HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Scanners or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner

hp HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner

HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating:
3.548 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(157 reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 157 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
12
1 Star
30
106 out of 157(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Review 41 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product is top heavy

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:DC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The lid has no counter weight. It needs another way to keep the lid open.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great at default settings, otherwise...

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Using the default settings (300 dpi, JPG format), color slides scan great. 16 slides in about 10 minutes.
Try the higher settings, 600 dpi and TIF format and be prepared to:
1. Wait a l-o-n-g time (hours!), and
2. then curse when it either locks up (best case scenario!), or
3. refuses to saves as the "File is too large"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has performed just like I wanted.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Litchfield, MN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product is doing just what I wanted. I wanted to scan my nagatives on to my computer. This product does this very well as well as the pictures I need scanned. The only thing I do not like about it is it scannes slower then my HP Photosmart Printer/scanner. Put that is the only think I do not like about it other wise it is a great product. I would recommend this product to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good scanner

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good scanner. I got it because I need to be able to scan 4x5 transparencies - that was a deal breaker for a scanner for me. My only complaint is that the function "scan another image" that lets you scan several images quickly always puts them all into one multi-page file that is impossible for me to break apart into individual images. Photo shop won't open that kind of file. As a result I have to scan everything one at a time from solution center which slows me down. I usually don't have a lot to scan in one session but when I do it's annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Slow but satisfactory for a senior user.

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Though not compatible with my desk top Mac OSX, I am using it in my lap top to compile old photographs in assembling the family history. Have yet to use all the photo programs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great scanner

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This scanner works beautifully. I bought it to scan old negatives and it not only allows me to scan them, but also corrects the damage from fading. The photos turned out great! It is slow when corrections are made to more than a few photos, but well worth it. I would absolutely recommend this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Scanner

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, Ga
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I expected from a great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Software annoyances

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does a better job of scanning than most products in its class, but I have several complaints about the software. First, the way one selects six-color and 48-bit scanning has changed since the documentation was created, and neither the manuals nor the help have been updated to reflect the change. Second, when starting a scan, I often get an error box telling me that the computer can't communicate with the scanner. If I close the error box, processing continues normally, so the error box is just an annoyance. Third, there are obviously a lot of automatic tweaks under the covers and, though they work well for the most part, I'd like to have a handle on them, because I believe that for any given scan, I can do better; but there's no handle to be found. One example of something I'd like to be able to to tweak myself is the density of grey areas made up of an array of black dots. Such areas tend to be sparsely populated in the scanned result, even at 600 dpi. A selectable "expert user interface" would be the way to go. Fourth, scanning monopolizes the processor for an inordinately long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent scanner

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a novice with albums of 40-50 year old photos which came to me following the passing of my uncle. The photos have been neglected and are in poor condition. Many were faded and scratched. The scanner's photo correction options are easy to use, most with just one button. It has done a remarkable job restoring these photos. They are not perfect, but there was never a hope of that. It seemed a little slow to me to start.. However, with the ability to scan multiple photos at one time and correct quickly, it was much faster than I expected. In about six hours, I was able to scan and correct 300 photos. I couldn't be happier with this scanner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good.

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works fine on slides. Haven't tried negatives yet. You must be patient. I would have liked some written instruction on use. Found I needed to reboot when stopped working, but just found it by luck not any troubleshooting help. So far, I'm satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

highlt recommend

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jonesbough, Tn
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The scanner does what I wanted it for - old picture's copied
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product Has Limitations in Windows 7

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product a couple of years ago and it was working very well on my PC that was running the Windows XP operating software. All the features worked, including the ability to scan negatives to color 'jpeg' files.
I have since upgraded my operating system to Windows 7, and although I have downloaded and installed the latest software from the HP site, the ability to scan photo negatives using the installed Photosmart Essentials v3.5 with the Windows 7 operating system is incompatiable.
Unfortunately I can't find a solution on the HP website.
So the bottom line for me is that I wouldn't recommend this product if you are thinking of scanning all those old photo negatives and you are running Windows 7 as your PC's operating system.
Naturally, if there is a solution I would be only too happy to withdraw my negative recommendation.
Cheers,
Jackie.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

terrific

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:florence , al
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It ran when I plugged it in . I bought it primarily to do slide conversions and it is doing much better than I had hoped . It is easy to use , that is the software works as easily as desired and as advertised . Thanks for a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried other products which resulted in poor color quality of scanned pictures. With the HP G4050 the colors come out true to life and some of the scanned pictures are even better than the original. The ability to scan multiple photos at a time and have them saved to seperate files was very important to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scanjet G4050 is the BEST for Slides

