HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Desktop & All-in-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System

HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating:
4.554 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
59 out of 65(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Review 1 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big bang for small bucks!

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Paltz, NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using these for about a week now, and I am very pleased! They give great sound, thanks to being able to adjust the levels of the desk speakers vs. the subwoofer (which I have on the floor, 4' behind the desk) via the remote control. I LOVE having the remote control! I especially like the fact that it's wired, so no matter how messy my desktop gets, I can always follow the cord to find the remote (lol.) Being able to easily turn off the subwoofer and the satellite speakers (via the simple push button on the remote) will undoubtedly save on power consumption, small though that may be. I also like the way the bottoms of the satellite speakers have a non-skid coating. The previous speakers I had used to slide off the desk all the time, and eventually broke because of that. No such worries now!
My only complaint is that even though there are small raised lines on the volume controls of the remote, I wish that each one would have at least one REALLY raised line, to make it easier to make any adjustments. Right now, my fingers tend to slip off them, so something raised up higher would help with that. Aside from that minor problem, I really couldn't be more pleased with this set of speakers, especially at such a modest price!
I think I should add that I consider myself to be an audiophile, and if there had been any hiss at all, or pops, or anything bad, I would have noticed them and send them back right away! I use my computer to watch movies and play CDs - all kinds of music, everything from classical to pop - so it is very important to me to achieve a clean sound on my speakers. In the past, I spent over $300. to achieve decent sound. I never thought I could get anything close to that for well under $100, but I have now, thanks to this set!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

50 Watt Sound System

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
This is the perfect system for a laptop or computer for several reasons:
-There is more sound than I have ever needed; I have yet to turn the volume all the way up
-The sound is extremely crisp and it feels like you have speakers all around you.
-The bass has no rattling at all and delivers the powerful, low tones you would expect
-I use it for music, movies, and sound intensive video games with many explosions, and it has been amazing for all of them.
-The speakers are unobtrusive and have a sleek style that accent my setup very nicely.
Overall, I will never need to look for another sound system now that I have this, and all of my friends envy it. I reccomend it highly.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent for price

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these speakers one week ago. Seem to have plenty of power ,easy to hook up and the price for this quality is excellent. I would buy these again in a minute.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The system itself is a great product... it has great sound... good for watching movies and playing your music... Ive had them for a while... i dont know what happened or what caused this to happen but recentlly the sub-woofer has been coming in and out... I think it might have to do something with the remote... despite this i believe its a great product... Just gotta take care of my things a bit better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed With Product

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The sound from these speakers was very good and I enjoyed them while they still produced sound. Unfortunately, I spilled a soft drink onto the so-called "remote" a few weeks ago and they have been completely inoperable since then. Since the "remote" (an on/off switch and volume controls) is hard wired to the speakers and the subwoofer, I now have 3 completely good and undamaged speakers that are totally useless. I will never again waste money on a system in which speakers are wired to a "remote" that renders the speakers non-functional if the "remote" is damaged. I'm disappointed with this HP product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Sound and $

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Golden, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love music! That said I am an independant business owner that spends more time than I want behind the keyboard, to get me through I need music! The sound quality of these speakers are fantastic, two slim desktop speakers that look good in my office and a sub to keep the hardwoods under my feet bouncing! Powered sub requires an outlet then just the 1/8" headphone jack is the only computer connection. I really like having the on/off and volume control on the wire, wireless would be nice but then I'd be tying up those oh so valuable usb's. I've owned MANY sets of computer speakers, for the price these are by far the best! Anyone wanting slim and descreet speaker set ups will be blown away if they purchase these 2.1 HP 50w speakers. Don't think twice... just add to your cart, you'll be happy you did!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sound for the price

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lake Mary, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sound quality, especially for the price. Hookup was a breeze and I especially like the remote. It sure beats crawling under the desk every time to find the switch on the back of the subwoofer like my last set which cost almost 4 times as much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can't recommend speakers

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Best comparison I have is with similar DELL Speaker setup, and there simply is no comparison. HP set sound is mushy...not crisp, clear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Decision

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spent alot of time researching speakers. My first computer and I love music so I wanted to get good ones, I finally decided to get these. I couldn't be more pleased. Way beyond my expectations. And I have to say after some of the reviews about the remote volume control, I was alittle worried, but I absolutley love it!! Get these speakers, you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Sound!!

PostedApril 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St.Clair Missouri
Gender:Male
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After putting the fire out in the box from the lightening
Fast shipping, I imeaditly hooked the system up to my
New HP desk top. WOW! I listen to a variety of music so
I figured I'd break them in with some Baetoven. All I can
Say is I went up stairs to chase after my son and I could
hear was violins and a piano filling the house! The highs
are amazing. The deep bass from the sub wooffer is unbelievable.
I highly recommend this system!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Set of Speakers

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall these are a nice set of speakers. They aren't "blow the roof off" kind of speakers, but they do produce good quality. I like the idea of the remote control but it seems cheap and could break easily. Other than that I have no other issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:EARLIMART,CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT SPEAKERS BECAUSE IT GETS THE JOB DONE WHEN WATCHING MOVIES ON YOUTUBE OR GAMES. MY GF AND I REALLY LOVE THE SUB WOOFER. ONLY THINGS I HAD A CON AGAINST WAS THE FACT THAT THE REMOTE IS NOT WIRELESS. OTHER THAT THAT I REALLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Speaker

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:HI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this speaker for about a year, It's great. My grandson players with it all the time. and it works great for him. He is 4 years old.
The only problem came last week when he pulled on one of the wires and it broke. I repaired the problem and it still works fine. It is the best speakers that I have ever had.
All the mis-use and it still works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Got To Hear These

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Natchez, MS
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This set of speakers is easy to set up. It has a mini plug molded in light-green rubber, that plugs into the input of a computer with the same matching color. Another cord that plugs into a matching connection on the computer. And, a power cord.
They have a wired remote, which houses a power button that is back lit in blue, a volume dial, a tone dial, and an input for headphones.
They may feel cheap, but they pack a powerful base, crisp distinctive highs, and distortion free.
They were so great, that I purchased a second set.
One can't beat an HP Product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Sound and BASS

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great speakers like the additional plug for headphones on the wired remote
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best speakers ever!!!

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best deal I could find on the web for the wattage! Exceptional quality and superb sound! I am absolutely impressed with my purchase! Best sounding speakers I have ever owned! Blazing fast shipping! The speakers alone make me want to sell my new Dell computer and purchase one from HP, lol. I just love them so much!!!!!!!! Thank you HP for providing such a great product at such an affordable price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"""GREAT"""

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago,Il.
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm hard of hearing & wear a hearing -aid,I can not even turn these up half way because they are soooooo loud-One of the BEST things I ever bought Besides my HP computer----THANKS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Interesting Purchase

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since I've purchased this product, I'm enjoying music and viewing movies much better than I was without this system. I definitely would recommend it to other computer users for quality sound.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

50 Watt HP Speakers

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speakers are great, slightly deformed but they sound great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 50-watt 2.1 Speaker System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than headphones

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NW Fl.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If I could adjust headphones like I can these I would get them. I have owned these for about a year now. In 2 different places they do an excellent job of reproducing sound especially music. High volume does not distort even when amplified a bit with a battery powered amp. I use it with my HD radio and have heard nothing more clear and crisp. The added headphone jack is icing on the cake.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.