HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Handhelds or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld

Ideal device to complement a mobile phone First HP PDA with powerful features of Windows Mobile 6 Classic Easy-to-handle, sleek, and thin (13 mm) Connects to e-mail and Web via integrated 802.11b/g
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
10
35 out of 49(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Review 1 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

crapist support ever

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The disc that was sent with the software on it will not install on any of my systems. There is nowhere to download the software. On HP's site they say that they don't support the software for their own product.
I will never buy another hp anything in my life due to no other reason than their support.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as the last one I owned

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Norrthern New Jersey
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is the 4th handheld I've owned. I've used them in both personal and professional settings for more than a decade. I was "wowed" around 10 years ago by a product from HP and moved over to the iPAQ RX3715 from the competition and never felt a hint of regret. Unfortunately, that handheld finally gave up on me. So, for me there was no real choice of what’s going to replace this work-horse - another iPAQ. The 111 looked really good, the write-ups I read made it seem like a step in the right direction. The features were quite similar to what I had, although seemingly more functionality and power. I had to give up Pocket Access, but I hadn't really utilized that function, so it wasn't something I was worried about sacrificing. I also gave up a low-resolution camera, which wasn't that great an issue since my cell phone has a decent one.
Sadly, however, this model has me feeling that I've gone backwards in Technology. For example, when using Excel, a file that I've used for years on my previous handheld now suddely takes several minutes to open, and never opens where I left off - it opens on another worksheet altogether. I've also had problems with this system charging, and as of late I've noticed that the system has both a problem keeping a charge and keeping the battery seated to properly charge (I've had to re-seat the battery 2 times in the last 24 hours, where most of the time the system remained in my briefcase. I've been told that the issues that I'm dealing with, including these, are issues that I have to address by changing how I'm doing things or by reaching out to Microsoft (I have a few software-realted problems as well).
It's going to be a hard sell, unless HP decides to take the ownership of this problem rather than having Tech Support putting the ownership of the issue on me, for me to replace this PDA with another model they make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I recommend this

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A wise tech guy told me one time that combined devices (smart phones) compromise certain features. I use a reliable mobile phone (Verizon) and keep my "stuff" on my IPAQ. It syncs well and keeps all my contacts, appointments and other information at my finger tips. With all the WiFi spots these days, I can get e-mails virtually anywhere and surf the net as well. All this without having to pay a monthly broadband fee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely Disappointed

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This year I puchased 111 ipaq classic handheld PAD. In the beginning it worked fine. When I installed Windows 7 there was no warning that I needed to install Office 2010 32 bits instead of 64 bits. Since then the ipaq will not synchronize with my Outlook 2010 calendar. WHY is it taking them so long to creat a patch that will deal with this issue. I'm on the verge of replacing it with a PAD that is 64 bit compatible. And I have no intention of reinstalling Office 2010 32 bits. It seems they are making no effort to fix the issue.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost as good as laptop

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this pda for at least 2 years. I use it for business and pleasure. While on train I watch videos, movies, and/or listen to music. Wish it played mp4 and 3gp videos. Love Mobile Office. Can view and edit Microsoft Office documents including OneNote Mobile. This device keeps me organized personally and professionally. Balancing checkbooks, touching up resume, reading emails, reading e-books, taking notes in the palm of my hand. This thing is great and doesn't require expensive data plan or take up space while on the go, train, or in class hahahahahahaha!.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great PDA

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rohnert Pak, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchase one of the first Palm Piltot PDAs when they first came out. I have upgraded 3 times. I was not happy when I determined that my Sony Clie (a Palm Pilot) would not work under a 64 bit system running Windows 7 64 bit. This was bad news. I use my PDA as portable memory at 65 years, I don't recall as much as I did when I was younger, and to synchronize with my laptop computer. I purchase the iPAQ 111 and found that this PDA is much more reliable than the Palm Pilot. It also has a beautiful display. It doesn't crash/hang every couple of days. The best part is that it has some really good features, available only as add-on programs with the Palm platform.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

iPAQ 111 --- Worst Purchase Ever

PostedJune 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This device is a piece of junk. Since I owned other HP computer products, I thought the iPAQ 111 would be an excellent replacement for my Palm Z22. Initially, I was impressed with the iPAQ. However, within a week, I began to notice the battery wouldn't hold a charge. (Even when the device is off, it doesn't hold a charge.) I tried rebooting many, many times, charging the unit for 24 hours and finally replacing the battery. These attempts all failed. Do not buy this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mixed Feelings

