HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum

Brilliant entertainment with AMD Vision A8 technology Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit §§ § 15.6" diagonal high-def §§ + BrightView LED display (1366 x 768) AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M accelerated processor (2.4GHz) *** 6GB DDR3 memory Radeon HD 6620G discrete-class graphics with up to 3061MB total graphics memory 640GB hard drive § with built-in protection Blu-ray player and SuperMulti DVD burner 802.11b/g/n wireless LAN and Bluetooth 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 6.5 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some mixed feelings

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a longtime HP desktop and laptop customer I am somewhat disappointed in
the dv6-6140US:
- wireless card wouldn't connect initially and required a couple of hours with tech
support before opening the back to re-seat the connectors.
- wireless card is Broadcom 4313 and only supports 72 Mpbs, not the higher
band wireless N speeds. My old dv6500 has a better card that does support
and runs at 300 Mbps.
- touchpad buttons require too much pressure. The scroll/zoom "features" are
problematic at best.
The overall performance is excellent and the display,keyboard are great. Using
a mouse and maybe upgrading the wireless card I'd be perfectly satisfied. It's
just I don't consider this a low-end laptop and feel some corners were cut that
shouldn't have been.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A hit as a gift!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The laptop has only been in use a short time but so far so good. Still trying to dial back the super sensitive touch pad. It was given as a gift and so far it is a hit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PURCHASE

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't do will with computers, but this was easy to set up. Instruction was great and easy to follow. Will purchase HP products again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great choice

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Paradise, Tx
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good performance, well priced, good choice of built in extras. This machine is a top of the line machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my older laptop finally crashed and as a writer and video producer I needed something to replace the older Pentium PC that I had had for years. I was somewhat hesitant about the AMD processor but it seems to get good reviews and the price was just right so I figured to give it a try. The DV6-6140us has exceeded all expectations. The quality is top notch. It runs all of my video editing programs flawlessly and MS Office is a snap. My son has even loaded a couple of his games on the unit and I have found myself playing them during some downtime. There is some but not a lot of bloatware included with the unit, easy enough to delete most of the unwanted programs. I never have been able to get the hang of the Fingerprint Scanner. Maybe it is just me but is not a really big deal as I do not have to use a bunch of different passwords anyway. I highly recommend you take a look at this if you are considering an new Laptop.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Music Studio Production/Recording PC

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Manchester NH
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im a mac user... However This is appropraite for Your Recording Studio Needs . Had to get A new Comp. for my studio. Works well. Want my Mac back thoe... still , not alot of money??? Need a reliable comp to do the job?? This is it! Shout out to Dre, for the beats audio.!...1 MaxxxAmmo- " New Hampshires hottest Productionist"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIICE

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a gamer so, this product is good for that and cheap , the fact it has AMD A8 , that is better and cheaper than Intel i7 , it has a great graphics card , good for my job and for everyone , peace off
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rock Solid Performance

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Havertown, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basement price for superior performance and features. I use an Elit book for work, but the dv6-6140us is far superior. Some may a little shy to purchase an AMD processor, but you'll find no difference in performance. In fact, I believe the AMD processor actually out performs it's i-7 competitor...and so does my IT Team.
It's suprisingly lightweight. To extend the battery life, select "hibernate" when you close the unit. Trust me, you'll be much happier.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Laptop!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hoquiam, WA.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed, quality, options, bells & whistles - this laptop has it all.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP Pavilion dv6-6140us Notebook PC, steel gray alu

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Springfield, MO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AMD Vision A8 technology Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit,15.6" diagonal high-def + BrightView LED display (1366 x 768) AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M accelerated processor (2.4GHz) *** 6GB DDR3 memory Radeon HD 6620G discrete-class graphics with up to 3061MB total graphics memory 640GB hard drive, with built-in protection Blu-ray player and SuperMulti DVD burner 802.11b/g/n wireless LAN and Bluetooth 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 6.5 hours of battery life
This notebook has an excellent combination of features and processor speed for most tasks. The steel gray aluminum top and its charcoal black base look great. The steel gray does not show fingerprints as much as the dark umber model, which I liked about it.
The sound quality from the speakers is very good.
The bright screen display is very good although the viewing angles are not as wide as one might want for viewing movies.
I used this laptop with the HP wireless TV connector, with the HDMI connections and it worked very well on a 55 inch LCD TV. During the DVD playback there was some flickering on the notebook screen but there was never any flicker on the TV screen.
The track pad worked very well and was not overly sensitive. However the left and right click bars were noisy, with a hollow sound that is much more noticeable than some HP models (e.g. Pavilion G4 laptop) although double tapping on the track pad itself avoids the noise.
The only problem I had was burning a DVD, it worked very well most of the time but it did lock up on some occasions when trying to burn 2 hours on to a DVD, but burned 1 hour tv shows without a problem.
Battery life was not as strong as I had hoped and was a lot less than the 6.5 hours listed in the description. An extended life 9 cell battery can compensate for the shorter 6 cell battery life, however the extended battery adds adds another pound of weight and is oddly bulky on the bottom, since it does not extend across the entire base.
This DV6 felt much heavier (6.1 lbs) compared to a 14 inch Pavilion G4 (4.68 lbs) and it was bulkier (15.6 inch screen versus 14 inch) so it has some drawbacks but it also has a lot of power and features the G4 does not offer as options (the 3.0 USB ports or the AMD A8 quad core processor).
I liked the AMD A8 quad core over an i7 quad core processor on a different DV6 model, I seemed to have less problems with it and it was plenty fast for the normal tasks I was doing so AMD can be a capable substitute if you do not want to spend the extra $$$ on an i5 or i7 processor.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.