HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Scanners or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner

hp HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner

HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
3 out of 9(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Review 1 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Do not buy

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vancouver, BC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Save your sanity and your wallet. Do not buy this scanner. It constantly jams. My favourite is the regular scan 49 pages, jam on the last page and it does not save the pages already scanned! You have to start all over again. It says 25ppm and indeed the first 6 pages shoot through, raising expectations. However, the scanner then sits pondering before starting to scan again. After finishing the bundle, it ponders and ponders before delivering the scanned image. Best of all, do not start a new job because while the scanner may be done, until the image actually delivers, if you starta new job, it cancels the old one. Who programmed this thing!? They should be sentenced to a week of scanning with it but that would be cruel and unusual punishment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked until just after warranty expired!

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Image Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We used the ScanJet N6350 in a government office (finance dept) and had it connected to the LAN with 5 users. For the most part, it worked okay for about 12 months and then died. We always had paper feed issues with the document feeder (had to be constantly babied to make sure it didn't jam or take too many pages). Most of the time, we placed the document onto the glass instead of using the document feeder. It was only used maybe 6 times a week between 3 of the staff. Scanning to a PDF file or JPG was easy. Scanning to e-mail didn't work well and so everyone opted to scan to a file first and then add it as an attachment to the e-mail. I contacted HP tech support via on-line chat and they determined that it was a hardware problem and that it would need to be serviced, but not under warranty. This is one expensive piece of equipment considering it only lasted a year before giving up the ghost. Apparently, it's a hardware problem.
The problem with it is that you can't make out what the image is, that was just scanned. If it has any colour in it, the resulting scan will look like a mish-mash of water colours.
I STRONGLY RECOMMEND that you pass on this one... otherwise there is chance YOU'LL BE SORRY and HP won't fix it under warranty, if you are just outside of the 12 month mark. See what my scanner produces, now, in the attached photo.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

User Friendly Scanner

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Redlands, California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this scanner because I wanted all three elements: to scan on the flat top such as small receipts, to scan the front of 1-50 documents, and to scan both the front and back of documents. I have the Adobe software that allows the creation of PDF's. I had to download the drivers for the three various ways of scanning and then I pick from a drop down menu on what I want the scanner to do. I have Windows 7 and it works beautifully on this. The only problem was a initial failure to continue scanning correctly and it required the company to send me at no charge the bottom half and I just swapped the lid onto it and it worked great since. The service from the company was great. I don't use it on a network. I don't understand how a network connection with a scanner is useful because you would put your documents on it and then run back to you computer? It is good to have a centralized "scanner" person who can then email you your PDF's or put it on the central server for retrieval. I would highly recommend this unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work on any of our Windows 7 systems

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Image Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This may be a fantastic scanner for an XP or Vista system, however most of our systems run Windows 7. The software shipped with the unit is not compatible with Windows 7. We had to download updated software, and it's crashed on all 3 of the systems we've tried it on.
Further, HP promotes this $900 scanner as a 'network' scanner, however it requires a large 400mb software package to be installed on every computer you want to use it on. Also, the scan to email requires a scan to PDF where you have to manually send it via your email client. Most systes in this price range allow network SMTP settings to be directly entered into the system to bypass this step.
Our experience with different systems suggests this is an older model which was designed for use with XP/Vista and lacks significant features which other models in this price range have. Our strong recommendation would be to look elsewhere.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best color jet I have ever used..

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hot Springs, AR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the real deal.It prints so fast that I was amazed. Then you just flip over
the pages and put them in the side and it prints the other side. You use less
paper.When you download an instruction manuel that is 80 pages it is
a mess the have a one inch thick manuel to file.
This is worth every cent...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good buy

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Image Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchase two (2) HP Scanjet N6350 for small office use. I can not get either scanner to work on two (2) types of computers. I am not a computer expert, but in my opinion the problem is in the software.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall - pleased!

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Image Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this scanner to handle my everyday scanning needs alleviating the stress from my more industrial, media-sized scanner. I had no problem integrating it into my network environment which consists of nothing but MS Windows 7 64-bit computers (except for the tablet which is MS Windows 7 32-bit).
Scanning presents no issues. The included software gives me a variety of options in which to scan including both PDF and Searchable PDF. It has no problems with multipage PDFs and, if you have to scan a page at a time, you can add each page to the existing file you are in the process of creating (not to be confused with a pre-existing file). I also have the regular JPG and TIF options along with the ability to delineate between pictures, documents, positives, negatives and the like. All accomplished via my network connection.
My only gripe is that legal size documents sometimes jam utilizing the ADF (which is the only way they are accommodated). I have to do those manually, one side at a time.
Overall, I am pleased with this purchase, however, and would recommend this unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the same thing.

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased the N6350 at the suggestion of a VAR who told us the ScanJet 7650 had been discontinued. Previously we had purchased a 7650 with an Axis 70U Document Server, and it works beautifully. The N6350 is not compatible with the Axis 70U document server. We can only save scanned documents as JPG or TIFF format unlike with the previous scanner that could save documents in PDF, Text, JPG, etc. I wouldn't recommend this scanner if you need to scan to PDF format in a networked environment. It might work as a stand-alone if Adobe capture is installed, but that is not how we need to use the device.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Scanjet N6350 Networked Document Flatbed Scanner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lacking Network Functionality

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Image Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The N6350 is good for home and very small office use, but is best kept as a locally attached device. As a “networked” scanner it does not support FTP, SMTP, or SMB protocols for true scan to file and email functionality (what HP often refers to as “Digital Sending”). Instead it relies on an HP Scanning software package to be installed on each client computer. One should consider the nearly identical N6310 that simply doesn’t have the “network” module or find a model with full featured network support.
Additionally, the unit I received came with dirt on the underside of the flatbed glass which was detectable in scans. Reading the User’s Guide indicated that one could open the unit with a procedure from the HP support site. Unfortunately there was no procedure. HP support informed me that this was not a user-serviceable operation and that the unit would need a service call!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.