HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC

HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
29 out of 30(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't find a way to clear my cache. Not sure yet about the tiles method. I miss the old start in the corner. Seems to have lots of power
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good system, but qaulity control could be better

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had an HP Pavilion PC for quite a few year, very solid machine, never had any problems. Now it's time to upgrade, and I got an HP Envy Phoenix. Unfortunately, the graphic card was dead when I turned the box on. HP support suggested to have an exchange, but the same model was discontinued, an Envy Phoenix 800-030qe was sent. The machine was great, super fast, very quiet, it's got everything I wanted. However, after I spent many hours installing/activating software, and transferring user data and emails, the machine started to reboot randomly (Windows event 41- loss of power). Again, an exchange was suggested, again, the 800-030qe model was discontinued. This time, HP is shipping me the 810-130qe, basically the same hardware except for the OS (Win8.1 instead of Win8.0).
My suggestions to HP: (1) HP needs a better quality control, two consecutive bad new machines was unusual, not the good HP quality used to be in my memory (2) Changing product models too frequently actually gives people an impression of instability.......
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast, quiet, efficient! Amazing CPU!

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boise, ID
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently purchased this rig for primarily gaming/multimedia/entertainment, and I must say, it does NOT disappoint! I own some pretty high end machines, not all HP, but this DT by HP is the best experience I have ever had. Not only the performance, but Zack, the agent who walked me through some of my tougher questions, was absolutely phenomenal. Upgraded to 16GB RAM, and the GTX660 (not sure if it's still available on the config) and could not be happier. Literal boot time of 2.2 secs w/o a SSD, amazing graphics performance, and the thing I did not realize that I would love the most, is the quietness of machine. Seriously, I can't even tell it is on, unless I look at it. Liquid cooling is legit as well. All in all, machine is everything I could ask for and more! Thanks HP for these type of quality products that keep me coming back!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Machine!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Goodrich MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the machine it is fast and efficient.
I do have a hard time with the Windows 8 on a desktop and cannot wait until 8.1 is released for download. I also as usual have some register errors with Windows. I thought maybe we were beyond this with 8.0?
The HP device was my device of choice and I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast with great sound!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bear, Delaware
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This HP Envy Phoenix with Beats audio is a joy to work with and listen to my music, with Beats Studio headphones. Gaming is excellent with absolutely no lag time. Internet and productivity software are very fun to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A really fast desktop

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sarasota, FL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My business requires a tremendous amount of data management, and this HP Envy delivers! With three HD screens and tons of memory, it is much faster than my old machine, and includes what appears to be liquid cooling of the motherboard. Coupled with FIOS high speed internet, this HP delivers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great in handling photo editing softwares

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lehigh Valley, PA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the SSD in primary HD; really fast in handling Adobe Photoshop v12 and Lightroom v5. The tower looks nice and with lots of USB drives. Ordering was easy; navigating the website and selecting features to upgrade was really easy. Shipping tracking info was a bonus. Have the CPU for 2 weeks now, no need customer service so far. Everything was up and running in 1 hour. I am a very happy HP client so far. My previous photo editing PC for last five years was a HP also.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Schaumburg Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I finally bought the computer that I have always wanted. It has everything. At first I was a little afraid of Windows 8 but after I played around with it I found that it is so much better than Widows 7. I can't get over how fast this computer is. I use it for my photo and video editing and gaming. I love this computer. 2 Thumbs Up for Me.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Performance Computer

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like everything about this computer. Although I'm still using my HP m9200t desktop in another area, I'm thoroughly impressed with my new HP Envy Phoenix 800-030qe desktop computer. Since I frequently work with HD video editing, I needed a more powerful computer to save time in the total process of editing and writing the finished product to HD format. I'm completely satisfied with the performance of this desktop computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Computer

