HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I"m Blew Up

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pgh,PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I bought this computer, It was fully charged,never customized, but all set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful laptop with great features

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had this laptop for about 10 days but I enjoy it very much. It replaces my desktop and does a good job of it. I have no issues with the laptop or its features. However, I have not yet figured out how to exit out of programs launched using the "Start" screen (i.e. Adobe and Word.) I am indifferent with the finger swipe but I think once I get used to it I will like it. The display is crisp and clear and looks great. Overall, I am very pleased with my new laptop and I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's everything I wanted

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First new computer purchase in almost 9 years and all I wanted wanted was a laptop with a huge touchscreen. Was excited when the Best Buy version of of this model came out, but I waited several weeks and sure enough, this customizable version appeared. I got the backlit keyboard for DJ gigs, and especially appreciate having the number pad on the right. So far everything is working perfectly and it's very sharp looking. A bit heavy, but worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most enjoyable

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin, Tx.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not a geek by any means, yet the features of this laptop make me appear very hi-tech. I've enjoyed everything so far, especially the touch screen. From a hardware standpoint, I would rate this product Excellent, except for one small issue that is probably more "me" than the product. The charging port is located on the side corner of the laptop and it is in a most vulnerable spot for such a thin plug. I can already feel it getting loose, and I have another HP laptop with a side-charge port and it is doing fine due to the fact that it has a much thicker pin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TouchSmart ENVY

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milton FL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's nice that I could add thing that you can't get in a standard Laptop being able to upgrade was the best thing about ording with HP.
I would love to see something in a flip Tablet or a Tablet in 15 or 17in.
I was able to get everthing I was wanting and in the price range I needed to stay in.
Have told all my friends about HP'S website. .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed with this machine

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had this machine for a few days, but I must say that I'm impressed. The touch screen feature is nice. The major pros is the processor speed the vid card and display, and the backlit keyboard is nice as well. The only thing I do not like is this thing weighs a lot compared to other notebooks. It's rather heavy in my bag. I'm also not overly fond of the touch pad not having an actual set of buttons. I use a mouse most of the time... Although I'm sure it will be less once I get used to the touch feature... That being said the lack of buttons make it a little harder to select things or to cut and paste things that are selected. For instance.... I want to draw a box over 4 icons and then right click and delete them... About half the time when I try to right click, it deselects the icons I am trying to delete. All in all though this is an amazing computer with amazing battery life for a 17 inch computer. I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid, Fast, Screen is amazing

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas City, Missouri
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would rate it as solidly built. The I7 processor is screaming fast and I upgraded to the non-glare full HD screen. Wow what a screen. I added the Nvidia video card and finally someone saw the light and build a 17 in touch screen. I found windows 8 an easy adjustment probably because I am a programmer for over 15 years. So far I only have one very small gripe. The touch pad is so smooth I have to lightly wet my finger tip to get it to sense my touch. I haven't looked but I would think I could up the sensitivity of the pad and get around this issue. I upgraded this laptop as much as I could to ensure it has the features to make it last a long time. So far I would give this a thumbs up in quality. Well done HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great computer, great features, very good price

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was in the market for a new notebook computer and wanted to get the latest and greatest, which meant the newest and most powerful CPU. I wanted one of the new 4th generation Intel Core i7 Haswell CPUs and I wanted to be able to customize it to my liking. I searched all the various manufacturers and the HP Envy 17T fit the bill on every count, and at a great price.
I purchased the Envy 17T-j000 Touchsmart and got it with the i7-4900MQ processor, 16GB of RAM, dual 1TB hard drives, nVidia graphics card, 1920x1080 non-glare display, and lighted keyboard. It's a great computer and will fill my needs for the next five years or more. However, as soon as I received it, I did some research on the current state of affairs regarding SSDs, and I decided to replace the two 1TB hard drives in the 17T with SSDs. I got a 256GB SSD for the C: drive (Windows and applcations), and a 1TB SSD for the D: drive (data). Wow, what a difference they make! My 17T now boots up from off (not sleep, but fully off via the power switch) to ready in 10 seconds. Programs also load significantly faster and saving files is seemingly instantaneous. The whole thing just seems snappier and very responsive. I also now have the two original 1TB hard drives to use for backup purposes.
As good as the computer is, there are a couple of things that I've noticed. First, the left-hand side of the keyboard is a bit on the flimsy side - pressing some of the keys (with just normal typing pressure) flexes the keyboard a bit. It's not enough to cause any sort of problem, but it's noticeable (but I'll probably just get used to it and won't notice it so much). The second thing, which is more disconcerting for me, is that the display, while advertised as an anti-glare display, is actually just as glossy and reflection-prone as a normal glossy display. As soon as I took it out of the box and flipped up the display, I was shocked at how glossy the display is. It's like looking into a mirror. It certainly isn't anti-glare.
Overall, I'm very pleased with the computer, especially since replacing the two 5400 RPM hard drives with the two SSDs. This computer will now fill my needs for the next five to ten years.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a fast computer.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the Envy TS 17t Quad with 1920x1080 display. I got the hybrid drive and the SSD cache. It takes only 12 seconds from a cold boot. I installed Microsoft SQL Server 2012 and loaded a large database. The application is very fast from my networked computers. I like that my old HP printers still work because the computer only has USB 3.0 ports. Four of them. Overall, this is a great work computer, with the 17.3" touchscreen and the number pad keyboard. The fingerprint reader is very handy too. I'm just waiting now for Windows 8.1 to be released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST LAPTOP EVER

