HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.226 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(479 reviews) 479
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 479 reviews
5 Stars
286
4 Stars
104
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
15
1 Star
37
400 out of 479(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dv7t-7000QE vs. Envy 17-3200. Winner = dv7tQE!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I rarely write reviews but for this machine I had to. Especially seeing bad reviews from other people (which I don’t understand unless they received a lemon which can happen to anyone) luckily for me, mine wasn’t. This is a beast of a machine and should last me for many years to come.
Before I start my review I was torn between the dv7t-quad edition and the Envy 17-3200. Since HP has the 24 day return policy I decided to purchase both and return the one that I didn’t like. If you’re confused on which to purchase read further. Comparing the 2 side by side they both looked nice but I felt the Envy 17 was built sturdier and had a better casing. The dv7t QE is built well but my complaint is that you see the fingerprints on the keyboard keys. Also the edges around the laptop where 2 pieces meet are kind of sharp. It’s smooth in some areas but in others it sticks out a bit but it isn’t terrible. I wish the edges were more rounded like the Envy-17. Some of the main reasons why I chose the dv7tQE over the Envy 17 are because of the Anti-glare screen, fingerprint reader and the back-lit keyboard. If the Envy 17 had an anti-glare screen option and a fingerprint reader it would have been my choice over the dv7tQE. Also, the backlit keyboard on the Envy 17 didn’t light up all the keys evenly like the dv7tQE did. Some keys on the Envy looked like it wasn’t lit at all. The dv7tQE keys all lit up evenly.
I use my computer for work using the Adobe Suites. I have to say, they load up instantly compared to my 5 year old Dell desktop. I actually have it registered to the fingerprint reader so instead of clicking on the programs I need open, all I have to do is swipe my finger and they all open up with 5 seconds. Which by the way, the fingerprint reader is a great shortcut tool to have. You can register all your fingers with 3 applications/ actions/websites on each. For example, with my right index finger, with a swipe of a finger I have 3 Adobe applications open up. With my pinky I have the bank website open up and it automatically logs me into my account without me typing in my password or user name (you can configure your passwords to your fingers in the fingerprint reader application settings to any website such as yahoo, aol, Facebook, etc.) And with my thumb it shuts down my computer. Which also, if you have a password to log into your computer, you can use any finger that is registered to get into your computer. No longer will you have to tell someone to not look at your computer when you type in your passwords. You can do many other things that I won’t get into but there are a lot of choices.
I highly recommend getting the Anti-glare screen and the backlit keyboard. It’s well worth the money. When I had the Envy 17, the glare on the screen was very distracting even in the room with the least amount of light. I couldn’t concentrate working on the computer because all I can see was my reflection or the back of the room. Even the backlit keyboard reflected off the screen. The picture looked great but the glare killed it. It was awful. Luckily, the dv7t-QE offers the option to have the anti-glare and the picture looks great and there is no glare what so ever. I can work outside with the sun behind me and I can still see everything clearly. For $25 more, the backlit keyboard well worth the money and is a great feature if you’re up late at night and you don’t want to have the light on to just see the keys. All the keys light up evenly and look great.
The power of this machine is unbelievable. It boots up in under a minute and all the programs load up instantly. Surfing the web and working with my programs is super fast. Exporting large files gets done in a flash compared to my old desktop. I got the default processor 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor with the NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory, 750GB 7200 rpm Hybrid Hard Drive and 16GB DDR3 System Memory. These configurations are more than enough for my purposes and will also be good for the future.
Battery life on average last about 5-6 hours depending on what I do. If I’m working with the Adobe programs it tends to drain a little faster which is understandable but not by much. I opted for the 9 cell Lithium Ion Battery. It protrudes from the back a little underneath the laptop but I prefer it that way than it being flat. It elevates the keyboard on an angle which makes it easier to see and type. It’s almost like a mini stand.
I can’t say any more good things about this laptop. For the price I paid, I got more than what I asked for. At the time it came with a free blu-ray player upgrade which was a great added bonus. It’s very quiet and it doesn’t get hot. Maybe the battery keeping the laptop elevated keeps it cooler. The track pad and keys on the keyboard seem fine to me. I mostly use a mouse anyways. The size of the laptop isn’t that big or heavy either. So if you’re torn between the 15.6” and the 17” I would opt for the slightly bigger monitor. Comparing it to the 15.6” it is only about 1 inch bigger if you look at the specs. This laptop is also great for gaming. Either way, I would highly recommend this laptop. Every person that I showed it to wants to buy one. I had it for a month now and everything is still in fine working condition. If this laptop lasts for the next 3-5 years then I’ll definitely be buying my next laptop from HP again.
Pros:
+Beautiful anti-glare screen. Movies, images, websites look fantastic.
+Very fast, quiet, and cool.
+Fingerprint reader is amazing and saves you time.
+Backlit keyboard lights up great in the dark.
+Well built.
Cons:
-Can see fingerprint smudges on the casings/keyboard/track pad.
-Edges around the laptop are sharp in some areas.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Laptop,bad HP service