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking to build my own powerful computer to replace my aging Mac Pro, when I realized that the custom built HP Envy Phoenix series is a great value. I was unable to price out the same parts for the cost of this powerful custom built machine. This computer truly is exceptional. As a video editor who worked in the Apple world for the past 15 years, the price difference was just too much to handle, this Envy has filled every need. Thanks to a great special HP was offering when I was shopping, I was able to easily make the switch.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great but a bit expensive

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I upgraded to a SSD and I selected the better graphics board but these two choices did not really achieve a huge performance increase over the standard config. Yes, the SSD is much faster but it is from Micron and the performance benchmarks are somewhat uneven.(maybe some driver tuning needed?)..the graphics board is ok...but marginal for a gamer. The CPU, ram memory etc is wonderful! 8.1 on the windows experience benchmark...but the graphics board is only 6.3 which holds the overall number back. My final cost of 3K was sort of high for a fast but not gamer class desktop. Quality of the product overall was great...keyboard and mouse are poor, however!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fan issues!!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this brand new and as soon as I turned it on, I noticed the loud system fan. I called tech support and there was nothing they can do. They said the fan was defective. They are going to exchange the product with the exact same model. If I get the new HP and have the same issue, I will be returning that one as well. There are plenty of blogs and post in regards to fan issues with this product. Very poor quality control.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super Fast

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this unit with the 640 graphics card, (1) 8 GB Ram and solid state hard drive. Performance is awesome, boots in seconds and is faster than I have ever experienced. 4th generation chip does all they say...I didn't give it 5 stars as upgrades are a bit limited, and the information provided does not clarify some things. Firstly, you get the 640 (OEM) graphics card and not the 640 as indicated (suggest links be provided to the exact components for each option). Secondly, PCI slots are limited so expanding for whatever reason later will need some planning. Tried to install my old hard drive as a slave, but there is no second data cable included and no power plug for the older IEEE drive. Will have to but these on my own, but for the price and the wait there should be some thought put into this. Suggest you do your research as to exactly what you get with the options selected, and chat, email or call to confirm before you buy. Pleased with performance, but a little disappointed at the lack of information and not so upgrade friendly design approach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My fastest computer...

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Verbank, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had several quad cores with SSD's, reasonable graphics and sound cards, but this one is better than the ordinary fast computer...I paid enough for it...it should be...It's good to be the king, for now...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb product

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I opted to have 16 gb of ram and the 2 gb nvidia geforce graphics card and I have absolutely no complaints. The system is very quiet and it stays cool even after a full days use of intensive programs running at the same time. Processor handles everything very well and have not experienced any lag or anything of the sorts. I was a little worried about Windows 8 but it has not proved to be a big issue. I am still getting used to it, but I do not think it is entirely that different than 7 other than the start menu which is pretty easy to figure out and get use to. Would recommend this system to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Computer is great, mouse and keyboard are cheap

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mayer, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
The Computer is great. Except for being loaded with windows 8 which is a Microsoft abortion.
The wireless keyboard and mouse(HP branded) are cheap and uncomfortable. The same amount of money, a Logitech MK320 set could be had which is very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this comp

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Norwalk, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
This comp is everything I wanted and needed. I am a avid mmorpg gamer this comp runs all my games smooth running World of Warcraft on ultra settings at 96fps in enviroment and 69 fps in 25 man raids. Absolutely love it and it is silent as a field mouse with the liquid cooling. No problems multitasking either running quite a few mods, ventrillo, websurfing. and gaming at the same time has no problem keeping up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A step up in computing

