HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

hp HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP ENVY 15z-j100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
3
42 out of 54(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When I bought this HP laptop, I was hoping for similar or better performance than my wife's 2 year old HP laptop, because we were and still are very happy with it. She has an AMD dual core A8 and this one comes with similar AMD, but quad-core and newer generation, with some more RAM as well.
What a disappointment... Although using it mostly involves web browsing and other light applications. It got better when I replaced the default install of their anti-virus application (thanks for nothing, McAfee) and got rid of the bloatware, but it still is sloooow.
I was expecting loud fan (similar to the wife's HP) which it does have.
I don't want to blame too much on the hardware itself, because it's my first experience with Windows 8.1 and I'm unsure how taxing that OS is on the resources.
I'm thinking about installing Ubuntu and updating this review later if Ubuntu performs faster. Unfortunately, I'll have to wait until I figure why (WHY???) burning the recovery DVDs always fail for the second out of 5!!!
All in all, fairly disappointed, maybe because of software, maybe because of hardware, but the way it is now isn't fun at all.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gaming Capabilities

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All i upgraded on this model was the gpu, i got the radeon 8750m discrete graphics. with the a8-5550m processor, It can run World of Warcraft on high, the elder scrolls online on high, pay day 2 on medium/high. All in all im super impressed. great buy, if you wanna game, this is the best option for the price 100%. It also shipped a day early, and arrived a day early.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine for the Price

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent laptop. It was a massive upgrade from my 6 year old dual core AMD processor HP. The fan is extremely quiet and positioned very well to keep cool air coming in. I went with the integrated graphics and the APU can handle 3D rendering for molecular dynamics with no problem. single/dual core tasks push the cores to turbo, but they don't heat up and maintain speed. Most applications I run can use all 4 cores leading to excellent performance. The battery life has been good(4-6 hours) and the build quality is very nice. The aluminum body helps keep the computer cool. Jury is still out on Windows 8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features, power, and looks

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ruidoso, NM
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went back and forth trying to decide which Envy 15 to buy. I ended up with the 15z - j100 that featured the A10 processor, 8 gigs of RAM, 1TB hard drive, and the backlit keyboard as upgrades. I am really happy so far, it will stream Pandora, download updates, surf the web, and Sync all at the same time. The stock graphics are really, really good extended to a 32" HD monitor, and with headphones the Beats audio shines. The only thing I would have liked to have is bluetooth, but for the price (640$), I'm not even complaining. It's easy enough to get an external DVD/CD drive to make up for this unit not having one, but most software is available for download these days. This is my nicest computer so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

keyboard and mouse difficult to use

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The keyboard takes some getting used to. My wife doesn't want to use it. The keys are difficult for her to push. I have more trouble with the mouse. It is hard to depress and left click is only in one little corner. Try before you buy to see if it's right for you. The rest of the computer is well constructed and has good features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

don't buy save up or buy a better laptop

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ohio canton
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
pros-
-sleek
-great gpu(8750m)
-backlit keyboard looks stunning
-the 1080p screens looks great
cons- WERE DO I EVEN START
The cpu reaches high loads on everyday tasks
when i go to game is reaches 100% load for about 5 minutes
the cooling is god awful 1 heat vent for a laptop with amd components really hp....
my gpu reaches 90c in games like league i cant even hold 30 fps solid in it because the card throttles from the heat...
the 6 gbs standard ram is awful the system took 4 of it from me when i purchased the pc forcing me to add more
the heat is now freezing my pc constantly i went to close spotify and it froze a simple execution should not freeze a $700 laptop hp
im thoroughly disappointed.i had high hopes for this laptop and everyone of those was let down after 3 or so months of ownership
i use a cm cooling pad which would cool my room but not keep this laptop cold even with a aluminium body.
hp if you read this fix this laptop it runs to hot and throttles to much your engineers should have saw this coming. add back vents or engineer a new method to cool it better it can not keep hitting 90c that hitting almost 200f that is beyond to hot that is a stock amd r9 290x
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Buyer!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Columbus, OH
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop is very sleek and stylish. Its weight was a bit heavier than I wanted, but it's still light enough to use for travel to and from school (my main reason for purchase). The battery life is much better than my old HP and seems to last during the day with moderate internet usage. Windows 8.1 was something I was hesitant with but I love it, besides the fact that I am unable to use the tiles/start screen right now due to LAN proxy setting issues with internet explorer. I like that I can customize my start screen with the apps I want and use. The desktop view works just like previous Windows systems and was nice to have something familiar to me. The Beats audio sounds a bit better than my old laptop, but nothing spectacular in my opinion. I got the backlit keyboard option, and I think it's well worth the extra money. You can use your fingerswipe to login to your laptop, which is a cool little feature. No CD/DVD drive is built-in but it is easy to find cheap ones that work well. Overall, I am very pleased and recommend this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great PC

