HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.187 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
78 out of 91(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been very pleased with previous HP products & wanted to update our HP computer that was several years old. We are still using our HP printer, also several years old, that prints beautiful pictures on HP photo paper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was just a good product to buy> Excellent performance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product had problems

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tomball, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After restoring it two times I finally got the laptop up and running. The finger printer reader was the first problem and the second was with the first restoring as it did not restore all the programs.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customized high end for reasonable

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southwest
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered every feature I could find for this build. Went all out, built it to the hilt. The cost was still reasonable. Expect to have this unit for a very long time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really like it

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its a beautiful laptop and I don't regret buying it. I love it! so much and I really recommend it : )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

First Impressions

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've used the HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 for almost 2 weeks. I've found that Windows 8.1 and touchscreen capabilities should be reserved for the flexibility of tablets, not desktop and laptop PCs. So far the combination has decreased productivity, adding unneccessary steps and reducing functionality.
Here are the problems I have had, which may or may not be specific to this computer:
1. Disoriented web browsing. Bing results are often shown at 20%, too small to read, which adds extra adjusting steps. Results on the page are transient, unfixed, and keeping them where you'd like them can be a hassle. The simple fix of turning your tablet around to adjust the image doesn't work on a laptop like the HP ENVY 17t-j100. Something to consider for most touchscreen laptops.
2. I'd recommend trying out whatever your favorite programs are and the sites you spend most of your time on a TouchSmart before purchasing. In my case, GmailTouch is a sad solution for touchscreen users, and AdobeCloud photoediting doesn't work with the TouchSmart.
3. This could be a result of not being tech savvy, but I haven't seen improvement with the i7processor. Time downloading programs is sometimes slow, time uploading videos is sometimes slow. This could be a wifi problem, but then I would question the wifi component of the computer. Not something to take my word on, but something to research more with the HP ENVY.
4. The keyboard/pad is temperamental, a problem specifically related to this computer, and only makes the extra time spent taming the touchscreen worse. the keys don't always do what you'd like them to do, adding an extra step of correcting type. the touch/click of the keypad is difficult for fragile fingers, and I'm pretty sure I'm being set up for some joint issues from the amount of time I'll spend on this thing. For example, if I click on this sentence to correct a word that the keyboard didn't type correctly (because the keys are slightly on the firm side for pushing, and/or not sensitive enough for type), I need to do so with a strength not intended for finger joints.
That being said, I have the added purchase of a bluetooth mouse, which removes most of the touchscreen issues and point/click issues.
I will most likely keep this computer because I'd like to move on from Windows 7 and I enjoy the app fun of the tablet style. It's not enough to keep me sold on it, but if I decide not to keep it, I'll exchange it for another HP product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product Customization

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs, Co
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With the high end chip, the 24GB Flash and Hybrid drive this thing rocks! Love the LED display and everything basically is 1920 by 1080................Quality is great my prayer is it will hold up, yes there was a 2 year warranty..........
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Bluetooth

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If one purchases a 17", i7 laptop, Bluetooth should be an option. You should not have to go out and purchase an adapter.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have not had this product lon enough

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this laptop for about a week so I'm still learning the ropes but so far I'm very pleased with it.. Well done HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the wait

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Farmington Utah
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customized online with discount worth the wait. This is my second HP Laptop I have been very satisfied with HP. Previous HP laptop is 5 yrs old and still working fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

