HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 33s Scientific Calculator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 33s Scientific Calculator

HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating:
3.262 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
9
22 out of 42(52%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Review 1 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid, all-purpose engineering tool

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bay Area
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price it is perfect as an engineering/scientific tool. Not a programming star.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Gem of an RPN Calculator

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP 33s is a gem of a calculator and the least expensive of the RPN models to date. I like the location of the enter key over the older location. Having it near the + key, to me anyway, makes more sense. Even the funky chevron design grows on you to the point where you don’t even give it a thought. My only complaint is that the low contrast of the shift left and shift right keys are hard to discern in low light.
The calculator seems to be a better version of the HP 32s which it replaced because it added separate scrolls keys and a two line display. The only suggestions I would make is to use the color and industrial design scheme of the newer HP35s, implement the equation editing features of the HP35s by allowing use of the arrow keys to edit, and finally double the stack size. Changing the stack size from four to eight would make this gem of a calculator a block buster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Enter button

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a nice calculator. The buttons have a nice touch to them as compared to 35s which never liked from day one. The enter button is in a strange place but I'm getting used to it. Your model 32S II was the best though. Please bring back or can I send in for repair?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and Powerful

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A bargain for all that it does. It does RPN and has that great HP quality feel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Second time is a charm

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:United States
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought one of these six years ago as an upgrade to my HP 32SII, but was quickly turned off by the nearly invisible decimal point and crude key action. Later I sold it and bought an HP 35s, but was turned off by the complexity of use (try doing a conversion between polar and rectangular coordinates) and many functions that should be primary like STO are now shifted. So I returned to my trusty HP 32SII. Recently, I decided to give the 33s another try, and am pleased to report that the decimal point and keyboard issues have been fixed. The display is basically the same as the one on the HP 35s, with a easily seen decimal point, and the keys have a much improved and smooth action. It is also much more comfortable as a hand held calculator with its curved sides and soft gripper material. If you can get over the silly chevron shape and clutter of shifted legends above the keys, it is really easy to use. The HP 33s is a great value in a calculator, and is the lowest priced RPN programmable in HP's lineup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

last of the RPNs

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice calculator. But what I really wanted was a new HP33E. Now there was a super tool. Had all the essential functions, some programmability and not too complicated to use. To bad the 8 and 6 keys wore out.
The 33s is very complex and if you do not use it all of the time you may need to relearn it often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The calculator is easy and fast for my son to use for his math club activities. No reported problems and he feels comfortable with all the functions of the calculator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Keys do not Always Register Data!!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:baltimore, maryland
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
very frustrating - after about 2 months of constant use, a few of the keys become loose and "jiggle" around and they do not always accept data input and require entering data a second time. i used two of these to take the P.E. exam - altering back and forth between the two. i had to re-check every computation i made. if you can get your hands on an 11C or 15C, i would go that route first. overall, it's nice looking and has a nice layout. too bad about the loose keys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance and value

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Burlington, Ma.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent programming versatility and performance. RPN facilitates initial programming and subsequent editing and execution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Calculator

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beaumont, TX
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This summer, I went to a TMSCA supplement progam, and I was so excited about taking calculator. I used the TI 84 Plus, but my Number Sense teacher had an idea. During his free period, he passed out his HP 33s's, and gave us a twenty minute lesson. For the first few days, I yearned for the TI, but I tried my hardest to learn the HP. I am now using the HP 33s for every calculator competition I go to. I bought my own HP, and now I'm living life in the fast lane (at least in calculator competitions!). I learned the layout of the keypad in a week. Buy this calculator! It is worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keys do not last

PostedApril 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product description says "great for engineers". This calculator is not for engineers unless you are an engineer who rarely uses a calculator. The keys wear out very quickly. Mine lasted under a year as a couple of the most used keys wore out...frustrating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not up to par

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this calculator because I needed one with RPN that was approved for the PE exam since I couldn't use my trusty HP 32sII. The 33s is not up to par with other HP calculators that I've owned. The keys are highly unreliable, and will not always register data when pressed. I have to double check every calculation for accuracy. It's a miracle that I passed my PE exam using this piece of junk. I've kept it as a spare, but now that my 32sII no longer works, I will likely get a 35s, which doesn't seem to have the same key problems as the 33s.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NO! You Don't Want This One!

