HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP G62x customizable Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP G62x customizable Notebook PC

HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.083 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
29 out of 36(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst purchase ever

PostedMay 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hi..I bought this laptop 3-4 months back.And after one month of its purchasing its touch pad start giving problem and now a days keys of keyboard starts popping off.So its the worst purchase I ever have.I will not recommend anybody to buy this notebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Think before you buy

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great value. I'm a regular Dell customer and decided to give HP a chance since my last Dell laptop had a really poor power plug that us failing every 6-12 months.
However, when I got this laptop, the 1st thing I noticed was how hard it was to press the mouse pads left/right buttons. I tried to ignore it. It is so ergonomically an issue you cannot unconsiously use the mouse naturally. You have to press the mouse 2-3 times just for it to be recognized. You have to forcefully put pressure to the point your fingers hurt in 1 session. You literally press so hard that the pressure applied makes the finger tip appear white. I noticed the further away from the center of the mouse pad button bar, ever so slightly better.
To not sound like a whiner, I let my family use the laptop and gave them no warning. Ditto, the exact same complaint. To me, this is a major design issue and will drive you crazy. For the value it's great and loaded but not worth it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Keyboard too small and uncomfortable to use

PostedMay 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought the G62x from HP online and one week later, I returned it for an exchange for a Pavilion laptop because of the keyboard. It's too small, uncomfortable and cumbersome to use especially on a daily basis. It doesn't have a numeric keypad so you have to use the number keys row below the F (function) keys on the top. If you crunch numbers a lot like I do, it slows you down to a crawl. Worse, there is a column of shortcut keys on the left of the keypad, and the key to open email is directly below the Esc key so often when you mean to hit the Esc key you hit the email key instead and your email program (in my case, Outlook) pops up and opens in the middlle of whatever you're working on. I do a lot of writing and research and this keyboard is so small and compact that my hands actually hurt after using it for a few hours. Otherwise, the G62x has a decent Intel i3-370M 2.40 GHz Core processor that runs fairly fast, has a good memory; 4GB DDR3, good capicity 500 GB hard drive, and considering it has integrated graphics and sound, the display looks decent and the audio sounds good using headphones. With the built in 802.11b/g/n WLAN you can easily connect wirelessly to the internet, and it has a built in webcam, 5-in-1 Digital Card Reader, Ethernet RJ-45 port and 3 USB Ports. If you want a laptop just to use for the internet and email and whatnot, the G62x may be right for you, but it's not suitable for work or study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Screwed

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Antonio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased this item for my daughter for Christmas. When we actually got it opened I realized it is slow and doesn't work well. Can't install anti virus protection. System doesn't refresh and regardless of which internet browser I use, about half the time the screen appears in machine language. Not helpful. Not intuitive. Not what you want in a brand new laptop.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Machine

PostedMay 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall, I must say that this is a good enough for basic (and some little advanced) computing. I watch movies, do some photoshop, surfing, and word processing. Its fine for all these. 500 gb drive is great and so is 4 gb RAM.
The problem I am having after 5 months of use is that there seems to be a reddish smudge at the bottom left corner of my screen. It seems that the screen is dying. That is a big con.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad touchpad, click design

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a terrific laptop from the standpoint of features, performance, battery life... most of the things that users care about.
HOWEVER, the design of the touchpad and click buttons is like this is the first laptop HP ever made. The touchpad has the same texture as the rest of the computer and is abrasive to your finger after awhile. But even MORE annoying is the click buttons require way too much pressure to push. I thought perhaps they would loosen up after awhile, but two months after purchase and I want to ship this thing back. After a couple hours of clicking, my finger actually hurts.
If HP can just go back to previous designs on the touchpad and click buttons, this would be a rocking laptop. Until then, buy some other model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good performance, poor keyboard and touchpad

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just recently purchased a G62x with a Core i3 370 and 4GB RAM. The performance for the price paid is very good, not far off from my business laptop which has a Core i5 540.
The keyboard layout and touch pad on this particular model unfortunatley leave a lot to be desired. The keyboard contains a vertical row of hot keys on the left side for quick access to things such as your browser, calculator and email. I unfortunately find myself hitting these keys quite frequently though accidently when trying to reach for the ctrl, shift and tab keys. The hot keys are a great idea but should be put back just below the display where they have been in the past.
The touch pad has been blended in with the overal chasis and while it looks good, I often find myself running off it, I'd prefer it to be slightly depressed into the chasis. The touch pad buttons are also VERY stiff and require more pressure to confirm a push than any other laptop I've used in the past.
Overal, the performance is great, but unless the touchpad and keyboard issues can be fixed, I'd have a hard time recomending this PC.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

outside cover

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the laptop looks so cheap its not a hard cover like most laptops
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Basic Computer

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my fourth HP laptop purchase and first one under $1,500. The G62x is a nice computer for its price. I like it because it has the Intel I3 offering, 4GB memory and upgrade to 512MB graphics. One will see the benefits of the the 64 bit Windows 7 on this well priced unit. However, I did make a mistake and propably should have consided HP's G62t.
The G62x offers a “500GB 5400rpm hard drive” as standard upgrade. However, I am not sure that this is really better than the standard 250GB 7200rpm drive offered which is smaller but, a faster drive. This would have some worth if it were an equivalent performing drive like a 500GB 7200rpm which is offered on the G62t (at a cost.)
The G62x offers the 4GB memory as two 2GB cards (2 dimm) versus the G62t as one 4GB card (1 dimm). This means you may not have any room for expansion on the G62x. You would have to throw out one of the existing 2GB to accommodate any expansion. May or may not be a factor yor you.
Overall, unit works fine and meets basic performance needs. However, I would recommend if you want to stay with HP, go configure a G62t, you may find it will offer more for the money.
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exellent computer, but be careful!