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:OKC,OK
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had well over 6 laptops in the last 2 years. I love everything about this computer (the hd speed could be bumped up a little at 5400 rpm) BUT other than that this is my dream laptop. Not very heavy for such a large computer, Windows 8 is super cool, and I love the touchscreen. The battery stays charged for a while for it being such a huge laptop and I LOVE the backlit keys for writing in the dark. Beautiful display, fast, and magnificent sound. HP is my new favorite brand... I think they have one my loyalty. OH the keys...are so easy to press. Soft, and even though I have short and stubby fingers, they are still positioned in a way that's easy to type! LOVE LOVE LOVE. :) One happy latptop owner.
PS The fingerprint scanner is the coolest, most helpful feature on this laptop! No more typing unsernames and Passwords :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is a hotrod!!!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit,MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Equip this laptop with the best quad 4 processor and upgrade to 16GB RAM and this baby is lighting fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It !!!

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wichita Falls, Tx
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So happy with this laptop. cheaper, larger (17 not 15) and more features than a Dell equivalent. Service was Great with double the credit limit as Dell. Never buy another brand again. Bought this for gaming and it works great with no overheating (like the more expensive Dell). Love the touch screen what a plus.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro User

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Massachussetts
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this for a friend who needed help technically. This is a wonderful laptop with rounded corners. The high resolution display is great . It's amazing how quickly we adapt to touch screen. However, the touch pad is also nice and large as a navigating alternative. The hard drive acceleration cache is a must for all new machines. If someone is looking for a high performance computer for about the same price as a high end tablet, this is it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

mostly positive

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
so far we love the envy touchsmart 17 quad. we paid extra for the backlit keyboard, but not sure that it is working? it doesn't light up when typiing; there's only one key that lights up, so we will have to figure that out yet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ENVY more than Satisfies My Needs

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the ENVY for a little over 4 weeks. I use it mainly for internet and photo/movies editing with ADOBE Photoshop Premiere and Premiere Elements.products. My ENVY version has the hybrid drive and it loads Windows 8 quite quickly and the PC has plenty of speed for my needs. I mainly use a wireless mouse for navigation and don't use the Windows touchscreen options very much. Based upon my limited experience though, the touchscreen is very responsive and it is easy to learn the required motions. The ENVY touch pad however, does not seem to be nearly as responsive as the touch screen. Again I mainly use a mouse - old habits are hard to break. As with most laptops the battery charge life does not meet the advertised longevity. I use the laptop mainly with the power supply, so battery life has not been an issue. The finger print log on system is great to use. It does not seem to get too hot on the lap. Although the BEATS speaker system may be better than most laptop systems, it does not approach hi-fi quality. Being a 23" screen, it is fairly heavy and is not meant to be a carry around computer. I find very little difference between using Windows 8 versus Windows 7 - of course I use the mouse a lot. In summary the ENVY is a solid 23" laptop with plenty of features for my current and future needs. I would recommend it for its features, price and performance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Daleville, AL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lacks eSATA and VGA, but does have HDMI. For the money, the i7-4700MQ processor is a little low on clock frequency, but performs well. Wish I would have upgraded that. HP should offer an SSD only option. I added one myself and it was very painful. The optionally purchased restore disks would not work with it, and all attempts to clone also failed. I had to do a clean install with a retail version of windows 8. Luckily I didn't have to use my key, since it is embedded in the UEFI. Other than an issue with the touch not working until HP sent me a replacement machine, I'm happy with the purchase. OH, if you do upgrade to an SSD, you will be VERY happy with boot-up time.....it's only about 15 seconds from a dead start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost what I wanted.

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Computer so far seems great, even though some extra features were not installed, advertised acessories did not work well with this computer.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of features

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, New York
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What I like about this laptop are the many features. Finally, I can sit on my outside porch in the evening and enjoy the computer with the backlight keyboard. I especially enjoy the touchscreen feature. My computer is new, so I am still learning and discovering.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hot Product!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hamilton, MT
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, the old Envy 3-D 17 finally died; overheated. HP was so nice to me that they replaced it with a 4th gen Envy 17t. Both notebooks ran hot in the upper left by the [Esc] key that I could not keep my hand there while playing Minecraft. I thought this new model would be really cool (pun and no pun intended)!!!Only time will tell if heat will be the culprit of another overheater or not. Other than that, it's really fast! Windows 8 is okay, I like 7 better. I will upgrade to 8.1 when It's released and see what happens. Hopefully HP has CoolSense drivers for 8.1. I haven't got the touchscreen to work yet, so, I will be calling in for support. Google is my friend, but, no love in this case. I expected high end gaming would tax the cooling capabilities. I didn't expect that to happen with Minecraft. Well, all-in-all, buy this system, you'll like it. And kudos to HP for the replacement, way to go!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 17t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very Disapointed

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product does have great features, if only you could actually use them. This is the worst experience I have ever had with an HP and I have bought several for myself and my family. I have always recommended HP to my friends. There seems to be a big issue with the WIFI driver on this one. My husband purchased this one for me at Best Buy, not that it matters. I have tried updating the drivers to no avail. Worked pretty well for a couple of weeks, then boom right back to the same slow response. Takes forever to just read an article or do anything on the internet for that matter. I have gone back to using my Paviillion. I will continue to check for updates for the Envy, sure would like to use it on a day to day basis, the way it operates now, I can not do that. Who knows maybe it's not the driver, I am just guessing might something more.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.