HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

hp HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP ENVY 15z-j100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
3.862 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Star
5
43 out of 58(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lahore, Pakistan
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First thing you should know I got this laptop as a gift from my father on his return from US after a summer semester. And I actually send him the link to this laptop to buy it.
To my disappointment sometimes this machine gets jammed for no reason. No offense it has a great look. Well I was already using hp 1000 notebook for my excessive programming needs and honestly that notebook seems much better now.
And seriously HP! 9 hours battery life?! It doesn't even got near 4 hours!
You know for a person living in developing country, getting such a new machine feels really good. But you really disappointed me HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good on paper

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Scarborough, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very excited about this. When I first opened it, the vents went like crazy. Ok, maybe it needs some updates, removed some bloatware. Nop. Even with just chrome opened, the vents were going like I was running 10 games at once. The video card wasn't doing good either. Online you see this card playing Battlefield 4, my computer was lagging in the main menu at dishonored at everything low. Not to mention the vents going even worse. I returned it and asked for an exchange. If the new one isn't what it's supposed to be, I'll ask for a refund.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As advertised

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased a custom built HP Envy 15z with an AMD A10-5750M and HD 8750M discrete card. These are the highlight of the laptop. While a bit underwhelming in DX9 games, once the hybrid crossfire kicks in between between the APU and GPU for Directx 11 titles it really shines. This combo is capable of running most DX11 titles at 1366 x 768, low to medium settings maintaining a fairly smooth 35-55 FPS. Consider it a future proofed budget gaming laptop.
Just a word of advice with the CPU, disable turbo boost. For whatever reason the AMD drivers like to constantly kick back and forth between turbo/non turbo, which in turns really increases the heat output. Since these chips will throttle themselves once they hit a specified thermal margin to keep the heat down, you can get a much more consistent computing/gaming experience with that feature deactivated.
That being said I did stick with the standard 1366x768 screen, as the hardware isn't powerful enough to drive 1080p gaming. The screen on here is noticeably cheap as there is a small amount of "pixel grain" on dark backgrounds, though I have seen worse on past laptops I have owned.
Another drawback with these units is that HP does not offer a 7200 RPM hard drive option. While I cannot speak for the hybrid drives HP offered as an upgrade, the standard 5200RPMs are extremely slow and in 2014 laptop manufacturers really need to stop skimping on the HDDs as they are largely responsible for the overall responsiveness of the OS. I would pay a few extra dollars to have a 7200 drive, even one with slightly less capacity. I do plan to install a SSD in the future.
The extra features included are nice. The Beats audio speakers beat standard laptop speakers by a mile. The fingerprint scanner is cool, even if I can't see myself ever using it. The touchpad is pretty mediocre, but easily remedied with a cheap wireless mouse. The keyboard really feels nice to type with and seems like it will last the lifetime of the laptop. The sleek silver exterior doesn't knock away any points either.
In summary, the Envy really makes a nice work laptop with the option for budget gaming when including the HD 8750M add-on. Just be aware, as other reviewers seem to not understand that the base 5400 RPM drives included will bottleneck the rest of the hardware when it comes to everyday web surfing and OS loading times. For what you pay for this laptop does offer above average value compared to the competition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as described by HP

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Louisville
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just bought HP laptop ENVY 15z-j100 Notebook - Best Value and found that the fan was making too much noise. As claimed by HP to be high performance, I ran some games and found that it cannot run even Asphalt 8 smoothly. I performed the windows experience index score from cmd and found it to be 5.9. The graphics score was 5.9 while HP claims it to have one of the best graphics. I ran some performance tests which showed that the processor is not more than I3 while it is AMD A10 with 8GB RAM and Toshiba 1TB 5400RPM hard disk. I am very disappointed. It is not best value. The feature like backlit keyboard I like very much. I should get a replacement from HP.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When I bought this HP laptop, I was hoping for similar or better performance than my wife's 2 year old HP laptop, because we were and still are very happy with it. She has an AMD dual core A8 and this one comes with similar AMD, but quad-core and newer generation, with some more RAM as well.
What a disappointment... Although using it mostly involves web browsing and other light applications. It got better when I replaced the default install of their anti-virus application (thanks for nothing, McAfee) and got rid of the bloatware, but it still is sloooow.
I was expecting loud fan (similar to the wife's HP) which it does have.
I don't want to blame too much on the hardware itself, because it's my first experience with Windows 8.1 and I'm unsure how taxing that OS is on the resources.
I'm thinking about installing Ubuntu and updating this review later if Ubuntu performs faster. Unfortunately, I'll have to wait until I figure why (WHY???) burning the recovery DVDs always fail for the second out of 5!!!
All in all, fairly disappointed, maybe because of software, maybe because of hardware, but the way it is now isn't fun at all.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gaming Capabilities

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All i upgraded on this model was the gpu, i got the radeon 8750m discrete graphics. with the a8-5550m processor, It can run World of Warcraft on high, the elder scrolls online on high, pay day 2 on medium/high. All in all im super impressed. great buy, if you wanna game, this is the best option for the price 100%. It also shipped a day early, and arrived a day early.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine for the Price

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent laptop. It was a massive upgrade from my 6 year old dual core AMD processor HP. The fan is extremely quiet and positioned very well to keep cool air coming in. I went with the integrated graphics and the APU can handle 3D rendering for molecular dynamics with no problem. single/dual core tasks push the cores to turbo, but they don't heat up and maintain speed. Most applications I run can use all 4 cores leading to excellent performance. The battery life has been good(4-6 hours) and the build quality is very nice. The aluminum body helps keep the computer cool. Jury is still out on Windows 8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features, power, and looks

