HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.191 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
10
112 out of 131(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Huge disapointment

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lebanon NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
I purchased the 12gb ram version of this laptop through Costco for a very nice price. At first it seemed great although the growing pains with Windows 8 made things slow. After messing around with the laptop for a while the failures started to show through. The performance of this machine paled in comparison to a Lenovo with 1/3 less ram and much slower processor. The sound and camera were very poor when using skype, the picture was fuzzy and the sound just did not live up what I expected. When playing music at the top volume it did not project very far and it could not handle my Heavy Metal without sounding like a bunch of static. To top it all, every time the computer woke up from sleep or rebooted the guessing game of which component would not work started. The most common issue was my wireless card would not connect or just not be there anymore and I would to either detect it again or re-install it. Same thing with the printer. It would just magically disappear and require re installation. All this got to be too much and I returned it after a little over a month. No more HP for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All good except one possible thing.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: Good graphics quality, great screen, sleek look, great performance
Cons: Wifi connection, heat, Graphics card setup.
For most things this laptop would be great to use. Looks beautiful and gives great performance for games and general use. Even tested it out with the wifi connection when I got it due to couple issues mentioned in other reviews and it seemed to work fine..at first.
The setup I went with had the top of the line in most parts from the graphics card to the wifi and HDD. All in all it also worked fine but felt I should use it for a while before making any reviews. Every game I play I turned the graphics up high and they looked beautiful. and performed great, Laptop ran a little warm so hooked up a rather poor cooling fan that also acts as a rest for on my lap and usually helps with the heat (Heat most likely due to the 7200 rpm HDD)
Now today I was using it and went to play an MMO which I loaded up before for a test run on the wifi and also was watching something with my xbox 360 on youtube. When I had the video running the connection would drop drastically which is a problem I never had (Due to the single band most likely on the wifi) I tested it a few times turning videos on and off to see if it kept doing it which it did die perfectly when I started playing the video and come back to normal when turned off. This means I cant turn anything when playing an MMO..fair enough.. But still rather annoying to me as I enjoy multi tasking often.
Other than that even though went with the upgraded graphics card it still seems to have not only a generic one but also the standard intel and my upgraded one so for any game the auto settings on graphics go to the intel or generic one and I have to sit there and manually set it up. Don't understand why this is happening as honestly don't think the intel card should even be in there if I have the Gforce one I paid for. Will be calling the help desk when I have the day off again to seek out fixes for this if possible.
All in all great for the price but could be far better with minor upgrades.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth purchasing

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jersey City
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I customized it to upgrade the CPU, memory, display, and almost every config, to suit my expectation. I found the display awesome. Its boot-up time is impressive, but sound, not so impressive as it claims. CPU didn’t impressed much. Hybrid drive should have atleast 128GB SSD in place of 32 GB, and choosing that didn’t permitted memory to go beyond 8 GB. My dissatisfaction is with the screen, which looks too delicate, and I saw one of my friends screen got loose in six months of regular usage, otherwise a nice product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St Catherine, Jamaica
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this is a great laptop, but there is one thing persons should be aware of before you buy it. With base configuration the laptop comes with an intel core i7-3630QM processor, according to intel's website the processor has a base clock speed of 2.4GHz with max turbo boost of 3.4GHz. And when I contacted hp about the turbo boost feature they made it clear that my laptop with the intel core i7-3630QM processor did not have turbo boost. So right now I am not so sure about the turbo boost feature.
I get about 4 hours of battery at moderate usage out of the laptop. I would highly recommend that you get the LED full HD display as the colors and view angles are great.
The finger print reader is one of the great feature of this laptop and it works quiet good about 90% of the times.
What I did not like about this laptop
I am had the keyboard backlit option on my model, while it is good. I think hp could have done a lot better at providing some brightness option for it. There is only one brightness option (ON). And when it ON there is too much light leakage from the keys. If you sit really close to laptop and have your head vertically above the keyboard then the light leakage is not an issue. But what hp does not recognize is that no one uses their laptop like that and most persons including myself sit at about a 3/4 arm length from the laptop and this is where most of the light leakage occurs. But other than that the keyboard is ok.
The track pad is ok but as for the left and right click, they feel cheap and feel like after about a year long usage they are going to start giving you problem. But this might not be a problem for everyone has most people would be using a mouse with this laptop.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great with some goofs...

