HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 35s Scientific Calculator

hp HP 35s Scientific Calculator

HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating:
3.99 / 5
4
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
79 out of 103(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Review 21 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A nice complement to the 50G

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For just simple plugging in of the numbers and or a not too complicated equation this is the calculator to use, when you are not allow to use your 50G for a math test.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Would be perfect except for Keyboard

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hi,
I am a RPN calculator user for 10 years and just can't convince myself to return to conventional algebraic calculators.
When I saw the HP 35s, I was convince by its classic design and because it was not a graphic calculator.
I just love this calculator and I haven't nothing to say about its functionnalities, it just perfect for me. I'm a mechanical engineer and use it each day.
However I had it for two years now and my Enter key is broken (it stands loose in its cavity and it doesn't punch each time I try, see pictures). Previously I had an HP 48gII that did the same thing, it begin by the Enter key followed by the number keys and after a time it is not praticle to work with. With this 48gII this defect appeared just after the end of the warranty, I wrote to HP and they changed it anyway (Excellent work). The 48gII that they sent me broke within a year (see pictures, less good design). And now my HP35s begin to have the same problem.
Don't mislead me I am not hard on material. I'm a consulting engineer and my calculators always stays on my desk and don't follow me on the field. Also read, and you'll find other critics talking about those key problems.
So I would not recommend this product it will just get you addict to the RPN, but the quality is not there anymore.
Hope they will correct this problem a day and come back to the quality that was associated with there calculators.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a disappointment

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been an HP RPN calculator user for over 30 years, and had purchased a 35s about 15 years ago. One button was sticking so I ordered a new one. The build quality of the new 35s is extremely poor, and the display wouldn't work. I sent it back and asked for a refund. I am very disappointed. HP has lost a customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Statistics is OK

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Prague
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have read review which told the statistics function computes wrongly. But its author is wrong! When you go to the p. 12-2 of user guide, you find, that input order of ordinates is Y, X. With this in mind, the results are OK. It's a little strange order, but what to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

statistics and linear regression are wrong

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, il
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The statistics and linear regression calculation results are wrong. I use this calculator to perform the calculation according to hp 35s quick start guide part number f2215 90201, the result is identical to that print on pages 25 to 28, but is wrong. So the calculator has problem in its program. I would encourage you to verify it yourself.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this calculator. It replaces a 33s and is very similar in usage. I wish that the 35s automatically seperated input numbers with commas to indicate 1000s as the 33s did. Otherwise, I am completely satisfied with the operation of this calculator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:overland park, KS
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very good. Takes some time to get use to moving from rpn. Challenge is that calculator is not available in any stores in the community that I live. HP should consider bringing back older versions like HP25 and HP41. These are very good products for scientific community
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP 35S excellent for EE tasks

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like most reviews below, I too believe this is an excellent calculator. Especially for complex number calculations. For EE students this calculator is the best ever produced for taking tests where graphing calculators are not allowed. I congratulate HP on it's attention to Complex number operations and allowing free entry of mixed Rectangular or Polar forms. Thank you!
There is without a doubt one huge disappointment with this device. The "Display" is hard to read. Not compared to older calculators - Just compared to what could have been used in these modern days of screen technology. Many have pointed this out. The display needs to have a higher resolution in order to allow the programmers the ability to display items clearer. Theta and '8', 'Show all' especially for Complex numbers, the need for scrolling, the annunciators at the top are ALL hard to see because the angle of viewing is so limited and the display is so limited.
I would gladly pay 2X the price for a slightly larger, higher resolution lcd screen with 4 lines display of display. I'm not looking to have a huge graphics calculator type display.... just a little better resolution and a 4 line display with better contrast and angle of view.
I would love to see even more attention given to Complex number operations. :)
Thanks HP for the HP35S!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great calculator

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wichita KS
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have enjoyed this calculator, the features are really useful, does a lot of work for a small price. A great buy for anyone whe needs a scientific calculator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good RPN...bad enter key