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ruidoso, NM
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went back and forth trying to decide which Envy 15 to buy. I ended up with the 15z - j100 that featured the A10 processor, 8 gigs of RAM, 1TB hard drive, and the backlit keyboard as upgrades. I am really happy so far, it will stream Pandora, download updates, surf the web, and Sync all at the same time. The stock graphics are really, really good extended to a 32" HD monitor, and with headphones the Beats audio shines. The only thing I would have liked to have is bluetooth, but for the price (640$), I'm not even complaining. It's easy enough to get an external DVD/CD drive to make up for this unit not having one, but most software is available for download these days. This is my nicest computer so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

keyboard and mouse difficult to use

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The keyboard takes some getting used to. My wife doesn't want to use it. The keys are difficult for her to push. I have more trouble with the mouse. It is hard to depress and left click is only in one little corner. Try before you buy to see if it's right for you. The rest of the computer is well constructed and has good features.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

don't buy save up or buy a better laptop

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ohio canton
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
pros-
-sleek
-great gpu(8750m)
-backlit keyboard looks stunning
-the 1080p screens looks great
cons- WERE DO I EVEN START
The cpu reaches high loads on everyday tasks
when i go to game is reaches 100% load for about 5 minutes
the cooling is god awful 1 heat vent for a laptop with amd components really hp....
my gpu reaches 90c in games like league i cant even hold 30 fps solid in it because the card throttles from the heat...
the 6 gbs standard ram is awful the system took 4 of it from me when i purchased the pc forcing me to add more
the heat is now freezing my pc constantly i went to close spotify and it froze a simple execution should not freeze a $700 laptop hp
im thoroughly disappointed.i had high hopes for this laptop and everyone of those was let down after 3 or so months of ownership
i use a cm cooling pad which would cool my room but not keep this laptop cold even with a aluminium body.
hp if you read this fix this laptop it runs to hot and throttles to much your engineers should have saw this coming. add back vents or engineer a new method to cool it better it can not keep hitting 90c that hitting almost 200f that is beyond to hot that is a stock amd r9 290x
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Buyer!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Columbus, OH
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop is very sleek and stylish. Its weight was a bit heavier than I wanted, but it's still light enough to use for travel to and from school (my main reason for purchase). The battery life is much better than my old HP and seems to last during the day with moderate internet usage. Windows 8.1 was something I was hesitant with but I love it, besides the fact that I am unable to use the tiles/start screen right now due to LAN proxy setting issues with internet explorer. I like that I can customize my start screen with the apps I want and use. The desktop view works just like previous Windows systems and was nice to have something familiar to me. The Beats audio sounds a bit better than my old laptop, but nothing spectacular in my opinion. I got the backlit keyboard option, and I think it's well worth the extra money. You can use your fingerswipe to login to your laptop, which is a cool little feature. No CD/DVD drive is built-in but it is easy to find cheap ones that work well. Overall, I am very pleased and recommend this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great PC

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This PC has excellent performance, which is good for work and play. Great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The product makes too much noise from cooling fan.

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The product makes too much noise from cooling fan so I should return it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little machine

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was concerned about ordering a new laptop. Since I needed a business platform, I was hesitant to order a Windows 8 machine. This is a very nice computer. It works well and does not seem to difficult for inexperienced users. I bought it as a portable machine for some users who do not do well with computers. This machine is fairly simple to use and there are not a lot of confusing funciton keys they need to use. Very lightweight and nice display for a small monitor. I hate the touch pads on most computers but this isn't too bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent laptop

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a very nice laptop for every day computing. i recommend this laptop to users who just do office work and every day computing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Slow, slow, slow, bad screen performance.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When sitting directly in front of the screen was hazy at the bottom, middle, and top depending on the angle. If you viewed it from the side it was "perfect", go figure. Although it would boot up fast, the overall performance was quite slow. Not good for power users or process intense user, not even moderate user to be honest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Slow processor

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:plainfield, il
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I thought I was being smart by purchasing the cheaper 15z-j100 compared to the 15t-j100, but I was wrong. I received the 15z-j100 in the mail today (after waiting about 3 weeks for the laptop). I used it for 1 hour and noticed the slow processing right away. The laptop itself is very nice, but the processor that you receive with the 15z-j100 is AMD A8 which is not very good (research it online). The 15t-j100 came with an i7 and I am still waiting for that laptop to come in (I exchanged it). I am sure the i7 will do better. Customer service is AMAZING, I really liked the lady who helped me do the exchange
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Computer for My Needs

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cypress, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I selected the A6 APU with a discrete 1GB GPU and this allows me to play all of the modern games. When buying or building my own computer, I prefer to sacrifice a little CPU power for more GPU oomph. This computer is used as a budget gaming laptop and it doesn't disappoint. I also like the fact it has a removable battery and easy access panels for the RAM and HDD. I tend to have my laptop plugged in most of the time so the battery is detached and stored away. Later, I will switch the HDD for an SSD so the access panel is convenient.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Emlenton, Pa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I do like the computer, seems very fast. The only thing i do not like about it is the OS. Windows 8.1. I can not think of one good thing to say about it, but the computer is nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love it

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:los angeles
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
.
Performance
Everything about my laptop is wonderful except Windows 8
.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.