HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC

HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.464 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful and quiet

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Corvallis, Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm using this PC to do architectural renderings. Having a 6 core, overclocked, and quiet water-cooled machine that has worked flawlessly has been a real joy. My version of the machine has 16 GB of RAM and the 4930K CPU which I presently have clocked at 4 GHz. With all cores running at 100% the CPU temp is around 67 degrees C and the water-cooling fan noise is amazingly quiet. My HP dv7tqe makes significantly more noise when the fans turn on. I haven't stress tested the machine to see how much I could overclock - I was pretty sure 4 GHz would be fine since the turbo boost frequency for one core was set at 3.9 GHz
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice System

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wildomar, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC because I had a 7 or 8 year old dual core HP system that had never given me problems except compared to newer systems it was very slow.
Anyway, I purchased this new computer based on my past experience using HP products. I was not disappointed except that I believe it came with a virus. Not to worry because I installed Norton Internet Security and it took care of it post haste. I ordered my system with an Nvidia 770GTX that came with a DVI to VGA adaptor which would not play a Blu-Ray disc on the Blu-Ray Player that came with my system. I ordered a DVI to DVI cable and now working fine. This is a quad core system with 16 g of memory and is only a week or so old so it is working much faster than my dual core system. The case is very pleasing to look at with the red lights in front and on the clear window right side of the case. So far I am happy with it. I would highly recommend this system to anyone looking for a decent, fairly reasonably priced home desktop.
I purchased this system while it was on sale at HP.COM
Thanks HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blazing fast machine

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hopkinton, MA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spec'd this out with an upgraded processor (i7-4930 @ 3.4Ghz), graphics card, and did a ram upgrade to achieve 32GB after receipt. Worked flawlessly out of the box and this thing is blazing fast.. Unless you are looking for a workstation, at this price point, you'll be hard pressed to find more bang for the buck.
I haven't truly evaluated Windows 8.1 yet, so more to follow, but initial impressions are positive relative to prior experience back to Windows 98 (when I first started using) thru XP; found Windows 7 fairly good but lacking media integration so we'll see how 8.1 does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ok but...

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It appears that there is a known problem with the video adapters that are built in. The one that is on and in use has zero video memory which means for games it's useless. There is a better adapter installed but it doesn't appear to be able to be switched to. If you just use it for processing and/or developing it's a great machine. I develop games so that part is definitely a problem.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Oh, the noise!

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, let me start out by saying I am pleased with the performance of this computer. I got the SSD and the boot-up time is under 1 minute. I like the processing power and speed. I also like the outer design.
However, the noise this thing makes is terrible! The fan on the liquid cooling is quite loud. I thought this machine would be very quiet, but it's louder than all the other computers in the office with regular fans (maybe even louder than them all combined). It is also louder than my 4 year old HP laptop. I shipped it in for repairs, and it took about 2 weeks for repair. They said they replaced the fan, but it's still just as loud as ever. Ugh. The computer is less than a month old.
At least I own some noise cancelling headphones...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product.

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't get the "solid state drive" like I did. The 256GB drive is not large enough to hold the programs and updates you will get in several years. I have already used 1/3 of the drive in the past three weeks I had the drive. Stick to a hard drive!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Shelton Ct
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,very good features. Widows 8.1 works great.I can hear the fans running but not loud.
I ordered it with a solid state hard drive makes it start up very fast.I would recommend this computer it is fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kent, WA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this product to anyone, but it's cost is high as well as the terrible factor of having Windows 8.1 makes me drop the rating down from an excellent to a good. The fact that you can order the remote which is designed for Windows Media Center and it does not come with that makes me dislike it, but after purchasing it for $9.99 off of the Microsoft site, it is really cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and powerful!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Palmdale, CA.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very impressed and pleased with my purchase! This computer has everything I need and then some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice computer

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My previous computer was a 7 or 8-year-old HP, which still works fine, but was getting dated. Have always been happy with HP products (desktops, laptops, printers, you name it) and this computer keeps the string going - it's reasonably small for a desktop, quiet, very fast. I use the computer for both work (I am a software engineer who works primarily on server development) and gaming, this computer is great for both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very good Computer

