HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC

HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.164 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
56 out of 67(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super fast and reliable computer

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I just got the HPE 180t three weeks ago and I was blown away by this fast, quiet and reliable computer. I work in the visual effects industry and this computer have no problems handling my projects whether they are in high definition or in film resolution.
It is extremely quiet and stylish.
I'm very happy with this purchase.
Response from HPBy HP Customer ServiceHHOOctober 12, 2010
This review references an earlier but comparable model to what is currently sold today
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal Desktop

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I recently purchased this desktop to primarily develop software applications. I never realized what I would be getting with this HP!
My biggest reason for going with HP was the combination of hardware that they let me customize. Based on individually reviewing hardware pieces (processor, graphics card and HDD), HP was the one that put all the right (and the best) pieces together to create this wonderful machine.
My 180t came with a personal media drive slot! What a pleasant surprise. From the reivews/photos and specs, didn't realize it was included, but it is!
The desktop is quiet, sleek, and fairly small. Yet, there is quite a lot of room under the hood to upgrade in the future. With 9 GB of RAM, there is still another slot open to put another DIMM in the future. Still another slot to add an additional HDD (but with a personal media slot...who needs it?!)
Running Windows 7 on this i7 is lightning fast! With several web servers/sql servers, IDE's running, its still blazing!
What are you waiting for? Go and get yours!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever so far

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:penna.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my 3 custom made computer and hp keep on getting better with the features..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wouldn't boot 2 out of three days now

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This computer looks great, I spent an hour getting it set-up the day after it arrived, 2 days later I tried to continue getting it set-up for my family, it would not boot and made very disturbing noises from the drives. After getting with Tech support it seemed that one of the optical drive cables must have come loose in shipping, so after about 1 hour it boot again. got some work done but it was slow. Now this morning, it would not boot again and it again made the bad noise (I had previously reconnected the optical drive under direction of technical support). I tried disconnecting the optical drive again, it would not boot, just flashed the main light every second or so, finally after several minutes it booted, still slow, talked to technical support, they cited possible problems with either the hard drives or the RAID controller, still not working right
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's powerful but lacks in the design department

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We picked up over 30 of these machines for the studio and they perform pretty well, I do have a few major gripes about them however. First off is the RAM speed, 1066 if horrid as the X58 chipset is more than capable of handling at least 1333 speeds if not a normal of 1600. DDR3 1066 is slower then some models of DDR2 so seeing it in a DDR3 stick is painful. Next is the case design...it's upside down. The exhaust fan is on the back at the bottom and while I can see the idea behind putting the motherboard in with the CPU on the bottom rather than the top (for cooling purposes) the GPU suffers, we are running an average of 92*C on the GPU's when loaded and we are using the GTX 460 cards. The PSU is also quite weak at only 460 watts as they should have been at least 500W on a single rail rather than the multiple rail PSU they used. All in all it gets the job done and it does it well but next time we may go the route of building our own machines with hand picked parts because these design flaws are some major ones, that being said you can't complain at the speed and processing power as these rigs really do fly and get the job done very well.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPERFAST COMPUTER!

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SAN JOSE CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS COMPTER ROCKS. IT GOT ALL THE MUSCLES THAT I NEED. HPE 580T SERIES IS THE BEST COMPUTER I HAVE EVER OWN. GET YOURS TODAY AND BE AMAZED.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

580t

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with my purchase. Its a great machine!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Budget Gaming Computer

