HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Notebook QuickDock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Notebook QuickDock

Compatiblity: HP HDX16, 18, 9000; HP Pavilion dv4, dv5-1000, dv6-1000, dv6-2000, dv7-1000, dv7-2000, dv7-3000, dv8, dv2000, dv6000, dx6000, dv9000, tx2, tx1000, tx2000, tx2500; Compaq Presario CQ45, V3000, V6000 series; not compatible with dv5-2000, dv6-3000, or dv7-4000 series
Overall rating:
3.046 / 5
3
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
6
1 Star
9
25 out of 43(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Notebook QuickDock
Review 1 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

QuickDock Failure

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am on my second HP Notebook QuickDock and returning for refund as the powered USB ports continually fail. HP needs to improve the quality. Also suggest they add a HDMI port.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best LapTop/Notebook Accessory

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brentwood CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's to bad that all notebooks or laptops do not come with the ability to use a Quick Dock station. Makes taking your laptop from the office to home a breez, one plug to connect everything. I have one OuickDock at the office and one at my home and they are worth every penny I spent on them. Make your life easy and try it for yourself you will not regret it. This should be a necessity not an option. HP make it a standard connection on all your Notebooks and Laptops.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poorly engineered

PostedMay 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The engineers did not test this out with the Pavilion dv6t notebook; I tried 2 Quickdocks and both had the same problem - the USB ports are dead. I have been forced to use the USB ports on my notebook. I would avoid this underperforming product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use your desktop screen, save the laptop!

PostedApril 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
This is a really great dock. You have to look in the guide to find it, but there is a command that lets you shut your notebook case while it's running, and the screen shuts off! PLUS, when you add the wireless keyboard and mouse, it's like having the best of both worlds. You have your desktop big screen and keyboard, and your laptop is working with both---without burning the laptop screen!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convenient, but irritating

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
We purchased this unit for my wife's new HP notebook. It works great, and provides all the ports and connections she needs, with the convenience of a single connector to the notebook.
Only one problem; the audio connection is constantly "whining," with static and noise to the external monitor's speakers, and what appears to be matching "noise" on the external display. If I disconnect the external monitor from the dock, and connect it directly to external monitor on the notebook, the problem disappears. Even leaving the external monitor's speakers connected to the external audio port on the dock, the sound clears up as soon as I disconnect the video from the dock.
I contacted HP about the problem, and they said they had not heard this complaint from anyone else. They sent out a replacement unit, but it has exactly the same problem.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quick Dock

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
The unit functions perfectly. However, I find plugging the Quick Dock into the laptop to start my morning with frustration. The plug design requires precise placement or it will not plug in. If the product were to be truly user friendly, it would be much easier to connect to the laptop.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Some fixes to problems of other reviewers

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Connected to a Pavilion dv4. I had video problems at first - looked like it was connected to a TV instead of a high quality monitor. My monitor is a Samsung SyncMaster. Video improved back to looking like a normal RGB direct connection after I pushed the auto sync button on the monitor. Also, if you want to close the top of the computer while docked, you need to go into power management and change the setting for when the cover is down and on plug power.
Overall, I am happy I bought it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
This is my second HP docking station. The first was not compatible with my new dv4i though they didn't mention that when I bought everything together.
I then bought the quick dock which works fine. However the plug that goes into the computer on the left side is very large on a massive cord so it is not very flexible. Worse than that is that the cord is only about 18 inches long so I am now left with many wires and the configuration of my desk is such that it may have workedif the plug in were on the right. So if you want to get wires out of the way you should make sure you want to keep ypur laptop very close to the docking station. It doesn't work for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs some sort of mounting capability

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
First, it is advertised as "reducing desktop clutter." In reality, it greatly INCREASES the clutter! It is so light that it won't sit still on the desktop, as the spaghetti of attached wires force it to their own preferences. All it really provides is a simple, one-plug connection that makes it easier to connect and disconnect all those peripherals. I also don't like the connector being on a cord--it would be a whole star better if it were a "drop-in" type connection (similar to that used by Dell).
Personally, with the design as provided, I prefer to mount it underneath my desk well, with only the attachment cable extending above the desk through a grommet in the desktop--THAT does indeed unclutter the desktop significantly.
Unfortunately, the layout does not allow any free space on the unit where I could fashion a bracket to hang it under the desk. I tried to duct-tape it to the wall, but I couldn't manage without blocking some of the ports or the ventilation holes, so I just let it dangle from it's connection cord, which probably puts undue strain on the cord. I've duct-taped a piece of wire coat-hanger to the cord to relieve some of the strain, but that sort of kludge should never be necessary in a product offered for sale.
Despite the woeful form factor, however, the device works exactly like it should. I have an older version, with TV outputs (Y, Pb, Pr, SPDF). I have every single connector attached (including all 6 USB devices), and everything works flawlessly (I'm using Windows Vista, 64-bit, as OS). By setting my open laptop next to my desktop monitor, I am able to use Windows' dual-screen capability.
This would be a 4-star product if some sort of "wall-mount" bracket were provided. In fact, all that would really be needed are some screw holes where one could attach a bracket of one's own construction, instead of resorting to duct-tape and coat-hangers. Also, if the connection were simpler (drop-in, instead of plug in), this product would rate at least 4½.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Dock

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It does what you would expect a dock to do, and does it perfectly. One positive lock connector, and you get everything from power to usb to video on the dock. I love the fact that you can hot plug it and the computer remembers your video preferences for docked and stand alone. Mine switches from laptop only to external monitor primary with laptop as extended display. Only feature I wish was added would be a second monitor port on the dock. The laptop VGA port is disconnected when the dock is attached, so you can't use that (and that would be less handy anyway because then you wouldn't have the one cable feature). I'll probably try a USB monitor adaptor, but they have resolution and frame rate issues.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Convenient, but...

