HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.226 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(479 reviews) 479
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 479 reviews
5 Stars
286
4 Stars
104
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
15
1 Star
37
400 out of 479(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 381 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Fine Machine

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hamden, CT
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been building my own desktop and laptop systems for many years now and finally got tired of the extra legwork it takes to piece a good machine together. So, after much research I decided to use the HP custom laptop builder to design my new business/gaming rig. Although HP could certainly include more component choices for each element of its laptops as you customize, it would be very hard to beat their price for each component if shopping for them individually at - say - Newegg or similar. The customization process is also very simple with decent Q&A along the way if you are unsure about a specific hardware or software choice.
My laptop came with all of the components I had chosen, it came in the time-frame HP said it would, and it came without a huge amount of bloatware to uninstall. One issue that I had and many others have written about is the tendency of the finicky fingerprint reader to become unrecognized by windows and/or the HP Simple Pass software. Mine initially worked but then quit - possibly after an HP automatic software update that - I believe - may have updated the Simple Pass software but not the validity sensor drivers. At any rate, HP technical support was unable to solve the problem after 2 chat sessions and one phone call - although they were very nice and really tried! >:) - so I uninstalled the SP software and the VS drives and downloaded the newest versions of each from HP's (very easy to use) self-help updates pages. After a bit of tinkering and a few reboots this fixed the problem for me at least.
Other than that, the machine is beautiful to look at in full 1920 by 1080 (get the higher res screen, really!), runs like a cheetah, and has handled everything I have thrown at it so far.
So overall I give the machine and the buying experience 5 stars but if asked to rate tech support I would give them about a 2.5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 382 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smokin' Laptop

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gastonia, NC
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My desktop died a few weeks ago and I bought this laptop as a replacement. This laptop has a few things that I'm nitpicking but just like everything else in life nothing is perfect. I only have a few very minor complaints. The F keys like what you would normally see on any standard keyboard are actually combined with the laptop control buttons (fast forward, volume, etc.) so you have to push the "fn" button plus the corresponding f key. The other minor thing is the hard drive light is on the side of the laptop and not easy to see unless you tilt your head or the laptop over on it's side. I purchased the Logitech wireless keyboard and mouse with my laptop so the F keys are no big deal and I really can't comment on the touchpad as I hate those things. I game a little on PC and what few games (Command & Conquer Tiberium Wars) that I've played so far do just fine. If you're looking for something to just check email and type a few reports in Word this might be a bit overkill for you. If you are going to edit videos, stream Netflix, or play games this will probably be a good fit for you. That's my two cents and would definitely recommend this laptop to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 383 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good laptop but lacks build quality

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons:
-Build quality issues with keyboard, its feels notched.
-Laptop body feels fragile, feels like it may crack like a glass, specially when you open or close the laptop screen lid and while picking and placing the laptop.
-Blue ray tray has some fitting variations which bothers while carrying around.
-Touch pad acts weird sometimes,
-No LED indication for Num lock ON/OFF.
Pros:
-Great features at this price point,(i7 ivy processor, 1TB hard disc, 8GB RAM, blue ray, nvidia ,17.3 hd screen, beats audio etc)
-Screen looks good.
-Audio is good.
-Laptop styling is very good.
I recommend this to people who takes real care of their laptop, this is not for those who handle it rough.
You need to handle it like a chauffeur not like a rally driver.
Hope this helps.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 384 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Upgrade from prev versions

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mansfield, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the fact they got rid of the touch buttons at the top and placed them in the keyboard except I use F3, F8 and F9 in the program I use everyday and now I have to hit fn & then the button. I also went to install my second hard drive that I use for back up files and the slot was there but no cable to plug into.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 385 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

fast but crashes

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:reno
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
on the fourth day, it wouldn't load until I did a ctrl/alt/dilete twice, and tried several other ways to get past the white screen at start up. The touch pad is to far right and it gets touched by your right hand/thumb area over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 386 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with my new DV7 Laptop

