HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum

The ultimate in technology; Full HD 1080p Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit §§ § with SP1 15.6" diagonal full high-definition §§ + HP anti-glare LED 1080p display (1920 x 1080) 2nd generation Intel Core i7-2630QM processor (2GHz) with Turbo Boost ‡ 8GB DDR3 memory Radeon HD 6770M graphics with 1024MB GDDR5 memory 750GB hard drive § with built-in protection Blu-ray player and SuperMulti DVD burner 802.11b/g/n wireless LAN and Bluetooth Beats audio 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 5.75 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Notebook I've Ever Had

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Silicon Valley, CA USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Without question, it is the best Notebook I’ve ever had. Performance is excellent with the i7 Quad Core, 8GB RAM, high end graphics adapter. With 1920x1080 display resolution, it is an excellent business system. I run 64bit Linux OS with virtualization on this Notebook, and I’m extremely happy with it. Go HP!!!
Pros: Raw performance, , display resolution, audio, keyboard, beautiful display and design, etc
Cons: Large Power Adapter and 10-key pad
The HP Dv6 6190us far exceeded my expectations. For the price, it can’t be beat!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great laptop

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bolivia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Laptop, fast, roomy hard drive, excelent screen resolution, but sound is really poor, even worse than my DV4. Of course laptops are nor for hifi music lovers. This machine is best for designers or movie fans but watch out the awful sound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No keyboard light...

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading many reviews for this computer as being a great computer for college, I decided and went to buy the computer. But then I noticed that it had no backlit keyboard lighting. For the cost and whats built inside this computer it should contain the features of a backlit keyboard. While noticing a friend with an OLDER version of a dv6, he contained the backlit keyboard. As for I, with a brand new version of the dv6 models, I did not. I just hope they could put the option in this model. If I could send it back to get the backlit light feature, I would. Please email me back if theres any possibility.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keyboard is lousy, its noisy and display flaps

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
While the specs are great, this laptop has several issues.
1. Keyboard is so bad that its keys started become loose with in 10 days of use.
2. It is super noisy, even with fan turned off or running on low speed you can easily hear it from 10 feet away.
3. If you close the display and start walking with the laptop in your hand you will find out that display doesn't stick with keyboard side. It flaps back and forth as you walk. I have had many laptops but none of them behaves like this.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing. To put it simply.

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the HP Dv6-6190 in brushed aluminum. I bought it through the HP Academy program (with the use of an .edu email, you can get an extra 10-15% off) which made the total cost only $1136 after shipping and tax (there was also an extra promotion at the time).
I also received the free xbox 360. The xbox only took 1 day to ship, the Laptop took 3, and both were shipped standard. So HP shipping is pretty amazing.
Now other than the great, as usual, HP service, the laptop itself is nothing short of spectacular.
It has 8GB of ram, an i7 2630QM processor (runs at 8 cores, 4 real, 4 simulated by Hyperthreading) that runs at a speedy 2.9GHz with ease, a beautiful 1080p LED screen (one of the best looking screens I've ever seen and I sell televisions), a 2GB AMD Radeon 6770 dedicated graphics card (this takes a minute to actually enable, but if you buy it, it is worth the time and small effort. It is just a quick bios upgrade that anybody could do. Don't need to be an IT pro), bluetooth, Wireless B/G/N, USB 3.0, JBL speakers with a Beats equalizer overlay (they are pretty good for a laptop) and finally Bluray.
Now for all of those features, you probably couldn't get any other laptop at this price. This beats a macbook pro and is less than half the price for what you would pay for, that and with tons more features.
In my month so far, it has played all games I could throw at it. Some of which it could play on Ultra High (above very high) settings!
Far Cry 2 is on Ultra High with 1080p and doesn't even stutter.
Now some games like Portal 2, Crysis and Crysis 2 can only be played on High settings, but who's to complain at this price? And its a laptop for crying out loud! AND THEY ARE STILL ON HIGH SETTINGS! :D
My graphic design programs (Flash, Photoshop, CS5 collection) all sleep sound on this thing.
I can also have an unlimited number of things open at once without a performance chug.
There aren't zero negatives however. There are only a few.
It does not have a backlit keyboard, it does get a little warm on it's highest performance settings, the battery only lasts about 4 hours with screen brightness turned down on high performance (about 6 on power saving CPU mode) and the trackpad is not that great.
Other than those minor qualms, this thing is not going anywhere for me. I love it, and there is no doubt you will too!
JUST BUY IT!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not the Best

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Savannah, GA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop is great. The screen, full keyboard with keypad, USB 3.0 ports, blue ray and most importantly the ability to upgrade the memory at a later date by have 16GB max capability.
Cons:
- No back-lit keyboard... it's such a useful feature I don't understand how it can be left out of any top tier laptop.
- Battery life... The laptop that this one is replacing lasted 3 times longer on a single charge. I was surprised when there was not a higher cell battery offered for this model.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not perfect.What is that keyboard!??

