HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 50g Graphing Calculator

hp HP 50g Graphing Calculator

HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating:
4.09 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
52 out of 67(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Review 1 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the 49 & 48

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Evans, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This replaces a 49G that just died one day. The case is more solid than the 49 and the key response is better than the 49 and similar to the 48. Also adds some bells and whistles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Installation Disk Problems

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lawrenceville, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The connection from the usb port to my hp dv7 laptop running Windows 8.1 fails from the installation disk provided. I now have to spend time 1) trying to figure out how to get tech support for an hp calculator, and 2) how to get past the installation failure. I am recommending the product in the event that I am the only one having this problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used the 11C & the 48GX for years. I will always stay with HP for calculators. I've had the new 50G for about a week now. Still getting used to the new location of the ENTER button, but otherwise, I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT the HP calculator of old!!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brookings SD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's a piece of junk!! The documentation is poorly written in that it's hard to follow. The calculator doesn't want to interface with Windows 7. It's now sitting in a drawer; I bought a TI Voyage 200 and am using it instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why aren't there more sales resources for the 50g?

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best calculator (or handheld computer) on the market, and yet the only way I obtained it was that I found out about it through my father, a surveyor who uses his trusty 48gx as a data collector. He hooks it up to his instrument and does surveying with it all day. He also has had twelve 41c models over the years, one or two 11c models, and one 38sx2. He purchased 15cLE models for me and him. When I was smaller the 38 was around the house and I used it for math class. I learned to use RPN very young, and I had to use algebraic calculators at school, so I consider myself unbiased.
RPN
I consider RPN to be much easier than algebraic to use. It may be a little more difficult to understand the stack (my father taught me when I was six using index cards with numbers written on them arranged in a vertical line), but the knowledge pays off considering the time necessary to do large expressions and equations. Whenever I forgot my calculator to school,
I hated typing the parentheses and making mistakes. I believe that an RPN calculator is an extension of your mind, because it works the exact same way.
Features of the HP50g
3d graphing, as I am in highschool it will probably be for the most part useless, but I know it will be very useful in college. However, it is very fun to mess with and it is the only calculator that has this feature that I know of. The filesystem is great. I have made RPL programs that handle data written in files such as a database manager and creator and a school agenda that
tells you what today's homework is.
Functionality
Since I am in geometry, I have to have exact answers for radical and rational equations. I use
exact mode all the time and it is better than approximating radicals and rational equations with a TI-x. It is very hard to make mistakes since you are actually thinking through each step of the problem, expression...etc. and this gets me better grades and faster test times than most of my classmates. All thanks to the HP. And when I want the approximation, you don't even have to switch modes. ->num is a great tool as well. My classmates always wonder why I am so fast at calculation on a calculator, and when they come check it out, it is the greatest calculator in their opinion, better than all the TI merchandise. If there was better advertising of this product, there would be insane demand as if there was not already. Here is a sample dialog of a conversation with a TI fanboy:
"Yeah, well you can play games on this calulator."
"You can make games on this calculator." I say.
"Ok... Best calculator ever."
OR
"Yeah, well you can graph on this calculator."
"You can 3D graph on this calculator." I say.
Some of the more practical members of our society ask me what the purpose of all this functionality and connectivity of this calculator is. This only requires a quick ~3 minute demonstration of its 771 functions.
I feel indebted to HP, so I buy all of your products. I have a hp computer and am about to buy another. Thanks guys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Calculator is far from intuitive -- too far

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The 50g comes with a short instructional guide which it estimates you can complete in about an hour. I couldn't complete the first ten pages of the guide in my first hour of working through it. Having owned five HP calculators since I bought my first in the early 1970s, I was already familiar with RPN. That didn't help!
The 50g has over 100 flags affecting its operations, and it's hard to anticipate how those flag settings occur and how they'll affect calculator operation. I tutor college algebra and intro calculus at a community college, and I find my HP 41C way more useful than my 50g for helping students solve problems.
The 50g has an 800+ page manual you can download -- which I have done. The manual shows the 50g has many features built in (why I gave it 5 stars), but mastering them will take more than a few days of work. That reward doesn't justify the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, my new favorite