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This computer appears to be the best budget gaming computer on the market. Computers with similar specs are roughly $300 to $400 more on other websites. The biggest problem I have with the computer is the inability to upgrade the power supply from 450W.
There are hardware differences versus other gaming computers. Most other sites will sell you RAM with bus speeds of 1333 or 1600, while HP only sells 1066. However, the motherboards for Intel's Core i7 only support RAM speeds of 1066. (Basically other sites are selling speeds that can't be released with stock components).
Also the hard drives appear to be SATA II and not SATA III compliant. While hard drives can transfer data at 6 GB/s (instead of the 3 GB/s) offered by HP, once again, the technology isn't really there to justify the cost for the upgraded equipment.
For video cards Bandwidth is the key stat you need to look at and anything above 100 GB/s is fast "today". Both ATI and Nvidia currently have about a half dozen cards fasterer than 100 GB/s and you will likely pay upwards of $400 for most of them. The NVidia GTX 460 video card offers 108 GB/s transfer rate. Typically cards need upgraded every 3 years and the computer will probably last 5-6 years for gaming. You can not upgrade to most of the other cards that are faster due to the power supply limitations.
Lastly I priced out the components seperately and found that it would be about $50 cheaper to build this computer on your own vs. having HP build it. (NOTE: did not include Norton in my costs or warranty value when pricing the build on my own).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:boulder, co
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this computer around six months ago and I love it! (although this is coming from a person who used to own a 2003 dell).
The features are absolutely great, and the graphics are amazing.
I decided to splurge and get the 6 core processor and I can have multiple games and game platforms running along with browsers and multiple downloads. So far the only problem has been my father. He prefers to be lazy and just hit the power strip instead of letting the computer go through the proper shut-down functions. This morning when I turned on the computer it had serious comprehension issues and sometimes would completely ignore commands. Also the mouse had a 1 inch/ 10 seconds movement rate that pessed me off thoroughly. Eventually I just restarted it and it worked fine.
Overall I love this computer and recommend it to gamers and software programmers alike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good pc

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very powerful pc i go with i7 930 , 8gb ,1.5 t RAID 0 ,GTX 460
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

System hangs after 2 minutes

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The machine boots but hangs after about 2 minutes. I guess this system skipped the system test phase. I sent mail to customer support to figure out how to return the system. I am willing to try another machine if it does not cost me to ship the defective system back.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big bang for your bucks.

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Anderson, IN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: This PC has alot of power, especially compared to my old system which was a 3.0Ghz Pentium 4 single core.
The price is more than reasonable for such a powerful PC.
Cons: The only con I can think of is the default video card is fairly weak, ATI Radeon HD 5450. I was expecting to be able to max out World of Warcraft graphics settings and still have a decent fps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice system, a few small flaws

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
There are very significant pluses for this system:
* Fast (I opted for the Intel Core i7-930 and the ATI Radeon HD 5770).
* It has plenty of USB ports (seven, or six if you don't buy the 15-in-1 card reader I opted for). Including the four ports on the LCD display I purchased (separately) I am in USB heaven!
* Looks great (every system I've purchased before this was the typical beige - it's nice to have a system in black!).
* Very reasonably priced; considering the features, speed, etc., I doubt I could have found a better price (and, you can believe I did check around before plunking down this chunk of change!).
* I am pleasantly surprised by the base DVD drive (an HP-branded LightScribe 16X max. DVD+/-R/RW SuperMulti drive). It's been working well - I was expecting to have to replace it with the Plextor PX-850A from my old system, but the LightScribe, thus far, has handled everything I've thrown at it.
But, nothing is perfect and I feel HP made a few relatively small mistakes. Note that most of these are really nitpicks:
* The placement of the soft power switch: it is on top where it can be accidentally pressed.
* No hard power switch, meaning a master power switch can''t be used to power-up - you'll have to hit your master power switch, then the soft power switch on the system.
* The Seagate Barracuda ST31500341AS 7200.11 1.5 TB hard drive is not quite up to speed with the rest of the system. I wouldn't call it slow, but it is the definite bottleneck compared to the rest of the system. My take is that if you do not run disk intensive software, it is fine. But, if disk speed is important, it may be an issue.
* The keyboard, with it's non-standard layout and mushy feel, is leagues below the rest of the system. It's as if someone decided to put the steering wheel of a cheap Chevy on a Ferrari. If a good keyboard is important to you, expect to replace it.
* Lack of a PS/2 port for my old keyboard.
* The load of included crapware, an all too common problem nowadays.
The main contender for me was the Dell Studio XPS 9100. I chose the HP Pavilion Elite HPE-480t over the Dell for a few reasons:
* Shipping time for a customized system was about a week faster (and HP did indeed ship the system by the estimate I was given when I placed the order).
* The HP included an extra GB of RAM (upgrade to 9 GB from 8 GB).
* The option for a 15-in-1 memory card reader. Of course, I could have purchased this separately later on, but buying it with the system meant one less hassle.
* The HP was a few bucks cheaper, even with the free upgrade of 1GB of RAM.
Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase and highly recommend this system.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exceeded expectations

