HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laptop & Mini PCs or
Choose a Category
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC

HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.279 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
66 out of 79(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Performs very well, but not quite perfect

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Envy 15t-j000 quad edition
• Windows 8 64
• 4th generation Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor
• NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M Graphics with 2048MB of dedicated video memory
• 15.6-inch diagonal Full HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1920x1080)
• 16GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 1TB 5400RPM Hybrid Hard Drive
• NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• No Additional Office Software
• Norton Internet Security™ - 15 Months
• 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
• No Internal DVD or CD Drive
• Backlit Keyboard
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam w/ integrated digital mic
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth®
I upgraded certain components quite a bit, but what HP gives you is a decent start for the price tag. After configuring up the memory (just cheap enough and didn’t wanna bother buying aftermarket memory), gfx card, HD, screen, backlit keyboard, and bluetooth (which is a silly option on a machine of this spec and age), it landed at about $1100, which is better than most of the competition I had checked out at the time.
As far as performance, the machine performs beautifully most of the time and my bottleneck is the hard drive, which was expected. There's no SSD option, although there is an option for an acceleration cache that's solid state, but the hybrid HD has 25GB of SSD space for speeding up, so it's practically the same thing but with 25GB less space. I didn't go for it mostly because the acceleration cache can't handle more than 8GB memory.
The display is fantastic - one of the best I've ever seen. Colors are crisp and the backlight can get pretty bright. The whole thing is a little whitewashed, but I think that can be adjusted for according to personal preference. Touch is a new addition, so it's very gimmicky right now - only really for fun and nothing functional. From what I've noticed, everything I do is faster using the touchpad. One activity that lends itself to touch is reading articles or books, and when needed, its responsive. The backlit keyboard is also nice - never had one before, but it’s a nice change and definitely helps in some situations. I found myself struggling to type on my old computer without a light though, so it did spoil me.
Even given the backlight, the keyboard is my least favorite part of this machine First off, it has a noticeable amount of flex in the center and is very telling of the lack of attention to quality in this one area. Its island style with chiclet keys and is responsive enough, but it can be a pain to get used to typing on it. I have small hands and I play guitar regularly, so they're deft, but I’m still having trouble adjusting to the size of the delete key. I've been trying to get used to using the numpad, but currently it is mostly wasted space for me - I have it set to some shortcuts. But, it's got another bigger delete key, so there's some solace. Another button that is incredibly tiny given my frequency of use is the CTRL key (or keys), which are both smaller than the alt keys. It makes no sense to me - the right one is an annoying challenge to hit without looking. I'm using autohotkey to bind the right ALT to another CTRL key for ease of use. The arrow keys are ridiculously done and incredibly frustrating to use (look at the keyboard layout to see what I mean). And if you use home, end, pgup or pgdown, it’s a nightmare - both to find and hit. The numlock button has no indicator (the wifi and mute buttons have LEDs embedded in them), which makes it significantly more frustrating to use the numpad because it's tricky to tell if you're going to be typing numbers or not.
The speakers sound great - best I've heard on a laptop. They definitely sound bigger than expected, and you can make it quite loud if you use the beats settings correctly. There's a woofer on the bottom and it definitely works as well as one can hope on a laptop of this size. The fingerprint reader is really convenient, BUT there's only ONE way to use it, HP Simplepass software, but its already not supported by the OEM, which is a bit ridiculous and this shows no chance of future updates to increase functionality. The reader is fast and could be very useful, but is limited by software. It's convenient in the limited places you can use it.
The dedicated GPU is alright - it performs most of the time, but I was underwhelmed by game graphics, although they were new high end games I was playing. As far as videos or any media, its flawless in performance. There's an occasional hang-up, but I think that's attributed to Windows 8 and the HD. It comes with 4 USB ports, and three of them is USB 3.0. The touchpad is nicely done and responsive as well, but it's tough to tell the right button from the left, but multi-touch clicking solves that for me. The case is well built aluminum that is very sturdy and doesn't shift at all. Battery life is better than expected, but I'm coming from a machine with a 1st gen quad core processor that worked like a steam engine and lasted 5 minutes. This thing can definitely last over 2 hours while using most or all of the functions.
Besides the new OS hiccups, there is practically no lags in day to day performance. I would definitely recommend this to anyone needing a well-designed machine for medium to heavy computing. I use Matlab, Photoshop, Visual Studio, Dreamweaver, Inventor (CAD) regularly without much trouble at all. And firefox as well, which is probably thanks to the 16GB.
I would caution you to take a look at the keyboard carefully, which can make for some frustrating times, and make sure it won't be a game changer. I’m getting used to it, but still resent HP for the design and plasticky feel. Definitely go for the HD display and the gfx card - they're worth it and make up for other losses. The CPU is very efficient and fast - no heating issues and generally no loss in performance. It could be better, but for the price, I've been very satisfied with the purchase.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good, but not perfect

