HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)

hp HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)

HP Chromebook 14-Q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
102 out of 111(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Review 61 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the ONLY malware-proof PC

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Chromebook with built-in cellular internet access ("3G" or "4G") is the ONLY way to safely log in to internet financial websites or conduct financial transactions. This is because many routers have a "back door" which allows hackers to hijack your router and redirect you to a server spoofing your bank or brokerage, to steal your login credentials. Viruses can infect Chromebooks just like any other PC, but no other computer can do a "Powerwash" which is a factory reset in less than 2 minutes, which erases any viruses you may have picked up while surfing the net. Do a Powerwash immediately before conducting any sensitive internet transaction, using your 4G internet connection, and your money will be safe.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Little Laptop

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fresno, California
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cannot express, just how happy I am with my new laptop. For One, it boots up in a few seconds and does everything I want it to do. I like how it plays movies, games, social media, and productive software with no waiting. I can download and edit my pictures from my camera with ease. I am happy with the battery life, which seems to go on all day. I like the T-Mobile service built in, so that I can be connected to the Internet, even when I am away from my home. Overall a very nice computer with a perfect Operating System that does what I want to do. Installing apps is a snap with the Google store, where I found everything I needed, for free. Thank you HP for making a good laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She loves it

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my fiancee after I literally burned out her old laptop. She loves it. Happy wife = happy life. 'Nuff said.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop, does more than I expected.

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instant on, bigger screen, well designed, are all good descriptions for my HP 14 Chromebook. This laptop does far more than I expected. I edit and create new Microsoft Excel, Word, and Powerpoint documents with ease with the free app called, Skydrive. I edit my videos and pictures with other free apps that I found at the Google App Store. I am very happy with how I can start my document editing on this laptop, then continue right where I left off on a different PC or visa versa. This is the same even with movies. This HP 14 is very fast and never slows down, no matter what I ask it to do. It has a good "all day" battery life that allows me to work all day without plugging it in during that time. The free T-mobile internet is a nice touch too. There are now more games available at the app store too than ever before. I am very happy with my Chromebook and would recommend this laptop to anyone who has WiFi in their home or work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to device

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Our house currently has a Macbook Pro, i-Pad 2, i-Pad Air, and HP laptop. Given these choices, I find myself consistently going back to the Chromebook 14. Fast and simple with good fit and function. I'm sold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My wife loves it! Just what she needed

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this Chromebook for my wife. She absolutely loves it which I was hoping she would. I did a lot of research prior to purchasing it and it seemed to be the best fit for her needs. I considered a tablet but both she and I prefer the 14 inch screen of the Chromebook. She's able to watch her shows online and loves the smooth streaming it affords. Also as I expected, she's thrilled that she doesn't have to worry about downloading a virus. This is a well built, attractive, affordable and versatile component. I might even buy one for myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Machine!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not going to waste your time listing all the specs, you can look at them in the description. BUT what I will say is that this Chromebook has met and/or exceeded all expectations! Normally I'm a Windoze guy, but needed something for now until I can replace my last laptop that was stolen. Honestly, this Chromebook has made it so that I am not going to have to feel the need to replace it anytime too soon. If you are already wrapped up (or at least used to) and into the Google infrastructure (Google Docs (word processing), Drive (cloud storage), Chrome (browser) among many others) then you'll surely get the most use out of this Chromebook. But even if you're not, if you're simply looking for something thin and portable yet feature filled, very fast and even aesthetically pleasing, to use in between your utilization of (insert operating system of choice), then this will do you well. Plus it costs less than most laptops out there, that are such low specs they aren't really worth it (for a lot of people). I still haven't found (at least for me) anything this can't do, that I want it to do frequently, and it does everything I need for now very well. I don't really have anything bad or overly negative to say about it, but there are some things you should be aware of (if you are not up on what a Chromebook is...I advise you to research a bit just so you are an informed consumer).
Any "cons" I have are listed below. But it's hard to consider them "cons" since I already knew what to expect as far as what this machine could or couldn't do, so for the sake of information here goes:
1. Cannot rip or burn DVD's or CD's (but you can upload/play music files and upload data files all day on Google sites like Google Play Music or Google Drive among others).
2. Cannot run external non-Google applications like Photoshop (there are Chrome Store apps for photo manipulation), CD/DVD driven games, MS Office (there are SO many web alternatives by Google (Docs) and others), etc.
3. In some cases, you cannot do things on a Chromebook without an internet connection (but seriously, when won't you have a connection?) Plus this particular model comes with free 200mb worth of 4G data (TRULY FREE!) and you can upgrade that too if you so choose in order to have access in more locations.
Otherwise, if you can live with all that, you have a good chance of being as ecstatically happy with this Chromebook as I am, and so many other people. Boot time in seconds, free upgrade on Google Drive to 100GB of storage, updates automatically any Google/Chrome apps or Chrome OS (minimum of restarting which doesn't take long anyway). The external sound is better than expected (read: louder), USB 3.0, HD web cam, SD card reader, 14in bright screen (not the best but FAR from the worst)...the list of amenities goes on and I can't say enough good things. I was hoping to be pleasantly surprised at least a little bit, and now that I've had this Chromebook for a week, I am truly impressed by HP and Google's little collaboration here.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use my Chrome for my business. In my store I can show people items that I can get for them or i can connect to my website. Light weight, super fast, holds a charge forever. Better than any full laptop I have ever used! Covers all my needs away from home and I don't have to squint at my iphone! Love it , love it, LOVE IT!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great deal with 2 years of LTE connection from T-Mobile. The product preforms well right out of the box and easy to set up. Quality product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is excellent and good performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Chromebook14

