HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7

hp HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7

HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(149 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 149 reviews
5 Stars
101
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
12
127 out of 149(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Review 1 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work on boot up

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Operating system was not installed properly. Package does not include recovery disks. Ended up buying and installing a new copy of Windows 7 pro to get the operating system working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

gave it 4 stars too soon to tell

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
have not had this PC long enough to really tell, but wings on it and might fly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

set up issues

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Queens, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The instructions with the machine are lousy and cryptic. There is no picture of the PC explaining/showing buttons and ports. Monitor port is very inconveniently located. Computer arrived with minimum default resolution so it required a support call to fix the overstretched screen. Another call was necessary when discovered that brand new video card did not have all the .dll files downloaded. Some items are not easy to find on the support site - like for example how to default on land line instead of Wi-Fi. Overall, the HP support is the most redeeming feature of the whole HP experience. They are good, fast and very helpful. I wish I did not need them as often as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This unit is not as represented

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Honolulu, HI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This unit comes in a large case, which was a negative that I was prepared to live with because it supposedly had expansion capacity in the form of a bay that would accommodate three hard drives. This was important to me because I saw adding two well-functioning internal hard drives from another Windows 7 computer whose motherboard was failing as an easy way to upload my data. When I opened the case, there was only a connection for one additional hard drive. There was, however, a splitter so that you could convert that one additional connection to two. The HP site had directions on how to replace a hard drive, but not how to add one or two, Those directions were not accurate about removing the hard disk cage and screwing in the new drives, but that was the least of the problems.
When I plugged in the SATA cable and the power cables for the additional hard drives, the machine would not boot. Unplugging one of the two additional drives also left it unbootable.
HP tech support spent a lot of time with me, but it did not help. One tech suggested I disable secure boot in the BIOS, even though the BIOS tells you not to do that unless your OS is Windows 8 (mine was Win 7 home premium). It was no surprise that this suggestion worked out poorly. Another tech suggested (without reading the case notes already made) that the problem was that the additional hard drive had its own operating system and that this was confusing the computer. I pointed out that the additional hard drive did NOT have any operating system, and that the BIOS was already pointed to the built-in drive as the boot disk. A third tech began by asking me for the serial number of the computer, which I refused to simply until she read the case notes from the prior 2 techs (which contained that info). She claimed she hadn't read them because her computer was slow (was hers an HP computer?)
No thanks to HP's tech support, I finally diagnosed the problem when I experimented attaching the additional drive's power socket to an external power source, rather than the one from the computer's power supply. Bingo, the computer booted, saw the second drive and worked just right. In other words, either the standard power supply unit is inadequate to power more than 1 drive along with the included graphics card, or the psu that I got was flaky.I note that, when I ordered the computer and the graphics card from HP's website, there was no option to upgrade the psu.
HP offered to send me another psu of the same capacity, but couldn't locate a more powerful psu, even though I was willing to pay for the cost of the upgrade. HP wouldn't agree to pick up the cost of a better PSU from another vendor. They did, however, offer to send me a $50 credit for my inconvenience.
The psu and its wiring were apparently made by the lowest bidder. This computer may be fine if you don't upgrade it with anything that uses more power than its standard configuration. If that is so, I think it's wrong for HP to tout its expansion capabilities or give you a bay and case big enough for 3 hard drives. Heaven help you if you need tech support and have to deal with more than 1 tech. And if the tech tells you to do something that the machine warns you against, trust the machine.
My machine works well with the drive it came with and no others. I must forget about expandability.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great right out of the box

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
I bought the 25 inch HP monitor along with the above computer. I upgraded most choices given.
max RAM , better processor, ect. I did stay with Windows 7 as this is compatible with my computers at work. My new HP is replacing my HP pavilion desktop with Vista which is 9 years old.
So far, I'm happy with the performance right out of the box. works exactly as expected. rapid start up , web surfing, downloading, steaming video all working as expected.
The 25 in screen has excellent resolution. Happy with the purchase so far.
Computer and screen arrived on time and in good condition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great PC

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Owasso, OK
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pc is very powerful. I use it for video edition and production as well as music composition and audio recording and edition. This pc gives me all the power I need without a single problem, it is fast, reliable and has a ton of storage room. All the usb and media card ports are very conveniently located everywhere so if you need a lot of usb ports, this pc has enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ALMOST a great machine