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had spent forever looking for a laptop and finally deciding on this one after not even considering getting an HP. This laptop is quite amazing. Amazing speakers, screen, build quality is great too! I would recommend it. On thing that is driving me crazy is the track pad. I hate it! It always thinks I am right clicking and most of the time I just get frustrated using it... Good thing I have my Logitech mouse that I use when I am not around and about with the laptop. I wish the screen went back a little bit more. Every time I open it it seems like it should go back more.. I am scare one day it may break by me wanting it to go further back than I physically can. Overall though I love it. Not 100% sure if HP will be my next laptop choice though. I think if they fixed the stupid trackpad it would be 100% perfect laptop for me.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Laptop

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I loaded this machine before I bought it (e.g., 16G memory and the 2.8GHz Haswell I7 processor). It is an absolutely outstanding laptop . I use it heavily and it performs beyond all expectations - and my expectations were very high.
The device is sleek, rugged and beautiful. The quality of the display, touch screen, touch pad, and keyboard are excellent. It is the perfect laptop for high-end users.
I did replace the 1T hard drive with a 1/2 T Samsung SSD for performance. Unfortunately, HP didn't offer this option, so I had to purchase it separately (about $340). Imaging the hard drive was trivial with the Samsung software. The result was performance that is out-of-this-world. Total boot time is now 10 seconds. Applications launch instantly. For example, I can launch Word with a 250-page Word document in less than a second - fully ready to go.
Need a high-end laptop? This is the best you can do.
Of course, it comes with Windows 8. Ugh - guess you can't have everything ... but you can live with the classic desktop. For high-end users, Win 8 is an insult.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not near your expectations

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:arlington, TX
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought the full HD version of the laptop about a month ago. I was really exited about 9 hour battery life. There is no way that you can use this laptop for 9 hours on battery. HP really should stop telling these things to people. my best result was 5 hours on the lowest brightness and just surfing the net.
few days ago the mouse cursor started to jump to one specific point on the screen. I called the customer service and they fixed it by updating the drivers...
The build of this laptop is not the best either. keyboard does not stand firmly when you are typing, and also the back cover is really weak. you don't want to accidentally put something on top of your laptop.
In the end, I expected more when I first read specs of this laptop.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good performance but disappointed

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this system and immediately put a Samsung SSD in it and quickly found out I wasted money because HP has made the factory supplied software not install if you switch out the hard drive. HP did not give the option to build it with a SSD either. I paid for the laptop and the software that came with it and found out the I could not use the software that came with it becuase I replaced the SSD. Don't get me wrong the laptop is solid! I get 4 second boot times with the SSD i installed but I also had to provide my own version of Windows 8 to be able to use it. Unless this policy changes I will never buy a HP computer again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, So Great!

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Win 8 has its plusses and minuses, but this computer is tops. Very fast and both the keyboard and display have been very good. I like the backlight feature, and the hybrid hard drive is lightning fast. Don't understand some of the comments I've read and was very concerned about the keyboard because of them. So far, no issues. I loaded a start button to make Win 8 act more like 7 in the standard screen. Wife likes the touch screen for some activities in portable mode. Don't know about battery life yet, but certainly good enough for an hour or two on the sofa at night.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great laptop if you never, ever take it anywhere

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:US
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought one of these directly from HP. It was fabulous for 2 weeks until I took it on the road. After one (1) trip in my highly padded Swiss Army backpack, which I have lugged other brand laptops around in for years without incident, the HP Envy 15 had a large discolored pressure spot in the center of the screen. The screen was ruined. The spot grew bigger after I flew home. That's when I realized how flimsy the top plastic cover is, and nothing would change that unless HP replaces the flimsy plastic with titanium, aluminum, or anything. Paper mache would be better. Fortunately I was within the 21 days and was able to return it.
I remember when HP/Compaq took pride in their engineering. Imagine a beautiful high powered laptop that you can't actually take anywhere, that's the HP Envy 15 Touchsmart.
So, basically, if you want to buy this laptop and keep on a desk at home (and never ever take it anywhere) then it's a great machine. If you travel at all buy something else.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sofia, Bulgaria
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
This product has great features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this unless you're a computer nerd