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston TX area
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a scanner that would help me do my many, MANY 35 mm slides quickly. My Epson CX7800 could only handle 5 slides at a time and each one needed lots of manual care during the task. The Scanjet G4050 handles 16 slides at a time and needed almost zero manual handling during each scan. All I had to do was set up the file, load, review the preview scan to orient as landscape or portrait, then launch the final scan and walk away. My efficiency increased by at least 400%. Reloading and doing the next batch was a charm. I used to scan 15 slides an hour, now I can do between 64 and 80. The scan quality is superb!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bought to scan 35mm slides

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I mainly bought this because I have several thousand 35mm slides I want to scan. Among low-priced scanners this sounded the most promising because it can scan 16 slides at one time.
As a conventional flat-bed scanner, it works very well. It's very fast (at least it's a lot faster than my old scanner). It will scan straight to a jpg or a PDF, and it scanned direclty into PaintShopPro quite nicely. (It's only supposed to scan directly to a printer so you can use it as a copier. I haven't tried that.) If you have several smaller items to scan, you can put them all on the bed at once and it will automatically figure out the boundaries of each and scan them to separate files or images. If you have, say, three photos to scan, being able to do it in one pass instead of three is not that big a deal, but if you had dozens I could see this saving a lot of time. (If the auto-boundary doesn't get it right, you can manually adjust.)
There's some bundled OCR software but I haven't tried that yet.
As to scanning slides: They provide a kind of frame that you put on the glass, and then put the slides in this frame. Do a low-res, fast pre-scan and review the images. You can rotate or reverse slides programmatically if you didn't get them in the frame right -- I quickly found that this is faster and easier than physically rotating the slides. You can also make adjustments here, like lightening or darkening, adjusting color balance, etc. Then you click the "final" button and it scans at the full resolution and saves each slide to a file. In practice I found that by the time you go through all the steps and then put all the slides back in the tray and get the next group of 16, etc, that to get through a 140-slide tray takes me over 2 hours. If you don't worry about manually reviewing images but just take everything as is I think it would take about 90 minutes for a 140 tray.
Curiously, when you put 16 slides on the glass, it takes 10 minutes to do the scan. But if you put a piece of paper or a photo on the glass, it can scan the same 8.5 x 11 area in maybe 2 seconds.
And one nitnoid but annoying problem: I found it fairly difficult to get the slides out of the tray. Maybe somebody who hasn't bitten his fingernails to the nubs could get them out easily, but I had to use some little piece of plastic, like a pen cap, as a tool to pop them up. :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product stands up to it's claims!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Snyder, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I received my HP G4050 scanner I read the instructions and then scanned 16 old color slides from the 1970's. All came out perfect. Then I scanned a few black and while negatives and the feature was great. The scanner may seem slow until one considers what the scanner is doing to bring old negatives and slides to life, making them bright and sharp photos. This scanner is just was I needed and at a reasonable price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love that I can scan several photos at a time, 16 slides at a time or many negatives at a time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is outstanding!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A scanner by any other name is a scanner. That being said, this is the best scanner I have ever used,,,anywhere, It makes crisp PDFs of documents, and has photo scanning capabilities that are amazing. The best part for me though, is the ability to actually scan old negatives and get beautiful photographs from them, without the need to have them printed in a photo shop. Ditto for 35mm slides. This process is a little slow, but well worth the wait. All of this for a modest investment means that you cannot go wrong with this product. Obviously, I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good performance, slow

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:chicago, il
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm using this scanner to digitize old 35 mm slides. The results are excellent, but once you select a few of the options the scanning time for a tray of 16 slides extends out to hours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.