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Duluth,MN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just received this laptop and I am RMA'ing it already.It's not so much the laptop,it's a nice laptop.but it didn't come with a couple features Ipaid extra for.
First,it didn't come with a back lit keyboard which is important to me since I am a bit of a night owl.I tried to turn it on using the dedicated key(F5) and using the fn/back space combo even though it doesn't have the logo on the back space key and neither worked so apparently I have no back light for my keyboard.
Secondly,it didn't come with the 32GB mssd HD cache that I paid $150 for.When I first received it I checked to see if it was installed and I couldn't find it anywhere in the device manager so I took the back off to physically see if it was installed and it wasn't.It's a module that fits into one of the memory slots,it's the reason you can't get more than 8GB memory when it's picked,well mine came 2x4GB memory sticks instead of one 8GB stick of memory and the 32GB mSSD cache module.It's pretty bad when you're charged for an upgrade and you don't get it,especially a $150 one.
I really liked the laptop,but I couldn't just let that slide so I am going to RMA it for a full refund and will probably go elsewhere for my new laptop.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wanted to love this laptop but...

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pasadena
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really wanted to love this laptop, as I have been needing to upgrade to a better system for audio editing. I am a broadcast journalism student (radio) and relied heavily on HP's claim that this was a good laptop for professional quality audio production. Granted, I don't need a super high end unit, but I expected to have more control over my sound.
I experienced a great amount of audio compression from the headphone output, which really kills the ability to effectively edit audio. If I want compression, I'll add it myself. I noticed a thread on this site only after purchasing the DV7t which contained posts of other people having the same issues. Any signal over a certain dB would completely bump the entire audio signal down. Anyone who knows about compression will understand how this is annoying when trying to perform fine edits.
The compression COULD NOT BE FIXED by adjusting or disabling any settings in Beats or the IDT audio panel. I updated, reinstalled drivers, rolled back Windows, and restored Windows to no avail. The issue remained.
I will also add that the Beats Audio functionality is nothing more than a glorified EQ. One could easily get as good a quality from a third party EQ. When you disable Beats, the system EQ actually resets the bass settings to zero, as if to fool one into thinking, "Wow, I can really notice the difference".
*** I would not recommend this laptop for anyone doing serious audio editing or music production. Perhaps I just got a lemon, but the compression sounds very purposefully placed and no one had any tips on why this was occuring.
*** As I mentioned, I wanted to like this unit, so now for the good things (if you're not concerned about using it for intensive audio production):
A very fast unit. The mSSD option really speeds things up.
The non-glare HD screen is amazing looking (though it eats battery power, as it I knew it would).
Some people have complained about the keyboard layout and touchpad, but I found them to be very good.
Great looking unit overall.
**** A few more thoughts leaning toward the downside of this unit:
The laptop gets very hot when gaming (I tested on Wizard101) and this concerns me a bit.
Bloatware installed, but not so much as to cause a hugh waste of time uninstalling it.
I'm not a huge fan of the power cable being connected to the side of the laptop. It gets in the way quite a bit.
Battery issues: High capacity battery lasts about 4 hours with screen at mid-brightness. Expect to get 2 hours from standard capacity battery at same settings.
*** Final thoughts:
This is a great laptop for the student or as a desktop replacement, with all it's media-rich features. The onboard speakers are actually the loudest and clearest I think I've ever heard. It would seem the Beats Audio is just a marketing strategy, and this was not a buying factor for me anyway. If, in fact, the compression problem I experienced is native to the audio suite, I would say steer clear of this unit for any pro-audio uses. It's not for you.
Overall a unit I wanted to like, but the compressed audio was a deal breaker for me. If you are a casual PC user looking for a desktop replacement, you'll probably love this unit. I'm looking elsewhere and am very disappointed.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance and features