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This PC has excellent performance, which is good for work and play. Great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The product makes too much noise from cooling fan.

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The product makes too much noise from cooling fan so I should return it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little machine

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was concerned about ordering a new laptop. Since I needed a business platform, I was hesitant to order a Windows 8 machine. This is a very nice computer. It works well and does not seem to difficult for inexperienced users. I bought it as a portable machine for some users who do not do well with computers. This machine is fairly simple to use and there are not a lot of confusing funciton keys they need to use. Very lightweight and nice display for a small monitor. I hate the touch pads on most computers but this isn't too bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent laptop

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a very nice laptop for every day computing. i recommend this laptop to users who just do office work and every day computing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Slow, slow, slow, bad screen performance.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When sitting directly in front of the screen was hazy at the bottom, middle, and top depending on the angle. If you viewed it from the side it was "perfect", go figure. Although it would boot up fast, the overall performance was quite slow. Not good for power users or process intense user, not even moderate user to be honest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Slow processor

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:plainfield, il
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I thought I was being smart by purchasing the cheaper 15z-j100 compared to the 15t-j100, but I was wrong. I received the 15z-j100 in the mail today (after waiting about 3 weeks for the laptop). I used it for 1 hour and noticed the slow processing right away. The laptop itself is very nice, but the processor that you receive with the 15z-j100 is AMD A8 which is not very good (research it online). The 15t-j100 came with an i7 and I am still waiting for that laptop to come in (I exchanged it). I am sure the i7 will do better. Customer service is AMAZING, I really liked the lady who helped me do the exchange
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Computer for My Needs

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cypress, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I selected the A6 APU with a discrete 1GB GPU and this allows me to play all of the modern games. When buying or building my own computer, I prefer to sacrifice a little CPU power for more GPU oomph. This computer is used as a budget gaming laptop and it doesn't disappoint. I also like the fact it has a removable battery and easy access panels for the RAM and HDD. I tend to have my laptop plugged in most of the time so the battery is detached and stored away. Later, I will switch the HDD for an SSD so the access panel is convenient.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Emlenton, Pa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I do like the computer, seems very fast. The only thing i do not like about it is the OS. Windows 8.1. I can not think of one good thing to say about it, but the computer is nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love it

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:los angeles
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
.
Performance
Everything about my laptop is wonderful except Windows 8
.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is thin and light, but it is really powerful. It starts up fast and games like a dream.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good computer do miss the DVD drive

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wichita , Ks
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the lights computer I ever have had and the battery live is great 4 to 6 hr. the computer has every thing we need in a computer do miss the DVD drive but I have a external usb so just plug it in when I need one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good features/price ratio

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
I use this machine with business and graphics software - 2D, no video, no games, Photoshop being the most demanding - and am quite satisfied with it. The screen is great for general work but for critical color and tone photographic work one still needs a good external IPS monitor. I develop training material regularly and can keep my notes open in Word on 1/3rd of the screen and Powerpoint on the other 2/3rds. I would prefer a mat black finish instead of brushed aluminum which is very cool but manages to reflect overhead light. I ordered the laptop with a non back-lit keyboard but had to return it and get the back-lit model to be able to see the keys. The machine is obviously not perfect but it is a very good value for the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 15z-j100 CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to love despite some flaws

