HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7

hp HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7

HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
93 out of 108(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Review 1 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unsteady out of the box

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had trouble with the Envy almost immediately. Long story short, would not reboot after a shutdown/power off. Endless loop of repairs and restores to earlier state. Tech support was great, said to send it back and they would replace it. And they did. Second unit had same problem. Everything was fine unless you shut it down. It would restart perfectly, just could not come back from shutdown. Tech support was great. We restored from D Recovery Partition. Same problem. They sent me factory recovery disks and I re-installed again. So far, everything seems to be working. My last several computers have been Compaq/HP and I have been extremely satisfied. This last experience was pretty agonizing. Tech support was great all the way through, but the factory software installation on two machines was clearly botched.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Machine

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I couldn't ask for more, great machine, very fast system, now I download all my music and my photos, my computer worked like lightning, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz [2 DMMs] 3TB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive. Anyone who bought this Desktop would Love. I Guaranty it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Exhausted

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Woodbine Ga
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From the moment I turned this on, it became infected with a virus. What was going on with the free 30 day virus protection. I had to call my internet provider tech service to get the virus removed before I could use the computer. I had wasted several hours before I called them trying to figure out what was wrong with a brand new product. I am scared of what is going to happen next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Desktop

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NE Kansas
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With a higher end video card selected, this is a very nice gaming and work system. The only problem I've encountered is playing 'legacy' games that don't react well to the quad core processor (and that certainly isn't the computer's fault!).Looking forward to testing this configuration with more demanding software than my (very) old system could handle in the months ahead. Very nice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great fast computer

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Galveston tx
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
but I would like to put my own deep scratches instead of the one that came from the factory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was totally happy with XP but decided once support by Windows stopped, I needed to upgrade my 2005 HP pavilion. Don't particularly care for Windows 8 so when HP offered this HP Envy with Windows 7 on sale, it was what I wanted. I have only had it for 10 days but so far, am very pleased with it. It is much faster and set-up was a snap, although written instructions, rather than a pictorial of the set-up, would be helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Core i7? Why is my dual core ten times as fast?

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Encinitas, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Lightning quick speed"?
Well, I must have gotten the 'turtle in the race here", this new computer is much slower than my HP Pavilion from 2007. "Blazing Fast"? Loading web pages takes about 15 seconds, if that's "fast", then HP needs to rethink it's "advert line" as this is NOT living up to my expectations.......At ALL.............
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Malware Probems

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Until I bought computers from HP directly, I never had virus or malware problems. Now I have a problem every day. I requested that MacAfee anti-virus be deleted prior to delivery, but was informed I have to take it. I don't know why these problems persist, but MacAfee did not find any problems while the malware infected my system. I removed it and replaced it with another program, which has been finding malware every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Windows 7 deal out right now.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boise, ID
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You simply can't find a better Windows 7 system bundle from any other name-brand manufacturer right now. Dell, Acer, Lenovo -- none of them come close to the bang for the buck you get with this system. Sleek case design, very easy to swap out internal DVD drives and hard disks. Supports the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750Ti video card, which is the fastest available that works with with its 300-watt power-supply. Best of all: runs very quiet, even at full load.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i7 is great.

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:indiana
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
its fast all around.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A nice looking product. Has good features and specs. Works well with the i-7 processor. Runs relatively smoothly and fast. Comes with WINDOWS 7 which is the biggest selling point for this computer. I have purchased a few of these for clients and they are very happy and satisfied with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and very fast

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only reason I gave 4 bars for features is because of the USB and plug ports on the top of the machine, they face to the rear of the machine (don't know of anybody who sets their cpu backwards) and they are unprotected (no cover). Other than that it is very fast. Being WIN 7 it took a while for all of the updates to download. I definitely recommend this machine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy set up with a quickness

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I enjoy my new computer. It's as good as my other one. I was very apprehensive about getting one at first but am very glad I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product and easy to assemble

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I had help in assembling the computer, but everything was delivered as promised and we were able to assemble rather quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy to u se. Love Windows7>

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chesterfield, Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought two of these machines and both had a minor problem with the setup. The screen would go off after 2 minutes and the computer would go to sleep. HP techs took about 5 minutes to solve and fix the problem. HP has been great with their support and even followup phone calls to insure the problem was solved. Both machines are great except the keyboards are a little skimpy with the keys too close to each other and a bit small. Have too many double strikes. Thanks HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Expensive Piece of Junk

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pueblo, Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Computer will not start up without turning it on and off several times, then has to go through the start-up repair each time. The Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter has to be continually repaired, as it has a missing driver (error code 10) that windows 7 cannot update because Microsoft no longer supports the Windows 7 Operating System, which the HP Store fails to mention on its site.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unreal

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Stuarts Draft, VA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A unit that does everything like we WISH it would. Nothing negative about it and the positive could go on and on. You've got to see it to believe it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Computer

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase. Runs fast, quite, easy setup, completely compatible with all of the software I installed. Has both USB 2 and 3 ports. Easy access to all features. Windows 7 requires no new learning curve and I've had no compatibility issues. Very satisfied with computer. I'd recommend getting a wireless keyboard which comes with a mouse. HP service and delivery excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very good for most but not so for me

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Murrells Inlet, SC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HP gave great support, and I would recommend HP highly. I am also very pleased with the monitor. I thought my old monitor was excellent, but this 23-inch, back-lit monitor is much better.
I miss not having USB ports on the front for easier access. I am very unhappy that I can not use my HP 5470c Scanner, nor is there a driver to make it compatible. However, most of my discontents are concerned with software, For example, I am unable to format RW CD's. This is a 64-bit computer, and some of my programs seem to be incompatible. I shall keep this computer, but it is more sophisticated than I need for my mundane tasks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love Computer - Can't find the sound!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The setup of my new computer was relatively easy. I am getting used to Windows 7 after leaving Windows XP behind (boo-hoo). Very frustrated that I cannot get sound on the computer without adding some little speakers. The i7 is very fast making it nice to start up and do my business. Hopefully, I will find out about the speaker when I can call a customer service representative. Other than I that, I am very satisfied with my HP Envy 700-215xt Desktop PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.