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pomona, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall I'm very happy with my new laptop. The HD display is beautiful and I'm very glad I specified the illuminated keyboard and the 'audio out' jack being on the side of the laptop leaves me with more useable desk space.. The 3rd Gen i7 processor seems to make everything effortless, with fast boot-up times, rapid file-opening and quick downloads. The only thing that I still have to get used to is to press the 'fn' button to select the relevant 'f' button functions. One of the applications I use regularly uses 'f2' to enter an edit mode. On the DV7 keyboard the default function of the 'f2' key is 'screen brightness down' so I'm still learning to hold the 'fn' button first. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 387 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Dream Computer

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Little Rock, Arkansas
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this to use exclusively as a laptop. Yesterday the Vista PC I was using in my home office crashed again. So tired of using system restore on it. I brought my new laptop into the office and hooked it up to my 23 inch monitor. Worked like a charm. Moved my QuickBooks and Microsoft Money files over and I now have both a new laptop and a new desktop computer. If I need to take the laptop , it is a matter of pulling out two cable/plugs and I'm ready to go! As to the computer, I have only been using it a little but so far, I love it. It is fast, and the turorials have helped me a lot. I am new ti this fingerprint stuff but I have mastered it so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 388 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply breathtaking.

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Azusa
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this laptop for 2 days now and am absolutely amazed at how fast this thing loads pages and media! This laptop has so many upgradeable specs and features, you just can't beat it for the price. I love the 1080p anti-glare screen, it is a must-have!
There is talk of this laptop coming with lots of bloatware. However, this comp is fast enough for the average user with little to no lag in loading times. It has a very user-friendly interface and is a joy to use. Typing on the keyboard is marvelous. The Beats Audio speakers sound good and can be turned up pretty loud. I was impressed. The Fingerprint Scanner is also another feature that is just amazing and quick to access your personal files.
Options I'd suggest:
1920x1080 Anti-Glare Screen
Backlit Keyboard
Dual Hard Drive (if you need it)
Simply put, buy it, you won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 389 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Fast!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this for my husband to replace his 5 year old laptop. He loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 390 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I-7 3720QM 17" Macbook Pro $1.201.97

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Here is the Build:
HP Pavilion dv7t Quad Edition customizable Notebook PC
• Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
• System Recovery DVD with Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
• 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3720QM Processor (2.6 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
• NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory [HDMI, VGA]
• FREE UPGRADE to 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 750GB 7200 rpm Hybrid Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
• NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• Microsoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word/Excel(R) only, No PowerPoint(R)/Outlook(R)
• No additional security software
• 30% off 9 cell Lithium Ion Battery
• 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
• FREE Upgrade to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam
• Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
• Backlit Keyboard
• Laplink PC mover
• Included 2 Year Warranty
• HP Home & Home Office Store in-box envelope
Now first impressions, IMHO this build is worth $2800 or more... You can only get this build from Dell in an Alienware and Apple has not released a 17" I7 3rd Generation Macbook Pro; sure you can add a larger monitor to your $2,200 15" Retina display for another grand and a $60 cable. The 1080p display is incredible, no glare, razor sharp text, see every quill in a porpupine's coat.The Blu-Ray is awesome; with every detail in textured paper in the famous Mouse opening for Princess & the Frog...
I have had the laptop in my lap and have not experienced any heat issues. Coolsense fom Intel works. I also have not dtected any noticeable fan noise; I have even set video rip to use all 4 cores without any noticeable heat or noise...
Loading software the only delay is in the medium of the loading device. Windows 7 loads in 20 seconds and shutdown is 10 seconds with the 750GB HHD and no SSD pr mSSD installed. Waiting on the 2nd drive bay install kit to release to add Samsung 830 256GB SSD. I sholuld have ordered the dual drive 1.5TB option and got the 2nd drive bay mount and proprietary SATA wire.
Works flawlessly with my Eye Fi 8GB loaded In a Canon Rebel T2i; only delay is in the file loading from the camera to card...
Bring on Mountain Lion...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 391 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the backlit keyboard, love the speed, love the screen clarity - really nice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 392 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

seems like good value for money

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only bad thing about it so far is that the wireless range is tiny. OTher laptops have no problems in a different room from the router, but this one can't connect. When in the same room it's fine, so I just think the antennas weren't hooked up right in the case. They appear to be on the card correctly. Otherwise it's fast and not too hot, with a really nice display. Touchpad doesn't register double-taps perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 393 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful and Fast