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Manchester, NH
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very excited about this laptop when I saw its features and price.It is really fast (I can play all the latest games on highest settings easily), 1080p display is awesome, its webcam is good quality, sound is better than ordinary laptops. However, its keyboard is cheap looking and not comfortable as many other models. The biggest problem is its fan noise. When its fan begin to run there is a lot of noise which is very disappointing for me(my old hp pavilion dv6 1375et laptop is more silent than this one).There are 3 profiles available for fan and I had to choose the quietiest mode but when I play games it is inevitable to run fans and I have to bear that noise. Actually, oveall quality of the product is good but because of its bad designed cheap looking keyboard and noisy fans it is not as perfect as I expected. HP should definitely work on its keyboard to improve. This keyboard doesn't befit to this awesome laptop. There is one more thing which is less important; until its battery is fully charged there is a sound coming from ac adapter like a grasshopper or cricket.It is also a little bit annoying. In spite of this, I recommend this product, because there is no much better options for such high features in this price range.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't write many reviews but after using this computer, I just had to share the experience. I tried the first version of the HP DV6T but could not tolerate the screen. The viewing angle was very limited and the screen was very reflective. On the HD screen, this is all resolved. The computer is fast, has great connection options. Essentially all the features you might need and nearly perfect.
Pros: fast processor and graphics card, good battery life, sturdy build, fairly thin, looks fantastic with steel finish, nonreflective screen
Cons: the only thing that i think is missing is a back lit keyboard.
Otherwise this computer is the best 15" out there especially when considering the price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vidor, Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this laptop to use mainly as the centerpeice of my home recording studio for running computer DAW's as well as soft synth's, FX and other similar app's, (which are cpu sucking app's).
I chose it because at over half the price of a similarly spec'ed out Macbook Pro (the generally preferred machine for these purposes) it spec'ed better and had more readily available (8 GB's) and expandable RAM, (up to 16 GB's), as well as a very fast (and generous) 7200 rpm, 750 GB hard drive!
And the latest generation Intel i7 Quad Core processor.., is awesome!
Now that's power, and it is comforting to know there is still room to grow (should the need ever arise).
However this thing has yet to so much as hiccup!
Thanks HP, I'm a very happy customer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

powerful laptop

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi,
i just received my HP pavilion 6190us , it's a very elegant shape all from aluminum , sure except the base , this giving it some luxury, it's weight is OK about 2.5 -3 KGS include battery, regarding the performance it;s wonderful specially i'm software developer, they battery life time is about 3.5 hrs with high brightness , but it's loaded with many useful software, but it's easy to be uninstalled and another thing the black touch Pad and keyboard makes it fulled with your finger prints but easy to be cleaned, I highly recommend it to everyone searching for a powerful and elegant laptop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's Ok

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The finish could be better. My keyboard is loose and I have to snap it back into place every now and then. Key stroke feels/sounds "cheap".
The brushed aluminum exterior looks nice.
Great picture with the Blu ray.
My only other issue is with Windows 7 which is not an HP thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hp 6190

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good computer ..........
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Laptop is Amazing

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bayshore, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I havent seen any issues with this laptop. I just got it and anyone around me who sees it is amazed. everyone loves the fingerprint reader. everyone keeps sliding their finger over it thinking that it doesnt work and will open for them lol. i used to use google chrome on my old dv6 3020us. but now im spoiled on how smooth internet explorer scrolls on this laptop. So i switched. the only small problems i have with this laptop is that there is no backlit keyboard, and there is no light on the num lock button. For the bloatware, i dont think it matters when you have 650Gb's of memory to work with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop, Great Value

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The laptop is really great value for what you get. Extremely fast system with awesome graphics. There is a know issue with some OpenGL applications with the switchable graphics where some applications will not switch from on-board Intel graphics to ATI Radon but according to the support pages, there is a fix in the pipeline. (Most games that I have run on this machine ran perfectly okay) The casing is pretty solid and looks slick, keyboard is easy to type on and the keys are well placed. The touchpad is by far the best one I have ever used on a laptop, Beats audio sounds amazing and the HD webcam is crystal clear. The Blu-ray drive is pain to open for someone who has short fingernails but still is a very minor issue.
This computer fits anyone going to college that wants a solid update to date machine to last the next 4-5 years (the education discount as well as the free Xbox360 promotion sold it for me).
Response from HPBy HP Total CareAugust 15, 2011
We understand that there is a concern about switchable graphics and OpenGL functionality.