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Reston, VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The dv7 is an excellent laptop with super performance and features. If you do purchase this, be sure to upgrade to the 1920x1080 HD display. If you choose no other additional features, please be sure to select this one!
I use this system for work (development) as well as entertainment. It excels in both areas. The system comes pre-installed with the usual assortment of excess software. Fortunately, the HP recovery manager has a minimal install option that installs the operating system, required drivers, and important software.
One of these items is the HP SimplePass that use the fingerprint reader for Windows login as well as access to password-protected sites. At first, I thought this would be somewhat of a gimmick - but it turns out to be very, very convenient and it really does work well. (This, of course, is independent of one's opinion of fingerprint reader security on the whole, but that has nothing to do with this laptop.)
The keyboard is first-rate. It takes some getting used to because the trackpad is centered slightly to the right, on the "N/M" keys, and so I found myself typing letters one-off to the right, but that goes away after a few days of use.
The integrated Beats audio is good. I also have the Beats Studio headphones and the combination sounds perfect. However, as many reviewers have noted, Beats is bass-heavy. Fortunately, HP includes the Beats Audio Control Panel. This allows for very detailed adjustments and results in audio quality that can be adapted to any variety of music. (I listen to everything from rock/alt punk to folk and classical.)
Performance, especially with 16 GB RAM upgrade and the i7 CPU is stunning. The disk drive now becomes the weakest link. Once cached, applications load in an instant. I am not a gamer so I can't evaluate the GPU performance.
I know reviews aren't supposed to talk about shipping, but my system came three days early and configured exactly the way I had specified so I have nothing but good things to say about that entire process. HP's on-line chat service is also knowledgeable and were able to answer a number of pre-buy questions regarding batteries and power adapters. They were both courteous and informative.
Again, there are many upgrade options. Here are my personal must-haves:
1920x1080 HD display
Backlit keyboard
Bluetooth
Although 8GB is standard, 16 GB is nice-to-have since it allows for more disk caching without impacting application performance.
Finally, this system ships with Windows 8. Not having a touch-screen makes many of the screen gestures rather complicated when using a mouse or trackpad. I'll put in a personal recommendation for Stardock's Start8 software that brings back the start menu and is well-worth the $5 price tag.
In addition to the standard battery, I also purchased the larger extra battery. I was running the system all day and completely forgot that I hadn't plugged it in. It just ran and ran. Also, the large-capacity battery had a "bulge" at the bottom. This has the added benefit of elevating the back of the system such that the keyboard is tilted at a comfortable angle.
In conclusion, after using this system for many days straight, I have no complaints nor regrets. Even fully optioned-out, the price tag of this computer is still below $2,000 and that's a bargain given what you get. Just remember - go for the HD display!
Enjoy,
Frank
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Buy

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mombasa, Kenya
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop does everything I want. I do not regret it at all!
Graphics Card and Processor:
The Nvidia graphics card and Intel i7 processor mean I can literally game all I want, and work all I want!
The 16GB of RAM handles multi tasking well.
Display:
The 1080p matte display is super crisp; the colors are vivid and viewing photos and videos feels very high quality.
HP SimplePass:
I really love the HP SimplePass technology, I can sign into various websites just by passing my finger over the reader, it is superb.
Touchpad:
I am not a big fan of laptop touchpads but HP has really done well this time: the giant area and high responsiveness make it ideal for use on the move and non gaming applications.
Heat:
Many people often know HPs for overheating problems, but this seems well built; the temps are usually about 37-49, and when gaming around 70; nowhere near burning; but the only drawback in terms of heat is even with Coolsense on, the area to the left of the touchpad is warm, even on idle.
Design:
The laptop looks epic. The black chassis with aluminum and silver (plastic) sides and highlights makes the laptop stand out in public. But fingerprints are a problem and constant cleaning is required if one wants it to look in top shape.
Keyboard:
The keyboard is awesome. Typing is very fluid and the keys are evenly placed; Triple points here to HP.
Audio:
Beats audio is pretty good,. But its mainly software, the speakers are not made by Beats (I think they are made by IDT Audio).
Weight:
The only drawback to this laptop is it is quite heavy at about 3.1kgs. but I dont mind it, as long as it doesnt way 5kgs, I'm cool with that.
Conclusion:
I highly recommend this laptop. The combination of sexy looks and killer performance at the prices (prices are usually changing, but compared to the competition, the Envy dv7 still stands its ground) make this laptop a great buy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you want to buy it.. READ MINE