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Billings, MT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Given the choices for engineers, The HP35s is a good RPN calculator. I pound on the keys everyday doing simple calculations. Keys do not have the same feel and technology as the old HP's had. My enter key just went bad - floppy and sloppy. No good, especially since HP only has a 1 year warranty. I guess we just buy a new calculator every couple years. HP needs to manufacture keys that last.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good work horse RPN

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a devoted HP RPN user and after the outright failure of the HP 33 it was great to have a classic HP back. The Enter button is back where it should be and the layout is right for my surveying functions. The one drawback is the bad placement of the polar/rectangular function. All in all - great calculator!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the Top Three of all time

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas City
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I enjoyed my HP 41 CV, the HP-28S, and now the HP 35S. My 28S was stolen, so I needed something new. I still use the 41CV, but it is getting old and tired. So far, I love the 35S and it is not as near as complicated or cumbersome as the 50g.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Close but not quite

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston MA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had a number of HP calculators over the years, but my favorite, my HP 32S, finally quit working and I had to replace it. I bought a 33S but its odd key layout and illegible labelling left me wishing for better.
The HP 35S is overall a good replacement, but it has a number of issues that keep it from being the tour-de-force of usability that I had come to expect of HP calculators.
1) The "display all" format is just broken. On other calculators where this function is available - even on the 33S - it intelligently adjusts the precision of the display so that as many significant figures as possible are displayed, along with the exponent. On the 35S they changed this so that it always displays all significant digits - pushing the exponent off the edge. You have to scroll the screen usng the arrow button to see the exponent. What's worse, in algebraic mode, the left and right arrow keys don't scroll the display - they edit the last line entered. There appears to be no way to view the exponent of a 12-digit number in ALG mode using display all format! Granted that ALG mode is a waste of ROM space anyway, but still... Fail.
2) Some poor choices have been made in button assignments - most egregiously, the STO function has been relegated to a shifted position, while the MODE function has been made a primary funciton. MODE is a setup function and little used during calculations, while STO is something you want to have as convenient as possible. (Again something that the 33S gets right...) Also, the logarithmic keys have been assigned in a non-intuitive way - on older models (such as the 34C) one shift key was used for "forward" functions and the other for "inverse" functions, for both logarithmic and sinusoidal functions, and the common log/antilog and Naperian log/antilog were grouped together. This makes more sense when using the calculator - "blue for inverse" - than the chosen grouping. And why can't y^x and xroot be on the same key?
3) The complex number functionality is nice, and integrated in a better way than on previous models. However, the "theta" symbol that is used in polar display is so close to an 8 that they are almost impossible not to confuse. It would have been smarter to display an "angle" symbol that would differ in height and shape from any digit. Also, the useful "show" function, which shows you the full precision of the mantissa, simply doesn't work for complex numbers. Why not? It wouldn't have been hard to make "show" display the real mantissa and complex mantissa on alternate presses, for example. And, in ALG mode, where the display can't be scrolled, complex number display is hopeless piled on useless.
4) The octal, hex, and binary calculation modes, while useful in principle, are made inconvenient in practice by an entirely needless restriction. One must enter a character to indicate the base for non-decimal numbers, even when the calculator's "base" mode has been changed, and entering the base indicator takes an irritating flurry of button pressing. This would have been so simple to get right, and they got it wrong.
There is a lot to like about this calculator. The appearance is elegant (though not to the standard of the 32S and 32SII) and the labeling is vastly more legible than the 33S. They keys have a pretty good feel. Labeling one shifted function above the key and the other on a beveled key face is a return to one of the best ideas of the past. (The "left" and "right" arrows on the shift keys are illogical, but please! keep the beveled keys, and I promise to live happily with the arrow labels.) Putting the "enter" key back where it belongs is also appreciated, and I'm grateful that RPN calculators are still available at all.
I just wish that the additional functionality had been implemented in a more thought-out manner. I've concentrated on the negative in this review because of the frustration I've felt in buying the 33S, and finding it difficult to use because of the labeling and keyboard issues, then the 35S, which solves the legibility problems but picks up these usability issues. The 32S and 32SII were something of a pinnacle of RPN calculator design and usability, with perhaps the sole crticism than on the 32SII it would have been better for legibility to use beveled-edge buttons for the second-shifted functions. If HP had actually built on those models, introducing new features like the 2-line display and complex number handling, resurrecting good ideas from the past like the beveled keys, but not breaking stuff that worked, I would be zealously enthusiastic.As it is... please, guys, try to do better next time.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good calc but why changed?

