HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook

HP ENVY Sleekbook 6z-1100
Overall rating:
3.969 / 5
4
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
5
53 out of 65(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Review 1 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Something people should know when buying

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First, I would like to say that this product is excellent in it's own way. It has a nice slim look to it. It has the cool touch technology that protects you from over cooking your legs, and it can play practically any game out there. My specs were only the back light key board and the A10 processor. But why the 1 star?
On my first day of receiving this product, It was running smoothly. But by the second day I found out that my HDD had an abnormal amount of fragmented files (about 45%). After I have fix the fragmented files, I have noticed my processor was running a bit slow. On the 3rd day when I was writing a paper, i received the blue screen of death. I think it had to do with the amd processer (I have never used one before). I got my product switched out for a 4t-sleek book instead.
... The AMD processor fails...
For my 4t-1000 I have got mostly the exact specs for the 6t-1000 ( 500g HDD, 32G SSD, 4G ram, I5 3rd gen+ intel 4000 HD graphics, backlight keyboard), but there is only little thing that people forget. the 4t-1000 is generally about a pound lighter then the 6T-1000. Insead of a 15.3 in, the 4t-1000 has a smaller 14in screen. Which means not only is it lighter and smaller, it also has a better resolution.
End note: i would highly recommend the extra 100 dollars for the 4t or the 6t. The HD 4000 is more then enough to play any major game out there (LoL, WoW, StarCraft, Diablo, MW3, (BF3... at low settings)). The AMD good but not great... trinity<IvyBridge.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great laptop. battery life could be better.

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a wonderful laptop and I would recommend to anyone but be aware that you don't get 9 hours or even 6 hours of battery life. It runs for about 3 hours on full charged battery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent bang for your buck

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Surprise, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop packs tons of power into a tight, durable box! With options like a quad core processor and up to 8GB of RAM, this is an excellent buy. Be warned, if you max out the processor like I did, you will NOT get 9.5 hours battery life (my experience is closer to 4-6 hours) but this is still exceptional considering the screen size and power under the hood. The lack of a built-in optical drive can be a bit limiting, so I recommend you buy an external USB 3.0 BluRay drive with it, and the hard drive maxes out at 500 GB, which after I loaded all my software left me with 370 GB free space (this is a 7mm thick SATA drive, but there should be 1TB drives out in this form factor within the year) Also, you can stuff 16GB RAM in it if you really crave the overhead, but 8GB has worked well for me thus far.
All in all, a great product, and you can't beat the price. I use it for CAD/CAE, and the ATI graphics lag a bit in SolidEdge under full rendering, but it still performs nicely considering it's a laptop and not a 8 core workstation with 32GB RAM.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This laptop is FANTASTIC

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a gift from my father on my 26th birthday, and it makes my 3rd HP laptop, my fourth HP ever. As usual, it does not disappoint, and I am VERY impressed by both the durability and with windows 8. Very satisfied, and I am recommending this PC to everyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor design

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:england
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this computer mainly for school work and note taking and perhaps the odd game.
i have had it 6 months and it has fallen apart. the left hinge has become completely unseated and the screen bezel is coming off at the front and now starting to come off at the back. On numerous occasions i have found screws have fallen out of the bottom and had to find them and put them back in. i took it in to a computer repair shop and the guy said he has fixed 8 of these laptops with the exact same problem.
i was even told if it cant be fixed then it may require an entirely new chassis for it, which is expensive.
Don't let the sleek looks fool you it may have good performance and 6 GB ram but it will inevitably fall apart i know im not the only one.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good for a while, but it fell apart.

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sudbury ON
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Now im not sure if this was just my laptop, but I'm warning you all now.
I take great care of all of my electronics, all of my phones, laptops, game consoles, even my desktop I maintain as much as possible to ensure I get the most out of it. I'm really dissapointed with HP and how this built this laptop.
This thing fell apart. It worked fine and functioned fine for 8 months, then the casing began to fall apart on it. The Top casing and hinges on my laptop are ruined, and need to be prepared. After closer inspection of the laptop I found it it held together by 2 screws and glue. No clips, just glue and 2 small tiny screws that barley reach the back plate.
Great laptop really, it'll do about anything you want but from my experience, it will fall apart.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Combination red and black is cool!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Windows 8 makes me want to throw the computer

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The computer is truly amazing, kudos to HP. However, Windows 8 makes me want to throw the computer against a wall. The OS tries to mirror MAC OSx so hard that it takes everything the microsoft had right with Windows 7 and destroyed it. You will be forced to link, or create, a separate Windows email to use certain features. For example, I was forced to merge my Skype and Windows account in order to use skype. Now that I have unlinked my windows account I cannot use skype. If you do not need a new computer dont buy one unless it has windows 7, or have no preexisting windows accounts. It has really made me consider returning this computer and looking for a Windows 7 laptop.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, cheap, and feature packed!

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Des Moines, ia
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for a cheap, day to day laptop. I don't do serious online gaming, or massive amounts of downloading but wanted something that would do the trick. This laptop is it. It is small, light, keeps a good charge, and does EXACTLY what I want it to. Price point was fantastic for the already feature packed package. Only change I made was the extra $20 for a backlit keyboard...definitely worth it. Love and would suggest to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I Love it! but..

