HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)

hp HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)

HP Chromebook 14-q010nr (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.476 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 124 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
114 out of 124(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I HATE IT!!!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
What can I do with this junk? Can't download anything, can't install a printer, can't use Skype and now I can't return it. Waste of money!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible product for the price

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance geeks and MacBook users may scorn Chromebooks, but this product, in my opinion, is actually pretty amazing. For $299, I don't expect MacBook-Pro level performance or graphics. What I do expect is a solid, well-built product with a decent screen and a nicely optimized OS. Well, wow. This product delivers. I still can't believe what I'm getting for only 300 bucks. The HP Chromebook 14 may only have 2 GB RAM and a 1.4 GHz processor, but the Chrome OS, unlike Windows, is fast and sleek and isn't bloated with massive amounts of software you never really use. The screen, despite what you may read on The Verge, is definitely usable, even if it isn't the type of screen you'll find on a Chromebook Pixel or a Macbook Pro. The design is surprisingly aesthetic, great for the low price. The keyboard is ridiculously good for this cost. I'm writing this review on the keyboard and loving it. Typing is so much better than the keyboard I use with my Windows desktop.
In conclusion, if you're looking for an inexpensive laptop, and you don't live in the middle of Antarctica with no internet, I would highly recommend this product. Just don't try to play video games.
~Izan
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely love my new hp chromebook!!! It is so fast and easy, has the features i wanted. Also it is very lightweight which for me is important as the strength in my hands and wrists is diminishing..... The color (peach) is a pretty nice bonus also!!! Would definitely recommend....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All about looks

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop is very thin and cute. The down sides are you cannot get itunes on it and it doesn't come with word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect web browsing appliance

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton, OH
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've read a number of reviews that attack Chromebooks for not supporting Windows based software but those reviews completely miss the point. if you want to play games or use resource intensive applications then a dektop with a full featured OS is what you need. If you require fast portability and small form factor then a tablet fits the bill. The Chromebooks are a different classification all together. If you are primarily interested in web access and are able to use the Google online versions of the office tools then Chromebooks are fast, reliable, worry free web access appliances. They should not be compared to gaming laptops or similar hardware. To be clear Chromebooks are a great worry/hassle free web access appliance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful tool...just a few things

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is absolutely amazing! Everything is so fast works great for paper work. The only things I have had problem with are connecting printer. With the printer your must find the right printer and make sure that it is compatible and sometimes have to log into another computer to get the other one to load. Also this system is web based and you cannot download any stuff to it because its all internet based.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good features at a low price.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Morton, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Worked right out of the box. Reasonable speed for a $300 computer. A bit slow on the internet with a weak wireless signal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I need.....

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tampa, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product because I needed a simple device to do presentations to prospective clients. Dislike Window based machines terribly & Macs are too much money for what I need this to do.. (i have to macs at home & didn't like the idea of spending $1500. on a device for simple tasks such as video presentations, email, etc) I had to go online to the store as I found so many versions of this with different model #"s.... & assumed that the latest & greatest would be made available at the HP store.... when I got it I had to wait 2 days due to my weird habit of wanting the skin protected before I take it out on the road. (this model does not have the "sparkly pearl white" color I loved, just the matted rubbery feel white.. )
As advertised, it does exactly what I needed... I don't know why so many ppl talk about the display being either not bright enough or not "retina" clear... It was terrific for my needs and I do a lot of video presentations!!! Perhaps, on later models due out next year, the I3 or perhaps I5 cpus would give it the ummph some ppl want .. but then the price would be a bit higher & perhaps not be justified. (I spent $352. on mine.. bargain!) I have used it this past week & used several devices with it as well & all I can say is that it does exactly as promised! Great value & great product! ...any negatives???? .....well, to be honest, I love colors to my laptops & wish they offered better palette of colors & textures.. ..but thats about it..
I could have waited until 1st Qtr. 2015 for the newer ones but felt the need to try this out as a first time Chrome user and, if all goes well, then I will add another one early next year...(provided HP comes out with a pearl color palette!) lol! Highly Recommended!!!!!!!! Just go thru the HP store, fast service, latest models & enjoy yourself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very cute