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am an avid HP fan. I am going away to college and wanted a computer that could suit every need I might possibly have over the next four years. This would be my second HP computer. My first was an i3 HP Pavilion. Like all computers it started out fine but had some construction issues such as the area around the vents and hinges.
When I was in the market with this new purchase those were major areas of interest. The construction on this ENVY is great from the first month of use. Every thing is protected. It's a little bit bulkier than I expected, but the pictures on the website never are that truthful.
Performance wise it had been great. It has handled the Sims 3 and most of its expansions with grace. Browsing the internet and watching Youtube while Sims is minimized has also been easy. So easy that I forget that I was playing the game. Because of the high amount of RAM and the i7 processor, high volume programs like the Norton that come pre-installed don't take up too much energy in the background. That was a problem with the i3 Pavilion. The battery isn't anything to go to church about. It's fairly good battery, I can go about six-ish hours of browsing or networking on it before Windows 8 so kindly reminds me, flashes a thick bar across the entire screen, to plug it up. About three hours of Sims 3.
Windows 8 is pretty dumb. I haven't seen any performance feats in my upgrade from Windows 7. It's basically Windows 7 with app tiles that are pretty goofy without a touch interface. I do sometimes use Bing News, but that the extent. The Windows 8 Photo Viewer is pointless and sometimes Windows 8 features can be a little in your face and repetitive.
One of my favorite features is the fingerprint scanner. It makes logging in to the computer a whole different experience. The boot time on the computer, other than the initial, is almost nonexistent and the scanner makes for even speedier log in. Being that the scanner is one of favorite things, I have experienced some trouble with it. Every once in a while, its happened twice, the computer won't recognize it, so I have to download the patch and restart. It's an easy fix but with a product like this, one would prefer not to have to fix it at all.
Another cautionary tale! I must have been spoiled by Word Starter 2010 on my Windows 7. There aren't any starters whatsoever on this model. I was a little taken aback by that seeing as how I love to write and I will be entering college in two weeks. There are of course alternatives than to paying Microsofts hefty price tag, but it would have sweetened the deal even more to have just Word.
It got here pretty quickly. Yeah, I'm one of those people who checks FedEx every three hours. Unlike my first one which was stuck in customs for two weeks, but that is another story all together.
The Verdict: Awesome computer with great performance. It has some glitches that aren't backbreaking to take care of but sure are annoying as all get out. Construction is spectacular. Keyboard has just enough resistance and that satisfying tap. Fingerprint scanner is an amazing overlooked feature. The fans on this computer are hard workers. If it feels the computer getting hot, it cools it down an no time and troops on life normal. The screen isn't anything special, but crisp enough. Overall, great buy. The computer is just as fantastic as the price I got it for. HP has the best computers in the market.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and Fluid

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lubbock, TX
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is great and well worth the money I have spent, if you know how to use Windows 8 this computer can be a great laptop with great performance. The back lit keyboard is also a great add on but I do wish it had different brightness settings instead of just one, but however it is still great. Since this is also a high performance laptop it is very fast and can be great for gaming if adding the Nvidia 650m with 2GB dedicated memory. I have to say the best thing i like about the Dv6 is that it is very stable and I have not yet have any problems with the performance or any other thing.
Pros: Nice Design, Fast, Fluid, Stable, and High performance.
Cons: Windows 8 can be great but also have its bad times.
Overall if you are interested in getting this laptop it wont let you down but I would highly a screen upgrade to 1920x1080 because it has anti glare and keeps its colors no matter how you look at it, my personal opinion, and if looking towards gaming I would recommend the Nvidia Gt 650m graphics card. Also the 32gb mSSD can help a lot but it is not needed for simple task but it is still great to have, and can even make your pc faster than it already is.
My Specs:
Windows 8 64
3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3630QM Processor (2.4GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
15.6-inch diagonal Full High Definition Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
32GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
Microsoft Office Trial
No additional security software
6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
SuperMulti 8X DVD+/-R/RW with Double Layer Support
Backlit Keyboard
HP TrueVision HD Webcam with integrated dual array digital microphone
Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy with Windows 8