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Waynesboro, TN
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I chose this laptop because I was wanting laptop that was both powerful enough for video editing and games. The fingerprint reader is really handy (pun intended). This laptop is capable of handling pretty much anything you throw at it. The only problem I found was that the Function keys (F1-F12) were set to be used automatically for their hardware functions (brightness, volume, wireless, etc). If you wanted to use them for the key itself, you had to hold FN and then press the key. I fixed this by setting active keys to false in the BIOS settings so it wasn't much of a problem at all. Beats audio is great but the software sometimes is a little buggy. Battery life is fair as well. I get about 6 hours of just simple activities like word processing and browsing the internet. Then about 1 to 2 hours while gaming or doing some high power activity. Overall, a great laptop for whatever you need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 394 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great overall!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Glenolden, Pa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good but my fingerprint scanner stopped working after 6 days. Other than that I highly recommend spending the $20 extra for a backlit keyboard! My favorite feature of this very elaborate computer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 395 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not silent

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really liked all the features of this laptop - love having bluray, the screen is gorgeous, the audio from the speakers is quite good, and it's great to have 2 available hard drive bays.
Unfortunately I had to return my dv7 because the fan noise was too loud while idling and surfing the web. I primarily use this laptop in a quiet bedroom, and the fan noise is easily audible while it's sitting in my lap. HP needs to catch up with Apple and Samsung in this department - I know that they're trying with the CoolSense software bundled with the laptop, but even with that on the quietest setting, when I have all 3 laptops in one room the HP is the only one I can hear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 396 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features at very good price

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The laptop has almost everything I need: 3rd gen i7, blue-ray player, 8GB Memory, 1TB hard drive, 2 year warranty, 3.0 USB, tiny subwoofer, ... The only problem I have, sofar, is microphone which is not as good as expected. It was slightly improved after reinstall the driver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 397 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop and a good price.

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Eugene, OR
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best laptop you will find at the price. 17" screen with all the bells and whistles under the hood. Could it be better? Sure, but it's gonna cost you big time. It is a quick laptop with good equipment and some room to spare if you want a second hard drive. The finger print scanner is cool and definitely better than remember yet another password.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 398 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great speed

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:College Place,WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have it used to the max and it just does everything I need. Great for road trips and downloading and reviewing my pictures before I leave the site.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 399 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great computer, great value

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When the new Ivy Bridge computers came out, and after reading the negative reviews for Windows 8, I decided not to wait anymore. The DV7T-7000 is already a good value, and I found a 33% coupon online that made it affordable to add some customizations I may not have gotten otherwise. I added the 32 GB mSSD cache, upgraded wi-fi w/bluetooth, backlit keyboad, and 9-cell battery. I am very glad for the ability to press F11 and restore the OS without all the bloatware! Boot up time is very fast! I presume that's because of the mSSD, but I would like some "proof" that the mSSD is even installed. I can't tell from poking around in the control panel. The fingerprint scanner is neat. I use it mainly to unlock Windows. You can also use it to launch apps or web site, but I don't really use that feature yet. The 9-cell battery sticks out - it is not flush with the rest of the laptop. For my purposes, that is just fine. The battery actually props the laptop up so that the keyboard is at a more comfortable angle. Road warriors probably wouldn't like it though. But then again, road warriors probably wouldn't opt for a 17" laptop. The Beats Audio feature is OK, I guess. I don't really use it, because I have external speakers and subwoofer. The graphics are nice and the 17" display is very crisp. I haven't found anything to not like.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 400 for HP ENVY dv7t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop for the money

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wow, this is a big laptop. I bought this for a desktop replacement and it fills the bill. I loaded this up and got the three year protection with it. I got Win 7 Pro, i7-3820, 8Gb ram, Dual 750GB drives,(they should give you the option for Raid 1 or 0 when purchased, but laptop top is preloaded with it so you can change it to what you like), nvidia GT650 2Gb, backlit keyboard, Blu-ray player. Full 1080P screen, 6-cell and 9-cell battery. It also came with a fingerprint reader and media reader. I also bought one for the wife with only one 750Gb Hybrid drive, but it has an empty drive bay so I can add another if I like. Have not played any games yet but very happy so far. Blu-ray movies look awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.