HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Scanners or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner

hp HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner

HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating:
3.573 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 143 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
12
1 Star
26
97 out of 143(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Review 41 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy, slow

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SJVC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Software terrible. Takes over 45 seconds to scan a 3.5" x4.5" item. Old Hp scanner I had did it in 10 seconds. Force me to look for 3rd party software. Scanner is noiser than old one. Hp going backwards in development. Never again...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top-notch in all departments

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned many scanners, and this model is the easiest to set up and begin using immediately. It works particularly well on all sizes of negatives, which is the reason I bought this model. It even does a great job on 8x10 negatives. I already have recommended it to others, including a large business concern. Thanks for producing a top-flight unit for such an affordable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds all expectations

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was exceedingly pleased. Out performs similar scanners that cost 10 times as much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

UNDER WINDOWS7 POOR

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:FREDERICK MD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
IN WINDOWS7 ENVIRONMENT, IT DOESN'T WORK WELL DOING 16 SLIDES WITH HIGHER THAN 600 PPI AND NEITHER DOES HELP OR CHAT HELP -- COULD ONLY GET 600 PPI TO WORK AT 100% ON A DEPENDABLE BASIS--ANYTHING GREATER THAN 600PPI I COULD GET TO WORK AT LESS THAN THE 16 SLIDES -- THE DOWNLOAD AREA IN HP SUPPORT AREA WAS UNREADABLE ON MY SYSTEM -- THE TYPE WAS SMALL -- DON'T HAVE THAT TROUBLE ON ANY OTHER PAGE. IMAGES ARE GREAT -- DOING SIXTEEN SLIDES AT A TIME IS GREAT BUT THE LIGHT JUST GOES OUT ON THE SCANNER AT THE HIGHER RESOLUTIONS -- THE HELP CHAT GAVE ME LINKS THAT GOT A LIVE CHAT WINDOW WITH NOBODY ON THE OTHER SIDE AND I WAITED FOR FORTY MINUTES ONE DAY -- I COULD TYPE WHILE I WAITED BUT COULD NOT SEND SINCE NOBODY WAS ON THE OTHER END -- I DID GET TWO EMAILS WITH LINKS TO THE CHAT BUT WHEN I WENT TO THE LINKS ALL I SAW WAS THE WAITING CIRCLE AND NOBODY ANSWERED.---I'VE HAD AN HP5500 SCANNER THAT WORKED WONDERFULLY FOR YEARS ON AN HP COMPAQ (XP) SYSTEM -- I WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN HP I'VE USED HP PRODUCTS SINCE THE HP3000 (SERIES III)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay if you're on a tight budget like me.....

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Saint Petersburg, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I needed a scanner to scan some very old negatives, slides, and photographs. The templates supplied for scanning "film" are only made for 35mm slides or negatives and one 4x6 negative.
If yours are older and larger than that as mine are, you have to be creative to get them scanned and you can't scan as many at a time.
Quality scans (1200ppi @ 400% scaling) take hours for one scan deck full.
The hinges on the unit are also suspect. One side of my lid pulled completely out of the bottom half of the unit. The unit is brand new and maybe you're supposed to be able to completely remove the top lid, but I'm not sure. It went back in, but I'm very tender with it now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Results at a good price

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Myers, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been doing research on home scanners and found the HP G4050 to be a good value. HP was offering a discounted price and I received my order in two days. Easy to set up and use. The Photosmart editor that comes with the scanner is very limited so I got Adobe Elements 11.0 and it does a great job. I am working my way thru about 1100 slides and at 16 at a time this is going to take a while. Thats OK, I am retired and have time and I enjoy my new hobby.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product is top heavy

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:DC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The lid has no counter weight. It needs another way to keep the lid open.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great at default settings, otherwise...