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Montrose, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Chromebook 14 is great to use--Instant on, fast, easy to use, light weight, and the battery life is superb. I recommend this product to anyone who wants a computer for Internet, Social Media, and Facebook games. It runs Farmville 2 as well or better than my regular laptop and desktop computer which was a selling point for me. I mainly bought this product for Facebook and Farmville 2 as well as for surfing the web. It is safe to use and you don't need a virus protector as it comes with it's own. I am a senior citizen and it is so simple to use. I have a laptop and a desktop computer, but I use my Chromebook 14 the most. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to have a computer to safely surf the web, socialize on social media, and play games.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clarksville TN
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Looks Great, Works Great. Light weight, battery stays on long. I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Emporium,Pa
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am enjoying my new Chromebook. It easy to use and the built in mouse pad is very friendly even for a Grandma.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is everything I need

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing speed and performance, I bought this to replace my tablet and it has done that plus more. Even though ChromeOS is a young operating system it is still great to use for on the go. Along with the 2 years free of T-Mobile Broadband. Best purchase I have made in a while for technology. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone looking for something on the go.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very fast

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:racine wv
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
i have owned quite a few laptops but this one is the best ever...very fast...love this white..never thought i would but i do and arrived in 2 days!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and value

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My previous laptop is 6-7 yrs old and while it is still effective (having rebricked it with Windows 7 a few years back), it is incredibly heavy, lacks the ability for port/connection upgrades and it was starting to act squirrely. I bought a touch-enabled Windows 8 notebook but returned it because the OS was clunky and hard to use. I've been using Windows-based OSs for 20 years and despite the dislike of Windows 8 was skeptical about cutting the Microsoft ambilical cord. My concerns were for naught. For the price, the features and the mobility (lightweight and 2 years of 4G service!!) of this HP Chromebook 14, you cannot go wrong. I've easily adapted to Google's operating system and LOVE this laptop. The compatibility between Office files and Google's version of those files is easy. The screen is beautiful, the keyboard is like typing on silk. If you are looking for a solid laptop for internet and/or app use, the HP Chromebook 14 should be your first choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best $350 ($380 w/ tax) I've ever spent!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had it for two weeks now and I absolutely love this computer!!! HP definitely has a winner here. Once/if the word really gets out about this product I think it'll sell like hot cakes. 14inch display, 9 hour battery (yes I actually experience that), 9 second boot (yes I actually experience that), speedy efficient Haswell chip, 4GB of RAM, 4G Internet (200 MB) all for under $400! What more can I ask for!
I decided the extra 2GB of RAM and 4G radio was worth the extra $50 and I'm totally glad I did because it totally is. I wasn't adventurous enough to not go with Snow White but I'm very happy with the choice; it looks great and the build quality is great for again... under $400.
Yes it's a Chromebook but I've not really experienced functional limits because of that fact. I've got remote desktop access to my desktop computer. I can terminal into my Unix boxes. And I'm leaving a 32GB SD card in the reader slot as my local storage. This really is the future of computing. (At least until I can slide my phone into a 14inch laptop clam shell). And with Chrome's Native Client framework (developers.google.com/native-client/) I am really excited to start writing my own stuff on this up and coming platform and see what others do with it too.
Kudos to HP! Thank you for making this computer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

14 inch too big for my needs

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Like the chrome operating system, simple, easy. Keyboard good except miss my dedicated insert and delete keys d/t have to re-position cursor before can delete with backspace key. Also have concerns about being unable to save anything on computer itself as opposed to the computer always wanting to use the cloud. Also found out is incompatible with my older HP printer. 14 inch screen model has good performance but is too big to fit comfortably on lap so in retrospect would have preferred the 11 inch model. Deciding factor was I could not find 11 inch model with the free 4G for life offer. May still send back 14 inch just because is too big for what I wanted. ie a simple computer to do e-mails and surf the web comfortably on my lap in favorite chair. Are there any 11 inch HP chromebooks with free 4G offer and same 4G RAM and celeron processor to get the better performance/speed of the 14 inch but the convenience of the better screen resolution and lap comfortable, lightweight, easy to transport 11 inch?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good features at a low price.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Morton, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Worked right out of the box. Reasonable speed for a $300 computer. A bit slow on the internet with a weak wireless signal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for HP Chromebook 14-q070nr WWAN 4G (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Other Than

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am still trying to figure out how to down load my printer since the reason I purchased this was because my laptop isn't working any longer. I wish there was an easier way to hook up. I haven't used all the features yet, so it is hard to give a true review. If there is another solution to my printer issue I would love a reply.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.