this model, it is fantastic!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great PC for a great price

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Urbandale, IA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was really disappointed with my last PC purchase. It was a very portable (10.4" screen) PC with 4Gb RAM and a 500Gb hard drive...but it utilized an extremely slow AMD processor and it took FOREVER to connect to the internet. The battery life was only about 2.5 hours and video (Netflix and Hulu Plus) was pretty inferior. My goal was to purchase a great quality PC, with at least an Intel i5 processor, 4Gb RAM, and a 500Gb hard drive for less than $700. Much to my surprise, I was able to purchase the HP Pavilion dm4-2070us(i5,6Gb RAM, and 640 Gb hard drive) for less than $600 (after $50 mail in rebate). I've bought 10 notebook PCs in my life. This is clearly the best PC purchase I've ever made. This PC is so responsive. It starts up immediately, connecting to the internet about 75% faster than my previous PC. The graphics are fantastic and the 14" screen is great. It almost rivals the HP Elitebook PC I use for work. Thanks HP for offering such a great PC at such a great price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellenttt Laptop!

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm starting college this August, and I bought this laptop in order to have something lightweight that I can easily carry around campus, and something small that doesn't get in the way. This computer is brilliant. Apart from being sleek and wicked fast, it has fingerprint technology that is super cool to use instead of typing e-mail and facebook logins. Also, the computer is very easy to use, even for people who are technically challenged. I had a problem with the laptop within the first two days of purchasing it: the fingerprint technology stopped working. I called HP Tech Support and he stayed on the line with me until he figured out a solution, and now it's working great again! I seriously recommend purchasing this laptop if you're searching!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dm4-2070us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Laptop

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light, fast, good keyboard feel.
Everything that's supposed to work, Does!! Excellent laptop. Like the built in webcam, mic, etc.
Has enough memory to do projects without waiting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.