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Roy, UT
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Specs of my model:
Windows 8.1
AMD Quad-Core A8-5550M
2GB AMD Radeon™ HD 8750M Discrete Graphics
6GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
750GB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
90W AC power adapter
Full HD BrightView Display (1920x1080)
Standard Keyboard (not backlit)
Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 802.11n wifi adapter
Fingerprint scanner
Time owned: 70 days.
The display: The availability of a full-hd display for not a lot of money was what drew me to this notebook. The resolution and brightness are great, but the colors are mediocre, and the contrast and viewing angles are bad. I'm considering buying a better display to upgrade it.
The wireless: Unfortunately there's no option for 802.11ac or a 2x2 MIMO wifi. Mine has been fast and stable, but I don't have anything more advanced to compare it to.
The hard drive: It's not agonizingly slow, but I intend to swap it out for something faster. My second biggest problem with this notebook though, is that HP and Microsoft haven't made this an easy thing to do. Making backups and copies of Windows 8 is a pain. Another problem with 8 is that I bought a "Windows 8 compatible" usb flash drive that I hoped to put an image of Windows on, but it's only compatible with Windows 8 To Go, which is an enterprise-only feature, (unless I'm mistaken).
The operating system: I've been using Windows 8, 8.1, and their previews for two years now, and I'm still irritated at how far backwards the usability experience for desktops and notebooks has gone. I'd rather have 8.1 over 7 for the under-the-hood improvements, but I hope for more improvements in the user interface.
The processor: I wish I had the A10 instead of the A8 because it's not quite as fast as I'd like, but for the price, I decided I'd rather have the A8 and the discrete graphics than the A10.
The memory: With 2 DIMMs at 1600 MHz, no upgrade is called for, as only the A10 could use faster memory. Not having to upgrade for best (dual-channel) performance is a plus.
The discrete graphics: Of course I'd like something a little faster, but the performance per dollar and per watt on the 8750m are good. I wouldn't want something much hotter in this chassis, it's loud enough as is. Something I'd like is more frequent driver updates.
Fan Noise: I'm picky about this, and the Envy 15z unsurprisingly doesn't measure up. The fan picks up speed too often at idle, and is too whiny and loud at load, (such as during 3D gaming). I intend to undervolt the processor and see what happens; I had great success with the undervolt of my last notebook that had a Core 2 Duo; it became much quieter.
The touchpad: The sensitivity is good, the design looks good, but a lack of separate buttons makes it more difficult to use than it should be. Whenever possible, I use a mouse.
The speakers: I'm not picky here, and they seem fine.
Software: I don't mind the bloat from extra software, (once I have them disabled on the 'Startup' menu in the Task Manager), but I also hardly use any of the programs.
Other Hardware:
The fingerprint scanner is nice and allows for quick log-ins.
The materials and build quality are good, much better than bargain basement notebooks, which makes holding and using the notebook a pleasant experience. (Some who are pickier in this area may call it cheap and unpleasant.)
The amount of video outputs is third on my list of things I don't like about this notebook. Having only HDMI is disappointing. I would have liked VGA and mini-displayport as well.
Quirks: I bought mine refurbished, and sometimes it has trouble turning on. I didn't want to send it in and wait for a few weeks, so I decided to live with it until I have the time to troubleshoot it myself.
TLDR
Top Likes:
1. Full HD display, (despite low contrast and poor viewing angles)
2. Good materials and build quality
3. Discrete graphics
Top Dislikes:
1. Hard-to-pin-down hardware or software bug means some boot-ups fail. (Might be unique to my system.)
2. Difficult to make backups or swap out hard drives with Windows 8. (Also the OS key is built-in, not on a sticker.)
3. HDMI is the only choice for video-out.
4. Infrequent graphics driver updates.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.