High performance but difficult mousepad

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Windsor, CT
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received my Envy just after Christmas 2013, and it performs as well as I had expected when I ordered it. It's fast, with a good screen resolution and all the power that I need. The touchscreen is a must-have with Win8 - I won't get another laptop without it!
The mousepad is a major disappointment. The pad is ultra-sensitive - the cursor moves to seemingly random places when my big fat hands accidentally touch any part of the mousepad. The "mouse" buttons are part of the pad - meaning that when I "click" on one, the cursor moves, sometimes before the click is registered, and I go off into random places. I am used to my OLD HP's mousepad, where the buttons are separated, as on my work machine as well, and I use both hands when using the mousepad at times as a result. Doing it with this machine continues to frustrate me.
Also, there's no separate insert key. With a 17 inch screen, there's no reason not to have a keyboard with an insert key. Instead, it's a Shift-FN-prt sc key combination to do any kind of paste operation - something I do frequently enough to irritate me every time I do it on this keyboard.
I don't know where else to tell HP about this, so it's here. The machine is a really good machine - it just needs better input tools.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle WA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this as a replacement to my previous HP laptop (DV9040US) which was 8 years old. This took about 2.5 weeks to arrive since I customized my order. Unit is solidly built, feels very durable and a bit lighter than my previous laptop of the same size. I've utilized pretty much all of the functions and features of this laptop, and to date, everything rocks, especially the hardware and speed of boot up and shut down. So far no issues. As far as hardware, I highly highly recommend the "1TB 5400 rpm Hybrid Hard Drive" and "24GB flash Hard Drive Acceleration Cache". This is what helps the Energy Star rating and fast boot ups and shut downs. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase and should enjoy this product for years to come.
If I have any negatives or criticisms, it's very minor, but it would have been nice if the package came with more literature. It's pretty bare bones (getting started foldout, receipt...that's it). Also, the website needs to clarify the materials used for the outer bezel and casing. It appears to be plastic, not aluminum like it appears to be. Not a deal breaker, but would have been nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Overall

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I researched long and hard for a new notebook to replace my 5+ year old aging but still working HP dv9500. I am looking for a notebook in the 1K price range, intend to use it mostly for emails, internet surfing, shopping, pay bills, multimedia experiences, with good core components, good features that would last for the next 5 years. I took a chance not buying extended warranty as a 2-year plan costs more than 20% the notebook itself.
My customized notebook comes with the QuadCore i7 4800MQ 2.7 MHz, NVidia 470M, SmartTouch 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display, 1TB 5400 RPM hybrid HDD. I opted out the Win 8.1 Pro, as I wanted to wait for the next Win 9 upgrade. To stay within budget. I also keep the standard 8 GB RAM as that is enough for now. Since the delivery, I installed the MS Home and Office 2013 as a fair share of my wife for her occasional use of the notebook, in case her office laptop is too much of a haul on winter days.
The Envy TS 17 notebook is not light, about 7.6 lbs, and is big which I like for a touch screen. Open the lid is a bit clumsy as there is no push to open button, I often have to use both hands. All ports are on the two sides of the notebook, including the DVD. Open the lid, the glass screen is gorgeous, image color is beautiful as is without changing. The keyboard/touchpad appear decent, responsive. The whole notebook looks fine with minimal cosmetics. Same for function keys, buttons, speakers, finger print reader arrangement appear simple and logical.
Setting up window global account, install all Win 8.1 and HP updates took me about 2 hours. Connecting home computers, bluetooth audio dock, network printer, install iTunes, creating new system images, make recovery media (5 DVDs), … all completed in the same afternoon. All are straightforward, without glitches. HP Utilities are more helpful these days, and window 8.1 touch apps are interesting.
The news, weather, and several other apps are very nice, especially the News app on a large monitor. My best reward so far is the Outlook mail. It relieves me of the pain of each Window 7 Live Mai use. I have used IPad, so the touch feature is not all new. I would say a different, positive experience with Window 8.1. Lock Screen with slide show is a bonus digital photo frame. Window Word 2013 is very pleasant; advanced with OneDrive cloud. On a not very high note, the Beats audio is just ok. BTW, HP SimplePass Finger Print Reader is a work in progress: I can only get it works on a few sites, and only with Internet Explorer, not with Google Chrome.
The notebook is very fast, multitasking is at ease, responsive. This is a pleasant feeling: open a window, and it IS open; run a task, and it IS running, surprised! With a clean startups and services, the boot up time is between 17-25 seconds, restart is 40-50 seconds, and this is with just the hybrid hard drive. Resource Monitor says I am often between in 30-40% CPU, Memory usage. A lot of room to grow.
After two weeks of use and, some nights are longer than others, I thought this HP Envy TouchSmart is the one, for me till the next time.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Get used with Windows 8

