HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 35s Scientific Calculator

hp HP 35s Scientific Calculator

HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating:
3.99 / 5
4
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
79 out of 103(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Review 1 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 35s

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shape of this calculator remind me of my first HP calculator, the HP 41 CX, which I used through engineering school. Unlike the HP 41 CX, which I still have, the HP 35s feels much lighter, is slim and it feels right in your hands and the price is reasonable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerful, Portable, Programmable, so good I have 2

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The 35S is an extremely powerful yet portable calculator.
Although both algebraic and RPN modes are supported, this calculator works better with RPN and has converted me to RPN after many years using an algebraic HP27S - RPN is faster, more flexible and once you are used to it, simpler.
Why does the 35S work better with RPN? Because with algebraic ,you must enter the function before entering the value eg the sine key must be pressed before entering the number.
The lack of rectangular to polar coordinate conversion keys is not serious - it can be addressed with programs available from vendors and the web. And the programs introduce new users to programming.
Programming the 35S is fascinating. By comparison with programming on a PC, the programming is restrictive, but there are data types and methods available to accomplish a great deal with a tiny amount of code. I am not a professional programmer but find programming the 35s very enjoyable and I have bought an old HP 41X so I can convert some of the vast number of programs available for the 41X to run on the 35S.
Wishlist? More sophisticated handling of alpha characters and a USB connection. I would pay more for a calculator with these facilities. I also have a 50G which has these features but it isn't really a portable calculator. I bought the 50G secondhand, whereas I have bought two 35S new.
The 35S isn't very fast - althought in typical calculator usage, processor speed is not a issue - it is only with some programs that you notice that is it slow - it is slower than its predecessor, the 33S, probably because of the sophisticated vector data handling.
Local note: The price of calculators and many other goods in Australia is double the dollar value because of import duties, taxes and distribution costs. I would prefer to buy directly from HP, althugh I have no complaint about the Australian distributor - it is simply a matter of cost.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An engineers calculator. Period.

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best calculator permitted on the California engineering and surveying exams. Fast calculations with RPN and programming capabilities. Very sturdy and compact design that fits in the shirt pocket or jeans back pocket. The buttons are solid and responsive. Comes with a protective zippered case. I gave it 5 stars all around because you get what you pay for.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but could be better

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
My experience with HP calculators includes using an original HP-35 some forty years ago when the model was new. It was an amazing encounter as up until that time one had to employ slide rules and books filled with tables of function values.
Learning RPN was easy. My only discomfort was the disappointment that I didn't think of it first.
My first HP calculator I bought for myself was an HP-25. Following that were an HP-67, an HP-41C, an HP-15C, an HP-16C, an HP-28C, and maybe one or two I can't remember. Now I have a new HP-35s.
In brief: I like it and I'll be buying another as a spare.
For criticisms of the HP-35s, I agree with some of the other reviews in that the handling of complex values is not what it should be. Why can't I take the square root of a negative value to produce a complex value? Why do so many operations not work on complex values?
Many older models had the simple and quite useful rectangular/polar conversion operators which are sorely missed in the HP-35s. Also, native HMS value addition and subtraction have been left out.
Vector arithmetic is incomplete. There is a dot product, but where is the cross product?
The metric/Imperial units conversion functions should have been implemented as a menu instead of eating valuable keyboard space.
Operand indirection, quite similar to that of the HP-67, is incomplete when compared to the HP-41C.
The 30 KB of RAM is nice. It would be much nicer if there were a way to transfer contents via USB connectivity.
That big old ENTER key is exactly the right size and has the right placement. But only time will tell if it and the other keys hold up to the standard set by the classic double injected hinged keys of the Old Days.
I have no criticism of the algebraic entry system as I don't use it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst HP keyboard ever used

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've used HP's since the 80's, loved the 34C and my 11C. Unfortunately lost the 34C and used the 11C for over 20 years until last week when the display couldn't take commercial travel in unpressurized baggage compartments. Now I'm stuck with this 35S piece of garbage that I bought over a year ago and through in a drawer. I'd come to expect unequaled quality and performance of HP calculators and they don't offer anything close to the old 11C or the 34C keyboard feel. Perhaps they should beg Carly Fiorina to come back to run the company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Keys give out!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:baltimore, maryland
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The keys on this calculator are horrible and start to malfunction within 4 months of owning it. They require too much pressure and do not hold up to constant use. I cannot rely of the results that I get. I have to double check (sometimes triple check ) my results. The keys are too hard and only respond if pressed very hard. I do like the layout and the appearance of it - I only wish that it worked better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HATE IT!!!!