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:GA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1. I just ordered this laptop to replace my old qosmio f45.. and obviously this laptop is a beast..
2. I customized it almost max setting:
.3rd Intel Core i7 3610 (2.3 GHZ)
.GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB
.8 gb ram (2 dimm)
.1 TB 5400 rpm
.32 GB SSD Cache
.Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
.Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
.Backlit Keyboard
3.WELL... price went up from 999 bucks to 1635 bucks.. and luckily I got some coupon save up to 33% off.. so price went down again to 1160 (include TAX).. Obviously I saved 539.55 bucks from it.. and TRUST me guys... I've looked around all other brand.. there is no where you can get this gaming laptop from that price..
4. HP service is not bad at all.. They tried to help me out and called me immediately when I required.. Very friendly and pro..
.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Could have been a better product..

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think the hardware wise, this laptop is pretty good, but I don't think it reaches the full potential it could have reached with a bit of better execution. First, the PC comes loaded with bloatware that bogs down i7 processor considerably. I have an older HP laptop with 2GB memory and Core 2 Duo, that older PC runs faster than this dv7 Ivy Bridge PC with all the bloatware came loaded with this laptop. Since the PC does not come with the Restore Disks, I had to create the Restore disks before I make any changes to the PC. The creation of the disks must have took 3 hours or so. It's a hassle and it's something that should not be forced on to the customer who just spent over $1000 on a PC. After making the disks, I decided to Restore and see if the disks are good. There were several options offered when booted with the Restore disks. I was glad to see that there was a clean install option. but in the end, the install process failed with an unknown error. When I restarted the installation, the only other option that seemed logical was a factory restore. The factory restore took close to 2 hours to complete, which is completely unacceptable. A long story short, when installed with standalone Windows 7, the laptop was definitely booting with an expected speed. I installed Windows 7 and AVG, and recoreded the boot up time. It took about 80 to completely boot from the power button press. I do have 1TB 5400 RPM drive, so the slow boot up time is some what expected. I am planning to install an SDD in the near future, so I am hoping the PC to boot up a lot faster. I did get a back lit keyboard. I must say, I am not crazy about the design. I was expecting only the letter to light up when enabled, but the lights leaks out all around the buttons/keys. It's very distracting and so I leave it off most of the time. The power and drive activity LEDs are located on the right side of the PC next to the USB ports. They are not color coded and sometimes difficult to distinguish between the two since they are literally a quarter inch apart. Touch pad seems to be laggy and doesn't seem to respond to the multi-touch sometimes. I am hoping this would be remedied with a driver update. Also UP and DOWN directional keys are half the size of left and right keys. It's pretty goofy. On the good side, the PC runs pretty cool when you are just doing office or browsing the web. I've installed Starcraft 2 and cranked up the details to the max and to 1080 resolution. The PC ran the game without a hitch. Although when running at that setting, the fan was going wild and got pretty warm. The 1080 screen was extra $150 compared to 920 res monitor. I think it was definitely worth it for a 17 inch laptop. Beats audio sounds pretty good. The PC does have an expandable 2nd hard drive space, but it doesn't come with the cable nor with the hard disk caddy, which was very disappointing. Also, I was looking for the caddy and the cable to purchase on HP's website, but couldn't find them in the end. I think there are after market parts available now, but they charge an arm and a leg for such a trivial items.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MAX’D OUT dv7t = HAPPINESS =]