PostedJune 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just received the iPaq today, and was super excited. Got everything charged and set up/registered, got onto Internet Explorer for the first time.... only to discover that some of the websites that I use most do not support this OLD version of IE.. and this cannot be updated on this iPaq... So, needless to say, disappointed that I cannot use some of my favorite sites. But, does work great for the nursing applications that I need for school. For 99% of the websites, this works amazing and I am very happy with the other options that I can use this PDA for. I would recommend this as a starter PDA as it is one of the cheaper ones, and with its only downfall being that it cannot be updated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:E-town, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it.
My expectations were minimal.
However, the unit is nice. First I worried about RAM size but this is a portable device and do not expect to have a full monty of programs on it.
Recommend:
1. Loading Skyfire for Web Browser, does much better job than pre-installed Windows Explorer.
2. Getting a decent sized SD card.
3. Buying a second battery if your a road warrior. One charge does not go far but if you are only accessing the unit sparingly battery is sufficient.
The thing definitely helps me stay organized, having 3 kids to taxi to all kinds of appointments and having to track work schedule.
It also brings a little joy to my busy days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedApril 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
This is one of the best products that i ever used to organize myself. The only problem is the my work doesn't have a dialing router and this takes dial-up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

old technolgy

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
The IPAQ. is a good handheld but very out of date. Only G wi Fi N has been current for some time. Mobile 7 is available the IPAQ is still using mobile 6. This is old technology yet the price is still not discounted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy the iPaq 111

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Like all the other reviews on this product, if we'd written ours within the first month -- which we didn't -- but if we had we'd have written just like everybody else. WAIT until the first few months are up THEN see what the iPaq111 does. Google the iPaq and see all the problems that everyone is having still as of early 2010. I'm taking mine and making a boat anchor out of it. The main problem the rest of the world is experiencing: The battery won't stay charged. And, then when you charge it, it takes nearly half a day. And, you can't use the USB charger. HP tells you to switch over to the A/C adapter. And, and, and. None of the "tips" has any long term benefit. Like I said, Google the iPaq 111 battery issue and SAVE YOURSELF the money, the grief, and the heartache. Flashing the BIOS, multiple new batteries, turning it off and on, draining the new batteries then recharging -- these are the things you'll read we've all been told by HP. Plus we've sent the darn thing in for repair, like everybody else, and "the problem cannot be duplicated..." I'm sure thousands of us are just imagining it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ipaq 111

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I had very good luck with previous ipaq's, and decided to go with the 111. What a mistake. There is some kind of battery glitch with this unit such that the unit will not hold its charge. I have been through 3 batteries, and there is no tech support or patch for this problem.
I would strongly advise anyone who is thinking of buying a 111 to either get the extended warranty or buy another product. Since my unit is unable to be charged, it cannot be used.
I would rate its performance as zero stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Once I got a good one, I liked it

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
The first one that I got lasted two days before it locked up. HP warranty was fantastic, and I got another one within 2 working days. Have enjoyed using it, but the instruction manual is vague.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great relacement for my old Palm T5

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
With the introduction of Win 7, I began to have problems with with the excel viewer and decided that I was finally going to get an HP. It is certainly more expensive than my old T5 but has many new features including complete window compatibility. I keep a list of books I have read in an excel spreadsheet with over 2500 entries. The new HP functions beautifully and does not crash as did my old PDA. It has great compatibility with Outlook and transferred all of my calendar, addresses, and notes with ease. I am a retired 65 year old electrical engineer and computer geek since home computers were introduced and sincerely recommend the HP iPAQ111.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
the product (iPAQ 111) is simply AWESOME....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS THING!!

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used to use a Palm Z22, and I was wishing that it had more features for better usage. I purchaged this, and I have had nothing but great times. I love the fact that it has Office on it because I was able to take notes while I was at a big conference and then I was able to better organize them on my computer later on. I love the adaptibility that this product has with the similarities that is has with a PC. If my computer is not accessible for any reason, I can still use this as my temporary PC.
I use it for documents, address book, calendar, and even am using it to replace my mp3 player. This has everything I need in one convient package.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Touch Pad

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second HP Classic Handheld. My first HP Classic worked for many years. This second HP Classic Handheld worked for only one year and 3 weeks (3 weeks past the warrenty date) and then the touch pad failed to respond even following several hard resets. Repair estimated at possibly almost $200 for this $300 item. I recommend an extended warrenty if you decide to purchase this item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

major missing features

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
one of the things not mentioned in the advertisements is that the contacts on the iPAQ can NOT be synchronized. There is no way to back up your contacts to your PC.
The iPAQ also does not support password-protected spreadsheets. You can create one on your PC (for example to hold your contacts info) and drag it to the iPAQ, but you can not open it on the iPAQ -"password protection is not supported"
I will be returning this thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP iPAQ 111 Classic Handheld
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedJuly 5, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had nothing but problems with this. I have had my iPaq for almost a year and I am really regretting the waste of money.
I am now beginning my second repair case in a 3 month span, the same problem. The device will no longer turn on. All of my important information is lost. I am very disappointed with this device.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.