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a discontinued model. Mine arrived with dead batteries. Various keys intermittently require a second press, so you have to watch the display for every key press.
I have used HP calculators since 1988, and they have really gone downhill. If other manufacturers would offer RPN calcs, I'd switch in a New York minute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Calculator!!

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Whitelaw, WI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently just purchased this calculator from HP.com and love it. It has so many things you can do on it, it's unbelieveable!! You can convert degress Celcius to degrees Fahrenheit plus many other conversions. It's amazing how it's able to do so many calculations and isn't all that thick. It also comes with it's own HP embroidered case. Really love it so far, but who wouldn't love it, it's from HP!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Only as good as the Display and Keys

PostedMay 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+ probably does almost everything under the sun, rpn or regular style
+ lots of engineering functions
+ slightly smaller than a graphing calculator
- display is very very hard to read, calculator has to be held at just the right angle and the digits are small, skinny, and low contrast due to the background
- there is a lot of think print information on each key, again hard to read
- case, keys etc feel flimsy/thin, key presses are not distinct, have to check each time to make sure the correct number, function performed
Based on price etc I would recommend a real graphing calculator first - larger clear display, can graph, buttons are more clearly labelled etc.
I returned this one because it offered no real advantage other than eye strain and didnt feel like quality. For the MIT smallest gizmo that does the most it works, and had many engineering functions that most calculators dont.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Is this a HP ?

PostedMay 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a HP 41-C for about 28 years until it finally died and I bought a HP 33s. What a terrible downgrade for the quality of the product, the keyboard layout and the poor display. After 2 years of use, I have to change the batteries all the time, they don't last more than 2 months. Finally, I was so frustrated about that thing that a trowed it on the office wall and crushed it with my foot.
I will buy the HP-35S to replace it, as I cannot live without a RPN calculator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suprisingly nice

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I saw pictures of this calculator, I was dubious of the silver "V" shaped design. However, now that I have one, it actually looks quite nice on my desk. It gives a sleeker and more modern look to it.
The 33s is very much in the line of the 32S-II, but with loads more memory! And ALG mode for those that prefer it. Note HP48 users, this is not an RPL machine, you should rather go for the 49/50. Having had a 32S, I found the then upgraded 32S-II keyboard cluttered, and this one too. Many prefer all functions on the keytops, I'm more a menus person - personal taste.
In RPN mode, the usual 4-level stack is adequate, but the 2-level complex stack is quite a pain. I like the 35s implementation giving 4 level complex stack and direct storage of complex numbers into the storage registers.
I have a newer unit with a better display and the keyboard has a reasonable tactile feel (still a bit soft compared to older models). Time will tell how well it stands up to use.
I'm quite happy to use it for everyday use, it lives on/in my desk at work.
In these modern times of cut-throat calculator markets, I think HP has provided a good everday calculator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good RPN calculator.

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good RPN calculator. Any issues you've read about with small decimal point are not real. I use the calculator every day. I am in a fairly rough engineering environment around water. The calculator is rugged and the keys provide positive feed back. The battery life is good. I just bought 3 of these calculators from this store, because I understand they will be discontinued. Also based on the reviews at amazon, of the new replacement model HP35s, it requires and extra key stroke to <enter> numbers. If you are inclined to by HPs latest model the 35s vs this model the HP33s I recommend you read the 35s reviews at amazon. My opinion is the HP33s meets my RPN needs.
Suggestions for HP. Please include a 4x4 matrix/simultaneous solution built in. At least a 3x3. Yes I can program a solution as it is shown in the manual, but this takes up programming space and can be corrupted if I am not careful with programming key.
Also, HP, offer this calculator without the manual and without the case. For half the cost, say $25. You will sell many of them to people like myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad Keys

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have bought 2 HP33s, one for the house and one for work. They are great scientific calculatior. The only problem i have with it is the keys break over time. The keys will break then the buttons are hard to press. It is not a very good calculator if you use it everyday like I do for work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 33s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this calculator for the Professional Engineering exam and was disappointed by the lack of features and the non-intuitive commands. I had an HP 48GX for years and this model was a huge downgrade. More importantly, this calculator completely died after 1 year of moderate use. I changed the batteries (a pain since they are watch-style flat batteries), did a reset and the screen is still blank...I now have a fancy paperweight. I like HP calculators but I think there are better options than this model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.