HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Desktop accessories or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s

HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
22 out of 26(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Review 1 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't get any easier

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is what plug and play is all about. 1TB portable storage just prolonged the life of my M1270N PC.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I need and for a GREAT price

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this puppy almost two weeks ago and couldn't be happier. Recently turned my HP Multimedia Center desktop into a media center full time with the Hauppauge HD-PVR and SageTV media center software. A terabyte drive is exactly what you need when you start recording HD television shows and movies! Hope to be able to buy a second one at the same great price soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is what it is!

PostedJuly 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, what can I say that hasn't already been said. Beautiful product. Way, way too easy to install and it just hums along.
Thank you, HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have for HP desktops with PMD slot

PostedJuly 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Three reasons why I bought this product:
1. My HP desktop has a Personal Media Drive slot
2. I need to backup my main HD drive
3. The price (say the deal when I bought it)
This product is perfect for HP computers with PMD slot. Just plug it in and you're ready for backup tasks. It looks really cool with its tough aluminum case and doesn't look cheap at all (though the AC power adapter is not HP brand).
It comes (mine did) with a backup software Roxio Backup MyPC 7. I tried the software (on Vista 64), hung after 12 hours, did not finish the process. I suggest using other system backup softwares. Other softwares work perfectly well with this drive.
This product is highly recommended to users with HP desktops with PMD slot. Note that it has only one interface, USB2. You may find it slow specially the first time you backup. If you don't have a PMD slot AND speed matters to you, consider other external dirves with eSATA and FW interface. Otherwise, this product will serve its purpose very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Sleepless Nights

PostedJuly 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't been able to do a complete backup in quite some time, I plugged in the drive launched the setup process, rebooted and competely backed up my PC all within about 4 hour with a data verification. What a relief... Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one...

PostedJuly 28, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am deeply into genealogy which take huge amount of storage space. I also have a large amount of ebooks and graphic that I collect.
I purchased 2 of these drives to test.
I found they are well made and are as fast as my built-in drive (much faster than my other WD usb external drives).
I like the way you can slip them into your media drive bay to use or you can uae them with any other computer with the included power pack.
All things considered... this is the way to go with external drives. I am going to purchase 2 more of these while they are on sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Perfect "Twofer".

PostedJuly 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I initially bought this as a plug in "internal" drive for my desktop. Then, shortly after, I bought a HP laptop as well. Now I use this drive with both my desktop and as an external plug and play drive on my laptop.
Two for the price of one.
Outstanding.
(Oh, yeah, and it works great, too!!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchase a Couple of These

PostedJuly 8, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't running out of HDD space. I wasn't running out of backup HDD space. But I do like technology and I like gadgets and software the operates the way I want it to. It also helps it is innovative. The HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s is all of these and more. I already have a 840 GB WD "Book"external HDD running Memeo in the background. The drive is great. It was $84.00, less the software. And the blue LED moves when a read/write operation is being performed. Cool. The software was for a 30 day trial period. Since I didn't have any alternatives on hand, I purchased Memeo at the end of the trial. I tried to configure it to backup the entire drive, but it kept balking, so I tried the best I could.
About 2 months later they had an upgrade and that was a mistake that I took advantage of. Enough of Memeo except to say it kept crashing.
I always wondered what the "Personal Media Drive Bay" as for. Sorry hp, I didn't read the manual. After a Google, I found out at hp's site. A hidden drive slot - an internal/external 1T USB drive. $150 was a little steep, but $112 wasn't.
It arrived yesterday, Slipped right in and it immediately was recognized. Just like it should. But then the real high point - Roxio. Remember I wanted to backup the entire drive. The first thing talked about in the docs was backing-up an entire drive. PERFECT. Hello Roxio; goodbye Memeo.
HP made a good choice - and so did I.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Noisy!

PostedJuly 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was excited about using my removable bay to store all my media. After about 1 week the grinding noise became too unbearable to continue using this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best ext hard drive...

PostedJune 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best external hard drive, been looking for a great deal and found this one on sale...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I even like the box!

