HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Scanners or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner

hp HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner

HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating:
3.573 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 143 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
12
1 Star
26
97 out of 143(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Review 1 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finished scanned all my old photos

PostedJanuary 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Image Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to admit that it took some time to complete but now all my old photos, negatives and slides have been digitized thanks largely to this HP G4050 scanner. That's over 6000 files in total. For the most part this scanner was very easy to use and the quality of the images where excellent.
And it was all worth while when I see my mom's face as she sees photos from over the past 70 years blown up on a 28' monitor. The details in the photos are amazing. Everyone in my family now has their own set of all the photos....no need to every worry about them being destroyed. They will now live forever.
What really helped the process was that I was able to literally put on as many photos that would fit onto the scanning surface and the software would automatically pick them out and save them to individual files.
+43points
44of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Product

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Odessa, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I retired an old HP Scanner (12 years old) and replaced it with this one. This scanner installed easily with no issues. The output is very good with more options which is a good thing. I am looking forward to another 12 years of reliable service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Inverness, Fl
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was so excited to receive my new G4050 scanner. I have hundreds of 35mm slides that my father took over the years. When I installed from the Disc that came with it....it would not work at all. I was on the phone for 3 hours with HP Support. I also have a Hp c310 photoscanner,all in one.
well, the tech said I could not have both units installed on the same computer. So she unstalled my c310. Needless to say I was not happy. The c310 serves as my printer. The g4050 is strictly a slide and negative scanner. I was shocked when she said they will work together.
I would first make sure that it will work with your equipment before you order it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product does not work.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
The CD that came with the scanner froze up. The software down load didn't load. Looked at forums, tried a bunch of their suggestions. No joy.One said I should use it as a paper weight.
I will be needing a new pc, so will wait awhile. Maybe it will work then.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Setup

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied with this scanner. Well built, easy to setup. Worked the first time I scanned an item. Still have my Scan Jet 3300C but it won't work with Windows 7.Looked at other scanners, but since I have all HP products decided to purchase another HP Scanner. Good decision. I recommend this product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

over rated

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Utah
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wasn't sure about buying this because there is a common complaint about how it works. I have windows 8 and this product was advertised as being compatible with that but sure enough I should have listened to my feelings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am copying boxes of old Kodachrome slides 16 at a time and posting on Flickr for my kids. They LOVE it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far it works great!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gardners, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a perfectly good HP Scanjet 5470C that has served me well over the years, however, due to a mandatory upgrade from Windows XP, I can't get drivers for my old scanner from HP so I was forced to purchase a new scanner. I have read some reviews where people have had problems with the Scanjet G4050, but so far this one is have is working fantastic. One of the poor reviews had to do with processing negatives, but I have not had any such problems. The negatives scan beautifully, and so do slides. I personally feel some of the problems others are having has to do with their CPU. I have a Core I7 with plenty of memory and everything works fantastic! In summary: I love the new scanner!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good photo scanner

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
The HP Scanjet G4050 is good at scanning photos. I bought it because I do many negatives for archiving purposes, and because my old HP scanner would not work with my new computer that came with Windows 8.1. I have yet to be able to use the buttons on the top of the scanner and can only use the negative scanning feature by purchasing a 3rd party software. When I installed the material for the scanner, there is no HP Solution Center, that to my understanding is for the use of the buttons and negative scanning of this machine. SOMETHING IS MISSING from the necessary components to operate this scanner to its full ability.
Seriously missing my old HP Scanjet 5470c scanner and old computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Scanning 16 slides didn't work

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:chicago
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased the Scanner G4050 because of its ability to scan up to 16 slides at one time. Unfortunately, this feature did not work. I sought the help of the HP Support team but on two separate occasions, they were unable to resolve the problem.
Very disappointed and have to return the device for credit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Delray Beach, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I was going crazy trying to scan all our family photos using my business "all in one". Plugged in my new HP and started up without a hitch. It is very easy to use and very fast. The 16 slide adapter was not only a bonus but is amazing. Great product for home photo and slide scanning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the negative holding trays . . .

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to replace an old scanner that is no longer supported. My old device was great, and this one is even better. Warm up time is quick. I installed the software on a Windows 8 laptop. The software is intuitive and friendly. My favorite feature is a set of negative holders that hold multiple strips of slides. Love HP products, and this is a great addition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failure

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotten NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Scans documents, photos and slides. will not scan negatives. Backlight will come on for slides and will not come on for negatives. This appears to be a software failure not an equipment failure. As this is a replacement for the first scanner which was delivered two weeks ago and had exactly the same failure I am in despair. Contacting HP over the failure of the first failure was a nightmare of being switched from one operator to another and finally back to sales who decided the best answer was to replace.
In addition, the instruction manual frequently refers to software which a one liner on the set up documentation says is no longer included. This is not acceptable.
Here's hoping that this review brings a sensible reply from someone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like the slide scanning feature.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Iowa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I had to replace my old HP scanner because a driver was not available for Windows 7. I chose the ScanJet G4050 because of its slide scanning feature as I have hundreds of slides from the pre-digital age that I would like to get into digital format. I hesitated choosing this scanner because of the negative comments on setting it up. I could not find another scanner that I would rather have so I decided to take a chance on it. The scanner setup went flawlessly as described in the User's Guide. I have scanned one newspaper article and a couple of slides to my satisfaction. Based on my experience, so far, I would recommend this scanner.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I expected.