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phlly, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
• 2nd gen Intel i7-2860QM/ 2GB AMD Radeon HD 7690M GPU/ 16GB DDR3 RAM/ 660GB Dual Drive(160GB SSD/500GB 7200 rpm)/ 9 Cell Lithium Ion Battery/ 17.3-inch HD LED(1920 x 1080)/ Blu-Ray writer & DVD burner/ HD Webcam w. Integrated Digital Microphone/ HP SimplePass Fingerprint Reader/Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth
I had been trolling all the online stores and laptop websites researching and looking for my next laptop seriously now for a year, to replace my 2005 HP dv4170us. I knew I’d have to customize to get everything I wanted. The price for my ‘dream-machine’ kept coming in around 4-5k, but I didn’t want to pay more than 2k. After slogging thru hundreds of reviews of various systems, it had come down to either the Dell XPS 17 or a HP 17 Envy or dvt7. I couldn’t get a price & configuration I was happy with, until now. I’d learned about google searching for a COUPON CODE to use at checkout from reading online reviews, but was shocked when the coupon I found and plugged in amounted to a 35% discount. Needless to say, I pulled the trigger =]
I was excited to find out that my laptop came 3 days early. It was an easy setup right out of the box. Beautiful brushed aluminum finish. Well built, but it’s not one of those military grade HP mobile-workstations(not the price either). Mine stays on a lil desk by my easy-chair. A little learning curve with the keyboard layout. I like to use CONTROL KEYS to navigate. Check out Wkipedia to learn them. No problem with the touchpad. Luvin the HD screen. Everything is fast-fast-fast with the SSD. Boots in just a few second. I log in to all my online accounts with a finger swipe. I didn’t opt for the preinstalled softwarel I bought my own hard copy Full Version of Microsoft Office Professional on Ebay for $177.50. Saved myself $52.50 by doing that. And, I also got Adobe Photoshop Elements 10/Premiere Elements 10 together on ebay for $94. So Yeah, I’m loving my new HP, and would definitely recommend finding a SpringDeal coupon code(don’t pay full price) and getting a dv7t. GREAT DEAL! GREAT PC!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Laptop for the Money

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bozeman, Montana
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer can handle just about anything you throw at it, as a college student i think its the perfect size. i carry it to classes daily (i have textbooks that way more than this laptop) The sound is most definitely the greatest sound to ever come from a laptop all other notebooks sound like nothing compared to this. Ive never needed external speakers all the sound power i need is right there in the computer. Best buy for a college kid in the computer fields of study.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
This review is fromHP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got a blue screen during the first login!

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Opened the box. The setup was quick. Gave my login name, computer name, etc. When it was trying to login for the very first time after the initial setup screens, it just shutdown with a blue screen with IRQ errors. Since I had a little knowledge of Windows, I had boot into safe mode with networking and let it connect to the network and install the required drivers. After that, it started working. Why would a company like HP ship its product without proper drivers in the first place?
-A very dissatisfied customer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
This review is fromHP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent but...

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laptop was assembled in China. It should have been inspected better before it was shipped. The top portion of the keyboard is lifted as if it was "warped".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
This review is fromHP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The features work for me.

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Besides typical business and personal uses for my laptop, I am a movie buff and my desires in a laptop reflect that. My desires were for a large, watchable screen, decent sound and a Blu ray drive. HP has consistently offered the best priced Blu ray capable laptop coupled with a good laptop screen. The Beats audio speaker system included on this laptop is on of the best laptop speaker systems I've ever heard and a definite improvement over my previous HP entertainment laptop. If you need a gaming laptop, the features of this laptop may seem run of the mill to you, but as a movie machine, it is great. The HDMI output allows me to connect it to televisions as well as the projector in the conference room. It is also much quieter than my previous laptop and runs cooler so that it can sit in my lap comfortably. As soon as I received the laptop, I cloned the hard drive and installed my own solid state hard drive which improved performance even more. Even though the laptop supports two hard drives, HP does not provide a drive caddy or SATA connector for the second drive bay unless you buy a second drive. This is a minor quibble as I am mostly pleased with my purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well designed product if it were sent complete.

