HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC

HP ENVY dv6z-7200 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.26 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
104 out of 127(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Motherboard quit

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Marshfield, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After 2 weeks of use, the motherboard quit. Customer service was great and I am sending the laptop back for repair, but this is horrible. Product wouldn't boot, blackscreeen, and flashing caps lock key (code for motherboard) I have always had good luck with HP and have always chosen them for my school system, but we'll see how this works out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak hardware. Win 8 is awkward

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gallup, NM
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The "decrease volume" button is sticky, right out of the box. The trackpad cursor, when hovering over an item, clicks it more often than not, which I then have to stop or revert whatever it's done. I'm getting a mouse, so hopefully I can work around this. Windows 8 makes no sense - it's a major headache. If this were my primary computer, I'd return it, but since it's only for the occasional road trip, I'm not bothering to send it back, or spend hours on the phone. I'm surprised what bad hardware is on the machine, especially compared to my 3-year old Pavilion that has been trouble free ever since I purchased it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product has a problem

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the key board and touch pad do not work.this has been a problem from get go.sent it to repair.but I think I shod get a new computer net a fixed computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Network Card Incompatible with XFinity Router

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I could not get the Broadcom Network card to work with Comcast's XFinity modem's internal router. I would have had to purchase a separate external router and then put it into bridge mode. Instead I returned the laptop and HP gave me an upgrade to a better laptop at a discounted price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality design

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
The design at least on the previous model is horrible. I've had it taken in twice to be fixed and both times they didn't fix properly what I wanted. The design seems to be of poor quality from the geeko. When it arrived, the plastic band that goes around where the ports are wasn't glued together properly and after having it fixed once, the second time they fixed the bottom instead of what was wrong. Never going to do business with HP again (other than ink and printers), Apple all the way!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I hate Windows 8!!!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Point Pleasant, WV
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windows 8 is NOT user-friendly. It is difficult to change between running programs & even difficult to shut down the laptop. I would not recommend it to anyone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Has potential

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used both PC Windows and Apple OS systems. This Windows 8 is a hassle and should come with an instruction booklet. I do NOT want to be locked into using all of microsoft store and emails, etc. Most if not all the people who have had computers are well established with their habits and email accounts and do not want to switch! I came real close to sending it back until I unlocked all the stuff on the software and could go where I pleased. Thank you for listening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

'delete' key is broken

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My new laptop came with a broken 'delete'. The key works but it is loose and not fully attached. Not sure how long it will last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Seed

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, Wa
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The performance of the HP Pavilian dv6 is fantastic, when it decides to perform that is. I've had my dv6 for almost a month now and have had nothing but random difficulties with it.
Within the first three days of having this computer I was already calling in an issue to Tech Support. The battery wasn't charging when I'd plug in the AC adapter but the battery was ok, they offered to have me send back the computer and wait 3 weeks for another... 3 WEEKS! You have got to be kidding me!? Somehow the battery issue resolved itself (for now).
Issue #2 arose within the last couple weeks; randomly the USB ports will stop working. I am having to remove the USB stick for my logitech mouse every couple of days so I can use it....
Issue #3- I'll shut the lid and put my dv6 to sleep when I walk away from it, and when I go to open it back up it's frozen, Simplepass will crash and I can't even ctrl-alt-delete my way into task manager because it's frozen. The entire system has crashed on me many times and i've had this computer LESS than a month.
I am a student who takes most of her classes on her computer. The whole reason I even bought a new laptop was because the Dell I had before was giving me these issues, but after 6 years I'd expect it too.
I would gladly return the dv6 for a new one if I didn't have to wait 3 weeks. If HP implemented a system (similar to what cell phone companies use) that sent out the new laptop first then had you send back the old one, in a return box that the new one came in (within 7 days or the persons credit card would be charged for both laptops), this would make life much easier for us who really can't part with our computers because they have our lives on them.
I would love to give a great review, but until this is fixed, I cannot. I just got a Bad Seed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No 5ghz Wireless

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laptop performs fairly well, battery life is good. Upgraded HD display is required for any laptop at this screen size. Keyboard/Blu-Ray drive door is sub-par (cheap and the blu-ray drive doesn't latch properly). The worst part of it though is that the Broadcom 4313 802.11b/g/n wireless card is not 5ghz compatible, so you can only use it at 2.4ghz speed. You'll need to use a different vendor laptop or buy an ugly USB dongle wireless card to get the 5ghz that SHOULD be standard in a laptop at this price range (my 4 year old Pavilion DV5-Z can do 5ghz).
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

WIFI only works with Ubuntu Linux

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought 2 custom DV6z-7000-CTO laptops. WIFIs had 50' range, then quit when Windows first updated. HP diagnostic program, windows network troubleshooter & OpenSuse Linux all reported WIFI hardware switches were off. Ubuntu Linux used WIFI OK. After 16 days, another Win7 update fixed WIFI in 1 of 2 computers. Other computer sent back to HP without working WIFI. WIFI key still only controls Blutooth, can't enable WIFI except in Ubuntu Linux.
AMD A-10 processor is quick. 1980 X 1020 flat finish screen is fine, does all videos fine. Regular DVDs up-convert & look better than original whether using OpenSuse or Win7. Insyde BIOS has few options. Update BIOS from HP web is older version & install software does not show update will install older BIOS, just downgrades without recourse.
2" long power plug is opposite fan vents, so computer needs 4" more table width than computer width. Power plug should be @ fan outlet.
Battery life is fine, computer runs cooler than previous laptops we had.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