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tempe, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall, in terms of performance I don't see how my 'super laptop' of Intel I7 and 16GB and a hybrid Hard Disk is different from the other one I have for more than 4 years.
Also, if you're not familiar with Windows 8, expect to spend quite some time with some ''not-that-helpful'' videos provided to show us the new features and how to use Windows 8.1
It does take some time untill you get used to it.
Also, there is no reference to let you know then the 'Num Lock' button is on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!!!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop replaced an 8 year old tower. The ENVY is every thing that I wanted in a computer. It has the speed and memory I need all put together in a very nice portable package. I especially like the fingerprint log in as there is nothing more secure than that. The only suggestion I would make is to better explain the process of turning off the touchpad. I prefer using a wireless mouse and unlike other computers there is no F key to toggle the touchpad off and on. It took awhile to find out how, but you can turn off the touchpad. I am still learning about all the features of thiscomputer but to date I am very pleased with everything
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some bugs need to be worked out

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida, USA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was surprised to see a big smudge/scratch at the bottom of the PC right out of the box. After working with it for a week, I decided to return it for 2 reasons. After installing programs or watching a show, the DVD or CD would not eject. I kept getting an error message and I had to physically push the button on the tray many times to rescue my CD. Also, the PC keeps freezing up. It happens when I'm trying to save an e-mail attachment or when I try to close a program and return to the Windows 8.1 start screen with all the tiles. Sometimes the programs can't close. But I'm still a loyal HP customer and will just buy another HP model - probably one without a CD/DVD drive. I must say that returning the PC to HP was really easy and hassle free.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Down sides

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Dual Band Wireless-N 7260 does not recognize the 5 Ghz spectrum. The driver does not even have settings for it. There seem to be lots of comments about it on the internet. I feel mislead with a product that should work to its' fullest potential. However, I know if I were to reject the laptop that HP would charge me some type of re-stocking fee since it was customized so I might as well keep it. The power cord is an awkward L-shape which cause problems after moving it from my lap to a table. I am very concerned I will eventually cause problems with the power input port. The keyboard is recessed so good luck getting dust, dog or cat hair, or anything else out of it. Also, way to create a nice reservoir for spilled drinks. I did not get this version because of the touch screen, but now that I have it I have to ask what is the purpose of it. From a comfortable position I can not even reach the screen, and it does not fold back into a position to only use the screen so it is lost on me. This product is not practical as a laptop that would be used outside of the home so be warned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Windows 8 has problems

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sometimes the touch screen activates an uncontrollable zoom (either in or out) with a single touch.
It should have been set up to be more tolerant. I don't understand why a single finger tap should activate any zoom at all. Other times it totally ignores the finger tap and I have to select via mouse.
Windows 7 had a nice supply of imbedded games. Windows 8 has none. It tries to get you into on-line games where it triew to sell games. I don't like the on-line games.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS IS A GREAT HP ENVY TOUCH-SMART

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL MADE NOTEBOOK COMPUTER I LOVE ANYTHING ABOUT THIS COMPUTER.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j100 Quad Edition CTO Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Laptop!!!!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Laptop itself is great and I'm a big fan of the aluminum feel and the backlight laptop. I have always had good luck with HP computers and for as long as I've been usin comps, I've been usin HP with little to no prob. The only problem I've had was not an HP prob. but a Microsoft prob. I've had only one Blue Screen of death which I didn't know where that came from because I didn't do nothing to make that happened but ever since that situation It's been workin in full performance and I love the windows 8.1 pro dispite all the negative reviews about it (even tho I still like windows 7 better). I would recommend this laptop to anyone that is at least considering it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.