Switchable Graphics:

HP has a document about how to configure the ATI® Mobility Radeon® Switchable graphics feature. This document also describes the differences between fixed and dynamic switchable graphic modes and how to use each effectively.

See: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&lc=en&docname=c02731962

Open GL Functionality:

To operate certain OpenGL applications, you will need to install the latest graphics driver (SP 53025) which can be found here: ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp53001-53500/sp53025.exe . This download
provides Intel Graphics Driver version 8.15.10.2219 to support the Intel GPU in HP notebooks with switchable graphics. The AMD graphics card in newer HP Pavilion dv6 and dv7 Series models may not run certain Open GL software.

BIOS UPDATE:
We have a new BIOS Update for dv6t and dv7t units ( F.1A ) SP54024
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=ob-96635-1&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&os=4063&product=5111980&sw_lang=
This update will enable a customer to switch from Dynamic Mode to Fixed mode. This can be done in F10 setup:
> System Configuration > then toggle Switchable Graphics Mode from Dynamic to fixed. Then Save = exit.
Switching to fixed mode will allow the unit to run in High Performance mode for Open GL based SW such as Adobe Premiere and many games.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing performance at an amazing price!

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Hyde Park, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros:
1) Performance: plays all games currently out at high or maxed out settings! Crysis 2 maxed out only lags barely. Other games like Battlefield Bad Company 2 which is a bad console port can be maxed out with 4X anti-aliasing!
2) Features: 1080p screen and blu-ray rom drive are great!
3) Good battery life: If you lower screen brightness you can get around 4 hours if you are web-surfing but while gaming obviously the battery life is much shorter.
4) Startup/shutdown: The startup/shutdown times are insanely fast even though around 10 programs start up with my computer.
5) Design: looks very elegant, doesn't look cheap.
Cons:
There weren't any major problems with the computer however, here are some things I found to be a bit annoying:
1) The blu-ray drive is a bit difficult to open
2) Bloatware:(
3) Caps lock has a light indicating that it is on but number lock doesn't
^These cons are extremely minor to me and I HIGHLY recommend this laptop!!!
Note: As with every laptop when gaming the vent (which is on the left side on this laptop) gets pretty hot. However, the palm rest area only get slightly warm while gaming and isn't uncomfortable.
For the price, I highly recommend this laptop! This is one fast laptop:D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy HP customer

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Annapolis, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase.
I read some reviews suggesting that the laptop became hot quickly and that it was noisy. I didn't notice any of that. It is almost silent during regular use. When the fan kicks in (which it won't unless you're working the heck out of it), you can hear it, but I would describe it as a slight 'hum'. As far as heat is concerned, I left the computer on all day and one side was only slightly warmer. The cooling system is actually really great.
The laptop is a bit pricey, but of course, you get what you pay for...check out the specs. I love the screen (1080p). I first considered getting the cheaper version, but I'm very glad I went for the HD version. It looks great in the brushed silver (I was pleasantly surprised).
One of the features HP emphasizes in this product is the sound. Before I say anything else, let me say this: Do not buy any laptop expecting to get awesome sound. It won't happen. Yes, the sound on this laptop is better than 'regular laptop speakers' and I find myself playing plenty of music on them. So, the sound is decent (possibly even good) ...for a laptop.
The only other thing I would mention is that there is something weird going on with the blueray/DVD/CD unit. You have to hold in the button for a long time before it opens. I find that the easiest way to open it is ejecting it through My Computer and asking it to eject through Windows.
In sum...it's a fast computer, I like it. It'll tackle pretty much anything. If you can fork up the money, buy it and enjoy :)
Oh, and the shipping was faster than I expected. I bought the computer on July 5. It arrived on July 7.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv6-6190us Notebook PC, steel gray aluminum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Think Twice!!

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Memphis, Tn
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The laptop is built solid. I love all the features. This model responses slow on simple tasks opening files, playing videos, music, etc. I have to wait for the computer to caught up really! This is a core i7. I have had two random crashes within one week. And this is my second laptop of the same model.
I spent a lot of money on this product and i have return and exchange this product. i have tried a lower spec pavilion dv6 in 2010 and its was ok but i really expected more from HP. I have always use Hp in the past but i'm sure if i will ever come back. This is my first reviewing a product for any company product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.