HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Desktop & All-in-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP USB TV Tuner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP USB TV Tuner

Watch, record, and pause live TV Supports NTSC analog cable TV, HD6 digital ATSC3, and clear QAM digital TV
Overall rating:
3.66 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
10
39 out of 53(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP USB TV Tuner
Review 1 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this tuner

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this. Installation was simple. reception is very good. I don't have cable so i am pulling this off the air. It gives me a great alternative to a DVR. Highly recommend
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Temple, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this Tuner on 3 seperate computers and it works well in Windows 7. Just plug the tuner in and let Windows 7 download the latest drivers. Works everytime for me. I receive Digital TV off the air and get all networks plus PBS. On the last install I use it on a computer with an internal TV card and can record 2 shows at the same time while I watch previously recorded shows. My wife accesses the recorded TV shows on her Windows 7 computer and watches them over the wired network. Your milage may vary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for satellite

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have spent hours (15 so far) with tech support on this. Apparently it will not work with satellite TV without an infrared blaster and ir receiver, even though the instructions say it will work. I bought this when I bought my laptop directly from HP, and I would think they would know what works. The separate antenna works for local channels. I guess it's ok with cable tv, but unless you get the ir equipment, it's not good for satelllite. Also, you have to have the computer directly hooked up to the satellite box and the ir blaster hooked up to the computer and pasted to the satellite box.I thought that with a TV tuner I would be able to watch TV without being hooked up directly to the TV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Some concern

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The product performs as advertised. When in use it tends to get quite hot and I am a bit concerned that may lead to performance deterioration in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK!! DO NOT BUY

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I like HP stuff. I have three HP computers. I tried to run this on a new DV6, I-7 win 7 computer. It does NOT work. Worse than that, it crashed my computer and I had to do a recovery to get it to work. I tried it again, before I wrote this review. Crashed computer again. This junk should not be sold by HP and should be removed from the market.
I will get a refund, the TEN hours I spent trying to run this and then having to restore my computer is worth TEN time what this junk cost.
If I could give it a ZERO, I would. DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK.
That clear enough??
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP USB TV Tuner

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Device works well, although using Windows Media Center can be frustrating at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

POOR

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The TV tuner does not work after following all instructions. There is no information given to troubleshoot it. It has an error message: " Tuner error--The tuner is not ready or has encountered an error".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HP TV Tuner

PostedJune 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i mostly used this to transfer my home videos from VHS to DVD. for some odd reason this tv tuner works great with analog tv signals, but for hi-definition digital ATSC1 or clear QAM digital TV signals it will not work...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP USB TV Tuner great

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This works great with my HP G72 laptop. Took about 4 min. to install, and now my laptop is also my TV. I get more digital stations than on my hd flat screen. Must have add on, and the remote comes in handy when watching in bed. No more getting out of bed to turn off cpu.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way too complicated

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Unless you are very sophisticated regarding all sorts of equipment and hook-ups and cable boxes you are likely to have trouble. I give up and will send it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must say I'm extremely satisfied with this product. The usb tv tuner of a different brand I previously purchased didn't have good signal and didn't play as clearly and smoothly, especially the radio. After a day or two, it didn't receive any signal at all so I had to return it. I paid about $20 more for this one and it worked nicely. I have never made use of Windows Media Center and this tv tuner allows me to do that. You use Windows Media Center to watch tv and listen to the radio rather than installing a new software. I have no problem with the control. It does what needs to be done! I also like how they included a usb extension cord for the tuner because it covers so much of the usb port that you can't use the usb port next to it when you wanted to. It took me awhile to figure out how to configure this one and my previous one, but it all went well. I'm keeping this for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

hp usb tuner

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
my 2 tvs pick up 12 hd channels on cable with no box. this tuner can only find 1 on my desktop. since it can find 1, i think it is capable. windows media center seems to only pick up channels listed in some "guide" and not what is actually available on the cable. the guide for our cable is not up to date and doesnt match what is picked up by the tvs. some of the channels are correct; some are listed on the wrong channel; some we get are not listed; & some are listed that we dont get.
i purchased this tuner to receive & record the hd channels because my old tuner didt pick up any.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

lacking in numbers

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I connected the tuner to my cable box and only got 17 of my 300 channels. Those 17 are nice and clear, though, and stuff gets recorded. But since I got this in order to record things off those non-network channels that the tuner couldn't find... not very worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was worried, but wow!