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Using Windows 8 on this non-touch laptop is NOT functional. I do not recommend you buying this laptop with Windows 8 OS.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely powerful machine with one flaw

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hp most certainly outdid themselves with this product, totally impressed with the processor and must i say windows 8 is simply magic. The ease at which you can download apps and accesibility of the apps is fantastic . Display, keyboard, computer exterior etc everything looks great. BUT one problem im facing with this computer is the WLAN, internet connection gets very weak if i move a few steps away from the router, so to get a good signal i have to sit right next to the router that means i cant even use the internet in my bedroom. I did contact an Hp technician about this and he really didnt do much .And im sure its not my service provider because i never had these problems with my older computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible repair services

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After trying to use the webcam for the first time, I notice that it didn't work at all. I called the place I bought it only to go through a whole day of standard trouble shooting with no results. At the end of the day I was told by hp that they would take care of it. I then sent my laptop up to hp and it was return within a few days. I turned it on hoping to test out my new webcam just to notice I had the same error as before. Nothing was changed and I wasted a huge amount of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product, great battery life

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been skeptical of the battery life claims of some of these computers, but so far, this one has exceeded my expectations. Great screen size, fast response. Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I customized this laptop to 8G ram and independent graphics card and mSATA acceleration.
As I open a lot of programs/web tabs for study, I needed at least 8G RAM. And the Geforce GT 635M graphics card and quadcore CPU ensures Skyrim runs on high quality, with the laptop overheating a little bit in the summer temperature now.
If I had more money I would really would buy SATA drive, but as it stands, this is the best choice I can get for around $850. The design of keyboard is nice. I also have the number pad which is handy. The laptop has finger print recognition, which works well for windows login but I don't use it for websites, as it does not work in Chrome that well. With beat audio, the sound of the laptop was impressive and loud enough even without an independent speaker. Could work well in a party by itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

hardware good, software OS getting junky

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thekey board has a problem of not advancingwhen you hitthe spsce keyand some other keys.. You really have to hit hard at times.Should haveit fixed I guess.
Other han that I got what I orderedand it seems to dook.
The above is how it looks without pounding the keys or editing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective Model

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy this model.it has some defect.I got same model two times from
Hp.com both had overheating issue and noise. Seems some engineering defect.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Computer - 4 weeks in

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I go this computer about 4 weeks ago now. It is way too early to say anything about how long this thing will hold up. However, I think it performs quite well. I bought this as a budget gaming computer and it can run a decent amount of games at around the highest graphics level.
It does have something weird where if what you are doing draws a lot of power (playing games) and you are also recharging the battery, it minimizes your game and a window comes up and says that you have to buy a more beefy charger. I usually have to take the battery out while I am doing this.
Windows 8 takes some getting used to but it isn't hard by any means to pick up. In fact, the computer mostly runs exactly like windows 7 with just a few added features.
The features are nice. The finish of the computer and the touchpad feel nice and the touchpad itself works well. It also has multi-touch capabilities so you can do some fancy swiping. The screen is wider and shorter than previous ~15" monitors I have had, but I think this is becoming more common. It does allow for a numpad on the keyboard which I like.
Overall I would recommend this computer. It is certainly good for the money.
Pros - Nice finish, good value for the money, numpad
Cons - Charging error (a hassle more than a limitation)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best choice out there, but not as good as it was