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it. it works fast the mousepad features are weird but ive adjusted quickly. the apps offered are pretty limited. id like skype, but its a nice compact chomrebook. love the color . i was already used to google docs so itll be good for school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The modern interpretation of a networked PC

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is thin, light, and it is high performing with a long battery life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a fantastic product

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sparks, NV
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Though, in my opinion, this product is a fantastic one, it certainly isn't for everyone. I just use this for light use, office work, and other needs and it gets the job well done. It doesn't do any intense gaming, but that's not what it's for. But if you're using this just for browsing, or streaming and office use, then I highly recommend this. It does get a little slow here and there but it isn't to bad. Though, I do wish that it comes in black as well. I bough the white one and on the back edge, close to the hinge, the white color started to look like it was turning into a roasted marshmallow kind of color. And on the bottom of the Chromebook, spots of yellow started to appear. This probably had to do with my excessive use of the product (cause it's that good) so I had to buy a cooling pad. But despite that, this product is an excellent one, and I recommend it to anybody who's looking for a laptop for light use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fayetteville, AR
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided to try a Chromebook as it was time to upgrade my laptop and I did not want another Windows machine. I use this for work and, after a week, absolutely love it. All of my needs are web based so this is perfect. It loads and closes so much faster than my previous laptop. It's very light and the battery lasts all day. I will probably get another one in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ChromeBook and Me

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am on day two with my Chrome Book. As a second dairy laptop this is great. I use Office 365 with it for work, Netflix and surf the web. Love the form factor, weight and battery life. Haven't tried the t-mobile network yet but it is nice to know that I have it if needed. So far I am very impressed. You don't realize how much you do can be done via browser. Oh I also run Eircom and and connect to my Windows RDS server to run all my windows apps at work when I need to. Perfect dumb terminal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love some and hate some

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great labtop to have if your connected to internet but being a college student i cannot be sure that i will always have internet and i cannot take chances like that. I now that t-mobile data is free for 2 years but where i live service is not best and we watch videos all the time and streaming can be a problem. I love the thing you can do on here but the down falls of not being able to have certain things like windows 7, oovoo or certain games with out having internet really limits all that you can do on the computer. Bluetooth is also limited to what it can connect to. I wish that HP would update thing to be more better for every user but overall i enjoy using this labtop and it is very convent in size and weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really like it

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not a computer tekkie. All I wanted was something light weight so I can do basic things on the computer. My son-in-law who knows a lot about computers agreed with me that a Chromebook would be what I need. The screen resolution is great and I don't have a problem moving around. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a light laptop to work on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chromebook 14

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I should have bought this product a few years ago. This product exceeded my expectations, the larger screen is awesome. Too bad they're no numeric key pad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pay more for Windows

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lansing, MI
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
3 Chromebooks purchased, tried out for 14 days, and 3 going back. One display stopped working on day 8. Just after I figured out how to print... I had mistakenly thought that because I was familiar with Chrome browser it would be easy to adapt. I also forgot to take into account whether it could run MS Office. No, not even 365. None of the compatible programs were very sufficient in their editing abilities. That's a big issue. The kid's needed to have MS Office for school projects as well. They can't email one thing and have their teacher receive another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

14 inch too big for my needs

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Like the chrome operating system, simple, easy. Keyboard good except miss my dedicated insert and delete keys d/t have to re-position cursor before can delete with backspace key. Also have concerns about being unable to save anything on computer itself as opposed to the computer always wanting to use the cloud. Also found out is incompatible with my older HP printer. 14 inch screen model has good performance but is too big to fit comfortably on lap so in retrospect would have preferred the 11 inch model. Deciding factor was I could not find 11 inch model with the free 4G for life offer. May still send back 14 inch just because is too big for what I wanted. ie a simple computer to do e-mails and surf the web comfortably on my lap in favorite chair. Are there any 11 inch HP chromebooks with free 4G offer and same 4G RAM and celeron processor to get the better performance/speed of the 14 inch but the convenience of the better screen resolution and lap comfortable, lightweight, easy to transport 11 inch?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Chromebook

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Orleans
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast, cool and easy to use. Have 3 here at the office.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Chromebook 14-q010nr(ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So amazing..except I cant download anything!

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado, Littleton
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cant download .exe files, please answer and help on how to do download things such as .exe? Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>