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, Or
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ive had a Pavillion Dv6626us for around 6+ years. It had the core-duo 1.5 intel processor, integrated graphics and 2gbs of ram (upgraded from the 1gb it came with) so this laptop is a HUGE upgrade and i LOVE it. Its thin, its light and it performs great. My only complaint is that is comes with Windows 8 and no other option. I do NOT want to use Windows 8 and im finding it hard to put windows 7 on it, not to mention it voids the warranty by downgrading the Op Sys! Unreasonable to force people into Windows 8. I realize it was my decision to purchase the laptop knowing it had only option but i wanted to stay loyal to HP but found the only Sleekbooks offering Windows 7 were pre-built laptops. Also, i wanted a backlit keyboard, and they only offer backlit on pre-built 14in laptops. Not the 15.6. I had to wait about a month before getting my laptop. The housing around my keyboard (the bars that are in between the keys) is either not snapped in or tightened down around the ASDF portion. Its solid every where else but in that area its raised just a little and has room to push down then flexs up a little. I love the backlit keyboard, i gues it was worth waiting a few extra weeks for that. If i could successfully get Windows 7 on this i would be much happier
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bezel/screen breaking

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this product for simple note taking and use for college in August/September. Its now January and the bezel is separating from the outer casing and threatening to break/expose the LCD screen. The software is perfectly fine, but my issue lies in the fact that I have treated the product with utmost care and the product is breaking on me. Its never been dropped or roughly handled and yet I have a hinge breaking on me and the bezel peeling off.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Laptop was everything I expected and more!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really love this laptop. It has a lot of great functions as well as being a fantastic value. I have owned different brands (Sony and Dell), and HP measure up just as well but at a much better price. The physical appearance is awesome and I really like the Beats sound. I will purchase additional laptops from HP in the future!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great laptop, but some let downs

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The laptop is mostly amazing. I customized mine to an extent with a better processor, and it makes my old desktop computer seem like a turtle. The build quality is impressive and everything is tight and proper unlike many of my past Toshiba's and Asus'.
However with every rose, comes its thorns. The coating used for the soft touch material on the bottom will begin to wear/peel off and at a very quick rate. Also the fan placement all but requires the laptop be on a hard surface or cooling mat as otherwise it will rapidly overheat. Those are my only complaints with the hardware however I have had some software issues.
Windows 8 is continually crashing with factory settings and the computer is un-useable hours at a time while it either resets, refreshes, or recovers itself. Thanks to this I have lost some videos, photos and documents due to the random crash and automatic recovery process. This is no fault of HP's but is something that needs to be fixed as it is the user interface and without which the computer has no purpose. All throughout this process however, support has been able to get the laptop back running and to mask the problem until an update is released.
Overall I would recommend the product over any other portable laptop that runs on Windows 8. However I would not recommend a purchase until the issues with Windows 8 are fixed. Otherwise pursue other routes..
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Price was great

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Greencastle, PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this computer and the price and discount I got were very reasonable. The laptop is exactly like they explained and more. The weight is light and battery life is between 6-7 hours and that's heavy computing and streaming videos. Must have windows 8 and the backlight great features and the beats auto is great especially when using head phones sounds like your in a theater. The key pad is easy on the touch and the new type of touch pad is really great but it took me a day to get use to it but I love it now. If looking for a great price on a laptop and easy to use and the battery life is my favorite part. All by the way it stays very cool on lap when using it for several hours.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Speed but one defect

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NY
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has a great set of speakers and the keyboard is very good as well. The screen quality is decent and average. I love the finish but it is prone to finger prints, but I can deal with that. The only problem is after 3 days of using it, there seems to be cracking in the left hinge EVERY single time I move it. I have not dropped it or anything. Also, wires are coming out from underneath the hinge. The hinge does not seem to have the best support and seems VERY loose. Other than that it is a good computer. I just think a broken hinge will cost alot of money to repair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its very light, doesnt heat up quickly and very fast. I reccomend studying the new features that come with Windows 8 because it is very different from previous versions. The webcam lags and isnt as great but overall I reccomend the sleekbook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very impressed

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice computer, it took some time to learn some of the windows 8 quirks. I wasn't used to the apps and the download time for initial set up. I am still trying to get some of the office programs that I had previously purchased installed. I also purchased the windows 8 training "DVD" which turned out to be a DVD case with an internet sight and code to go online to do the training. This is a waste of packaging material and the training was way too basic for me. I wouldn't recommmed using it unless you have never run a computer before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't work on Christmas Morning

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Stockbridge, GA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seems a nice machine, but OS wouldn't start on Christmas morning (this was a gift from Santa). I reloaded the OS from the recovery partition (which takes a LONG time), and it seems happy now and all is ok, but really, it should work out of the box.
I had checked that it booted and you got the "initial setup" screens, but wanted new owner to be able to fill in their own info.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faulty Design/Easily Breaks

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hinge on the laptop cracked after 1 month of regular use without any drops, which caused the screen to split open. I did nothing out of the ordinary to cause this. The hinges are angled in such a way to make the screen not sturdy and the plastic hinges can't support the size of the screen. Buyer beware: not a laptop that will last.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 6z-1100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

its fast

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:the pod
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only drawback is basically that it has a 15.6in screen/chasis, otherwise its low enough heat/power draw to easily fit in an 11.2-13.3, and it obviously dominates, as you have to pay more money to get an i3 with hd 2500 or w.e. when hd4k doesn't even try to compete with 7620, creating a dvd i.e. converting mp4>vob for a dl dvd with dvdstyler running on 4 threads, steam is running, steam chat, another chat, email client, fb, poweriso with a dvd iso watching that dvd iso, no slow downs nothing barely affecting the framerate of the transcode. games good too
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.