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good:
Shape and spacing of keys, ridges on the sides of body, display, position of ENTER, position and shape of CURSORS,
Confusing:
Depiction of HMS symbol with right arrow-previous HR or H symbols were just fine.
RIGHT SHIFT before C also turns the calculator off. STO was more convenient as direct/white key.
I have been using HP calculators for 25 years and would like to know what was wrong with older configuration of symbols that HP changed for this 35s?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you HP

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My HP 41C finally died after 30 years, I spilled a Coke in it. The HP 35s is fantastic for the diehard RPN fanatics. The fact that the keyboard is set up in the same style with the enter key above the numbers made the transition seamless. I was not able to adjust to the 33s keyboard.
Thanks again for the 35s!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Classic Calculator

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Appleton, WI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HP continues to make great calculators like they have for many years. This one works just like my first HP41 CV I bought in 1983. I was sold on HP products then and this New HP reinforces that satisfaction....Thanks and keep making great products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is it for RPN

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:here
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought several of these in case they stop making them or at least
calculators like these. The 35s has a classic feel to it, and more features
than I'll ever need. Two lines of stack display is nice to have compared to
classic HP. The zipper clamshell is a nicer case to have; these came
with a sleeve type case from which you must fully remove the unit to use.
Battery life just OK. Top edge of the screen (some tiny icons there)
can be hard to see without good light at just the right angle. But I
don't think there's a better calculator, and for RPN I think it's the only game
in town (aside from the 33S which has a casio look to it, and a couple
of expensive HP graphing calculators).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Best Right Now

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
You can read the many other reviews to learn about the shortcomings in the design and implementation of this product. Even with all of them, I'm very happy to have my new HP 35s. It brings back the feeling of HP's "golden years" of RPN calculator products.
When HP reintroduces the HP 15c and HP 42s, I will happily throw my 35s into a box in the closet and buy each of those. But until then, this is the best next thing. To put it simply, this is the only decent scientific programmable calculator I could find that is currently manufactured.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Effort Yet to bring back the classics

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plasticville, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is HP's best effort yet of combing classic HP calculator design and build quality. It's been 30 years since we've been able to purchase the type of calculators that made HP the most desired programmable scientific calculators from any manufacturer.
You should not be disappointed if you ever owned an HP 11c, 15c or even a 41c.
I commend HP on this effort even though there are deficiencies in the feature selection; notably missing is a polar/rectangular conversion and some programming peculiarities . The overall package does shine on the key design and placement. The display is not as clear as I would like, but then again my eyes are getting older :o)
This is one to own and buy an extra to keep locked away when HP decides to stop manufacturing it. Highly recommended for licensing exams and for engineering students.
Congratulations HP and please keep returning to the classic designs. Now if only the 41c's would be brought back with compatible programming, expandable interface and more rich features and menus. The 42s was a good attempt but nothing hold up to the classic and easy to use design the old 41c's brought generations of engineers.
I thank my lucky stars that repair services still exist for the classic HP's!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome, just awesome

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Provo, UT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this to take the Fundamentals of Engineering exam (FE) and I bought it about a month before the test to get used to the RPN and I love it. When you get used to it, it's so fast. The manual is very helpfu. The solver, is just amazing. My only complaint is that you can't have more than one variable of the same letter (w/ a different subscript) in a formula. For example: you can't have an f1 and f2 in the same formula. Other than that, I love the solver because it solves any variable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.