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:easley, sc
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a mechanical engineer and had used a HP20 for the past 18 years or so and loved it. When it passed away, I bought the HP35S thinking it would be probably better. I loved it until I tried to do the most basic thing. I never drank the cool-aid regarding RPN and have managed to live productively for 53 years using algebraic entry. The HP35S offers both but that is the rub. In algebraic mode, the P.O.S. can't do the simple task of adding say 3 percent to 4 x 6. My flip phone can do it for God's sake. It takes 2 or 3 extra keystrokes to do the above. Another example, Say I calculate 5 x 9 which is 45. Now I want to change the answer to -45 using the +/- key. No can do. You will get a syntax error. Like I said, I HATE IT!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WHAT A DOWNGRADE

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Whitebear Lake, Minnesota
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been using a hp 32s rpn calculator for 22 years. Now I am stuck running this (35s) replacement, and it is a nightmare. Some genius desided to move all the buttons around, and worse yet the 35s no longer has the polar/recatngular convertion funtion that I used on a daily basis.
If you never used a previous version this is probably an ok calculator
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time and money

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Loris, SC
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have 2 hp33s that I use everyday to help day to day land surveying. I used them so much the buttons started falling off. I then bought this hp35s which was the replacement. What a waste of money! It doesn't have the right functions to calculate and store traverses like the hp33. Also, the ALG mode doesn't flow. It is now a paperwieght and probably going to be a frustration target.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good, useful calculator for engineers

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Torrance, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HP35S is very light and the keyboard has a nice feel. It is somewhat cryptic to program but does have the solver functionality. Not quite as nice as the HP42S which is the gold standard for engineering calculators, in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love RPN, Hex mode could be better

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's rather annoying that when in Hex mode, entered numbers still default to decimal. Entered numbers should default to the current radix mode.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product!

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Santa Monica CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned over a dozen HP calculators starting with the HP-35. The 35s and the 45 were/are the best of the lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product is not what I expected

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VAncouver, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I asked for a replacement for a "32S RPN Scientific" calculator that I've owned for many years and LOVED, but unfortunately it died (and no it wasn't batteries.). What I got was a calulator that is far, far ahead of the 32S which is MUCH more complex and difficult to use. I suspect it cost quite a bit more than what I needed and Im NOT particularly happy with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP hit the nail on the head

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HP has done a great job with this calculator. While it's not built exactly like the classic series (HP-35, HP-65, etc.), it is still a fine calculator. I bought this to use for the FE (Fundamentals of Engineering) Exam because NCEES does not allow the 50G. Even though I'll only need it for the exam, I do not see the money I spent as wasted, as this will be a nice complement to my 50G and other HP calculators. I was a bit concerned about it when I read some of these reviews. One review said that the character for "theta" was too close to the character for "8" because it differed by only two pixels. While this is true, I do not find it annoying. Another reviewer said he was annoyed because the negative sign was not vertically centered in front of the number. This is also true, but again, it's not too bad. Someone said that "LASTX" was gone. I guess he didn't look too hard, because it's right on the enter key! Yet another complaint was that the "STO" function was on a shifted key. Come on, is it really that hard to press one more key? I think the calculator could've come with more of a "case" (mine's more of a slip cover), but times have changed, and leather cases are a thing of the past (even my 50G came with an imitation leather case). All in all, I think HP has done a good job with this calculator in that it is useful, functional, and looks like the classic series of HPs that so many engineers (including myself) have grown to love so well.
P.S. The first 35s I ordered had a problem with the "5" key. It needed to be pressed slightly harder than the others to get it to register. I called HP and had a replacement in two days, no questions asked. I even got to keep the first one!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too much stuff

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Flagstaff, Arizona
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this unit to replace my classic HP10C which I retired to protect it from damage. I've used the HP10C continuously since 1979. Certainly, the HP35S does not quite have the solid look and feel of the HP10C. But then I didn't expect that it would have the same look and feel. The reviews told me that much. The calculator has some nice features but the entire package has moved backwards because the designers succumbed to the universal current desire to provide more features. So, it's cluttered. My major gripe is that STO is now a two step function. And, LAST 'x' is gone. i used LAST 'x' all the time. So, it's sort of okay but if I could have seen another calculator with RPN. then I would have taken a look.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Minor but annoying flaws

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nuremberg, Germany
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using HP calculators for 30 years and own 2 HP35s. Basically I like this product. This calculator offers more functions than most people will ever use. But there are some annoying flaws:
* The LCD is glare type and hard to read
* The "Display All"-Mode is unusable because it tries to show all digits of the mantissa thus truncating the exponent which has to be displayed by using the arrow key.
* Why is STO shifted and the rarely used MODE has a own key?
* Why has "h" to be added to HEX-Numbers when BASE is set to Hex?
and so on.
The display is a real drawback in my view. Different to other reviews I never had problems with the keys, though look and feel is not quite as hp in the 80s and 90s
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

finally a calculator that matches the 32sII

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only calculator in 20 years that matches the style and ease of use of the HP 32sII.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the closest I can come to the HP45 that got me through engineering physics. I worked two summers to raise the cash for the 45 back in the day. RPN, two line display, functions beyond 1975 imagination, and batteries that last 30 months, not three hours.
Living science fiction.
Cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just got it and love it.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wichita, KS
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as the same time as the re-issued 15C. I gotta' say, this could become my new favorite. I love the retro look, it feels good, nice size and love the bigger keys. I just might have to get a couple more...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 35s Scientific Calculator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

performance

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The product seem nicer and better look compared to 33S. I have my old 33S and need new one for the NCEES exam. The operational functions are reverse to 33S, e.g. 1/x function need to be pressed 1st and then you need to press digit. Especially if you are taking exam w/ time management, you cannot perform functions continuously. You have to memorize your digits and then another operation. I like 33S as it was convenient. If HP use 33S operational way, I mean digits first and then operation, and other features from 35S, that will be so great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.