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I was reluctant to buy another scanner, since all the scanners I've used before gave such poor results when scanning printed photographs. The HP Scanjet G4050 was a pleasant surprise. The color of the digital scan is very, very close to the original prints.
A couple of years ago, I lost all my digital photographs due to a hard-drive crash. I foolishly did not have my files backed up at the time. I lost several dozen art-photos. Fortunately, I had 8 x 10 prints made of most of them, which I still have in inventory. I am now able to replace those digital files in a matter well enough to produce up to 11 x 14 inch prints that mimic almost exactly the original photographs.
I am very happy with the quality versus the purchase price. I highly recommend this scanner for the casual and professional photographer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Satisfied

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Daytona Beach
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this scanner to digitize photographs and restore old photos. The quality of the photos upon scanning are of good quality because of the settings one can choose prior to the scanning process. I am very pleased with this scanner and would recommend to anyone wanting to use them for this purpose. The only thing I would have added to this is an automatic feeder. This maybe in another model. BUY THIS ITEM!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Product is a DUD

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miineapolis
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
This is the second scanner delivered by HP. The first one was defective. This one is very difficult to set up. It takes hours to set it up. After getting it to work then it scans very very very sloowwly. A terrible product. I woul not recommend anyone to buy this device.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this scanner with the intention of using it to scan 35mm slides to digital format. The program loaded right up and I was up and running, no problems. I have since scanned a couple of dozen slides and a photo or two. The photo scans as expected were right on the original. The 35mm slides copied quite nicely with color and contrast exactly like the slides. I have tried some high resolution scans and they are a bit slow but overall I am very satisfied with the performance of this unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mac user UNFRIENDLY

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've always supported HP products and highly recommend them. I switched over to Mac a few years ago and immediately realized my HP flatbed scanner wasn't mac compatible so I kept my old windows laptop. Recently, found an old photo box full of negatives so with intention of preserving the photos I purchased this new scanner. I have a new 2013 high end Mac Pro so memory/power etc.. isn't the issue. the HP scan software isn't mac compatible. I installed it reinstalled etc.. (I am VERY computer savvy so disclaimer not the user). To better explain, it will install, but like other reviewers stated- it will freeze up during use. I mean FREEZE UP STANDSTILL like windows normally does- i forgot about this because macs never freeze up. I spent twenty minutes tweaking/cropping negatives and scanned at 2400 which is half the max and WASTED TIME! Froze up and error messages states remove, power down etc... and restart. So again I repeated and same issue. After wasting an hour, I turned everything down and waited 20 minutes, restarted and rescanned etc.. then clicked save and it finally worked. Albeit I waited approximately 8 hours total for 7 negatives to complete. This is unacceptable especially since this defeats the purpose of the purchase. To further explain the software issue, HP scan will install correctly but when it comes to NEGATIVES it is hit or miss whether it's in the mood to function properly. Hp rep recommended the Mac imaging software but that didn't work either with the scanner (again, hit or miss). I am using the latest Mac OS and I'm assuming this is why I haven't seen any other review state the above. Why didn't I return it? I went away on vacation for two weeks etc.. too late to return especially when the wife threw out the box. Not to mention under $200 vs spending thousand's mailing the negatives to scan is a no brainer. It's no an OVERSIZED paper weight that I only use when I know I'll be home all day and have the patience to standby as I repeatedly try to scan negatives. When it does work, I must say that I am impressed with the scans. Mac is light years ahead of windows but unfortunately after over 20 years of HP dedication their products aren't mac friendly and I might be switching over to Epson or Canon. (I had the same issue with my new HP printer regarding compatibility). If you are a windows user I'd probably highly recommend but as a mac user I would NEVER recommend. This is the only reason I didn't give it zero stars as my experience should be rated. Oh, one more thing, I tried it with my wife's computer (windows) and yes, it still takes HOURS LITERALLY HOURS to scan negatives. VERY DISAPPOINTED and no help from HP tech.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Scanjet G4050 Photo Scanner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for scanning 35MM and slides

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Towson, Maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the HP G4050 Scanner primarily for copying old negatives and slides. The scanner works flawlessly converting the slides and negatives into a digital format for storage on a server or hard drive. The transparent material adapters (TMA) securely hold the negatives and slides in place for perfect scanning. The HP software has basic features for orientation, cropping, dust and scratch removal.
The only caveat that I have is placing 35MM slides in the TMA. It is a relatively slow process when trying to convert forty years of slides into a digital format. I wanted to purchase a second set of TMA adapters but they are not available through HP, you must purchase via a reseller at a cost equal to or higher than the entire HP G4050. Needless to say I have not purchased an additional set of TMA adapters.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>