HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice Laptop

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop has a very nice feature set and the i5 processor is speedy. I particularly like the backlit keyboard. The display is bright and clear. It's a bit large and heavy, so it's not really what I would consider a good choice for a road warrior.
A number of reviewers are not happy with Windows 8. I don't like it either, but I've installed Start8, and that makes all the difference in the world. Properly configured with Start8, the computer looks and feels pretty much like Windows 7. It gives you the Start Menu
again, and allows you to work on the familiar Windows Desktop 100% of the time (you don't have to deal with the confusing Windows 8 Metro interface).
I wish it were possible to get a keyboard without the 10-key numeric keypad, but it's not that big of a deal, really. I was somewhat concerned about the touchpad on this laptop. There's no discrete left and right "mouse" buttons. Instead, the touchpad actually physically depresses into the body of the laptop deck at the lower left and lower right corners of the touchpad. It works really well once you get the hang of it.
Be advised that the display has a glossy finish. Some people will like it and others won't. It's all a matter of personal taste. It's fine with me. However, if you're planning on using the laptop outdoors a lot, you might find it difficult to see the display due to all the reflections.
Also, be advised that this computer comes with no Microsoft Office Starter available. If you want the ability to open Microsoft Office documents, you can click on "Microsoft Office 2013" in the Start Menu and sign up for an Office 365 Home 30-day trial subscription free of charge (no credit card required). It includes Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, Outlook, Publisher, and Access. You can install this suite on 5 devices. You'll have a fully-functional Office suite for the 30-day trial. At the end of 30 days, you can either pay for the subscription or let it expire. You can leave the software on your computer once it expires, however, which will give you the ability to still use it to open and read Office documents. This is from the Microsoft's website: "Once your Office 365 subscription expires, the Office software applications enter read-only reduced functionality mode, which means that you can view or print documents, but you will not be able to create new documents or edit existing documents."
I've opted not to pay for the subscription, so I've installed a free open source office suite, LibreOffice, to give me the ability to create Office documents that are mostly compatible with the Microsoft Office programs.
All in all, I'm very pleased with this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far pretty good

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this hp for GPU computing therefore I upgraded to GTX card with 4GB device memory. I have been doing non-stop number crunching for 2-3 days on gpu card. i didnt see any performance drop due to heating. I think its for best if I buy a cooling pad that can sit underneath the laptop atleast during gpu computing. boot-up is fast and performance is smooth. i am running avast anti virus and use firefox browser for safety.
I haven't played any game or done any high performance 3D video editing on this laptop.
battery lasts for 4-6 hrs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great replacement for old laptop

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Port Richey, FL
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really love the HP Envy 15. I am just getting familiar with Windows 8.1 and I am enjoying it. I thought I'd miss the start button, but I learned very quickly how to navigate without it. The laptop has a great design, speedy processor and is lightweight. The Beats Audio is wonderful and such an improvement from my last computer. I am very satisfied with my purchase and I highly recommend this computer to anyone that wants to update from their old operating system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All around excellent computer except for windows 8

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this computer and overall the backlit is a must along with the biometric finger print scanner. It makes logging in a breeze even on a domain setup. Intel graphics and processor perform above standards, battery life is good along with the aluminum body. The only downfall is Windows 8. Can not stand it I would even pay to have Windows 7 on it but the BIOS does not support. But on the flip side this computer has fast boot and secure boot so it boots up in 10 to 15 seconds every time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition Notebook PC

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rockaway, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product has all the features that I wanted and works very well. Set up was very easy. Other than an external DVD/CD drive that did not work, I have nothing bad to say about the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Touch pad stiff and unresponsive

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall features and performance has been acceptable; however touch pad makes use difficult. The touch pad is stiff and unresponsive. Clicking and double clicking is difficult (would prefer buttons). Backspace key is too small.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thumbs up to H.P.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Savannah Georgia
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The out of box experience was good. I anticipated it 2 days earlier, however; an Act of God prevented the computer arriving on its scheduled E.T.A. Windows 8 is confusing to those that are used to earlier versions. I'm having a good time personalizing my new H.P. Envy Select, that has a few customizations. The touch pad works well and contrary to other reviews, the very smooth touch pad also clicks on the left and right bottom corners. The processor runs well at multitasking and conservation of battery power. I truly am satisfied with this machine. The sound system performed well. Much better than the computer I upgraded from, and better than an H.P. with DTS. I truly recommend the H.P. Envy. In fact I already recommended the H.P. site to a co-worker. H.P. is truly the Cadillac of PC's.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprisingly heavy but still Ok

