HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator

hp HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator

HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating:
3.444 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
7
1 Star
3
18 out of 27(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Review 1 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality compared to original

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using an HP 12C since my grad school days in the mid-1980s. I still had the original from then until just a few years ago when it was lost (or stolen?). I am now on my second replacement. The quality of materials and workmanship is definitely lower now than it was in 1985. The first replacement worked fine for 1-2 years then started yielding inexplicable and inconsistent errors in calculations. The second replacement - which I've only had for two years or so - now has a defective #1 key. The key doesn't fully spring back up when released and has to be pressed VERY HARD to get the #1 to register at all. Obviously, this makes it very difficult to achieve any sort of speed, which is one of the main advantages of RPN. I will be getting another replacement now, sadly knowing that it, too, will probably have to be replaced within a couple of years. Because of the price, it's hardly worth pursing the matter with HP, but I'm very disappointed in the quality of the current product. I downloaded an HP 12C app for use on my iPhone. It works fine, but it lacks the tactile sensation of the real thing, so the process of using it is much slower than on the real HP 12C.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

12C is absolutely the BEST.

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winter Park, Fl
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since its introduction in about the 1075's I have bought at least 12 12Cs for myself, family, and friends. I now have one by my PC (HP of course) and my reading chair. They are an important part of my life.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Tried and True Business Tool

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kissimmee, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This calculator wouldn't still be around after 30 years, largely unchanged, if it wasn't a superior product. The platinum edition adds some features and enhancements that weren't available on the original gold 12-C, but the essence of an outstanding RPN calculator remain. All professional financial analysts and professionals should own one of these and learn how to use its powerful features. The 12-C is the quintessential H-P flagship device, despite all of the other wonderful devices they've made. H-P is to be commended for continuing to market it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Calc

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dubai
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great calc. I wish they included the original case and not this cheap looking one that the calculator sticks in and can't get it out if left in there for over a day. Anyone know where to get the original case design?
Some keys work intermittent at times like 7 and ON.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fix The Keys

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This calculator can't be recommended. Half the time the keys don't register, and thus has unreliable performance. Fix the keys, and this machine has great potential.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I love the HP 12c and I still have an older one I use all the time. However, I purchased a 25th Anniversary Edition HP 12c Platinum in 2007 and it no longer works. The on/off button is hard to use and the #7 key doesn't work at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'm Really Mad!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Honolulu
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just so HP knows, my days go back to saying "hi" to Mr. Hewlett at Sunnyvale in the early 1980's, where I bought my first 41C, and my first 12C. If you heard/felt the click of each key, it was a GUARANTEE that the entry of the integer/operation had been performed. Not so with the new 12C Platinum (Serial CNA 94201205). Purchased recently from a nearby "Office Max," four operation keys and the "7" key registered intermittently. I bought the new 12C because the calculator case accepted my business card, which made for an ideal gift. I received both case and calculator back from the client. I'll stick to my 20-year-old 12C.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Calculator, Poor Build

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First, I am a HP calculator fan and have always owned and used HP calculators. I purchased my first, a 48G, in 1990 while in high school and used it nearly every day studying Math and Mechanical Engineering (BS & MS) then early in my career. This 48G was and continues to be rock solid after all these years of being slung and tossed around in a bag and generally not being handled with care! Loving RPN, I purchased my first 12C anniversary in November 2004, a replacement 12C Platinum in 2006 and now my third (another replacement) 12C platinum in December 2011. While the calculator layout & functions are great, the build quality on the 12C is horrible; keys are not responsive and fail within a couple of years, case is clumsily built, and pads on back side of calculator fall off after sliding in and out of case only a few times! Please HP return back to your golden standards... I want to love the 12C like my 48G.
After all, in this new digital age, if I'm going to spend $75+ for your product (and I clearly will) it should last! The 3rd party 12C platinum emulator I use on my Iphone costs a mere fraction of the actual 12 device and I can carry it everywhere with me.. but when I'm in the boardroom I want my 12C there and for it to work! Again please bring quality build back to your products then I can continue to be a faithful customer and endorser.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great, quicker than the older models, great for financial professionals, fits in pocket easily, don't need to break out the computer every time I want to do a quick calculation. Hard to believe it's still this good after 30 years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP12C

