HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laptop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter

HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating:
1.8 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 165 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
10
1 Star
117
34 out of 165(21%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Review 1 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor product

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
My laptop informs me on the screen that this AC adapter is not powerful enough for the machine. Since I bought the laptop directly from HP, it's disheartening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible produce

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BROKE THREE TIMES IN LESS THAN 2 YEARS!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted money twice

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The wire is thin and can not manage the weight of the larger plug or cord , very little support at where it bends.
I am especially dissatisfied with the overall price, value and quality of this AC Adapter package and it's special attachment dongle for some HP Laptops. I am out a lot of money in a year because of the I purchased a second one after the first one went bad in three months, second one in one month - horrible design and inability to purchase a replacement dongle for the cord and adapter.
I ended up having to buy a new laptop while traveling because of the nature of my business.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Don't buy this product unless you want to throw away 70 bucks......... cheap and the dongle broke after less then 6 months HP doesn't sell just the dongle............. CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP....... my last HP product............
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product ever

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Don't waste your money. I have bought three adapters and each time the dongle only lasts 4-5 months. I then have to pay another XX.XX to buy the entire untit. Poor quality-poor design. I'm now going to buy a new non-HP laptop just because I will not be forced to buy another powercord with a poor dongle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst experience ever - zero stars

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
as others have said, this product does not work!!! If your current ac adapter has a yellow tip DO NOT buy this product because it has a black tip and as a result will not stay connected to the PC (ex. dv2000). The connection/dongle keeps falling out, is a nuisance, and huge waste of time and money. According to website tech info this product "should" work, but it does not! Bought 2 different times in case a part was just missing from one box - sadly contents of both boxes were the same. Although instruction booklet inside the box states there should be multiple dongles in the box ( a yellow-tip dongle and a black tip) and use the one that matches your old power cord, the yellow one is not provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

How to repair your dongle

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I guess I am one of the lucky ones because I have used my replacement cord w/dongle for over a year without a problem. But all of a sudden, it stopped working unless I carefully positioned it to hold in place. I tried propping it different ways and then I had to literally hold it in place while I tried to type with one hand. My husband, the genius that he is, took the dongle to the garage and came back with a single 2" nail zip-tied to the length of the dongle. Elementary----all it needed was something to stiffen up the cord so it didn't flop around. So I am now typing without holding my dongle. What a concept. A 5 cent fix that HP just couldn't seem to figure out for themselves. So, I'll be happy to ship you a dongle fix kit for a mere $10.95 plus $4.95 shipping and handling....just kidding. Seriously, just use a 2" nail and use 2 zip ties to attach it to the length of the dongle. Good luck! Click on the picture to get a close up view of how to attach.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Well, that was unfortunate.

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
I was extremely frustrated with my HP adapter. I have gone through three of them in two years, and until I read the reviews on here when I was getting ready to buy a new one (the fourth) I thought I was just hard on my adapters due to travel. Trust me, I will not be buying a new one. I am extremely disappointed because I have never had any trouble with the HP laptop itself, but the adapters have been a nightmare.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Despite having read all the negative reviews, I ordered this charger. And boy, was I disappointed. The charger is everything the negative reviews said and worse. Although it is more expensive, Radio Shack carries a charger that works better than the HP product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not fit properly

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
I have a Pavilion dv2000 the Dongle does not fit properly. It is too loose and falls out. I would not recommend this, you are better off getting a universal adaptor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

replacement for same lousy ac adapter

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I regret that I bought another of same ac adapter because the dongle component failed. I have since found places where you can buy the dongle separately without having to buy a completely new adapter. I will not be buying any HP pc's in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP needs hep

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southwestern US
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
HP needs help keeping it's customers happy.
What should be a simple chore - getting a replacement part - becomes an exercise in frustration.
I finally gave up and ordered another 90W AC adapter with dongle. Sometime since April of this year [it’snow Dec] the 2nd dongle that came in the box [part # Sps 414135-001] was removed. That's the dongle that causes me [& others I found on this website] grief - its poor design results in frequent breakage.
There is no mechanism by which one can replace that dongle under warranty . I thought that ordering the original replacement part would solve the problem but obviously that was a pipe dream.
As a result - my faith in HP has been replaced by a reluctant decision never to buy another HP product. A shame. I have loved HP printers ever since our TRS 80 was replaced by PC's. They are by far my favorite but I cannot subject myself to this type of frustration again for a simple part. A shame since our family also has two HP mini-notebooks in addition to the printer & the 14" laptop computer with the dongle problem.
Time for this, till now, well respected company to respect those that buy its products
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

$70 Piece of Junk!

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I read all the negative reviews, and still decided to give this adapter a try. What a huge mistake that was!!! The "dongle" dangles!!! I am literally typing with one hand and holding the dongle in place with the other hand. This is definitely not something I expected from a very expensive HP product. DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Huge Pain

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
This is my third cord for my laptop. The dongle is such a huge pain. It falls off easily and is easy to lose. I have to take my laptop with me everywhere and when the dongle falls off when I'm packing my equipment, I'm stuck with no power. Very poor solution to the cord problem, which is a big problem of its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LOOKING FOR BETTER SOLUTION

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I OWN 2 DV6500 'S AND I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE ADAPTERS A TOTAL OF 4 TIMES (POOR FIT SHORTS OUT,STOP WORKING, BROKEN CORDS)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst ever...

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had to replace our adapter for the laptop because the cord bent in a short amount of time so I purchased the HP Smart adapter - we had it 1 month and lost the "dongle" part that is needed to make the connection. It kept falling out and finally was lost on a trip where we actually needed the laptop for our hotel reservations. Worst use of dollars ever....can't understand HP's lack of a simple fix for continued customer satisfaction. May not buy HP again....
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Died after 4 months

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this charger to replace another one which died. After four months of regular use, this one completely stopped working. I tried the usual "make sure the outlet is working and try another one" that tech support always puts you through and I still got nothing.
Even in the short time it did work, it was a complete annoyance. Every time I plugged it in, I needed to press the button to tell the charger to actually charge my battery, resulting in several instances where my computer almost shut down, despite being plugged in. Overall, a complete waste of money.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not waste your money!!!!

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does not stay plugged in even when the computer is left alone! Adapter does not fit the computer, falls out, also the other two pieces easily fall apart. I am so frustrated with this product. looked on sight to buy new one. this is it? ugh
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Offer replacement dongles and it might be better!

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Dakota
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The product works well...when it stays connected. The dongle portion is very poor craftsmanship. I have had to buy one of the chargers every year for the last three years due to the dongle wearing out. If they offered the dongle for sale for like $10 shipped, it might be worth it...as of now, it is not!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 90W Smart Pin Dongle AC Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never again!

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've bought 3 of theses in less than a year. Every single one of them has tore up with the normal use. It doesn't stay plugged into the laptop & it is a poor excuse for craftsmanship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 to next page>>