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lakewood, OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well designed product. Backlit keyboard is an outstanding feature and is worth the extra cost; if it were shipped with the proximity sensor (which was determined to be missing by tech support). The full HD screen is also great and is worth the extra cost. The multiple USB3 ports are a huge plus. Sould quality is trully outstanding. Some I/O ports should have been designed at the rear of the notebook; such as: external monitor, RJ45, HDMI, power connector, and one USB3 port. Making that small design change would allow for a docking station. Also, having to connect an external monitor cable to the side of the notebook is too inconvenient because of the heavy cable that is needed. The same for the HDMI and power connector, All other ports are in perfect position. The WebCam and WebCam light are also two outstanding features. Having a biometric (fingerprint) reader is a huge plus as it allows very fast and secure login. Not sure as yet if it can be used with other apps but hope it can (have not tested that possibiliity as yet). Setup was very easy. Had the wireless network configured in about 1 minute. Having a user manual would have been a huge plus but eventually found it on HP's Web site. Recommendations for future buyers: Order more RAM at time of purchase. Also, order the set of recovery DVDs as it takes 7 DVDs and over an hour to create these on your own. Overall: Would have given a full "Excellent" had the unit come with the prox sensor that should have been installed as part of the backlit keyboard.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
This review is fromHP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Richland Hills, TX
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this DV7 quad with all the Bells and Whistles. I recieve this laptop and dont even have it for 24 hours before it crashes on me. It informs me that I need to do HP updates so i agree and it updates and restarts the system. When it restarts the system after doing HP updates it takes me to a blue screen saying updated bios are not fully ACPI compliant and that I need updated BIO'S.. So I call HP customer support, they have me do hard drive test's, memory test's, etc..All test's pass. Still same blue screen, so HP sends me a brand new computer which i have to place another order and they charge my card again. I return the first one and they refund the money after a week or so. Now the new Dv7 comes in the mail. I have it again under 24 hours and it asks to do HP updates, this time i say no thanks. but it didnt matter b/c after an hour it automatically started doing the HP updates and restarts the system. It takes me to the SAME blue screen saying I need updated BIO's. So now i am in the process of returning everything and going somewhere eles. I WOULD NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT, VERY UNRELIABLE. I even checked online I am not the only one that has been having this same problem.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
This review is fromHP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed after using it for 1 year

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought two Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad notebook PCs last year for my home office. In addition to the 2 Pavilion dv7f-7000 Quads, I already own a Mac, a HP desktop and a Dell laptop in the home office. The Pavilion's WIFI wireless connection is not realible, while all the other computers' wireless connection works all the time, the Pavilion's wireless drops very often, after the drop it'd work again only after I manully reboot the wireless router. I called the HP support several times, the only thing they did were delete the existing drivers, reinstall the same drivers and ask me to manully reboot the wireless router (I have been doing that many many times). I checked the web and this seems to be a common problem among many Pavilon users. I don't like to have to reboot the router several times a day and dont like to be disconnected in the middle of a web conference, This is UNACCEPTABLE! I'm now using a LAN line to connect to the internet because I'd like to make sure the line doesn;t drop again while I'm writing the review. I'd like to make sure others don't suffer like me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

EDIT - Software Developer + Gamer

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Um, internet.
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would still recommend this laptop but get a USB keyboard, change the wireless card (upgrade from default if you can when ordering) and be aware of a problem right now with the 650M NVIDIA graphics driver.
In addition to the keyboard not accepting input (flaky key press, I believe a hardware design flaw) ...
The Intel Centrino Wireless N2230 card that comes with this has problems. A Google search turned up issues requiring me and many others to reconfigure their wireless network settings in our routers for the card to even see the wireless N network. I would have to make those changes and change the wireless settings for all my network devices. I've been staying with WPA for compatability with the Nintendo Wii. I also have a dual band router and I'd have to cut over exclusively to N while most of the devices in my home are still on G. The N2230 is junk and Intel is not responding to this problem yet.
Additionally, the NVIDIA Control Panel started crashing after Windows updated the 650M driver. I downloaded the driver available here on HP for the dv7t-7200 with the version info: "2012-09-14 Version9.18.13.546" and that seems to resolve the crashing. I also have to disable updates from the NVIDIA Control Panel or it will update itself too (also crashing the NVIDIA Control Panel). The last thing I did to try and "fix" the issue was disable Secure Boot in the BIOS. This is the hardware based DEP (Data Execution Prevention) that in the past has been part of Windows (Control Panel -> Advanced Settings -> Performance -> Data Execution Prevention). I found a related problem from Vista 32 bit on the NVIDIA boards where the workaround was to disable DEP so we'll see if this helps in case somehow the driver gets updated again. I'm getting very annoyed by this problem but haven't contacted support. No offense HP, but computer support has been so inexperienced in the past from other vendors I do not want to contact any support personel for any reason for any device I own.
The silver lining is the Hybrid 750 GB drive boots Windows so fast that it's hard to get annoyed about rebooting when installing drivers. Plus all the other positive things I mentioned in another review. Had to use a different email address to post this one as the HP site won't let me edit or update my previous review titled "Software Developer + Gamer"
Still a great laptop, just having to mess with it and solve some problems.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The computer was what I had hoped