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rohnert Park, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This computer is counter intuitive, does not come with a user's manual or any useful information on how to make it work. It assumes the user has enormous computer skills. It is not for an average user. The videos that HP and Microsoft include as instructional videos are smug and not helpful. Microsoft 8 pushes you into IE and makes it almost impossible to use other browsers. (I prefer Chrome but it took me a week to get Chrome as my default browser.) I have bought HP products for over 20 years, this is my first disappointment, but it's a big one.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the versatility

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Installed windows8 Pro, Really feels like I got a laptop and a tablet all in one. Upgraded the Ram and Processor and runs great. Wanted to upgrade the Hard Drive but not enough in the budget. Only slight negative is it takes a little long to boot up, otherwise, speed is not an issue at any other point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Powerhouse of A Laptop

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Swarthmore, PA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price, this the best laptop out there. Forget about Macbooks, I could get 2 and a half of these guys for what it would take to buy a MBP with similar specs. I got mine from the Microsoft Store, so free Office for Students and no bloatware. A godsend.
Build and Design:
This laptop is extraordinarily well crafted. The metal construction (and yes, for the touchsmart model both the body and lid are metal) makes it feel truly premium. It's a bit hefty, but if you're looking for something to cradle on the lap I'm not sure you want this one. I'm going to get a Surface to use alongside this, because at 15' it's not going to be a couch surfer. Ports are terrific, four USB 3.0 (one charging), ethernet, HDMI, SD slot, combo mic/headphone. Everything you could ever ask for from a laptop. The keyboard has a tiny bit of flex. I'm typing this review on it now, and it doesn't bother me a lot. I can certainly notice it, but if I type fast enough, it doesn't bother me. It might be a sticking point for you. Touchpad works flawlessly. Function keys are really useful for turning on backlight or adjusting volume. There's an option to reverse the function keys (so pressing F1 actually is pressing F1 instead of bringing up help) in BIOS, if you're so inclined.
Screen: A pretty good screen. Some custom screen settings (right click on desktop, Intel Graphics Properties>Display>Color (it's a tab in the middle)) and the screen looks gorgeous. It was a bit washed out when I got it, but I adjusted the gamma and contrast, and now it looks amazing. If you need the intense color accuracy, chances are you know what you're doing and dont' need to be reading my review. The touch is a nice feature. I use it sometimes, but it doesn't make this laptop. 1920x1080 is brilliant. Get it if you can; it's the one best upgrade to a screen you can get. Screw the people complaining about the gamut or whatever. It's a good panel.
Performance: Blazing. Never slowed down or stuttered on anything. Vegas Pro renders, Starcraft 2, Battlefield, Kerbal Space Program, this computer just took everything I threw at it and chewed it up. Granted, it's only a 740m, so it took a tiny bit longer to chew than something with a little bit more power, but I think this laptop will be more than enough.
OS: Ahh, Windows 8. I must admit, the learning curve is a bit steep. I got it back when it was a Preview, and I struggled for a few weeks. I've grown to like it, though. Microsoft, for all the flak they get, have done a whole lot of improvements over Windows 7. It's much faster, boot times are WAY less, and the whole thing feels a bit more refined. It looks a bit childish, but I installed Windows 8.1, and DANG. That is what Windows 8 should have been, and wow does it look good. The start screen is growing on me; I think it looks pretty. Lock screen looks good too; just choose a wallpaper you like. It's not different than the lock screen on your phone. No issues with games or program compatibility.
Audio: Say what you will about Beats. This laptop sounds good. The speakers are loud, and the music sounds rich. Classical, rock, pop; everything comes alive.
Battery: Eh, it could be better. 4 hours on a good day. Didn't expect much more. I can take it and work for a day (I'm a college student), since I'm not leaving it on all the time. Again, if you need something ultra portable, I dont' think this is for you.
Wrap Up: I bought this laptop because I needed something powerful to run Photoshop and Vegas and the occasional game. It works beautifully for that. I love this laptop, and it's going to stay with me for a while. It's a media hub; it outperforms and outclasses any Apple product. It's not super portable; I planned to get a tablet as well for more mobile operations. But as a desk laptop, it's the best thing ever. A true powerhouse.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

laptop was defective out of the box

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Naples, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
I can't evaluate the computer because the touchscreen did not work. Your tech support told me to send it back. The return specialist more than made up for my frustration and waiting by giving me extras on the replacement laptop.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded Expectations