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cambridge, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second 15.6 hp quad-core laptop. They weigh the same even though my first one has a Blu-ray player. I cannot explain why this laptop weighs as much as it does. In addition, you cannot install Windows 7 on it: at the very end of the install, you get a fatal hardware error. But with 8.1 and classic start, it's pretty much what I want. I replaced the sloooow HD with an ssd for the operating system and then added an msata card for data, and it is MUCH improved. Note that there is a model with the same skew (Envy 15t-j100 quad) that comes with Windows 7 but the hardware is different and the Windows 7 version is almost a pound lighter. But if you want a full HD screen (highly recommended), you must get this model and live with Windows 8.1. Still, not a bad choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Had problems with production

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chino, CA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HP notified me that there would be a delay in shipping due to a production problem. Shipping was pushed back which was disappointing. Product works well as it should. Right now i'm running 5 tabs on full battery with my back light feature on full charge with 6hrs of battery life left to go. Not bad. Still breaking in the computer. Screen was a bit larger than expected but the video is great. Overall I am pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Amazing, but 2 hours of battery and an ok fan

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Annadnale, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The laptop only has 2 hours of battery. The fan is also not the quietest. Other than those two things, it's amazing. Nothing lags and I can play anything on the best settings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Elegant, but with some flaws

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This computer is a nice size for a notebook PC, and is generally an elegant package. Performance seems mainstream and is fine for my purposes; I'm not much into video games. The keyboard feel is very disappointing: I'd really like a longer key throw and more tactile feedback. The out-of-box experience was very frustrating: Windows 8.1 isn't especially friendly to people who are quite proficient at earlier Windows versions, and the demonstration links on the Windows desktop remind me of airline entertainment systems: since we have you as a captive audience, insert your credit card here, because we want to sell you more. If you buy a backlit keyboard (worth the $30), the F5 key turns it on: it would have been nice if the instructions told me that.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Average at Best

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The computer performs okay, except for having windows 8.1 (everything about Windows 8 is touchy). As far as the computer goes, the screen is awkward cause it doesn't fold back far enough. Also, the track pad is easily the worst I've ever encountered, and that's my biggest complaint (which I think is significant). Other than that, computer is average.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
The hardware doesn't support the software. Windows 8 is for touchscreen, which the product doesn't have.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Queens, New York
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this H.P. Laptop for my son (Age 12) to use for his schoolwork and occasional gaming.
It has worked out perfectly. The quality, performance and style are all excellent. When I received the Laptop, it was easy to set up. Although I was hesitant about my son adapting to Windows 8 , he has no problems with the computer. Thanks H.P.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Product

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Utah, United States
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used an HP DV6 for 4 years. It was getting worn out, so I looked to HP again. I liked the ability to choose RAM and CPU, Hybrid drive, etc.... I have had good luck with HP products. I like this ENVY 15T-J100. The overall feel is solid. Well build machines. The keyboard is great. I have big hands and it's a joy to type on. I also like the touchpad (compared to other manufacturers) I don't know who likes rough touchpads. I like them smooth. The ones HP uses are much better. The screen is good enough. The sound is NOT what I had hoped but is acceptable. The I5 CPU is PLENTY of power for 95% of people. I watch HD movies, flash video, also do video and photo editing. The I5 does fine. I wish it had a DVD drive, but not big deal. USB works. 4 USB 3.0 ports is great. One charges even if sleeping. No problems to report after using for 3 weeks. I hope this one lasts 4 more years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great computer - with a problem

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Annapolis, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Envy 15-j100 is a terrific computer that I wholly recommend. Mine came with a glitch: Windows wouldn't activate and the computer ships with the activation code embedded (hidden) in the motherboard, not revealed in writing on the bottom panel as had been done in the past. As a result, I was forced to purchase a non-OEM Windows 8.1 activation code from Microsoft to get up and running - an issue I'm actively disputing with HP. That aside, the computer itself is wonderful - fast. Love the lighted keyboard. Love the high def display. Love the 4 USB3 ports and HDMI. Love the fast start up (< 30 seconds). Love the fingerprint reader. Love the beats audio. The SD card slot is terrific (I've added a 128 GB class 10 SDXC card for backup that's super convenient). HP makes a great computer (if only they would work out their issues with Microsoft so their customers don't have to suffer).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll let others fill in the fluff. This laptop is capable of great performance, running any modern applications without a hitch, however the build quality is disappointing.
Not sure if it's aluminum or plastic. HP Reps said its aluminum on both the lid and chassis, but it might as well be aluminum foil. My last HP was aluminum construction and it SHOWED. The weight wasnt much different but you could definitely tell it was metal. Pretty sure this is all plastic.
The lid/screen is a joke. You can literally bend it using only one finger (and I mean a lot, not just a little. At least a half inch of flex). Any sort of pressure on the back of the lid produces lcd ripples on the front. In short, this laptop wont last 5 minutes around kids or 3 months in a travel environment.
The keyboard is nice, good travel between keys with a soft feel. But nice doesn't mean good. There is a lot of keyboard flex above the "QWERT / ASDFG / ZXCVB" keys and the right "KL;',./" keys. The bouncy nature of the flex is distracting and would be ignorable if the keys werent also distorted, causing fingers to catch on the edges of unintended keys.
Some basic results:
Core i7 4702 processor
16GB Ram
nVidia 750m with 4GB RAM
15" screen @ 1920x1080
Battery Life:
30-45 minutes
- gaming
3 hours, 45 minutes
- screen on max, browsing only, balanced power mode (with tweaks).
4 hours 15 minutes
- Screen @ 60%, basic browsing, power saver mode
5-6 Hours with minimal open apps / no open apps, but unless you want an expensive brick, this is moot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 15t-j100 Select Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good everyday chip/questionable durabiliy