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This being my fourth hp computer (my second laptop from hp) and never having a problem with any of them I was content to order another one. I received this one a week ago and have been so far very happy with its performance. I did happen to step this one up a couple of notches since it is also the first one I built, unlike the pervious one's that where off the store shelf.
I decided to purchase the dv7tqe :
3rd gen intel i7 -3820qm processor
nvidia gt 650 graphics with 2gb gddr5 memory
1.5 tb 7200rpm dual hard drive
32gb mssd acceleration cache
17.3 hd anti-glare (1920x1080)
backlit keyboard
Those were the features that I wanted as a must have and am glad to have spent the extra it cost, very fast with the 32gb mssd.
There where 3 things I thought they could have put a little more attention to:
1) The plug in adpter should have been on left side and it should have also been right angled, it tends to stick out far and consumes considerable amount of space on a desk.
2) The dvd open botton could have been bigger for those of us with lager fingers.
3) The indicator lights should have been placed where you can see it with out having to look over the right edge of the unit.
Other then those few things they built a very solid and fast computer. Oh and I do like the finger print reader very handy. Hope who ever reads this reveiw and is considering one enjoys theres as much as i do mine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit, MI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this computer based on the performance of my old DV7T-1000 bought in '08. I must say that I am VERY disappointed with this computer.
Computer User Level: Advanced non-IT professional / Grad student.
Out of the box the computer starts and boots FAST, That is good. Set up goes smooth. That is good. Once you're on the internet you will notice lag. A LOT of lag. That is bad.
This lag is from the pre-installed software (including Media Center Share) that runs behind the scenes when you're online. It's terrible. the video is choppy and a good 10-15 second scroll lag is not uncommon. I spent the cash to get the 2GB vid card and 8GB Ram, so I was very surprised at this. It took a good few hours on the net to find the issue and correct (disable) it.
Bright side. Once you have the software disabling out of the way this computer screams! It's fast, powerful and multi-tasks like a pro. Now back to the issues.
The F-Keys are not "above" or set apart from the main keyboard, As a gamer and music composition software user, this is a big issue.
Another drawback of the F-Keys is that they are, by default, not function keys. They are control buttons. They are the volume control, mute, wireless on/off, brightness, and the play/FF/RW buttons. Out of the box, you have to press and hold the "fn" button if you want to use it as a regular function key. I had to enter into BIOS (not documented. Thanks, internet!) to change the default to Function and hold the "fn" button to activate Volume control, etc...
This is surprising because "Functions" are what most of the software on a PC uses the Function Keys for. If you play (insert game here) this is a major drawback until BIOS is changed.
The arrow keys (for walking around in games, moving around from cell to cell in Excel, etc..) are tiny. They are jammed into a small area which looks pretty, but they're not user friendly. I use arrow keys a lot. It is a poor design, which surprises me since I own the predecessor DV7T-1000 and they key layout was perfect.
The whole pre-installed Fingerprint Reader security software is set up as a social media user's dream. If you want to customize it for a work or school site, well.. grab some coffee and a snack. You're going to be at it for a while. It is NOT very user friendly.
There are times when typing that the cursor jumps and the entry point follows. This causes a little bit of a hassle when typing letters, chats, etc. I have experienced this on every laptop I have used, so this is not surprising, but I had hoped by 2012 it would have been addressed.
HP's customer support is fantastic, though. I just recommend a different model, or at LEAST heading to your local computer store and giving this one a thorough test run before purchasing. I wish I had.
Overall, this is a decent laptop but HP dropped the ball on the end user's needs when it re-designed the DV7 series. That is what is most disappointing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gaming Laptop