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There are many wonderful things to say about this pc. Excellently constructed and beautiful to look at, this computer is a beast. As a college gamer I demand a lot from my computer and this delivers in spades. The high definition display is gorgeous and Windows 8 is infinitely easier to maneuver with the touch screen which is both accurate and very responsive.
I cannot explain how amazing the performance is on this computer. Most high-end games run wonderfully thanks to the Nvidia GTX 740M. (Though I would recommend gaming with a mouse, as the track pad may be unresponsive or stubborn while holding certain keys)
One problem I have with this computer is that the wireless card isn't all that great. I found myself waiting for certain videos to load off the internet and because of that, I could not fully capitalize on the truly beautiful display.
The other problem I have with the computer is the glare. While watching scary movies in my room during the day with the shades slightly opened, I could see my full face reflected. When watching my brother use the computer, I found that proper viewing angles were also hard to achieve. These problems though, can be remedied by finding the best angle to tilt the screen.
Which brings me to the final issue. The angle at which the screen can open is not so great. Fully extended, the computer can probably open to about a 110-120 degree angle. Though this is not a problem for myself, it may be slightly annoying to those who previously owned an ultrabook.
These problems are only addressed though as nit picking as the computer has much more to offer than what it does not. And after typing this review on this computer I cannot stress enough how great this pc truly is. I am beyond satisfied and cannot wait for this computer to accompany me through undergraduate and graduate school.
(Note: The Beats audio may pose as an initial disappointment at first, but after properly wearing them in for a couple hours they sound crisp, clear, and phenomenal)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT!!!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:FL
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is just an amazing companion to my Phd life. I need to run more than two programming softwares at the same time, and this laptop just gives me wonderful result without delay. Thanks to HP!
Well also, the sales and online technique support are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Laptop I've Ever Had

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cary, NC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I sold my 2012 15" MacBook Pro to buy this, and I have absolutely no regrets. This machine is just stunning in both appearance and performance. I upgraded to 16gb of ram, a 1080p monitor, the NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M graphics card with 2gb of video ram, 4th generation Intel Core i7-4900MQ Processor, and 1TB 5400RPM Hybrid Hard Drive. The upgrades were definitely worth their cost. I am almost tempted to tie this thing to my desk because it's so fast that I feel like it wants to fly. When I open a program, it's just instantaneous. No hiccups, no spinning beach balls. I am back to Windows and HP to stay. I love this machine!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laptop overall is great. It only has a few problems. One is the keyboard feels like its floating and not seated to the bottom of the laptop. The second is the wireless N portion of the card is no detecting my routers. It does find the wireless G signal and works just fine though. These are minor issues to me, and I would recommend this laptop to any type of user.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good value, top quality

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop for my wife for her graduate work. She is in statistics and needed a portable machine that was also a number crunching beast. Tough order to fill especially for a budget. I must say the Envy came through.
My wife kills computers. Really puts the hardware through it's paces. She can have a stats program running, 10k browser windows open, word, excel, etc all at the same time so I loaded the computer up with memory and the hybrid hard drive as well as the higher resolution touch screen. Five minutes after she had the machine up and running she had managed to kill our 40mbps router. The Envy just took it in stride and kept on chugging. No slowdown whatsoever. I was impressed.
The build quality is top notch with strong screen hinges and an almost metal feel to the case. The laptop looks very thin in the front and expands a bit to the back. Fits easily in the sleeve we bought and wife's backpack. The higher resolution touch screen is a nice glossy glass with no flex in it and works extremely well with Windows 8. I highly recommend the upgrade. The hybrid drive starts the computer up instantly when in sleep mode and in a few seconds with a reboot.
The kids like to use our computers and with my wife's reputation for computer abuse battery life was important. So far the Envy has lasted about 22 hours of abuse, sleep mode, some Netflix, sleep, more abuse, etc. When she really gets into her work a fully charged battery will last about four hours which I consider really good for what is a desktop replacement.
Overall very happy with the purchase. Windows 8 works, lots of compute power, lots of portability. Very good value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good computer but not exactly what I wanted

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The two things I am disappointed in are the monitor and the fingerprint reader.
My problems with the monitor may simply be because I wasn't able to find a computer company that made a 17.3" touchscreen laptop, and my eyes are not as young as they once were.
Regarding the finger-print reader, I usually have to swipe my finger 3 - 5 times (and then wait for it to reset) to get it to accurately read my fingerprint. I've given up and just enter my password now.
Knowing the above, if I needed to buy an additional laptop today it would likely be this one. I do hope my next laptop will be a 17.3" touchscreen. I hope someone produces one before I need to replace this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP Envy 15t-j000 ROCKS

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My HP Envy 15t-j000 rocks with a 4th gen Core i7 processor, 8GB RAM, touchscreen, NVIDIA graphics card, Beats Audio, and more! This laptop has great features and, so far, works flawlessly. I'm very happy with the purchase. The claimed 9+ hour battery life is still questionable, though. Still, I would recommend this laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY TouchSmart 15t-j000 Quad Edition Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice laptop I would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.