PostedMay 22, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really appreciate the internal/external nature of HP's Personal Media Drives. I just purchsed the 1TB drive as my second after filling a 300GB version with music, photos and video. The drive normally stays home in its dedicated spot on my Pavilion. I have however had opportunities to use it with other computers and I love being able to take it from the Pavilion and just plug it in to my laptop or a family member's PC because HP has provided me with the power supply and USB cord. The drive feels well built and not at all fragile, although I think it is a good idea to treat all drives with care.
When I purchased my first Personal Media Drive a few years ago, 300GB was the biggest I could afford and I am sure HP didn't even make a 1TB version then. The new drive will easily back up my entire C drive, which is something I have been meaning to get in the habit of, but didn't have the space because I used the first drive just for music, video and photos or my "personal media."
When the drive arrived, I was also pleased to see HP had packed it in an environmentally sensitive way. No styrofoam in the packing box or in the product box and the product box used unbleached cardboard. Nice work HP.
If I had one objection, it would be concerning the size of the power supply, which seems awfully large for such a small product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP personal media storage

PostedMay 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my HP media center computer 4 years ago, with two 250 gig hard drives in it. I've waited till the removable media storage drives came down in price and just got this Terrabite unit at a great price. These are really good removable drives, way superior to any other external drives on the market. The case is very strong, it has its own cooling fan which comes on when needed and will work instantly when slotted into a HP media dock. I just made folders into it ,from the "my computer" icon that appeared when I plugged it in, and dragged and dropped Photos, music albums, movies, software, contact addresses and everything else I needed to make sure I had. It was just as fast as moving between my two internal drives and should I need to abandon the house in an emergency, I can just grab this and will have salvaged everything from all the desktops and laptops we have in the house. I highly reccommend this product, it is very well made. Better than ANYTHING else out there AT ANY PRICE!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s

PostedMay 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I liked the way I could unbox this drive and slide it into the expansion bay on my HP Pavillion Media Center m8120n PC/TV. With only a 500 gig original hard drive I filled it up in about 6 months of TV shows and movies. Now I can just record to my Z drive and dump or keep them as desired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

lost everything

PostedMay 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This drive worked great for a while, so I put all of my pictures and home videos on it. I was glad not to be bogging down my PC with all the data. Then it started making a strange sound and the computer wouldn't recognize the drive. Drive was somehoe defective and now all my memories are gone.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drop Test 2

PostedApril 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just ordered my eleventh PMD. I always keep at least one with my important data in my safe deposit box. I dropped the number 3 drive on the floor of the bank in Oct of 2006 and it's still working fine. To reduce the risk, I ordered two carrying cases for the two I exchange at the bank. Haven't dropped one since. These are very easy to use when inserted into an HP Media Center PC bay, but still work with most computers with any USB port.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plugged it in and it works

PostedMarch 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So, in this world of tough times, here is some good news for you. The drive, software, functionality is flawless. Have had mine for about a month now and thinking of getting another (just have to save some money). HP... good job and thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Drop Test

PostedMarch 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own three of these drives now--LOVE 'EM!--but I sometimes forget that they're in the Media Bay. When I've moved the computer to perform upgrades, I've had each one, at one time or another, slip out of the bay and crash to the hardwood floor from a height of approximately 4 feet (1.5 meters-ish.) I know, you'd think a guy would learn after the FIRST TIME--what a dolt ! Anyway, I'm quite happy to report that ALL THREE of the drives have withstood this horrific "Drop Test." One drop caused the drive's case to bulge out a little; a good squeeze between the palms put it right again! The only long lasting damage has been to the floor! While I do NOT recommend trying to replicate my "test results," the drives do seem to be extremely durable if not completely Idiot Proof from oafs like me. (And, a tip, I use the drives to back up two hard-drives and a laptop; took a marker and wrote on the top of each drive it's size and which hard-drive/computer it is for.) Postscript: I've had the drives for over a year and they all still run like champs despite my best efforts to damage them....Good Work, HP!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedMarch 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works nice. lot of space easy to use and great for hp
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Pleased

PostedFebruary 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased a Seagate 1.5 TB drive and it was defective so I returned it & purchased this one.
This is the second Personal Media Drive I have bought. My first one was the 250 MB which I gave to my daughter and she loves it.
I am very please with the ease of use. Just slip it into your bay and it's ready to go. I haven't had a problem at all with this one or my last one.
Shipping was also very fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 1TB Personal Media Drive HD10000s
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Have to send back

PostedJanuary 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worked great for a week. Started making grinding noise. Cannot exchange as no longer in stock. I wonder if it is because the lot is defective.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.