HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.145 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
52 out of 62(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great desktop replacement

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this 17" laptop primarily as a desktop replacement , yet still have portability as an option. Looked at several competitors, but HP was a clear winner in light of the flexibility to custom configure the device. This was critical, as I use programs requiring significant system resources, such as Photoshop Extended (3D rendering), and display screen color accuracy. Being able to have a 7200 rpm HDD, fast memory, HD non glare display, discrete video card, and back-lit keyboard, made this purchase a clear winner, and at a competitive price point. Coupled with a TrackBall type mouse and a pen tablet,enables a very ergonomic workflow.
Have used HP Pavilions for 10 years, without a hiccup. Just re-installed the XP OS on my 1st Pavilion, and re-cycled it to my 9 y.o. grandson.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks good on paper, but still has some drawbacks.

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Disappointed in the lack of documentation. Expected to get a Users manual and a Service manual. I managed to locate and download from your web site. Expected to receive a Windows 8 CD with the system. Setup was a little confusing. Problems transfering files from my old(er)
XP system. Don't like Outlook for e-mail. Still have not been able to create a contact list from the
outlook express address file. Would like to know what files are being updated, and why.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BUYER BEWARE !!!

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:BUFFALO, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned two of the HP ENVY DV7T Select for two months now and thus far they have been sent back in for repair three times for a total of three weeks time (including "supposed" one day shipping").
NEVER AGAIN!!!...I have purchased computers since the days of Windows 3.1 & never have I experienced this many problems in the first two months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OPerating system is lousy

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The mechanical portion and features of the computer hardware is satisfactory. For those needing only basic computer operation, Windows 8 is lousy. MIcrosoft has made a big error with this edition after having such a great system with XP. Hopefullly the next upgrade for W8 will correct some of bad features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible product

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
product died in less than 24 hours. the design is horrible and not set up very well for windows 8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional value

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Springfield, IL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the fast processor to the upgrades installed this HP envy dv7t laptop is an exceptional value for the money. The standard 12 gig of RAM is far better than any offer from the big box stores. I would highly recommend this HP laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not up to speed

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It may be because of bloat-ware but the download and program speed was very slow. The laptop is so darn heavy and awkward... left a lot to be desired. Returned before the week was done. They were fast with the return of funds and no issues with return shipping.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very satisfied customer.

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Okaloosa, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
1. Laptop is great. Everything works, no glitches.
2. User features are pleasing as is the style/aesthetics.
3. Love the screen. Sharp, very easy on the eyes.
4. Runs cool. Nice. Wrist rest area stays cool to the touch.
5. Touchpad has no problems. Works very well. (it IS customizable to do the easier (and much preferred) "1 finger scroll" instead of using the set 2 finger scroll.) Very pleased on the touchpad.
6. Keyboard is excellent & typing is smooth & very accurate . No skipping characters and having to backtrack or having to constantly repeat the keystrokes like my previous 3 laptops.
7. Intel graphics 4000 is much improved over previous 4500HD I had. Runs cooler & faster. Very pleased. (graphics on this 4000 on "performance" level is equal to or better than the 4500HD when on "best graphics" level. It is that much better.)
8. Multitasking is handled with ease by the components, with nothing stressing.
I am a researcher & also a photography enthusiast & thus am a heavy PC user (researching many hours everyday with several different websites used/open/information compared simultaneously & heavy software usage for the research). The laptop handles it all with ease. Easily keeps up with me, never slowing me down.
9. Ordering was easy. Ship/receive time was very good, ahead of schedule. Received wrong charger, but customer service was fast & courteous in answering my email.
10. A thought:
I was leery of ordering online without seeing/trying the laptop out in a store. NO need to have worried. I am very pleased with the laptop itself & the ordering process.
I have no complaints with this laptop or with HP company/service. We've had 5 desktops, 4 laptops (including this one), 2 color printers & 4 lasers over the last 15-18 years or so. All have been reliable and never needed tech service. (all minor problems were solvable by us). All machines are still in working condition except one laptop that took a direct hit by lightening while I was typing & it didn't survive. (there was no storm prior to the hit. The storm rolled in afterwards. The lightening hit was our first clue of one coming.)
As for Windows 8. I have no problems with it either. It is extremely stable. Is easy to learn its differences. We have had from Windows 3.1 thru all versions to this new Windows 8. All have been easy to learn & all have improved along the way in usage & performance. All of my software installed & runs with no glitches or hiccups. (I never had a problem with Vista either. I used Vista on my last laptop for the last four years with very heavy usage. I actually liked Vista & wouldn't go back to XP. Vista was better & more secure, although true, Windows 7 was even better and was what Vista was meant to be. But all three were good versions.)
*Note: Windows 8 is still very easy to use with an external mouse or the touchpad. I use both of them with no problems with Windows 8 UI, just like all previous windows versions. (Yes, I have read all the gripes and complaints of the Windows 8 Metro UI, of it "not good with a mouse" and the general UI complaints. I customized it and use it and the desktop both "with my mouse". Metro is my "start button" to get to all the programs and files, and the desktop is for my normal usage with the task bar available to use as previous versions. (as Windows 8 was designed to be used) NOT a problem!! I like it this way.)
I am a very satisfied customer with ordering from HP & I highly recommend this laptop & Windows 8.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

