HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray

Large display with plenty of power Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 17.3" diagonal high-def §§ BrightView LED display (1600 x 900) Intel Core i3-380M Processor (2.53GHz) ‡ 4GB DDR3 system memory 500GB § (5400 rpm) hard drive with built-in protection Webcam with digital microphone 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 5 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Review 1 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 Months and 9 Days!

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tri-State Area
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this computer for two months and nine days. It is the best computer I've had to date due to it's intense Intel Core i3 Processor with 2.5 GHz of Power! Plus, the 4 GB of RAM and 500 GB of Hard Drive memory make a perfect combo for the multitasking and downloading I do each day with all my programs! I am not a hardcore gamer, however games such as Combat Arms and Tom Clancy's HAWX ran perfectly at full screen, medium-high settings which was what I wanted. And, did I mention that the graphics card is by Intel HD and my graphics memory is 1.6 GB!
To be completely honest, I'm glad my old computer broke!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One for Her and One for Me

PostedMay 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NW Oregon
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That's how much i like the G7-1070us, not to mention the incredibly low price.
Let's put everything into perspective and realize just exactly how much computer we got for $450 after $50 mail-in rebate, 17.3" High Definition Widescreen with 1600 x 900 resolution and vibrant colors that's perfect for DVD's, 4GB DDR3 SDRAM, Intel Core i3-380m Processor that loads web pages in less than a second and only draws 35 watts doing it, 500GB HDD that spins at 5400rpm but you'd never know it judging by how fast it defrags, Windows 7 Home Premium with 64bit Operating System that runs flawlessly, SRS Altec-Lansing sound system that's more then loud enough and has crystal clear audio, this computer competes with others that cost 200 - $300 more.
I researched this PC and read the few reviews i could find, more then one person mentioned that the audio was too low but it's most surely operator error, once i learned all the different volume controls and audio settings i discovered it doesn't need an amplified speaker system, just a little tweaking.
The only glitch i had was running IE9, the G7 has both HD software based graphics processing and a Intel HD hardware based graphics processing, for some reason unbeknownst to me, IE9 prefers the software based graphics processing, it was unstable using the Intel hardware based graphics processor, sounds more like an issue with IE9 and not the GPU.
If you do your homework you willl also discover that Norton offers the best all around protection and it doesn't slow down the computer at all, at least not in my humble opinion, the free anti-virus programs on the web are just not sufficient to protect your computer from today's highly intelligent threats, Norton is free for the first two months then very affordable for year-round protection that updates itself.
Maybe i don't utilize a lot of resources but i notice the air coming out of the vent for the CPU is always cool, i believe there are several reasons for this, the CPU only draws 35W max, the 4GB of RAM allow the CPU to relax and the motherboard utilizes well designed cooling system for the CPU, you could set it on your lap and forget it was there if not for the 6lbs of PC resting on your thighs, the bottom of the laptop stays cool to the touch.
If your the average user like me that surfs the web, emails, IM's, plays spider solitaire, watches youtube videos and dvd's then your search is over, this baby will more then suffice. If your a gamer then select a machine built from ground up to excel in that area, a PC with an Intel Core i5 minimum or i7 series or Quad-core CPU is better suited to gaming then the business class i3-380m.
Last but not least is the fact it's an HP, guaranteed to work seamlessly with your HP all-in-one printer, that's my story and i'm sticking to it..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LEGEN..wait for it...wait for it....DARY!!!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brattleboro, VT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is AWESOME and LEGENDARY!!! I just bought it last week and it has all the specs I need!!! However, is missing one spec...a BluRay player! Besides that, the proceesor speed is the fastest I've ever had. The new Core i3 is faster than lightning and with 4gb of ram, I can multitask on BIG, important projects without experiencing any slow down in speed! The more than ample hard drive (500gb) will last me at least a few years of downloading songs, videos and more!!! I am
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice computer

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Holding out on 5 stars for now, but so far this is a nice computer. Fast, easy to use, nice looking, seems to be what I need. Not into gaming so I dont need a quad core or more power. No complaints so far, I've had this about 2 weeks. I'm a single mom and can't get into mega bucks for a laptop, so I really hope I won't be disappointed. If this works out, may be looking at one for my daughter for her Senior year soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Performance at a Great Value

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Middletown, CT
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am extremely satisfied with this purchase. Large display with sharp, vibrant graphics. Excellent sound quality (you can put away the headphones and speakers!), which makes viewing movies a pleasure. Real-time when video chatting using the built-in webcam (no lags). Responsive touchpad. Fast processing. Setup was a breeze-I connected to my home network and connected my printer via Bluetooth in under 3 minutes. Also this model is surprisingly light and portable for its size. HDMI port, 3 USB ports, DVD+/-RW drive, sleek design. Only con was I had to delete some unnecessary miscellaneous software that came included, but that's pretty much standard for any netbook or laptop you'll purchase. Overall, I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value Good Performance

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northwest US
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This quick ship model provides good value and good performance for the money.
Also--note: this model does have Bluetooth capability even though the specs do not specify so.
I shopped extensively for a desktop replacement and you'll need to bump up 200-300 dollars to go to Corei5 and 7200 rpm hard drive, and you'll need to drop down in screen size to 15.6.
Not a ton of bloatware on this model
Construction quality is ok--not superior, but sitting on a desk, replacing a huge old beast, this computer hits the mark.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:King George, VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On to the computer: I use a I5 based CPU for work. This one has the same software loaded on it (I maintain two sets of licenses so I don't get caught short) for use at home. Here are some comparisons:
RAM=same
hard drive: I5 Machine has smaller but faster drive
Monitor: I5 has two external, HP has one external
Both running 801n WIFI
I5 machine boots very slowly, much slower than HP
I use video (webcam on both), I5 is noisey over SKYPE, HP is not, video is about the same quality
Applications load faster on HP
Pros: For the money, a lightening fast machine; Graphics are good; boots fast; comes with Windows 7, all my other machines have been convereted with good results; looks and feels good; good webcam operation; off switch on the mouse pad; nice speakers - better than most and good enough to keep me from buying an external set; 17" monitor
Cons: HP uses FEDEX for delivery (this is not the first time they have forgotten where I live and sent my goods around the country); I am not a fan of mouse pads on the computers but this is the best I have seen, but it is still not all that user friendly (it is why I carry an wireless optical mouse everywhere I go); only has three USB ports.
Ordered on line, I live in a remote place, and price on HP site was only a little above the in store price, saved me gas money and worth the effort. HP provided good service.
If you have the coin, this is a good all around home laptop that is not super expensive, one can even get an adapter to use it in the car.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My old hp recently died so I found this one and I couldn't be more satisfied. The overall performance of the computer and features were more than enough for it's intended purpose. The only downside is that it doesn't come in solid black. Thanks again HP :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion g7-1070us Notebook PC, charcoal gray
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good!

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with this computer. Speed is excellent, features are just what I need. Image quality is very good for photo editing. The 500 meg hard disk allows me to keep most of my pictures on th einternal drive for showing and editing. I highly recommend this product. It's hard to believe someone would need anything more.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.