PostedMay 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this computer three months ago and am quite impressed. I am a full time student and enjoy some gaming. I costomized this computer when i bought it online and put in a 1/2G graphics card upgrade and bumped the processor up to 2.4Ghz. All the other features are the baseline ones they propose. So far i have had few snags but mostly the computer has exceeded my expectations. Here is a list of Pros and Cons
Pros:
- I can run many programs without the computer slowing down at all
- Graphics are excellent
- The outside of the computer stays clean, however i would suggest getting a case with your purchase
- Lightning Speed
- Dreamlike graphics with upgrade
-Excellently priced, anywhere else you would pay 150-200 dollars more
Cons:
- The computer can get pretty hot if you dont give it plenty of space to ventillate
- My computer has bluescreened a few times, i dont know if this is just my luck, a friend of mine has the same computer but has had no similar problems
- The keyboard takes some time to get used to ( it took me about two weeks to get fast at typing again)
- If you are planning on taking this computer on any road trips, i recommend that you purchase a larger battery. The battery life on this computer is rated at 5.5 hrs but that is with lowest screen brightness and no programs open. It is more realisticly 3 hrs.
-While gaming, the computer can get very hot and burn exposed skin where the processor is. I dont recomend that you play in your boxers or whatever ;)
Overall this is an excellent computer and i couldnt ask for anything more out of a laptop. HP has excellent choice and the customization feature when you buy your laptop is awesome. HP you've done well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good PC

PostedApril 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orlando, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great:
- Easy Setup and web connection
- Great speed, Virus system scan takes about 20 min. My old WinXP PC took over 2 hours.
- Good display size and quality.
- It gets somehow warm, but not much.
Not so Good:
- 2 of the USB ports are so close together so that they cannot accommodate two USB devices, unless you use a cable to extend the port (USB M-F cable)
- The touchpad is not marked, guess where the limits are!
Tips: if you moved from Win XP to Win 7, like I did. You can export outlook address-book.
- In Outlook, export the book as “.WAB” to a memory stick.
- Copy the “.WAB” file to the new PC WIN 7
- Double click on the file, it automatically installs itself. (I found it by trial and error)
Good luck…
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WORST START UP EVER!

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So, i just got the laptop, then during the registration the computer lagged like crazy to a point were it froze. Then when i restarted the computer, it went to windows 97? Exchanged it immediately! Trust me, tell the store that you are purchasing the product from do the start up process for you.
However overall good computer besides the glitches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like everything but the touchpad

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed a budget laptop and this one is a great value for the money, with a beautiful big screen and enough storage and power to meet my needs for the next few years.
The biggest disappointment is the touchpad. I may get used to it in time but of the many laptops I have bought for myself and those supplied by employers I've never had one that needed so much pressure to push the buttons or manipluate the cursor. I may be buying a separate mouse to go with this machine.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good PC

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orange county, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a Web developer and I really like this laptop. it has gr8 performance. and good product with good price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

like this one.

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really like this one. For the price it is all worth i wish i add Bluetooth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

With Reservations

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Golden, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The G62 is my first laptop computer. While it is satisfactory overall, there are four troublesome issues for me
1) The system often shows a strong wireless signal, but I need to shut down and restart to get internet access.
2) Some keyboard combination, that I have not yet discovered, sends the cursor off into the wild blue yonder.
3) It is often difficult to see Excel grid lines. I have adjusted the screen brightness levels with no help.
4) Regarding Windows 7. It is much less intuitive than XP. One very serious deficiency is that there is no provision for importing email addresses from prior Outlook systems. I have over 1000 email addresses and now need to key in each address as it’s needed. There are many, but this was one of the more stupid MS blunders.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keep it cool

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Iowa
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this unit for college I'm in the it field and it surpassed what I needed it for.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good work

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:IRAQ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the machine two weeks ago. Do not suffer from any problems. It's a wonderful .. beautiful .. but the only thing that requires attention is the keyboard. If it were to become a polished aluminum body worth more than the price now .. I have started to love the device .. and I'm of my nature, I do not keep the device more than 6 months .. As this device will have for a long time ..
-7points
18of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedApril 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a software engineering student that needed something portable so that I could program on the go. This laptop does not disappoint.
Intel's i series is definitely the way to go. I was skeptical at first at the lower end i3 processors because of their lower clock speeds, but the architecture is so well designed that even the "slowest" processors are very fast.
Rated performance 4/5 because with DX10 games, the integrated graphics card has a little bit of trouble getting a steady frame rate.
As far as the design, this laptop is hands down the best designed laptop out of any of HPs, or any other brand's design. The non-gloss surface prevents fingerprints. The pattern prevents scratches. The touch pad is integrated with the pattern so it doesn't wear down, and does not collect "crumbs". On top of that it just looks very stylish.
Speaking of stylish, the entire laptop is very sleek looking. A lot of laptops look bulky by having a lot of "extra" little parts sticking out. Not this laptop.
Very impressed, very good buy. This is one of HP's best releases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP G62x customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Notebook Computer I Have Ever Used

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP G62X is the best computer I have ever used. I liked how it was customizable when I bought it. I chose to put an ATI graphics card in, along with an Intel Core i3 processor at 2.4 gigahertz. The laptop is very powerful and fast when doing any task. It is also stylish, and Windows 7 Home Premium is awesome. I highly recommend this laptop. It works for any task, be it work or play.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.