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned and loved an HP35, 45, 67, 41CV, 41CX, 48GX, and now a 50G. I had a 49G, didn't love it so much... I still own and use the 41CX and 48GX. I decided to buy the 50 to develop some programs for work, and I was attracted to the larger display and connectivity. I love it. It feels good in my hand, the keys have a good snap to them, and the color is much better than the 49. I can appreciate the location for the enter key, but it's taken some getting used to. All in all, a great calculator.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real tool for engineers and other professionals

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 50G is much more than a calculator. I got mine in sophomore year of college when I took Circuits I and found out that my TI-84 couldn't handle matrices with complex numbers. The professor teaching that class was a die hard HP user. I didn't feel like spending another $100 or more on another calculator (the only other option was the TI-89 which I had used and didn't like) and he had convinced me that HP was the way to go. From the second I pressed the first key, I knew that this was the beginning of a different but great journey.
Available Functions
I appreciate the wealth of functions that are available on this machine, as well as the programming capabilities. It deals with complex numbers without a problem. I also use the equation solver all the time. The ability to solve an equation symbolically (using only variables, no numbers) is great too. Being able to take partial derivatives is nice (the math department knew that the TI-89 could take partials, and thus, was not allowed on exams, but had no idea what an HP 50G was). I could go on and on, but you get the idea.
Graphing
This part takes a little getting used to. If you were to plot the sine of x, as in, y = sin (x), you may not get what you would expect to see on a TI-84, but when you play around with the scaling and things, it actually makes more sense.
3D GRAPHING! WOW! Can anyone else's calculator do that (this was another math department lack of knowledge, 3D graphing was great for the chapter on surfaces in calc 3)?
Practical Usage
I can't count how many times I've used this baby to perform mesh analysis in a circuits problem (and do it faster than anyone else). I was also able to do Laplace Transforms faster. This calculator has also proved very useful in Electromagnetic Field Theory; finding curl and divergence of a 3D vector field is a snap! I once tried to transfer a program to my friend's 50G but forgot the cable. I then remembered that IT HAS INFRARED DATA TRANSFER! I can't imagine ever running out of memory, but having that SD card slot is great too. Being able to use units in a calculation is a very useful feature.
PROS
Has RPN (and Algebraic too, if you don't want to learn RPN)
Feels like a real tool rather than a cheap calculator
Comes with a faux leather case, not a cheap hard cover
Has an extremely large library of functions covering every discipline (and a constants library too!)
Has IR data transfer (seldom found in other calculators)
Can be programmed in C
Is comparable in price to similar models (but is WAY better)
CONS
The numeric equation solver cannot deal with complex numbers
The ENTER key is not double sized like classic HPs (but who really cares? If THAT'S your deal breaker, you've got problems)
The case does not have a belt loop (I stitched my own on)
All in all, I consider this to be the best purchase I have made in my college career. I think that should say enough. If you're on the fence, give HP calculators a try, the only regret you'll have is that you didn't try them sooner!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is, sadly, not your father's HP

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have used HP calculators for the last 20 years, as a college student and as a practicing engineer. My first was a 48SX that lasted me through engineering school and into the workplace as a field engineer. When it died (the field is hard on equipment) I upgraded to the 48GX. Both were great, well built pieces of equipment for the serious user. My 48GX was lost when our offices burned down, so I replaced it with what was available, the 50G. Ostensibly, it performs the same functions as the other two, but the quality has gone downhill in a noticeable way. It is a cheap imitation designed by someone (or group of people) who have never used a calculator in the real world. It lacks the substantial feel that its predecessors had, and because of that sits in my desk drawer collecting dust. I will never buy another HP calculator again until management reverses course and resumes producing serious tools.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best calculator

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best calculator for a scientist or engineer. I like to see a new model with some new features and the quality of this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product is ok

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
I was trying to replace my 48G and I needed it fast. the 50 has some nice features, the case is lighter the enter key is in a different place. and I have only had it for a while I'm still learning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great calculator

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arkansas
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my first HP, a 15C, back in the mid 80's. That's where I first discovered RPN, and that
s why I stick with HP. Currently have a 48G I got at a flea market. 25$ and looks mint! The 50G is the nicest, most powerful calculator I've ever had. I will never be without on. I teach Algebra 2, and love to show my TI 84-wielding students the 50G.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Calculator of all time