laptop failed after two years

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This laptop was given to me as a birthday gift and was seldom used the first year of ownership. Over the last year it served me well in accomplishing basic home tasks. I had very few if any problems. A few weeks ago this laptop began freezing due to the hard drive failing. What really disappoints me is that the HP forums are flooded with people with the same problem, and many of those laptops are nearly brand new. I cannot recommend this laptop or HP because of these issues. This was my first and last HP and the same goes for my friend who purchased it. I also called HP about a replacement HD. They wanted 200 dollars for a 500 gb/7200 rpm drive (which is what I have in it right now). I can get a quality one for less than half that. They also would not tell me the make and model of the drive they wanted to sell me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Features But Worthless Due to Known Glitch

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received my new laptop just over 2 weeks ago and overall, really loved it. Beats audio is great, there's plenty of hard drive space, it's quick, and has a fingerprint reader that makes it very convenient. But despite all these pros, none of it matters if the machine doesn't work.
A few nights ago (in the middle of writing a paper for school) the computer started to freeze. That, in itself, isn't all that horrifying because, okay, yeah, computers do that sometimes. But not only did it start to freeze, after about 30 seconds, it completely locked up and the screen started to pixelate and lose saturation. About every minute after that it gradually got lighter and lighter until it was completely white. I did a hard shutdown three times before it actually started up normally (every other time, it would turn on to a white, slightly pixelated screen). I contacted HP support who recommended that I re-seat the memory, so I did. It worked fine for about 4 hours (maybe) and now it's doing it again. After searching Google for "Hp Screen white out" I found numerous websites that confirmed my fear that this is apparently not a new, uncommon, or unknown issue. I'm extremely disappointed and frustrated with this product. For the amount of money I paid for it, I expected a lot better. And considering this is the first HP product I have purchased (after previously purchasing 2 other Dell's that lasted at least 4 years without a single issue) I'm seriously regretting the switch.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lap top; light weight; love the color

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:arkansas
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall happy

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my computer direct from HP and built it to the way I wanted it, including with Microsoft Office and Student. I would have thought the computer would have came pre-installed and ready to go with Microsoft on it but it came with the 2010 version installed and the disk and code for the 2013 version. Extremely frustrating. When I called HP, they told me I had to call Microsoft. Spent 2 hours on the phone with a Microsoft tech due to the fact that the 2013 version wouldn't override the 2010 version. Again, not what I expecting thinking when I built my computer it would come ready to go.
Overall I like the computer but it is a little loud when the fan is running and I don't think the battery lasts the 4 hours it's supposed to though.
Windows 8 is growing on me. I like the "desktop" option that is practically the Windows 7 version in my eyes.
The computer arrived the day I was originally told it was scheduled to ship. Overall happy with the computer and would recommend to anyone. A huge plus, it automatically connected to my wireless printer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An amazing laptop

