HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Scanners or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner

hp HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner

HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
7
1 Star
12
24 out of 47(51%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Review 1 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just what I needed

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed a basic scanner to replace my HP4400 with the change from XP to Win7.
Mainly I scan and email photos. I also have other business papers thatI scan and email.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Value; So-So Features

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product is reasonably priced, easy to set up and recommended for those reasons. Scanning software features not as easy to use as those of my previous Scanjet 4400c, which is not supported by Windows 7. User Guide is inaccurate for adjusting settings, as it references HP Control Center, which is not installed by the 3110 setup CD. Is fairly simple to use, but requires quite a bit of searching to figure out settings. User guide is no help for that and neither is HP's online support.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

my scanner

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Darien,Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well first of all -it setup great and it wouldn't scan at the first try,until i plugged in the little white plug that was already attached and then, it worked fine and it scans beautifully ,then and ever since,thanks HP for a wonderful product.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Best thing for preserving 35mm Kodakchrom slides

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have hundreds of old 35mm Kodakchrome slides that capture precious family moments for decades going back to the 1960s. This is the best device I found to save them electronically. It is a little awkward to use, and the process isn't quick. It can scan four slides at a time, and the slides must be fed manually.
But it does work, and I can send the images to Snapfish for easy sharing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Scaner

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scans good, easy to use, would recommend this product. Plug kept coming loose on back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love HP Scanners

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The scanner is perfect as they always are..I like that its not to technical to operate and I would own no other..I'm on my third one..Thank you for a great product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scanner

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Warrenton, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cannot really write a review on this product, since I have not had a change to put it to work, so far I only installed it and ran a couple of tests, which were fine. But I have owned a previous similar model for over 15 years and it was a true work horse, I used it for scanning well over 10,000 pictures, slides and negatives, without a glitch. The only reason I had to buy the G3110 is because my previous scanner could not work with 64 bits. I expect the G3110 to perform equally well.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice big pic's

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
full big colorful; pictures' I recommend this scanner to anybody!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southamton, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
difficult. Cannot access 4x6 photo tray or scan to printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value for excellent printer

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:southern CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We always look very carefully before making purchases, and this one was exactly right for us. We're extremely pleased with the ease of use and quality of scans. Only docked a notch for poor included software support. It is really necessary to purchase additional software to make best use of this unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

CAN NOT install Scanner !!!!

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CAN Not Insall Scanner!!!!! Put in disc and followed instructions. At end the 2-icons that were to showup on Desktop Never showed. Soon after my computer locked up. Same problems that I had with G4010 Scanner. By now there should have bee a fix. When I removed the Disc It looks like it has a scratch on it. HP JUNK
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good value

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:dsfsf
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is very good to own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
My scanner is working fine. I will continue to purchase HP products in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

slow and frustration to use

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:texas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
it take a minute or 2 to scan a photo. It store the image into a temporary memory , users can't see it. I have to click done or finish in order to get the image store onto my hard drive. But that means I have to start up the scanning process:set up file name, image setting. To save all the hassle doing all resetting, i click scan next, after I scanned about 20 images, the power went out, all the works were gone completely. I'm thinking to purchase a cannon to replace it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Performance

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Image Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The light source for transparent slides seems to be much to weak. It would not recognize some slides at all - it showed a black square with no "cropping" frame. It would recognize these slides only by moving an adjacent "cropping" frame over the black square and increasing the brightness, but the result was very grainy. I sent it back for a refund. Tech support was unable to help or correct the problem. Another brand scanner, in the same price range, I subsequently purchased does a great job on these same slides even though it is slower. Digitizing slides and photos is why I purchased the scanner.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Owned for two years

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Image Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had nothing but problems the first year. Could not get any customer service. After I purchased a new HP PC with windows 7 all the features started working. I paid 79 for mine two years ago. Can't believe HP trying to get 99 as a sale item. It does a good job of scanning my slides and pictures. Don't know why the software would not work from the beginning.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad purchase

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Image Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Scanjet G3110 worked great for about 9 months, Now it won't save the photo I scanned and HP doesn't support it. But they still have the same scanner for sale. I wouldn't buy it again. They should send me a replacement for free! I spent half of yesterday and half of today trying to uninstall and reinstall from the disc. I tried to get the live chat but they don't know how to help me.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lots of steps

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gainesville, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this scanner last week. Picture reproduction is excellent, but the software is very tedious.
I'm scanning is lots of pictures, and every time I have to set the settings the way I want it. There's no way to change the defaults. It should be that once I set the locations where I want to picture to go, no I don't want a sub folder, etc, they it should either give me option to leave it that way or if I close the controls, then revert back to HP default. If you're doing hundreds of scans, it's very time consuming and a real pain.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

it's cheap bad quality

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:IN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Image Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's a cheap scanner,you get what you pay for. Pictures won't look like the original when scanning . Scanning documents the scanner leaves the paper with a dark tint. Waste a lot of ink. Buy a better scanner When you lighten the adjustment so the dark background goes away what you scanned is very light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Scanjet G3110 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Features Rich, Not Intuitive and Disappointing

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Image Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MY (old!) 6200C died after more than 15 years of service. I immediately bought another HP scanner, the G3110 anxious to benefit from the newer technology devise as well as higher advertised resolution, speed, etc. Setup was simple. I quickly realized, that the machine has many more features than my old scanner. Cool! I like and expected that. But the problem is you cannot establish permanent defaults for the scanner since I do basically the same type of scan every time. So every time I do a scan, I have to (if I remember!) enter my parameters prior to the scan. What a pain!
Also, I am inclined to agree with other reviewers that the quality is lacking. In my opinion, it is at best the same as my old scanner. Ironically, the G3110 is touted as providing higher quality scans, but it doesn't in my opinion. Too bad me. I have worked with large and small systems for 30+ years and am more than willing to explore problems and (attempt) to resolve them. I've checked the copious number of features and settings, and could not improve the scan.
Compared to my old scanner, the G3110 does indeed provide much larger .jpeg file sizes for scanned items, but I do not believe these images are much better in high quality.
To the G3110's credit, I like the fact that to save an image, you do not have to rescan it -- it simply saves the portion of the image you have selected. This saves half the wear and tear on the scanner
More good news, I checked recently and I learned that the scanner is indeed supported by Windows 7. At least that issue has been fixed.
Lastly, as mentioned before, I was surprised at the grunting/grinding noise the scanner makes when initializing for a scan. The first time I heard this, I thought my something inside the scanner was broken/jammed! The noise is much louder (and very annoying!) than my old scanner which made a mid-tone humming sound.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.