jury is still out

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Cumberland, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was in the market to upgrade & update from my old Dell and compared Dell, HP & Lenovo. The HP ENVY dv6z-7200 Notebook PC won out because I couldn't find a Dell or Lenovo that gave the same features for the price. The website was easy to use and delivery sped across the world from China. My wife and I went on a trip and I was super excited to use it. Everything started out great...it booted up fast and great response times...Windows 8 is a pain (at the moment), but I was able to adapt after awhile. Then after about four days, it wouldn't boot up...I was not pleased. It finally got to the point where it recognized an error and gave me the choice to attempt to go to my home page, refresh the pc (which meant it started almost from ground zero) or reconfigure (start from ground zero). I chose the resfresh as I hadn't had it long enough to lose much. Now it seems slower and just isn't the great new pc that I started with. I actually ended up using my old Dell for the remainder of the trip. Since I have been home, I have used it a couple of times and all seems OK, not great and not what I was expecting or hoping for. The warranty for return I believe is 21 days, so I have 10 days to decide what to do. As I titled...jury is still out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I would have enjoyed it more

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The first one I ordered had three clusters of dead pixels at the bottom center of the screen. Instead of sending me a replacement so I could swap out hard drives and keep working, I end up sending that one back in and waiting another three weeks for the new one to arrive. It finally gets here, I get everything set up, and I notice there are pixel problems with the screen again. Lower right hand corner, a cluster of bright pixels that is very noticible against light backgrounds. I would advise against getting this model until HP can get the issues worked out with their LCD monitor supplier. Additionally, in the last day or so, the front right corner of the touchpad has started to come up and away from the case mounting.
I am quite disappointed in getting two units in a row with substantial problems, and I don't have another three weeks to be without a computer. QA needs some serious work on the factory end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

decent, but not what I was hoping for

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This computer doesn't run any faster than my old one, which I purchased four years ago, but that could be because I took good care of it. I can run multiple applications without it freezing.. The keys are not sensitive enough, though, so I have to retype words several times. Maybe they'll loosen up with use. Windows 8 has too many apps that get in my way. I spent the first day just trying to get them all off of my start screen. The picture quality is very clear and there are a lot of different settings available. The sound quality is good. The finger print scanner is fascinating and convenient. I also like how little this computer weighs. If I click through web pages too fast my cursor will spin for awhile, and pages won't open, so that's frustrating. I wouldn't recommend this pc, because there are other HP laptops that are less expensive that run the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed in HP quality and Windows 8

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Attleboro MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The finish on the lid on the notebook is poor and very susceptible to scratches and smudges. I've had Dell's for the past 8 years and there is not a scratch or mar on any of them over all that time, and they've been used in some pretty harsh environments.
I am extremely disappointed in the performance of the computer when using the internet. I can only attribute this to Window 8 because I believe I have more than enough memory (6Gb) and the recommended HP CPU.
This purchase has been a big disappointment and I would not recommend this notebook to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not impressed with the quality of the HP Envy.

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Even though this computer is lightweight and the set up options are easy to use, I am not impressed with Windows 8. Also, after having the computer for only 3 days, I noticed the color became pixelated which was very frustrateting
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

APU is awesome! But slower SSD performance

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Leandro, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The laptop is fast in every category except one. I installed a Samsung 830 SSD and have been getting poor performance on the most important 4K random reads. It's operating at about the quarter of the speed that it should.
Hopefully someone at HP reads this (and their support forums) and updates the firmware in the very near future to correct this.
Other than that, the laptop is fast! If you want to do some gaming on here, bam, you've got it. If you want to do some work on here - well guess what - you've got that too. Sure it's not as fast as the Intel chips when it comes to extreme benchmarks, but honestly YOU WON'T NOTICE THE DIFFERENCE. I pull thousands and thousands of records when doing work and the laptop chugs right through it - to the point where I'm like, "I must have coded something wrong... it couldn't be done that fast..."
Anyway, this laptop is the biggest bang for your buck currently and will get the job done for business use and play. Truly the best of both worlds. Hopefully the SATA Controller or driver issue will be fixed and SSD's will scream on this as well. That's the only thing I have a complaint about.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

disappointed with this laptop

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've only been using this laptop a few days and it has already freezed on me twice. It is quite slow too, considering the fact that I upgraded to the A8. I also upgraded to the 7730m card, but I don't know if I got it because it says 7640g. (can someone tell me how to check?)
Some pros:
-the matte screen is very nice
-design is stylish
-backlit keyboard is a plus
Overall, I regret purchasing this product and wish I would've went with the new Intel processors.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have only myself to blame for not researching more in depth but everything said about it was true. I am having trouble with bsod with this motherboard that's included.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY dv6z-7200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor WiFi Signal Strenght

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pompano Beach, FL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't want to be unfair with this model because probably I got a defective one. The WiFi card had a very poor wireless signal strength. Even my 3 years old netbook had a better signal strength and speed than my super new laptop. I don't know if it was also because I chose the AMD configuration with 8 GB RAM and A8 processor but besides the WiFi card problem, the laptop started over heating after 3 hours of use.
It had good features like the backlit keyboard and the beats by dr dre speakers, but these days if you don't have a good and fast internet connection, everything else means nothing.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>