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cheyenne, WY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not a pro or a newbie, worked with computers since 1983 (and pre-PC in the military). Most recently, a very good Dell Studio XPS lasted nearly 4 years (XP to 7), still going strong, but upgrade to Win7 Ultimate left it with a long boot time of up to 1 minute (CS6, other big apps). Bought an HP dv6t with Win8Pro, and liked the hardware (Win8 UI is still not a big selling point), FAST boot (7 seconds on an i7-3740 with 16 Gb 1600 RAM and 32 Gb SSD cache in RAID 0), and once I figured out some of Win8, like the laptop. The Dell was getting long in the tooth, so when I found a good price on the HP ENVY 800 series, did my research, and decided it was a good value. Not a power user or email-only, so needed a good, middle-of-the-road, moderate power unit. For the price, the ENVY 800-030qe met my needs in both hardware upgrade and cost. Wasn't too hip on Win8 again, but since it has system advantages (it's the UI that's the issue!), decided to do it. Boy, was I surprised. Laptop's SSD cache makes it boot fast and run quick. 800 has no SSD and still boots in between 7 and 10 seconds. The 800's i7-4770 "sings" with anything, and the 4 Gb NVidia Geforce GT 640 give the unit some oomph. Movies come up faster, big apps load faster and run better. Runs cooler (I got the 600w power supply). USB 3.0 is up to 4 times faster data transfer and still plays legacy USB 2.0 hardware. Came with 8 Gb of good 1600 RAM, upgraded to 16 Gb, runs like a champ. Photos and video load quickly. ISP gives me (up to) 32 Mbps download (for an extra price), and the 800 "flies" accurately and positively. 3-year-old HP w2408h HD 24" monitor still ran perfectly, but I replaced it too with an HP Pavillion 27xi 27" full HD, and is quite excellent (High-Speed HDMI cable). For a top mid-range system, this is hog heaven. Not a high-end gamer, nevertheless games I do play run without a problem. Other than the UI issues with Windows 8 (hopefully the anticipated debut of Win8.1 this Fall will fix that), I give this 5 stars because it is truly an excellent system. I don't even mind the red LED lighting (Cylons beware!), and don't miss the higher-level liquid cooling option (that and because it doesn't wash dishes is why features only got a 4 of 5 stars, chuckle). Yes, a very good system at a reasonable price for us mid-range folks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Holy moly what a beast!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this HP 800-030qe Phoenix desktop with 12GB of RAM, 256GB SSD (with a 1TB secondary drive), GTX 660, and of course the new fourth gen i7 4770. The solid state drive (SSD) really does make a huge difference, emphasis on HUGE. (note: you actually are left with about ~190GB of SSD storage due to Windows 8 and a partitioned recovery drive) Since Windows 8 is on that 256GB SSD, the computer boots up in 4 seconds or less, sometimes immediately (there's been 4 instances where it would boot up immediately, all i had to do was type in my password; I've only had it for 2 days) I put all my pictures and music on my 1 terabyte secondary drive. I've never owned a desktop this powerful; it just blows my mind every time I turn it on.
12GB of RAM is more than enough for me, I can play a game (Battlefield 3 which uses 4gb of RAM), listen to music on iTunes (which uses half a GB), browse the internet, view my pictures, watch videos all at the same time and I will still have juice left! Speaking of gaming, the GTX 660 graphics card was good enough to run Battlefield 3 on maximum settings. Intel's new 4770 i7 processor is one heck of a beast. I haven't tried editing videos with Adobe Premiere Elements 11 (which comes with this desktop), but I know the processor will just blow right through editing as if it was nothing.
The liquid cooling in this desktop really does help keep the processor very cool and also keeps the whole desktop very quiet. I seriously recommend this product to anybody who is reading this. A lot of people like building their own computers, but if you're not a do it yourself kind of person, and you want a high performance/gaming/video editing/pretty much anything desktop, buy this right now. You won't regret it. HP offers great value compared to other brands like Dell, Samsung, Asus, Toshba, etc., which in my experience and observations will charge you more for the same thing. So if you're wondering, HP does not sacrifice QUALITY and PERFORMANCE, I can guarantee that.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY Phoenix 810-130qe Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I'm happy with it

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rhode Island
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I opted for 12GB of RAM, 3GB Nvidia, & the 256GB SSD. It boots up in 4 seconds. Plenty of room for expansion. Completely happy so far. As far as Windows 8 is concerned, it was not too hard to figure out, although I could see how the novice user could get confused.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.