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop does way more than what I expected, I absolutely love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Durham, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so pleased with this computer. I am not a tech person, but had a tech friend help me to build it to fit my needs and personality and it is just great!
Sleek, fast, efficient and overall great performance. I haven't experienced any problems with it and would recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great computer so far.

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It will take time getting use to some of the new features including Windows 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine... GREAT OS.

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got my new machine...and am loving it.
It arrived the day that HP estimated it would be built, so I am really happy about how fast it showed up. It arrived in 3 business days after it was built.
All the reviews dinging HP for making a machine with Windows 8 are really unbelievable. Learning curve? Yes, but jeez... Let the Start button go, people... Now the underutilized Win key will be used more, like it should have been all along. If you must have your desktop environment, just hit the Win key... pretty simple, really.
My configuration was not a touch screen, but not to worry... the large touch pad works quite well for all the scrolls, swipe motions, pinch/zooms and rotate functions that Win 8 is progressively designed for ... coincidentally, the touch pad is as large as my smartphone screen.
Do not delay your decision to buy a new PC because of Windows 8. Jump in, embrace progress, and enjoy it as much as I have been.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the new windows 8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far I love it

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the laptop for over a week now, and I love it. The display is great, the sound isn't blow your ear drums, but for a laptop, it's one of the better ones I've heard. The aluminum casing is another plus making it sturdy and not cheap feeling. As for Windows 8, not a fan of it. I don't hate it, but I definitely don't like it. I certainly hope that Windows 8 isn't the future of operating systems. On that note, I can't give the laptop (hardware...the HP aspect of the computer) nothing but an excellent score. It isn't HP's fault that they have to put the OS on their computers. Overall, the computer is great. It's a well designed and built laptop computer. If you're deciding on this or another laptop, I recommend this one; you won't be disappointed.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I expected

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Carver, Minnesota
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop really suited my needs. I wanted a backlit keyboard, a fast HD, and decent proc speeds. This was all available with the DV7 so I ordered it with the nvidia option, a backlit keyboard, the hybrid drive, and bluetooth. As others have said, the laptop currently ships with windows 8. Windows 8 is pretty much designed for a touch screen. That being said, it's pretty easy to use without a touchscreen since they were kind enough to use a 'two finger' mouse on this laptop. That basically allows you to use 2 fingers on the mouse pad and it acts almost just like you've swiped the screen. However, you still have to click the mouse and use the mouse pointer. The LCD screen itself seems a little more washed out than my old HP laptop. That may be a result of the LCD backlighting - I'm not sure. I had to adjust the screen settings, and that seemed to take care of it enough for me. It's a little strange that there is no BIOS screen when you boot this up. There's probably a way to turn that on, but I have not yet looked for it. I'm sure at some point, I will need to get in there. With the hybrid drive, it boots from 'off' to 'ready to go' in about 20 seconds. The keyboard is a little strange to me. It's sort of chicklet style, but not totally. I'm still not used to it, and I often hit the wrong keys (especially the caps lock key). It's still useable though. I'm not all that happy with the venting. My last HP blew out the video - almost for sure due to overheating. This one seems like the same thing could happen. The vent is on the bottom and blows out the left side. There is almost no clearance between the bottom of the laptop and the surface it's sitting on, so the fan can barely suck in any air - so forget about setting this on anything that's not a hard, flat surface - unless you want to run the risk of overheating the thing. I've purchased a cooler master U3 cooling pad to set this on. I think that will cure that concern. I'm happy with this laptop. It looks nice. It's clean. I think I can use it for several years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Select Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Flushing, Mi.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm pleased, so far, with my laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.