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the first one in 1978 and it lasted 30 years of very heavy use. I guess that was just too good a product for HP. Replaced it with the Platinum version less than two years ago and it is already giving problems.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Switched from HP 17B II+ - Easy

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using an HP 17B II, but had to switch for the CFA exam. The system is intuitive and easy to use. Not quite as well organized and simple as the 17, but works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool, cheap build

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read a number of reviews and see similar comments - a great tool, but cheap build. I put it into the case a couple of times and peeled off the feet the same number of times - double-sided tape to stick 'em on? Come on. Stretched the case and now it works without tearing the thing apart. Hope the rest of it stays attached. For a tool that I'll probably use for decades, I'd hope to see it built as well as it is thought out.
I've had an 11C since the early 80's until it was stolen a few years ago. Miss it almost enough to buy one off eBay, but the 33s is holding it's own for now. Still have a 48 at home too. When I made the break to get a financial calculator, there was no doubt about what to get - the 12C. I'll run an HP as long as they make 'em. Can't be beat, except by their own hand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lifetime choice

PostedApril 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have ever own more than 5 calculators. Every certain years I was tempted to some new calculators with new features, then I had to learn it over again. And repeat.
After so many years of learning and re-learning new calculators I decided to stick to one everlasting calculator and give up the new fancy complex features - Use MS-Excel instead. Actually, if your task is hard enough to require a unique feature that drive a calculator upgrade, I guess you will find MS-Office handy when this task happens.
I found HP-12C is the best one meeting above strategy. I have own it for over 3 years and never looked back. It's powerful enough, fast enough, reliable enough. And I also want to point out two points that are overlooked by many:
1. HP-12c has been produced for 25+ years without major change - longer than any other financial calculator in the world. I don't need to worry about replacement.
2. HP-12c battery life is freaking long. This is very, very important. I have ever purchased the most powerful, consequently most expensive HP financial calculator (I think it's HP-18c but am unsure). HP-18c takes 3 batteries and very soon I found out why - the juice runs out after months. I have to carry backup batteries on my trip.
On the other hand, my HP-12c last at least 3 times longer with one single CR2032.
The faulty power-on button happens to me, sometimes. I see it a manufacturing issue not an architecture design issue.
There is A REASON it's produced for so long. I see this ideal to a financial guy and I won't be surprised if Buffett owns one, too.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Decline in Quality

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New YOrk, New YOrk
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
had hp12c made in usa, lasted 20 years.
Platinum was made in China and JUNK. Need to replace every 2 years.
Like others, the keys stick or dont register.
Bring it back to US, I will pay more
I teach and students are not familiar with poor quality and assume answers are correct
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Statistic functionality

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Excellent functionality but does not have basic statistical functionality like M+ and RCM (i.e. recall memory)
Unless instruction manual has some pages missing!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hp 12C PLATINUM - Worthless

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The 6, 0, and enter do not always register when pressed. Therefore, 30% of your keystrokes do not take. This leads to a lot of errors, recalculations, and a lot of wasted time.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice Calc but sticky keys

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Long time user/fan of HP 11 and 12 series Calcs, but disappointed with sticky keys (not registering or double registering) on this hardware. Problems developed within first year and got worse. Now looking for a different model.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best choice

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking the HP12C Platinum as financial calculator is the best choice. Good handling and all functional for business calculations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extremely good ... but

PostedMay 29, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am a very long term user of this type of HP calculator - and I would have no other. The improvements to the Platinum version make it a worthwhile purchase. The increased speed was certainly noticeable.
However, as other people have noted, it is prone to some keys not reacting to being pressed - and it can sometimes take a two or more key presses. The ON/OFF key on the one I have is particularly prone to this - and it can take three or four presses to wake the calculator up. But once awake, it is excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for classes

PostedMay 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this calculator on clearance. It was about ten dollars more than the 10b. It does so much more. I find it able to do all my finance class problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.