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok, it is faster than my old HP Pavillion computer. I only decided to buy this machine because the older one was .... well, getting too old. I think HP would have done better to include better documentation .... yes, you can find it online, and I found myself looking for things on line within the very first hour after turning it on. Also, If there had been the option of Win 7, I would have gotten that OS vs Win 8.1. I'm still trying to decide on whether or not I like this. If you are a novice computer user, take a class or two first. Windows 8 is not for the casual or new computer user(my opinion). I would have also liked the option of not taking the various "trial" versions of the installed software. These just get in the way if you are moving software from an old machine to your new one. HP should also consider that if your customer is buying a top of the line computer, why be so "cheap" with the keyboard. It's a small blip on the customer satisfaction scale, but it is important - in my opinion. Oh and one final very small blip. If the web site indicates the computer purchased will ship in 3 weeks, but you ship it the following week, you might want to give a lot of "heads up" notice.
I do like this computer and I'm continuing my HP computer buying history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hazlehurst, Ga
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the most powerful pc i have ever used, I could not be happier with its performance boots up in 20 seconds or less with ssd. My old xp which I order from here as well was still running strong but was going to be obsolete in a couple months so i ordered the envy phoenix 810-170st with windows 8.1. I was a little nervous with windows 8 but now after a few days of playing with the new OS I am in love with the speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The computer is very fast and whisper quiet.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Joliet, Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This would have been a great product if you would have included the power cables for the two extra hard drive bays. I ordered the computer with only an upgrade to an ssd. I have my own extra hard drives. It came wired with the three data cables, why not the power cables?
The computer has only two power connections on the mother board so one power cable must have a splitter or a cable that has an extension for two hard drives and I haven't been able to find them. I would have sent the computer back, but I was offered a rebate, so I kept the computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Has good features

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blue Springs, Mo.
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, the computer is very good. Will wail till it is older and then tell you on its performance. I hope you stand by your 3 year premium service. The service on my last computer (4 yr contract) was extremely helpful at any hour of the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

customized this desktop to make better

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good price for performance. change the processor to hexacore in and add extra ram
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very good system with one problem

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milford, Cy
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love the system. It is generally fast and I am getting use to Windows 8.1 (from Vista).
The only annoyance is a substantial hesitation when entering certain websites, particularly those with animated sub-windows. They take long to load and the balance of the screen is frozen until they load. It can take 5 - 8 seconds or longer. For example, this survey screen is locked up for almost 10 seconds. I had no such issues on my ancient Vista system. Must be related to Windows 8.1 and IE 11.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very quick-nice recovery-very quiet-looks sharp

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ca
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
had trouble with w8.1 but have gotten used to it--is a lot faster and stable and I am very happy with it..lots of plugins
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unflappable

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this machine with the i7-4930K and the GTX 645 with 16GB memory. It is pretty much unflappable..no matter how much I throw at it, it doesn't seem to even flinch. I do blu-ray encoding, burning, and photoshopping and can do all at once without any noticeable dip in performance. Thanks to the liquid cooling I don't even get the noise of the fan revving into high gear when the system is under heavy load. I'm not much of a gamer but of the games I tried I was able to play with all the video settings maxed out, no problem.
The water cooling system seems to work great, even under the heaviest load the CPU only reaches about half of it's max temperature. What isn't mentioned in the sales info about the liquid cooling is that this is a sealed loop system, you don't need to refill or clean it periodically.
My only cons are the TV Tuner which I assumed would be internal but turned out to be an external USB stick and the remote control which doesn't seem to work at all. The dongle recognizes the remote (as it flashes when buttons are pressed) but the computer does not recognize the dongle. There are no drivers and no documentation for the remote so I have no idea how it is supposed to be set up, even googling it doesn't help, the only hit was the FCC filing, it's like I'm the first person to ever get this model (TSGH-2401).
It is a slight disappointment that the case lighting does not have an on/off switch. The lighting is hard-wired to the power supply, so it is minor electrical "surgery" to disable the lighting and/or install a custom toggle switch. My machine stays on 24/7 so the bright red lighting can be distracted when the room is darkened. The front USB/card reader is accessed by sliding down the front, which covers up some of the lighting so that's a bit of a plus in that department. Slightly annoying but not a deal breaker.
All in all I bought this machine for performance under heavy load and as much future-proofing as I could get at a reasonable price and it fits the bill nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best, by far, computer that I've ever owned

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Shreveport, LA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only is this computer lightning fast but it runs so quiet that I have to periodically check to see if it's still on. I've had the computer for about 2 weeks now and still find new features every day. To sum up my feelings about it in one word, that word would be incredible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-170st Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast , easily configurable desktop

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Laguna Niguel CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The second of two desktops ordered from HP. Many different configuration options with no delay on my order. Chose the SSD option and performance is SUPER FAST with Windows8. Case has plenty of room for additional drives and multiple USB ports available. The initial setup and start up was easy and pleased that there was only a limited amount of pre-loaded software.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.