HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)

hp HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)

HP Chromebook 14-q010nr (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
102 out of 111(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good features at a low price.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Morton, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Worked right out of the box. Reasonable speed for a $300 computer. A bit slow on the internet with a weak wireless signal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The modern interpretation of a networked PC

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is thin, light, and it is high performing with a long battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a fantastic product

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sparks, NV
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Though, in my opinion, this product is a fantastic one, it certainly isn't for everyone. I just use this for light use, office work, and other needs and it gets the job well done. It doesn't do any intense gaming, but that's not what it's for. But if you're using this just for browsing, or streaming and office use, then I highly recommend this. It does get a little slow here and there but it isn't to bad. Though, I do wish that it comes in black as well. I bough the white one and on the back edge, close to the hinge, the white color started to look like it was turning into a roasted marshmallow kind of color. And on the bottom of the Chromebook, spots of yellow started to appear. This probably had to do with my excessive use of the product (cause it's that good) so I had to buy a cooling pad. But despite that, this product is an excellent one, and I recommend it to anybody who's looking for a laptop for light use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pay more for Windows

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lansing, MI
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
3 Chromebooks purchased, tried out for 14 days, and 3 going back. One display stopped working on day 8. Just after I figured out how to print... I had mistakenly thought that because I was familiar with Chrome browser it would be easy to adapt. I also forgot to take into account whether it could run MS Office. No, not even 365. None of the compatible programs were very sufficient in their editing abilities. That's a big issue. The kid's needed to have MS Office for school projects as well. They can't email one thing and have their teacher receive another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

14 inch too big for my needs

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Like the chrome operating system, simple, easy. Keyboard good except miss my dedicated insert and delete keys d/t have to re-position cursor before can delete with backspace key. Also have concerns about being unable to save anything on computer itself as opposed to the computer always wanting to use the cloud. Also found out is incompatible with my older HP printer. 14 inch screen model has good performance but is too big to fit comfortably on lap so in retrospect would have preferred the 11 inch model. Deciding factor was I could not find 11 inch model with the free 4G for life offer. May still send back 14 inch just because is too big for what I wanted. ie a simple computer to do e-mails and surf the web comfortably on my lap in favorite chair. Are there any 11 inch HP chromebooks with free 4G offer and same 4G RAM and celeron processor to get the better performance/speed of the 14 inch but the convenience of the better screen resolution and lap comfortable, lightweight, easy to transport 11 inch?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chromebook

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Orleans
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast, cool and easy to use. Have 3 here at the office.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So amazing..except I cant download anything!

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado, Littleton
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cant download .exe files, please answer and help on how to do download things such as .exe? Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Other Than

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am still trying to figure out how to down load my printer since the reason I purchased this was because my laptop isn't working any longer. I wish there was an easier way to hook up. I haven't used all the features yet, so it is hard to give a true review. If there is another solution to my printer issue I would love a reply.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wife's Chromebook

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bremerton, WA
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
This is my wife's second Chrome Book. This is used in addition to her Mac Desktop.
She is very happy with the display. Her new Chromebook feels more substantial the the previous G1 Samsung version.
Her primary use is browsing, email, e-shopping. I've added a 32gb ship via USB. She uses that for photos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple "Internet Ready" laptop

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this Chromebook mostly for browsing the Internet sitting on my couch having a powerful desktop PC as my primary workstation. Device and features so far so good and it starts very fast always ready to be used. For basic functions like WEB-browsing - I can use it directly. If I need editing documents or do some more complex tasks - I can RDP to my PC or VDI and have whole Windows 8.1 Pro or Windows-7 Pro environment.
The only problem I'm having with Chromebook so far - lack of Citrix Receiver preventing me from working with my corporate environment. I'm a certified Citrix Administrator supporting large corporate Citrix farm and Chromebook can't connect to it. I have to RDP to my home VDI (Windows-7 Pro) first an then connect to Citrix at work from it.
Chromebook documentation says that Citrix farm should have StoreFront but that's beyond plans of our Management to install it just for the sake of few BYOD Chromebooks users might have.
Having "Citrix Receiver" on Chromebook would allow me to rate it as "Excellent" but without it I would rate it as "Pretty good" or "B" in school grading system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Chromebook