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Using the default settings (300 dpi, JPG format), color slides scan great. 16 slides in about 10 minutes.
Try the higher settings, 600 dpi and TIF format and be prepared to:
1. Wait a l-o-n-g time (hours!), and
2. then curse when it either locks up (best case scenario!), or
3. refuses to saves as the "File is too large"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has performed just like I wanted.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Litchfield, MN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product is doing just what I wanted. I wanted to scan my nagatives on to my computer. This product does this very well as well as the pictures I need scanned. The only thing I do not like about it is it scannes slower then my HP Photosmart Printer/scanner. Put that is the only think I do not like about it other wise it is a great product. I would recommend this product to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good scanner

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good scanner. I got it because I need to be able to scan 4x5 transparencies - that was a deal breaker for a scanner for me. My only complaint is that the function "scan another image" that lets you scan several images quickly always puts them all into one multi-page file that is impossible for me to break apart into individual images. Photo shop won't open that kind of file. As a result I have to scan everything one at a time from solution center which slows me down. I usually don't have a lot to scan in one session but when I do it's annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Slow but satisfactory for a senior user.

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Though not compatible with my desk top Mac OSX, I am using it in my lap top to compile old photographs in assembling the family history. Have yet to use all the photo programs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great scanner

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This scanner works beautifully. I bought it to scan old negatives and it not only allows me to scan them, but also corrects the damage from fading. The photos turned out great! It is slow when corrections are made to more than a few photos, but well worth it. I would absolutely recommend this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Scanner

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, Ga
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I expected from a great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Software annoyances

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does a better job of scanning than most products in its class, but I have several complaints about the software. First, the way one selects six-color and 48-bit scanning has changed since the documentation was created, and neither the manuals nor the help have been updated to reflect the change. Second, when starting a scan, I often get an error box telling me that the computer can't communicate with the scanner. If I close the error box, processing continues normally, so the error box is just an annoyance. Third, there are obviously a lot of automatic tweaks under the covers and, though they work well for the most part, I'd like to have a handle on them, because I believe that for any given scan, I can do better; but there's no handle to be found. One example of something I'd like to be able to to tweak myself is the density of grey areas made up of an array of black dots. Such areas tend to be sparsely populated in the scanned result, even at 600 dpi. A selectable "expert user interface" would be the way to go. Fourth, scanning monopolizes the processor for an inordinately long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent scanner

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a novice with albums of 40-50 year old photos which came to me following the passing of my uncle. The photos have been neglected and are in poor condition. Many were faded and scratched. The scanner's photo correction options are easy to use, most with just one button. It has done a remarkable job restoring these photos. They are not perfect, but there was never a hope of that. It seemed a little slow to me to start.. However, with the ability to scan multiple photos at one time and correct quickly, it was much faster than I expected. In about six hours, I was able to scan and correct 300 photos. I couldn't be happier with this scanner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good.

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works fine on slides. Haven't tried negatives yet. You must be patient. I would have liked some written instruction on use. Found I needed to reboot when stopped working, but just found it by luck not any troubleshooting help. So far, I'm satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

highlt recommend

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jonesbough, Tn
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The scanner does what I wanted it for - old picture's copied
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product Has Limitations in Windows 7

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product a couple of years ago and it was working very well on my PC that was running the Windows XP operating software. All the features worked, including the ability to scan negatives to color 'jpeg' files.
I have since upgraded my operating system to Windows 7, and although I have downloaded and installed the latest software from the HP site, the ability to scan photo negatives using the installed Photosmart Essentials v3.5 with the Windows 7 operating system is incompatiable.
Unfortunately I can't find a solution on the HP website.
So the bottom line for me is that I wouldn't recommend this product if you are thinking of scanning all those old photo negatives and you are running Windows 7 as your PC's operating system.
Naturally, if there is a solution I would be only too happy to withdraw my negative recommendation.
Cheers,
Jackie.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

terrific

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:florence , al
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It ran when I plugged it in . I bought it primarily to do slide conversions and it is doing much better than I had hoped . It is easy to use , that is the software works as easily as desired and as advertised . Thanks for a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried other products which resulted in poor color quality of scanned pictures. With the HP G4050 the colors come out true to life and some of the scanned pictures are even better than the original. The ability to scan multiple photos at a time and have them saved to seperate files was very important to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.