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been using this docking station for three years with a dv6000. I really like the convenience of being able to quickly connect my notebook to my peripherals at my workstation; however, there are a couple problems.
The most notable is that using the docking station creates a flicker on my external monitor. The monitor has no such flicker when connected directly to the notebook. An HDMI port might solve the problem, but the docking station only has a VGA port.
Secondly, the USB ports are finicky. Sometimes one or more won't work with a particular peripheral. When this occasionally happens, I have to rearrange one or more peripherals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Compact and Space Saving

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Been using mine for about a month and so far, so good. Nice features (like the power key PC wake-up). As a Dell convert, I was expecting the docking station to be like the Inspiron tower docking station, but I am SO glad it isn't! This one is small - kind of the size of longish paperback book, but what I like about it is that it tucks away nicely underneath my monitor. The only thing I hate about it is the laptop cable; if you want to set up your workspace to look real sleek and neat, the thick cable coming out the side isn't really ideal. If there was a way to have the components link to the back of the PC, then HP would have one of the slickest laptop/docking station configurations out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Has Once Again Amazed Me!

PostedDecember 21, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
I got my HP gem with Lightscribe Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD+/-R/RW Double Layer, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-720QM Processor (1.6GHz, 6MB L2 Cache, 1333MHz FSB), 500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, 4GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) , Nvidia GeForce GT 230M, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, Intel Wireless-N Mini-card, High Capacity 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery, and Moonlight White (Wow. Beautiful!).
I love the fact that HPs still have CD/DVD/BluRay drives inside them and are not external. Who really wants to carry around an extra drive with them? I also am a big fan that they have kept up with the times with the i7 processors and have lightweight laptops with this choice. The other i7 laptops I found from other companies weighed over 10 lbs and were not as affordable. I also am a big fan of the numpad on the right. I use it a lot on my desktop at work and don't think I could live without it on here. The screen size and laptop weight is perfect. I am glad that I didn't get one bigger or smaller.
I got the HP quickdock for some great multi-tasking experience at home using my laptop screen and an additional monitor. I plan on undocking it on a regular basis to take it with me to school, which has been easy and works great!
My uses include Microsoft Office 2007 Home and Student, Finale, web browsing, pictures, music, and games. Also works with my printer and my keyboard (music) for Finale.
I am a big enough HP fan before, during, and after my laptop research to get one despite a payment and discount program my employer has with another company. It was worth it! HP beats their deals any day with savings, product quality, and options! I will tell all my friends and co-workers to go buy an HP.
If you are thinking about getting this laptop, do it. You will not regret it!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

PostedNovember 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Has some real fatal flaws:
1. It VGA outpu reduces quality. I have background line flicker's all the time. When connected directly to the laptop, no issues.
2. No power adapter of its own. Making it really inconvenient!
3. I don't care about sound that much, but the quality is lost in transmission as well
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The headset jack is garbled

PostedOctober 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
There is a lot of distortion that comes out of the headset plug. While the laptops built in plug works fine, unfortunately I always have to unplug it after use. This dock, is nice if you need the USB capacity, but it is very expensive for what it is, just a fancy plug without a power source. Overall, I'm pleased with it, there are just some minor issues that I can't fix.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Meh, it is decent

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The most noticeable benefit of this quickdock is its ability to save space on your desk. The inputs/outputs are fair, but not extraordinary.
Inputs: Audio, Power, Microphone, 6USB, Network, VGA
Outputs: VGA
Cons:
~This thing is HUGE. I bought this quickdock because I thought it would be a nice bar that could go on the back of the tx stand I bought. Nope, the height and length of the quickdock are to be expected, but the width of it is really not needed. I was expecting it to be half as wide.
~No DVI or HDMI, but the Expansion Port 3 on most HP laptops is not capable of those 2 outputs
~Their are two power inputs on this device so it can be compatible with 2 types of PCs. I initially though that one could power the dock and another could power a peripheral, but that is not the case.
Pros:
~Their is a power button on the dock to turn on the computer
~Infrared port on the front of the dock
~Security Lock capable
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

DVI

PostedAugust 11, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wished they would design the dock with a DVI port.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for G60 Series

PostedJuly 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although a very nice, compact, rugged docking station; the QuickDock does not work with the HP G60 series notebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

DO try to use the dual-monitor mode!

PostedApril 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I didn't think I'd ever use the two-monitor setup except when giving presentations, but if you can put up wth a 5-min learning curve, it's worth it!
ANY time you think you'll be doing a lot of copy/cut-and-pasting from one doc to another, it's great. You can have one doc on each monitor and move between them, even faster than with ALT-TAB.
Good luck!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Notebook QuickDock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Close but no cigar!

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great idea but apparently the designers didnt use it. The connectore on the cable from the dock is upside down from the receiving end in my computer. Since the cable is quite stiff it is also quite difficult to turn over and align both mail and femail ends.
Hot real handy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.