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first Chromebook and after having it for about a month, I can say that I couldn't be more happy with my purchase. I'd been wanting something small and compact that I could use for surfacing the web, playing flash games, and taking with me when I go away on vacations and whatnot. The HP Chromebook 14-q070nr couldn't be better. It's lightning fast and the battery life is phenomenal. I usually charge it once a day and typically get about 8-10 hours of battery life out of it per charge. It's small and sleek, boot time is about five seconds, give or take. I also like it because I'm connected on all my devices through Google. I intend to buy another Chromebook in the future for my mother who needs a quick and speedy laptop for surfing the web without the bog and bulk of a typical OS. This is a great product from HP. The Intel Processor and 4GB of memory really make a difference. I only wish I would've bought the red or blue version instead of the white; it gets dirty too quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great design, wonderful chromebook

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomington IN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a wonder design. Light weight, long battery life. Great keyboard and touch pad. I love the soft touch plastic and the color choices.
It is a Chromebook, Many reviews seem to have a problem with the OS, but I knew what I was getting and love the simplicity of it. This laptop is for basic web browsing, email, light office use (Google docs is great for this). I am a teacher and can use this in the classroom and at home. Wonderful tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

pretty fast just no apps to use

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Broken Arrow
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very limited on apps that will run, most Google apps won't load, have to get them from the Chromestore and nut much there, thinking about returning it if I can
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sleek, simple, and fast - what more could you ask? And for those of us who are concerned about purchasing fair trade products, the Google Chromebook is as ethical as it gets. Both HP and Google are A-rated companies in the Better World Shopping Guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent machine! Got what I was expecting. It performs well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great chromebook

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was on the market for a new laptop and considered chromebooks to windows laptops to macbooks. Since I realized that I only use my laptop for the internet these days, a chromebook was perfect! A lot of chromebooks are small but this HP chromebook 14 is just the right size. It starts up immediately and I can connect to the internet almost instantly! This is the feature I love the most. I'm still getting used to the touchpad scrolling...it's opposite of what you normally do like on iPads but it's just a minor nuisance. The other thing I dislike is the hassle to play my iTunes music on the chromebook. I still have yet to use the music manager thing on my laptop to get the music to the cloud (Google drive) so that I can play my music on my chromebook. Chromebooks are definitely to get you deeper in the the Google universe and I have never used Google play before. All in all, it's a good device and for only about $300 it's worth it. Just know what you're getting into. For a chromebook, I recommend this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hard to use

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
when I was looking at this laptop I was reading all these reviews and almost most of them that I read were good but when I got the laptop I absolutely hated it I am 18 years old and In my opinion I should be able to figure out a laptop in less then two hours. I sat on this computer for more then 4 hours and still hadn't figured it out and not to mention that it isn't compatible with I-tunes and that is something that I need. the only good thing about this laptop is that its very pretty otherwise I hated it
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my HP Chromebook!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second Chromebook as I previously owned the HP Pavilion model. Although, I never had any issues with it really the battery life was pretty awful and the overall look and feel left a lot to be desired. Then came along this Snow White beauty! I can't say enough good things about it as it's surpassed my expectations completely. Not only does it look awesome but it feels very well constructed and sturdy. Not flimsy or cheap at all. I know there are people out there that do not like Chromebooks as they liken them to an overpriced web browser but I disagree. I still have a regular Windows computer that I use for programs like Photoshop and Skype but I use my Chromebook for pretty much everything else like paying bills, shopping, social media, watching videos on YouTube and Netflix and blogging. I also plan on taking it with me on vacations. However, the best part is how zippy this computer is. I love that it starts up in seconds and that I can have multiple tabs open without it slowing down at all. The price couldn't be beat either plus the free 4G for life that works like a charm in my area. The only thing I will say is that if you too have the white version you may want to invest in a cover as I've noticed that the top of the Chromebook is rubberized and it scuffs pretty easily. I use an iPearl cover I found on Amazon. Other than that I'm really enjoying my new HP Chromebook. I've even recommended it to one of my good friends that has since purchased one and guess what? She loves it too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Laptop

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Life time 200mb per month 4g, and 9 hour battery life were the big selling points. The only problems so far is trying to stop gdocs from syncing constantly to the google drive. It uses up bandwidth and it would be nice to save it on the laptop only sometimes. It also doesn't work with Java but web sites are starting to move away from Java so you probably won't notice unless you try Yahoo games or some other random Java using site. Impressive battery life you don't have to think about plugging in until you get home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unsatisfactory

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:GA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
One can hardly accomplish normal task done on a normal Laptop. One is being forced to buy applications from store. Downloaded program from outside source were not being allowed to be installed. Even Anti virus were not being allowed to be installed. It was actually a regret having the product because i did not supply the intended value for the money.
The only useful thing is browsing the internet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.