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had many HP computers over the years, both laptop and desktop, and it is still my first choice for "off the shelf" or semi-customizable computers. The products are still very high quality, but it is not what it used to be. The most recent HP laptop I purchased (now called "Envy" instead of "Pavilion") has a noisy fan, like something is rubbing or there is debris in the fan. I have been waiting for it to "go away." I have turned the computer upside down and sideways, but the noise is still there. I probably will have to take it apart. Also, the drawer on the BD/DVD player "droops" so that there is a 1/8" gap on the top and a 1/8" overhang on the bottom. Just not good fitment. I don't know if I can fix it by taking it apart and adjusting the screws.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast fast

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winston Salem NC
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with this laptop.
If you go with the upgraded memory, this thing will fly..
I highly recommend this laptop because of its performance and looks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast, reliable, and well-built laptop

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:FPO, AP, Japan
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't normally write product reviews, but I feel this laptop is definitely worthy of a few minutes of my time. I'll start of by saying: This thing is fast! I customized mine with the i7-3740QM CPU, the Nvidia Geforce 650M graphics, 16GB of RAM, and the 750GB Hybrid HHD. This thing feels snappier than even my desktop PC. The beautiful 1920x1080 screen is visible from almost any angle, and does not really distort the colors no matter which direction you're looking at it from. The keyboard is extremely comfortable and easy to type, and the touchpad is one of the smoothest and most responsive notebook touchpads i have ever had the pleasure of using. The lid and top of the keyboard are a beautiful black brushed aluminum, with the rest of the case constructed in a very solid plastic. This is a very well built laptop.
I use my laptop when i'm traveling mostly for internet/e-mail, high Megapixel photo editing with Lightroom, and some 3d gaming, and so far this laptop has performed superbly. I will say that it can't handle max settings on some of the games I play, but this is not a gaming laptop.
The only thing that annoyed me with this laptop, and the reason I took one star, is the cover piece to the CD tray was very loose and did not sit flush with the rest of the case. I could move it around very easily by just touching it. I did not plan on keeping the CD/DVD drive anyhow, and used a HDD caddy kit in place of it so i could add a second drive to my system. Most software can be installed nowadays from the internet, and I still have a portable CD/DVD burner that i used with my previous HP laptop.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great laptop at great price

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vero Beach, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The DV6T-7300 is a great all around laptop. With the solid state drive, boot up times are very fast and the power of the quad core makes it handle pretty much anything with a breeze. The Geforce 625M does pretty good with graphic intensive programs and games tweaked a little bit back from full hi-rez mode. If you want the high frame rate than go for the higher up Geforce option. The laptop feels lighter than what you expect from this size class due to its plastic ware around the sides and the bottom. The display is nice and big although the color image tend to tinge towards pink hues at least on mine unit. DVD writer is always great and I can get solid 4-5 hrs depending on my power settings. Overall I think this a great buy laptop who wants the bigger real estate keyboard and screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Laptop

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a good laptop, and I like the ability to configure the laptop before buying. I like the finger scanner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY dv6t-7300 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What I expected plus a little more

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Was looking for a laptop with the following features:
i7 processor
At least 6 hours of battery life on normal-high settings
8 gigs of ram or more, but at the minimum to be up-gradable to 16 gigs
Full keyboard
HD screen
This Envy dv6 laptop satisfies all my needs.
The Good:
Great battery life with the integrated graphics card and 9 cell battery upgrade. Battery life has a little more than 7-8 hour battery life on normal-high settings doing normal tasks (not gaming). trackpad is good having the 2 physical keys (left and right clicks) which are important for me. Keyboard layout is good has the numlock number keys on the right. Has the finger swipe which I actually use to unlock my laptop. Sound is good, camera is good, doesn't weigh too much. Aesthetically looks nice, feels nice and feels sturdy.
The Bad:
I thought this laptop should of been a little extra and came with a 1080p screen by default. Instead of bumping the price significantly to get the nice screen. You can't tilt the screen back very far, which is weird.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>