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southern California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only been using this DV7t for 10 days now so this is a limited review. It seems to be all that HP portrayed it to be. Very powerful, fast, great graphics and (knock on wood) so far, EVERYTHING works perfectly.
This is the fastest processor I have ever used and I relate it to a Ferrari. VERY FAST!! I stayed with the basic i7-3610 QM processor. I am not experienced enough of a gamer to need the extra 2-10% speed increase provided by the extra $$$ for the upgrades. The standard one is PLENTY fast enough for me!! I am also very glad to have the new Ivy bridge as it runs VERY cool, even while gaming!
8 Gig of ram is plenty memory for today's multitasking world although I am planning to up it to 16 gb as soon as I can so it will be ready for TOMORROWS programs. I do wish HP would put in 2 more memory slots like Toshiba does so I don't have to throw away 8 gig in order to up it to 18 gig. That's only a small problem though..
The 1920x1080 screen was a very wise upgrade. I have never understood what all the fuss over Blu-Ray was until we watched our first movie. WOW.. What a great picture. And with NO GLARE!! Now my HD 720 TV is on the chopping block and a full 1080 is on the Christmas List.
The 2 gb NVIDIA GT650m was well worth the extra $$. Games are now installing in HIGH graphic's mode rather than LOW. They look SUPER nice with great frame rates.
I did not feel the back lit keyboard was worth the extra $$ so I can't comment on that. I do wish HP would develop a fully spill proof keyboard. That is one problem I had with the old ZD8000. It did not like drinking my Black Velvet as much as I did. I would have gotten that upgrade if offered. Hint-Hint HP...
The 32 gig mSSD was well worth the upgrade. My machine boots up in less than 30 seconds. A full restart, including the finger print scan, takes only 57 seconds. I don't know how fast it would boot up without it, but watching YouTube videos about how fast regular 7200 HHD's boot up, this is plenty fast enough for me for the money spent. I just couldn't justify a full SSD drive for the cost vs. size lost. I guess this settling for second best, but a 750 gig SSD drive was way out of my budget, IF it had been offered.
The second 750GB, 7200 HHD will come in handy in 'Tomorrows' computer world when programs require that much space. Now, it seems overkill but just wait. I started in computers when a 550 MB hard drive was HUGE and costs me over $500.00. How long did that HD last. A year, MAYBE, before it was full!!
Although the Beats Audio came standard, I was glad it was there. The sound out of my Bose headphones is noticeably better than what was coming out of the DV8000. BUT I will say, the speakers provided in the new laptop, are BARELY adequate! Unless you are in a totally silent environment, full blast does not provide enough volume to hear. In a totally silent environment, full blast does provide quality sound. For normal use, a good set of headphones are a must.
ALL-IN-ALL, this computer rocks!! It is a TRUE HP (Horse Power) machine. My last Pavilion ZD8000 can now rest in peace. I will retire it to a child's learning machine. Seven years old and it still works although slowly, it still works. This new Pavilion DV7t-7000 should last another 7+ years also, if HP built it the same as the last one. Only time will tell.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great hardware, horrible bloatware

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:portland, oregon
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wasn't going to buy another hp computer because of bloatware issues on previous hp products. After talking with an hp rep a costco I decided to give hp another try. He told me that a windows 7 premier experience meant that I would get a clean install. My bad.
Pros: great hardware, fast,good display, good keyboard, tech support really tried to help with my issues (not on a script)!
Cons: Massive bloatware , all designed for sales or product promotion. FOUR tool bars on internet homepage. Fingerprint reader has link to over 20 stores. Worst of all, uninstalling some these programs corrupted the registry to the point where I was unable to load other software that I bought this computer to run. In order to fix the registry I was forced to restore the computer to it's original condition and keep all the distracting system slowing junk.
Bottom line: I will not be buying another hp computer and I will be advising others to run away, far, far away.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 to next page>>