HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

hp HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
67 out of 78(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Get used with Windows 8

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tempe, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall, in terms of performance I don't see how my 'super laptop' of Intel I7 and 16GB and a hybrid Hard Disk is different from the other one I have for more than 4 years.
Also, if you're not familiar with Windows 8, expect to spend quite some time with some ''not-that-helpful'' videos provided to show us the new features and how to use Windows 8.1
It does take some time untill you get used to it.
Also, there is no reference to let you know then the 'Num Lock' button is on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!!!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop replaced an 8 year old tower. The ENVY is every thing that I wanted in a computer. It has the speed and memory I need all put together in a very nice portable package. I especially like the fingerprint log in as there is nothing more secure than that. The only suggestion I would make is to better explain the process of turning off the touchpad. I prefer using a wireless mouse and unlike other computers there is no F key to toggle the touchpad off and on. It took awhile to find out how, but you can turn off the touchpad. I am still learning about all the features of thiscomputer but to date I am very pleased with everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some bugs need to be worked out

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was surprised to see a big smudge/scratch at the bottom of the PC right out of the box. After working with it for a week, I decided to return it for 2 reasons. After installing programs or watching a show, the DVD or CD would not eject. I kept getting an error message and I had to physically push the button on the tray many times to rescue my CD. Also, the PC keeps freezing up. It happens when I'm trying to save an e-mail attachment or when I try to close a program and return to the Windows 8.1 start screen with all the tiles. Sometimes the programs can't close. But I'm still a loyal HP customer and will just buy another HP model - probably one without a CD/DVD drive. I must say that returning the PC to HP was really easy and hassle free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Down sides

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Dual Band Wireless-N 7260 does not recognize the 5 Ghz spectrum. The driver does not even have settings for it. There seem to be lots of comments about it on the internet. I feel mislead with a product that should work to its' fullest potential. However, I know if I were to reject the laptop that HP would charge me some type of re-stocking fee since it was customized so I might as well keep it. The power cord is an awkward L-shape which cause problems after moving it from my lap to a table. I am very concerned I will eventually cause problems with the power input port. The keyboard is recessed so good luck getting dust, dog or cat hair, or anything else out of it. Also, way to create a nice reservoir for spilled drinks. I did not get this version because of the touch screen, but now that I have it I have to ask what is the purpose of it. From a comfortable position I can not even reach the screen, and it does not fold back into a position to only use the screen so it is lost on me. This product is not practical as a laptop that would be used outside of the home so be warned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Windows 8 has problems

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sometimes the touch screen activates an uncontrollable zoom (either in or out) with a single touch.
It should have been set up to be more tolerant. I don't understand why a single finger tap should activate any zoom at all. Other times it totally ignores the finger tap and I have to select via mouse.
Windows 7 had a nice supply of imbedded games. Windows 8 has none. It tries to get you into on-line games where it triew to sell games. I don't like the on-line games.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS IS A GREAT HP ENVY TOUCH-SMART

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL MADE NOTEBOOK COMPUTER I LOVE ANYTHING ABOUT THIS COMPUTER.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Laptop!!!!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Laptop itself is great and I'm a big fan of the aluminum feel and the backlight laptop. I have always had good luck with HP computers and for as long as I've been usin comps, I've been usin HP with little to no prob. The only problem I've had was not an HP prob. but a Microsoft prob. I've had only one Blue Screen of death which I didn't know where that came from because I didn't do nothing to make that happened but ever since that situation It's been workin in full performance and I love the windows 8.1 pro dispite all the negative reviews about it (even tho I still like windows 7 better). I would recommend this laptop to anyone that is at least considering it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be happier. Display is good and large. Touch screen is a must have. Like the windows 8.1 because it is easy to navigate and customize. Fast machine. Fingerprint reader opens up computer without password and makes it secure. Got the blu-ray player. Overall physical design of computer looks great. Sound is amazing with beats audio. Nice audio jack on side. Plenty of USB ports (4) and has an hdmi connection. All of my devices installed without a problem. Don't like internet explorer but downloaded Firefox instead. I right clicked on the Firefox program in the file browser and made it an app on my start menu. Shipping was worth the wait. It did not take to long considering where it had to come from, and I did a custom build.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good choice for a well balanced laptop

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Do not even think about it just buy this device, you won't be disappointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had an HP, worked well enough, bought another.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Longview, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had this computer custom built. Enjoying the features and speed. Like the finger identification scan feature, very handy. Touch screen handy and switching between windows 8.1 and desktop works well. I use the touch screen and mouse in conjunction with each other. Some of the corner areas don't respond as easily with touch. I use the mouse pointer for the corners usually. Had Windows 7 on my old computer. Windows 8.1 is a bit of a learning curve but once I got a handle on it I am enjoying it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good engineering Laptop

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milton, VT
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The price is right. The performance is great. I am a Signal Integrity Engineer and all my softwares and simulations running very good in this Laptop. I am satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, New York
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this product for a little more than a week and it has been great. The speed is awesome and it just works. Customer service is also readily available to answer any questions you might have. I'm excited and I am loving my new laptop!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Windows 8 is worse than windows 98

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, ohio
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I was really looking forward to this computer. So far I have spent 10 hours trying to download my software. It will only accept one email address. Someone decided that the desktop is not as important as a bunch of apps. I still have not been able to get a lot of my business software on the computer. There is no instructions with it. I did find one site that answered some of my questions. I would expect in 2014 a more user friendly system.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice laptop, but there's got to be something bette

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this for about 6 months, and it works fine now. I ordered the laptop so I could get some options. The first one was shipped incorrectly configured, and the replacement took 3 weeks to arrive. It had 2 drivers installed incorrectly (or bad?), but worked correctly after reinstallation. I now find that the sound card does not have a stereo input for recording, but is only mono. To do real audio work I will now have to buy an external sound card for recording - after paying nearly $1100 for this. I was hesitant to purchase HP in the first place, and probably will not purchase another laptop from them. I give it a 7 out of 10, maybe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A powerful Machine

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plano, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am pleased with the features of my new laptop. 17 inch, HD 1920x1080 touch screen, Blu-ray reader/writer. Sound is very good for a laptop. Glad to see all USB ports are USB3, The card slot on the side is easier to use, than on the front edge. This machine seems to run cooler than my prior 17" HP Win7 machine. Two things I wish I had been able to choose. One - choose a black keyboard deck in lieu of the silver deck. Two - SSD in lieu of the Hybrid Hard-Drive. Please consider these choices for future offerings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delivery was on time and no damage

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Newark, DE
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Start up was fairly easy as I was a Window 7 user.
Still getting use to Win 8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

for the computer types

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use a computer as a tool - seems the more 'tricks' is does, the more difficult to operate. This first week, and I suspect many more, is trying to deal with WIN 8.1 - would know more about the the computer if it were in WIN 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT LAPTOP

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sunnyvale
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I totally recommend this computer/laptop. The only surprise I had was that it is a bit heavier than I had anticipated, making it challenging when carrying it. The full backlit keyboard is GREAT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Can't determine the features

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Leesburg, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my first laptop. There was no instruction manual and I don't even know where to go to find one. I can't tell which programs come in the computer and which are permanent and which are trials. I can't even figure out what the features are. I really need a manual written for new users.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
My only problem is that I am having trouble connecting my Homegroup on my desktop with Windows 7 Ultimate and the laptop. I am really enjoying the laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.