HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal

Large display, great value, ideal for everyday activities Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit §§ § 17.3" diagonal high-def BrightView LED display (1600 x 900) §§ Intel Core i3-370M processor (2.4GHz) *** 4GB DDR3 system memory 640GB hard drive § Webcam with digital microphone 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 4.75 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Review 1 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Crossville, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best buy for money, good speed, nice large screen. Just the right amount of programs so I could add what works for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned to other laptops both of them Toshiba's... and have owned two HP desktops... i absolutely love the new laptop it is so much better than the other two i have owned... and now that i have this laptop i am considering purchasing an HP touchscreen desktop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Pavilion g7-1150us - A Great Bargain

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an at-home customer service rep so I needed a fast computer with a 17" monitor. When I researched available models, the HP Pavilion g7-1150us stood out and had every feature I needed. The price was excellent, too, so I ordered online from HP.
Delivery was quick. The computer has been everything I hoped for and more.
The first thing I noticed is that the charcoal gray model I got is very pretty. I worried that the computer would be too big to be portable but I was pleasantly surprised at how light it is for the size. It's a great desktop replacement but can easily be carried.
It came with a starter version of MS Office 2010, which is ideal for my needs and I don't need to upgrade to the full, paid version, although that option is available. The computer also includes a 60-day trial of Norton Security, so I was protected right from the beginning.
I'm using DSL with it which makes the PC especially fast and responsive, no matter how many apps I have open.
The built-in webcam is wonderful. I made a Skype call to the Philippines with it and the quality was crystal clear.
My monitor is gorgeous and watching streaming video on this notebook is a delight. The 17" size creates a widescreen effect. This is also a plus for business needs, since I can view several apps clearly at the same time. It's very efficient.
The Media Center Feature is a great way to organize and view photos, videos, and even to search for online TV shows.
I haven't used all of the features yet but am looking forward to exploring further and am delighted with this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Solid Laptop

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this a few months ago and overall I am very happy with it. It's a great basic laptop with easy set up. I'm not a huge gamer or someone who needs a lot of bells and whistles. I download music, upload pictures, surf the web, nothing fancy so this laptop fits my needs perfectly. My only beef is that the battery life is only about 2.5 hours, while I don't necessarily need to take my laptop off my desk or out of the house very often, it would be nice to have that option without having to make sure I have an outlet nearby. Other than that, it is a good product that I am very happy with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its Ok product.

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this PC for about 2 months. My employer bought me this one for our small business, just to run couple basic software, business related. I have to say it was very impressive when started using it. It started slow down a bit after 1 month. Occassionally the screen would froze even if only IE is open. But other that it worked fine. And now windows is giving out message that hard disk is broken and needs to be replaced. Contacted customer service, they will replace the hard disk. but the laptop has to be shipped out to them ... so lets see what happens...:(
Btw, I have owned 2 HPs in the past and one DELL, prior to this. I would recommend Dell for solid perfomance, if thats what you are looking for.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had this computer for a few days, but it is amazing! I bought it at best buy for $450 and did not regret my purchase. This is my first laptop, and i'm glad I picked this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop & Price was Amazing

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Torrance, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
I am a PC Repair Tech. I bought this laptop to take with me when I do onsite repairs as when I do a reinstall of windows it sometimes does not set up drivers so I need to get on the Internet to download them. This unit is amazing!! I was downloading 4 videos that were over 100 mb each plus watching a video on Netflix with Internet Explorer & Incredimail my Email program all open at the same time. The laptop did not even glich once. I did upgrade the ram to 8 gigs & the unit runs so fast with that much memory. The CPU was using hardly anything only 1500 MHz out of the 2.4 GHz. I am glad that HP used just one 4 gig chip so that way I only had to buy one 4 gig chip & local computer shop. The only thing I hve not tried yet is a VHS to DVD Conversion on it yet, but if it does not work, but I'm sure it will I have my high end desktop home server to do that work for my customers. I highly recomend this laptop as it will do just about any work you can throw at it you just may need to upgrade the meory to 8 gigs is all. The price was so amazing!! I bought it at Office Depot for $449 after $50 mail in rebate. I was so happy with this unit that I went out & bought my wife the g6 with 15'6 screen for $448 at Sam Club. She said the only thing she does not like is the finger pad will only move half the screen then you need to lift your finger not so good for playing games on Facebook, but she added a mouse to solve this issue. Their is room HP Should make the finger pad longer for game playing. This issue does not bother me as I don't play games at all on a PC
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A new toy

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pinehurst, NC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my new Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC directly from HP.
It was shipped to me very promptly. Unfortunately, the software had been installed improperly and the system refused to start up. After working with HP Tech Support for several hours to no avail, the advising technician recommended that I return the computer to HP and a different would be sent to me. I was sent a shipping label, returned that computer and purchased another Notebook.
This Pavilion g7-1150us model was again sent to me very expeditiously.
This one works quite fine and I'm very pleased to own it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use great support

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Great computer, Great support, after taking it out of the box I spent almost three hours on the phone with tech support setting it up. No extra charge. Thanks HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Laptop !

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bronx, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HP, this is my first HP computer and it is great, not to say that other brands , like Delll arent good, but this Hewlitt Packard Laptop is the best laptop i have had to date and since i got it on sale on the July 4th holiday, i saved $150.00 @ PC Richard & Son, i paid $499.00 after rebates, so @ $500.00 this laptop should be considered by anyone who wants to own a powerful laptop from a reputable , well known name, like Hewlitt Packard ! Great Laptop HP !
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent computer

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is so easy to set up, and one of the fastest laptop I ever owned. Bought at Radio Shack. I would definitely recommend this computer, anyday,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best laptopas of NOW

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Goshen, Ky
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop about a week ago. I needed one for school and this one stood out the most at Office Depot not because of look but because of the quality and picture of the screen. it is bright and you can see how the HD on this is better than anything else. I do not need an HDMI cable to make it look as good as my TV. On wifi it works great, I have 50.0 from Insight and a 3 story house and it connects great from evert room. I do not download anything to it, I just use it for school work and to check mail and stuff. I have to say that out of all of the laptops I have bought this one is very nice. You can not go wrong with it at all. I would recommend this to everyone. If you do not believe me then go to a Office depot and try it out for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

With my new chip-set

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:An Island in South East Mi
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I wrote mistakenly about the g7t at first....This is my computer so I will revise now that I've installed a new set of chips and more memory.
The computer came with 4 GB Ram but it couldn't handle playing a video clip from CNBC.
The most the g7 can handle is 8GB. So I maxed it. The reason as I explained in my other review was slow video, as soon I I touched the mouse the picture froze up, paused then went on.
I ordered a chip-set from Crucial and replaced the original as well. I believe having the same exact chip-set is a bonus and one less headache down the road.
Now, I would have to say, that for the money this isn't a bad unit. I'm not a gamer and wasn't planning to have lightning in a bottle so this works for me "now".
With the added RAM I no longer see the hesitation in the video.
The fix was easy. I would recommend the unit now. HP should just make the move and kick the Ram up to 8.
As I said with the rebate the g7 1150-us was about $479.00. I looked at a Dell with almost the exact configuration same processor and it was on sale for around $800. You do the math.
Yes, with a bit more Ram. I'm smiling! Come on HP, KICK UP THE RAM :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion g7-1150us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

G7-1150US

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome computer. Great features. Simply amazing. 17.3" screen really does make a huge difference. Everything a personal computer should do and more. Also very speedy. Thank you HP !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.