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As an early Christmas gift, this laptop was gifted to my wife with the following configuration:
- 4th generation Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor with HD graphics
- 8Gb DDR3 (unclear whether this is with 2 dimms or 1)
- 15.6-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1366x768)
- 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
Please keep in mind that other configurations are possible for this line, and that the review is only based on this particular configuration.
Build Quality:
As expected, ENVY-line laptops look very sleek, and this laptop is no exception. Sharp lines, thin profile, and a lot of metallic type surfaces make this laptop not only look good but also feel sturdy. There is one exception to the build: The hinge seems rather flimsy, and its long-term durability seems questionable. As a side note, I currently own an HP ENVY 6 laptop whose right hinge broke after just one year. The hinge that connects the keyboard to the monitor is a known weak point in the ENVY 6 with known cases of breakage after just 6-7 months in those models. The reason why I mention this as a cautionary note is that the hinge on the ENVY 6 and this ENVY laptop look very similar. The build of this laptop in general is 4 stars but due to concerns of the hinge on this laptop (which only gets 1 stars in my book), this averages out to 2.5 stars.
Monitor:
This laptop came with the 15.6-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1366x768). All I can say is that the monitor performs the task adequately. It would have been nice to get higher resolution display in 2013, but this was a gift we are grateful for. For other people considering buying this laptop, a higher resolution is recommended. I cannot say anything about the higher resolution screen but the 1366*768 screen seems to have acceptable viewing angles though it should be noted that the colors start washing out as soon as the angle exceeds roughly 45 degrees. The 1366*768 version of the monitor receives slightly below average ratings. Other companies provide screens of higher quality, with better viewing angles and optionally higher resolutions. 2 stars.
Daily Performance:
My wife loves the snappy performance of the laptop once it is running. The 4th generation i7 mobile chips are not only quite snappy but more importantly run very cool and quite, and have amazing battery life when used off and on throughout the day. Usage scenarios include simple word processing, excel, web surfing and streaming videos. The ENVY laptop also has really good multi-tasking capabilities: I was able to install Windows Updates, do a virus scan, play music in the background, and surf the internet with Youtube videos all at the same time without a hitch. AND the computer still quite and cool. This feature earns 5 stars.
Gaming:
I always put on different types of games to see how well the computer can handle games without going into all the details. The picture is quite interesting:
Games like Civilization V run really smoothly and fast. Last generation shooters and other action games seem to run well on medium/low-medium as well, but for this and next generation games (BF4), even though this laptop has an i7 chip (albeit the mobile version), frame rates are barely tolerable (below 30 fps) even on medium/low. This suggests that Intel HD Graphics are not capable of handling demanding 3D gaming titles. Again, if I were to pick and choose the laptop, I would probably pair this laptop up with a dedicated graphics card from NVIDIA. But for gaming, THIS particular configuration was barely adequate for gaming modern 3D games. 2 Stars.
Hard Drive:
This hard drive is very spacious. After installing all the programs my wife needed, and my games, there were still more than 600 Gb left! This is a big plus in this laptop series (5 stars).
However, the loading of Windows seems a bit slow but due to the slow HDD (3 stars) or the usual bloatware that comes with HP computers. A better option might be to opt for SSD drives or hybrid drives. Overall rating: 4 Stars.
Battery life:
This battery lasted all day long (a good 8-9 hours) with relative light off-and-on use. This earns 5 stars.
Price:
I can't say anything about this category as this was a gift.
Summary:
A competent CPU coupled with a huge hard-drive make for a very productive mobile system when it comes to non-gaming applications. This configuration is not gaming ready but it can be with a dedicated graphics card. The hinge is still built on apparently the same flimsy construction of previous ENVY series laptops which just broke despite careful handling. Despite a total 3 star rating across all categories, buyers should be aware of this complication and for some this might represent a deal-breaker.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.