HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator

hp HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator

HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Review 1 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Calculator with Great Features

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my HP 17bII+, over two years ago. Comparing it to my HP handhelds, including HP12c (financial), HP16c(programmer), HP95LX and HP100LX (palmtops), HP10bII and HP30b (financials), I found it to be the best 'all-in-one' handheld. Carrying my HP17bII+ eliminates my need to carry my laptop at times.
It is a great convenience to print from my HP17bII+ to my HP82240B thermal printer when I need a hardcopy printout.
My calculator has never exhibited any of the keyboard quirks others have mentioned. I have programmed and used 'SOLVE' extensively and appreciate the programmable prompts, compared especially to the 30b. I had a TI financial calculator but gave up on it because of the multiple keystrokes need for TVM and Amortization calculations. I use a TI Voyage 200, for differential equation work.
I also teach a graduate-level finance course using my HP 17bII+, and students are impressed with it.
I highly recommend the HP17bII+ calculator to my students.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Center Harbor , New Hampshire
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned a 17B ( the precursor to the 17b11 )Business Calculator for Many Many Years.
I have never had a problem and keep a second one in reserve in case mine breaks down (That has Never happened over 20 Years .
It is the best Business Calculator On the Market. Easy to use and always handy When I need it
I am A Commercial Real Estate Broker have been a Bank Loan officer and Business Owner.
The 17b11 is an exact duplicate of the 17B and although the case seems to be different It is a great investment for anyone in Businesses or In School
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Keyboard -- Otherwise Fine

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Do not buy this calculator. The buttons do not work. It almost never registers the first button that you press. Often it will skip a pressed button midway through doing a calculation. The functionality is fine, but it is unusable because it skips buttons. It is unfortunate, because I have only ever used a 17bii+, but I have to switch to something else that has buttons that work.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

On Button Sensitivity

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Golden, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really like the functionality of this calculator. However, one obvious problem is that regardless of what I do, when I place this calculator in its protective pouch, and I to open it up, and it's already turned on. Good for the battery industry, but not good for customer relations. Something ought to be done to correct this problem. Naturally, this wouldn't happen if I didn't transport my calculator, but since I teach accounting and finance classes at night, I need my financial calculator wherever I go.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Keyboard

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had an HP 17bII for about 10 years and it was the absolute best calculator I have ever had. I'm in finance and I had it on me always.
Unfortunately, I lost it one day in an airport and was forced to buy the newest 17B11+. Essentially the same features as my old one, so no complaints there.
However, my one major complaint with the 17BII+ is the keyboard. When I type a key, usually the first one doesn't register. It happens ALL THE TIME and I never had this problem with the old 17BII. The problem is so frequent that I have found it be almost unusable and I have unfortunately had to start using another business calculator. I don't like the substitute as much, but my job depends on doing calculations fast and on the fly. Not having numbers register just does not cut it.
I hope HP can improve the keyboard, because after that, it will be a fantastic calculator.
Until then, I can't recommend this. I have seen at least one other review on this board with the same problem, so I think that this is a widespread issue.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Button problems plague this model

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From the 1st day and 2yrs since this thing has always failed to register numbers entered (regardless of pressure). When I looked online, similar complaints/reviews abound - check it out. having to look at the number to make sure the calculator got it makes this a disaster! Buy an old 17bII - used. Don't be fooled by reviews of people who just took it out of the box. Go to reviews off the HP site - metareview
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent but poor keyboard

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent, very powerfull built in functions, very easy to use and the Solve function is simply fantastic.
I only dislike the keyboard (not as bad as 49's but far away from the 41's and the 32II's).
Also the battery door is very thin and fragile.
I would also like more scientific functions.
I bought four 17bII+ for four employes of mine.
On the whole I'm very happy to use it and I think it's an excellent product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 17bll+

PostedOctober 17, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This thing make you feel like an Executive on Wall Street. It will take me a while to learn the functions for there are so many. You can calculate the world on this thing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very solid well-built and functional calculator

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my orginal 17bII almost 25 years ago and it is still running very well. I take good care of my things and try to make them last and keep them in nice condition, but 25 years is much more than I would have ever expected.
As a financial professional I would not be caught without this thing. It has a nice thin size that allows for very easy transport in a jacket pocket or even in my briefcase or computer bag all while taking up very little real estate which I appreciate.
The only wish I have is that HP would come out with a PC/Windows Mobile version for this outstanding calculator. As much as I love the calculator, I'd love being able to combine devices even more. Win Mobile would be a great addition!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bad Case

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The calculator is excellent, the case is horrible. The case is not sturdy enough to withstand any pressure. When placed in my briefcase if anything gest on top or pushes on the case the calculator on button is activated. In fact I had the calculator on my desk in the case and my cat walked on it and turned it on. The problem is that this severely impacts batery life, I have repeatedly replaced the batteries just after a short time.
Buy the calulator for its power, through away the case!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Thing is Sweeeettttt!

PostedJanuary 28, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got this calculator and it is impressive! I primarily have been using th 12C Platinum and I love it. This calculator takes business and financial calculations to the next level. While the 12C Platinum is great, you do have a good memory to do some less often used features (not a major drawback because they come back quickly)' The HP 17bII has a user prompting softkey interface. The display prompts you for entries and the calculations are fast! With 250 built-in formulas, most if not all, needs are cover. If one is not available, programming is simple and multiple additional formuls can be programmed and labled just like the built in ones.
The chassis is sturdy and key keys are solid. Cosmetically, it is pretty cool looking. For now, this is the ultimate HP Financial calculator. P.S. Nice case too.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

17BII Business Calculator

PostedOctober 3, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this calculator in my finance business for the past 17 years and am just now in the process of replacing it because some of the keys are starting to stick.
this is an invaluable tool for anyone in the business of providing financial services for quick answers to some complex questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 17BII

PostedJuly 17, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my 17BII since 1990 and its still going strong. The features are fantastic but in the long run, all the functions here are available on a spreadsheet and there may be no need for this calculator any more. I did buy a 10BII for the home office, the build quality doesn't seem to be there. It misses a key every once in a while.
HP should write an application for the PC/MAC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Business/Financial Calculator

PostedApril 17, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great calculator - even for those out there that don't like HPs! In my line of work I need a calculator that can perform a variety of business and financial calculations. I have used the HP 12 series in the past, but this calculator is a great improvement. First of all, you don't have to use RPN; you can enter numbers and calculations just as you would on standard "non HP" calculators. Secondly, the on screen prompts make it easy to recall how to perform calculations that you might not use on a regular basis. My favorite and most often used calculations involve loan payments. This calculator makes it very easy to calculate these and to calculate how one variable change effects others without having to re-enter the data. I recommend this calculator to anybody that needs to perform business/financial calculations on a regular basis - even those that swear that they hate HPs. This calculator is great and very user friendly!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP 17bII+ Financial Calculator
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5