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Orleans, LA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Everythig works fine except for BEATS AUDIO! I HATE IT!! You can't turn the freakin' thing off! I'm going to junk the board and drop in an old one from a HP I had 10 years ago that works fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very satisfied

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin Pa.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product. great all the way around. Love it also like the company
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fastest Computer I have ever purchased!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Harrisville, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow, where do I begin! I was searching for a new computer from HP for some time, just could not find one to suit. The HP Envy 700 - 215xt was perfect to start, with some additions to speed it up.
I added the Intel core I7-4790 processor, 16GB mSATA SSD cache and the 4GB Nvidia GeForce GT640 graphics card, these items did the trick, especially the SSD on start up, up and running in about 45 seconds. the graphics card allows faster game play on a couple of games I have loaded, what a difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:vt
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an average user with 18 plus years on computers. I have had my new computer for about a month. The speed is excellent and the quietness is unbelievable. The only problem I have had so far is that the front panel sliding dust door vibrates and makes a vibrating buzzing sound; similar to hair clippers. As my tower is right near me on my desk, this can be quite a pain. I believe it is because the door does not go all the way up and stay there. When I put the door up it slides back down about a 1/16 to 1/8 inch. The door, I think, is a little too heavy for just a door on a track design, so it slips a little. It needs a locking system to keep it up in place better. I can only imagine after time and use it may get worse. It does not buzz all the time but it will start sooner or later. I also do not have any idea what may start the vibration. When it does start vibrating it will not stop unless you hold the door all the way up or put it completely down. Holding the door up with one hand and typing etc does not work to well (tried tape it didn't work). I now open the door all the way to the bottom & leaving it open when it begins to vibrate, the vibration will stop. The point is that I should not have to do that on a nearly a grand computer and the dust door is useless if I have to leave it open. I do not know if anyone else has had this problem or if I am the only one that has a gremlin with a vibrator in my computer. I will say that other than the gremlin, the quietness of this computer will make you believe your tower is in another room.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

undecided

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Sorry to say I have had nothing but problems, it freezes up and crashes. I have had to obtain technical support. Not sure yet if I will return the PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good compromise

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Roswell, NM
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm replacing a 3.5-year-old Hp Pavillion and this Envy is only marginally better in terms of performance. I was a little disappointed there were no options for an SSD at all, or larger PSU, or better video card (the next model up offers a GTX 765 I think, but the price was exorbitant). That said the overall package seems fairly well built (QC or assembly either didn't test the video card or didn't use the HDMI like was sent with mine because I had to reseat the video card just to get a signal on initial boot), and performance is decent. Hopefully this unit will be reliable and serve us until Windows 9 comes out and stabilizes in a year or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too early to tell, have had problems

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I eagerly anticipated this new tower. The helpful sales people at HP touted it as one of the top units due to the processor and such. After set up, it locked up.I had to restart multiple times the first couple of days. This was very frustrating . With further use, it appears windows updates alleviated some but not all of the lock up problems. Still too early to tell how I feel about this machine. So far, I am disappointed. But things are looking up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Eugene, OR
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a student or a home multimedia this has all the features one needs.
It's pretty expandable and the price is right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Computer! Love it!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Order came on time in perfect working order. No problems, everything works as it should. Super fast machine!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first desktop computer. For the last 20 or so years I have had all laptops or notebooks (all HP) and have found every product to be reliable and user friendly. My new Envy's performance far exceeded my expectations and I believe I made a good choice purchasing yet another great HP product. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Computer

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I brought this computer two weeks ago, it is very easy to put together, the performance is good (I get confuse with my video card, called support center for several times, but some how computer itself figured out...). I use the computer for gaming and studying. So far it operates well, and I do like Windows 7 operating system, hate W8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, quick set-up. Running fine.

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Western US
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Set up was very simple; took less than an hour. Computer is running flawlessly as far as I can tell. This is my second HP. I went with HP because I have an HP printer and scanner and wanted to simplify managing all this hardware (driver updates, etc.) as much as possible. I wish Windows 7 installation disks were included so I can do a clean re-install if my ever hard disk crashes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. Great Price.

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always been happy with HP and continue to be that way. I liked how easy it was to choose the options I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 700-215xt Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Machine

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orbisonia Pa.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Very easy to set up. Up and running in less than 30 minutes by following the easy prompts. That is important to an older person like me (68). Very quiet, and fast. I also got the wireless key board and mouse, love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 to next page>>