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a skeptic, but now I'm a believer. Out of this little USB device comes some awesome TV viewing and functionality. With the help of Windows Media Center, of course. I am using it with cable-no-box (QAM), so the signal is coming straight off the splitter. The initial set up was a little hairy because there's no manual for Media Center. When I first scanned for channels I only got the ATSC, none of the HD. When I did it again, I lost the ATSC and only got the HD. The third time was the charm; I got all of my channels.
The remote leaves a little to be desired. I seriously question its durability, as it's very thin and lightweight, with a high-gloss plastic finish that will be scraped up and dulled in no time. There is no back lighting, the lettering is small, and the buttons are small and close together. It's a good thing I have girl hands. The receiver for the remote is in the side of the tuner. I'm told it's an RF signal, but it definitely requires line of sight to work. Still, it works from my using distance of about 10 feet.
I was really confused between the time I ordered this, received it, and installed it. I will start with the caution that as of this date the documentation provided in the CD and on the HP web site is wrong. It does not come with an IR sensor, a/v cables, or any of the stuff that appears in the documentation, and some of the remote control feature buttons are different and I have no idea what they do. What comes in the box is only what the product description says: the USB tuner, remote, extension cable, and antenna.
Now for the important stuff--how does it look? Initially I was disappointed. It looked fuzzy and washed out. With a little custom calibration on the TV picture, after my very first crop of recorded TV last night, it was beautiful! I could not have expected better. It was nearly as good as the straight TV. The "next" and "previous" buttons on the remote control can be used to skip ahead 30 seconds and back 5 seconds to avoid commercials and pretty much any other feature you might have with a DVR. In fact, it's slightly better than my DVR, which it's intended to replace. Media Center offers more features for scheduling. The only thing it's lacking is a "minimize" button so I can quickly check my email. You have to reach for the mouse for that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So simple and never a problem!

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Central California Coast
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this tuner and it works great with my laptop component based HP Firebird gaming desktop PC. I've had this for about 6 months now I am installing it with a second PC so it can easily move with me for use wherever I am! I love it! It installed easily and it has never had a problem. No complaints!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product was so amazing I love it so much, it is so easy to use and flexible, cable looks great on this amazing tv and i am definitely glad i purchased without it i would not be able to watch tv at college. Recording work perfectly, and the remote control is great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works very well with outside antenna

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NW Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It does everything it claims to, and well. In my area it will not work w/ the antenna that is comes with. The remote is great for TV and DVDs. This is a great product in a small package at a small price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wll this work on Desktop PC's

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:India
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hi friends can anyone clarify my doubt. Will this USB TV Tuner work on desktop Pc's. Because its compatibility doesnt match to my expectation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Functional but gets lost

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Berlin, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The product was difficult to install. It kept saying tuner not available or no signal. After doing a restore on my HP G71 laptop with Windows7 Home Premium it finally took. Three problems:
1. Any disconnection or change in the USB port disables the tuner. I had to Google the problem to find the fix by using Administrative tools. HP help was lacking and the manual gave no clue.
2. It does not work through my Targus 4 port USB hub.
3. The tuner will only work on the channels downloaded by Windows Media to the guide. There are several digital channels available to my digital TV that cannot be received from Comcast using no box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP USB TV Tuner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay . . . but!

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Niagara Falls, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Determined not to pay over a hundred per month for cable TV any longer, I decided to purchase a TV tuner for my dv7. The small antenna included with the HP tuner would only receive a few channels so I had to buy a better antenna. I spent an extra $38 bucks for a Panasonic HD antenna at Walmart. It's a stronger amplification antenna so the "pull" is better. With some coaxing, the new setup gets about 20 channels. NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, a few educational channels and a bunch of local access. My local NBC affiliate has 3 separate channels. The problem with this tuner is two fold. First, it taxes my computer to the max. While the Core2Duo is not the latest processor, it should be strong enough to handle the load better than it does. The fan runs very loud at times trying to keep up with the tuner and as a result, the tuner runs EXTREMELY HOT. Almost too hot to touch. Second, the reception fades in and out at times but not enough for me to write it off completely. Direction, weather and other external factors also affect this tuner. All and all it suits its intended purpose. Combined with the proliferation of internet TV and the offering of full episodes on line by dozens of networks, the savings are well worth the price of the tuner and the additional antenna. I really don't miss anything that I'm now unable to watch/receive. Since this site has a mandatory question about recommending a product (or not) I do recommend this tuner with the aforementioned caveats. (money saved is money earned). Lastly, if there were a way to rate this tuner a 3.5, I would have as it's a bit better than middle of the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.