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
I bought this a couple of months ago and it has more than satisfied my expectations with the hardware performance. I have been using this to render 3-D layout and images of floor plans for interior design and landscaping and it has not bogged down at all. the computing power more than handles anything that is thrown at it. I also use it to play warcraft 3 and has since used the maximum graphical output that the game can output, which is pretty detailed and impressive, and it has been able to hold its own. This is a great buy for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

total frustration!

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ordered this computer for our college age son who is an architecture student. He has had the computer less than 1 wk and the computer will not power on. A lever is missing! He now waits for the part and a technician to come to the house to make the repair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HPE-380T customized PC

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently bought the the HPE-380T customized PC and for the most part its a great PC. It's very fast with the i7-930 processor and the Nvidia GTX260 graphics card. I had no issues getting it set up and running and it runs programs very quickly and web browsing is excellent.
With all the good, there is the bad. I am disappointed that HP changed its design. For one, there is no internal IR receiver for the TV tuner, and the TV tuner seems to be a lower model than what I have with my previous HP pavilion PC (there is no FM tuner). Finally, there is a no Media drive bay. My old Pavilion had one but for some reason HP did not include one in the newer models even though there is space in the case. I have 2 of the large media drives and I have to plug them in externally which defeats the purpose of having them.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not too bad

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like most people, I keep thinking more is better. Given that I write database programming, I was expecting to really utilize the multicore processor. So I paid more for a better processor, more memory, 64 bit operating system, etc. Looking back, I am very much disappointed. 1. The system monitor gadget is showing clocking at 1.1 and not 2.8. 2. Core management is not efficient. May cores run in high 80s when other cores are idle. 3. 64 bit system is not fully adopted yet so you end up not being able to utilize the 64 bit system, instead you are on the 32 bit applications.
On bright side, support was awsome, system boots fast, and set up was easy. I think I would have been just as productive with a i5 or even i3 and saved a few hundred.
Overall a quality product do not see the advantage of buying this much computer for limited additional benefit.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very good computer

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got it customized with 2.8 quad core processor, 2GB HD Radeon 5570, 12 GB RAM, 23 in monitor, and the highest sound card. It's very fast and I can multitask like a beast. The video card could be better and i wish they offered a high quality one that was compatable with the sound card. I would have built my computer if I wasn't worried with the hassle of compatability issues since I haven't mess with hardware in a while(since I ordered it about a month ago for school and SC2. (Although I helped my friend put his together last night) Everything has been flawless with mine other then a stupid feature when you adjust the sound it pops up with a thing that closes your games and takes focus off any window you have open... I called to try to resolve the issue and they said it was something new with the models and couldn't be removed. It's a small but VERY irritating feature if you like to game (which is the only reason I give it an over all of 3 because it's something that should not be unresolvable).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice performance

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cypress
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm quite pleased with the overall performance, price and style appeal.
Two setup issues I stumbled on are - 1) with hp 27" monitor connected, no video on power-up ; needed to switch from default VGA to HDMI or DV and 2) TV remote didn't function by default ; needed to switch service from Manual to Automatic at power-up. My only regret is not to see a good and brief printed user manual with the product when user spends so much on it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion Elite HPE-580t customizable Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Computer

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the 180t for about 3 mos and the customizing, price and performance have been excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.