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Flushing, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP-50G has no limits of capabilities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great calculator

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned and used H-P calculators from 1987 starting with the H-P 28s. I also have a 48gx and now the 50g. I also have and use PC emulators for these and a couple of other models.
My main attraction to H-P calculators is the RPN entry system. I have always found this more efficient, in fact when I have to use another non-RPN calculator on occasion I find it rather cumbersome. I've tried the Algebraic entry system on the 50g and like it but still prefer RPN. At least I have the option to use either.
Since I have the 48gx there was not a big learning curve in going up to the 50g, although the 50g does have many more features I am still learning about. The fact that the 50g can use an SD card is a very big plus and makes transferring files from my PC a breeze. I often write code on the emulator and transfer to the 50g or vice-versa and while the USB port also works fine for this, the SD card is a bit easier.
My only complaint is that the 50g seems to be of cheaper construction than the 48gx, but that seems to be a trend nowadays. Functionally, it works very well and I am happy with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Math just got easier

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Onaway, Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a calculator that I did not know how to use, but after a week with the instuction disk, I was making the grade HP made calculations much easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

big fan

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Calgary, AB
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 50g expands on the wide functionality of the 48g. Nothing was lost in the way of available mathematical operations and programmability.
However, I do miss having the accessories like the printer and the back stand.
But overall, the 50g is even better than the 48g due to the durable glass screen, the increased menu options, and improved user-friendly environment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP50g - Missing built-in help

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Germany
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hello,
this is most likely the most powerful calculator available on the market.
Unfortunately for many users this power can not be unleashed due to the poor manuals and the poor support given to this machine by HP.
Thus, that are struggling in using this calculator due to the poor documentation and poor support provided by HP might consider using the 'HELP for *all* commands integrated into the O.S.' which overcomes this weakness.
It establishes a complete context sensitive help system containing detailed help entries for 764 user commands including stack diagrams, access to the command and "hyperlinked" navigation to related commands. The help can be called from anywhere inside the system.
Regards,
Andreas
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keystroke speed issue

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall, it has been a great calculator. My only complaint (which was originally a big one) is that if you pushed the same number twice too quickly it would only accept one of the entries. I searched Google and found that you can change the keystroke speed in the calculator's program. It was an easy fix. BUT, apparently, I will have to do this whenever I change batteries. It doesn't make sense to me that this isn't already done from the factory; I did not see where it could cause any harm either.
HP: this is a serious matter. I can't have the calculator accepting a "10" instead of "100" just because I forget and push double zero too fast. I was just about to return the calculator when I stumbled upon the "keystroke" fix. You should fix this!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way too complicated

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had my HP model 28-S scientific stolen and I replaced it with the 50g. I have spent hours practicing on the calculator and it has proven to be too difficult and cumbersome for everyday use. I am a Professional Mechanical Engineer and I would like to think I am capable, but navigating thru the 50g is too much. Anyone have a 28-S they would like to sell?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 50g Graphing Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

replaced the 48g calculator

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My old HP 40g finally gave up working. The "on" button became unresponsive, and when i tried opening it out of desperation, it wouldn't go back together.
I did some research and found that several other models of calculator didn't have the same "feel" of the 48g. However, I liked what I saw of the 50g and took the risk.
I'm glad I did. This calculator, while not exactly the same in feel, is solid. It even fit in my old zippered 48g case (the one that comes with this one is cumbersome and has no inside pockets, so keep your old case if you're replacing a 48-series).
The buttons have the classic "click" feel. It took a few tweaks to make it work like I was used to, but nothing too difficult. It's more on-screen menu driven, but the interface can be made to be identical to the 48g. The was an odd key delay problem I had...if you push the keys too fast, it couldn't keep up. However, that was changable by changing the "keytime" system variable to 500 (a quick google search will turn up detailed instructions on how to do that...it had to be entered manually).
Once I got things tweaked, I've very satisfied. The key placement is very similar (aside from the "enter" key) and the new placements are simply ones I'm getting used to.
If your old 48g (or older) calculator still works, keep it. If it's wearing out like mine was, though, this is a solid replacement for it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.