HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Mini VGA Cable

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Mini VGA Cable

Connects HP Mini 1000 or Compaq Mini 700 series to external monitor
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Mini VGA Cable
Review 1 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:bangalore
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
i own a hp mini 1129tu laptop,since i have a problem reading i thiught i will add a 18.5 inch monitor,but i was surprised to know that the VGA cable was not avaiable thru out the market.I took a days off from office and went searching for this,but couldnt find one.Surprisingly after several followups with the HP world which sold this laptop to me they said the cable would cost 2900.00 Rs,and also delivery after a day..Is there a point in buying at this price when my lapptop is worth 7000.00rs, if i sell.instead i can buy a big laptop tottalling the price of the monitor.
I request HP not sell such lapttops for which spares are not available at their stores.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Purchase alright

PostedJune 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After searching local stores, I found that I would have to buy this cable from HP to connect. Under the description, there is no length. So I finally got the HP VGA CABLE and it is only 6 inches long and NO way able to connect to the monitor. After all searching and finally finding the cable, i still had to go out and buy another VGA cable to connect. So the cable was approx $30 from HP and then another $15 for the additional cable.. WHY ISN'T THE WIRE FROM HP, LONG ENOUGH TO CONNECT... Could be at least 5 to 6 feet long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and setup

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
This takes plug and play into the next level. Setup is a breeze, Dont forget to press Fn+F2 to display a copy of your mini screen, press it again for full native monitor support. Very happy with mine.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great...

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Cable works great. The connector on the end of the cable is set to mimic that of a graphics card VGA output on a PC. As a result, you can't connect the cable directly to a monitor. You'll still need the monitor's VGA cable. This took me by surprise at first, but not a bid deal. The FN-F2 key on the mini outputs to the signal to the monitor. It works great and contiues to output to the external monitor after the unit is rebooted. With an external keyboard and mouse, you have a nice desktop setup without all the size and noise of a traditional desktop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as promised!

PostedOctober 23, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I too waited a long time for this cable for my 1030NR - newer models have the standard VGA connector and won't need it. However, this connector works just fine for me, and as others pointed out, is not meant to connect directly to a monitor, but to its cable or an extension. Mine is tight-fitting but I always try to make sure laptop/netbook connectors are well supported, since a broken internal connector means a new motherboard in most cases.
To activate the dual-monitor as a second desktop in XP, do not use the Fn/F2 key suggested in the cable manual (which just switches displays). Right-click anywhere on the blank desktop and select Properties, then Settings. Click on the image of the second monitor, and select 'Extend my Windows desktop onto this monitor'. Choose your resolution and Apply/OK, and you can put one document on your primary display, with a second one on the new monitor. If a document opens on the primary monitor, shrink it (Restore Down box in upper right), then drag & drop the title bar onto the new screen. Hit Maximize and it will fill the screen.
Since the second monitor will probably be a different size and/or resolution, keep in mind the mouse pointer may disappear near the bottom of the screen so you may have to fish around for it.
Thanks (finally) HP! PS: Always power down VGA monitors before connecting/disconnecting; this is an older technology than say USB, and can cause surges.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD DESIGN

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am about to order another one of these adapter cables to connect my TouchSmartIQ770 with my TV. This adapter requires a regular longer PC to TV cable but because TouchSmartIQ770 has only one place to plug this adapter and not the regular PC to TV plug other PCs have I must order a new one. That said this is still not the problem. The problem is that the tiny thin male end that goes into the PC plug is light and fragile. It does not hold securely. This is the third one of these I have had because the weight of the odd thick pieces to this adapter connected to the long cord pulls down on this fragile PC plug. I think it may have ruined the plugin place on the PC and it barely stays in even when you first put it in when it's brand new. You have to tediously giggle it around to get it just right so the TV will show the PC screen then you must not jar or touch anything. Even when you tie it into the back to keep the weight off it's still too heavy and loose to hold in the back of this early model TouchSmartIQ770.
So I'm not at all satisfied with this and would like anyone who has another answer as to how I can connect my TouchSmartQ770 to the TV please let me know, or HP could consider making a cable that fits lightly and securely without the heavy adapter this one is. Another possible soulution would be how to install an external regular PC to TV plug or some kind of hub that would work. I don't know where to start looking for a solution and can't imagine why this computer was designed with only this type of connector to a TV when it comes with the media center and other wonderful features.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little cable!

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was upset when this was out-of-stock for so long and the price went up, but I do love this cable now that I got it. It does what it is supposed to do, very well. It's plug-and-play, and provides excellent resolution and picture quality for a large monitor or video projector. It works a LOT better than USB video adapters, which are much more expensive and bulky and provide jerky video.
For those who complained about the cable length- it's an adapter cable designed to plug into an existing monitor or projector cable. It was never supposed to be a full video cable. It's approx. the same length as the Mini is wide- making it very easy to pack with the Mini for travel.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mini VGA cable

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cable works, annoyingly short, had to connect it to existing monitor cable. Have not figured out how to have e-mail on the Mini's monitor, and a word processing document on the external monitor, as indicated in HP's description for this product. But if all you need is to see one document on an external monitor, and/or on the Mini's monitor, the cable is adequate.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VGA Cable insufficient

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It seems pretty expensive to spend $30 for a 6 inch cable that wont be able to reach any monitor I am familiar with. It should be at least 18 Inches in length. I got the cable but have not used it due to its length.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini VGA cable

PostedMay 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got the cable from HP after a lengthy out of stock. It works great and is simple to install and use. I don't understand why the price went up twice while it was unavailable but I guess we live in a capitalist free market world.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMay 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been waiting for this cable for months. It is worth the wait. I do loads of Powerpoint presentations on various digital projectors. This cable produces bright, clear images even in large lecture halls.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Mini VGA Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cable works fine

PostedApril 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't sure if the VGA cable would work with my 8 year old monitor, but it works fine and the monitor picture never looked better. Having to wait for the cable to become available was unpleasant, but it's great to have it now.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP Mini VGA Cable
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product
Features 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5