HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook

HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating:
4.253 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
64 out of 75(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Review 1 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Have

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cyberjaya
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's not a gaming machine but it excels at everything else. This laptop looks great and has all the features I need. HP has great products at good prices. Thanks HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Crashed after One Year

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indiana
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My hard drive crashed two weeks after the 1-year warranty expired. I was out another $220 after paying over $800 for the laptop. Be warned!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice product

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works as expected and am loving windows 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ultrabook

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was looking for a lightweight laptop for personal and traveling purposes with the power/speed of a desktop PC and the Envy 6t did not disappoint. Since I upgraded the CPU to the Core-i7 and increased the memory to 8GB, it's both fast and light while being extremely stylish (natural silver), even next to my wife's MacBook Air.
I was initially worried about the performance of the 500GB 5400 rpm hard drive paired with the 32GB mSSD acceleration cache versus a true SSD hard drive (which i use on my PC) or even a 7200rpm hard drive (which i use as backup drives). But after a few hours of use, my worries were put to rest as it's quite fast for normal every day use.
Was also a bit hesitant about running Windows 8, but the only real difference between it and Windows 7 is the Start Menu. The Start Menu appears to be created for tablet users while i prefer just the normal desktop screen, which you can access by hitting your Windows key.
Be aware that since this is an Ultrabook, there is no internal CD/DVD/BD drive. If you require one like i do, just buy a slim external one and throw it in your laptop bag until you need to use it.
The upgrade i'd recommend the most (especially for the nocturnal types) is the backlit keyboard - as i like to type with the TV on and the lights off.
Overall, i'm very happy with my purchase of this Ultrabook, which meets my speed and weight demands while looking pretty cool too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An amzaing ultrabook

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first time owning an ultrabook and I am in love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great computer

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Scottsale, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The computer is light, extremely fast, user friendly and much more than I expected. I would recommend this computer for business, as well as personal use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs more performance

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It a good laptop but it need the reso 1080x
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seymour, IL
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
(I've only had my laptop for 6 days) Despite what people say about it I think its really great. & I got it almost completely based on reviews. Windows 8 is quite confusing but I've never used it before so I just have to get used to it. As far as everything thing else goes its a really great laptop. The right & left click on the pad, are hard to push but I haven't had it for that long & I'm quite sure they will get easier to push the more I use it. I got the backlit keyboard which is awesome! There is a key right on the keyboard to turn the lights off which makes it even more awesome so when I don't need them on, it doesn't run down the battery. Overall I would say everything about it is perfect for a laptop. & The webcam is really good too. I give it a 4 1/2 out of 5. ^_^ Some people who say its crashed & all that stuff might have just gotten a defective laptop. I don't think its such good idea to listen to what every single person said in their review. You don't know how they used it, their point of view is entirely different from yours & everyone else's. I'm very picky when it comes to anything so I would SERIOUSLY recommend the laptop to anyone. I'm really not just saying that I mean it. It is a really good laptop & I will be using it for a long time. I hope this helped you =D <3
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One of the best.

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Grants Pass, OR
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with this HP Envy Ultrabook. The price for value is typical HP business which I consider excellent. Battery life for this book is very good and the display is excellent. Many people complain about the resolution but I find it is great for most things. If you plan on using it for multimedia, mainly video, maybe you should consider the HP Spectre. For everyday use and business purposes the book is more than adequate. I use it primarily for management duties and web dev and it works very well. I will agree that it does have some keyboard flex but it can be adapted to. The durability is a wait to see situation. The touchpad I also have no problems with. I primarily use a mouse but the pad seems responsive and easy to control. I do wish the case was a little thicker like the Powerbooks. I would tolerate the weight. Overall, another HP winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this laptop in November and I love it! I does exactly what I want and more. I love the programs that it came with it. I fully customized my computer and put the i7-core processor in it and 8GB of memory and have the 500GB hard drive that is standard, It has plenty of power under the hood for when I need it. And I love windows 8! its very productive and very fast, I even installed it on my 7 year old desktop and it runs almost as fast as my laptop. Very impressed with my HP product. I have to say the only con about this is the battery life, It is not what I expected, but I am able to manage getting a whole day out of the battery. Very impressed and love it to death, it is also the best looking laptop out there! You won't regret your decision if you purchase this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelent performance

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good price for performance, well balanced resources, seems to be solid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product has great features.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houghton, MI
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is aesthetically pleasing: it has a brushed metal finish. This laptop is extremely lightweight (3-4 lbs.) and qualifies as an ultrabook, despite being on the heavier end. The laptop I customized came with Intel WiDi, a backlit keyboard, and Beats Audio. If you need a laptop for work or school, I recommend getting this laptop. However, if you need a large screen or built-in DVD drive, then I'd consider looking for another laptop, as the new ultrabooks are more focused on battery life--opting for the 15" screen and no optical drives. But nonetheless, this ultrabook is fantastic and has great features. The one feature that you may want to research is the Intel WiDi, as it will take some time to get used to if you have never used it before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it does exactly what I want

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this computer I strong and fast, I love that I don't have to wait for it to boot, its pretty much ready to go as soon as you hit the power button. I recommend this computer any day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked Better Second Time Around

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I first customized and purchased my Envy and it had a host of problems. It would freeze all the time and constantly have errors. If I shut the lid to put it to sleep, when I opened it back up it would tell me I shut it down incorrectly. Also, the internet would not work over half the time. My last computer was a custom built direct from HP and never had these kind of problems. After finally convincing the HP rep that this was not a "configuration" problem (I've had computers since the Tandy and know how they work--but I think rep assumed since I said I was a grad student that I didn't know what I was doing), they rebuilt it for me and the new computer works just as it should. It is super fast, internet is up and running immediately upon opening laptop or turning it on. Second time around was a charm but that first one was a total lemon. HP was very courteous in taking care of the problem just so long as you can assure them the problems aren't you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my pick of the year

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Westfield, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm sure you've all heard the expression - so far, so good. I've now changed that to - SO FAR, SO GREAT at least insofar as my new Envy i5 is concerned. The very best computer I've ever owned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Ultrabook from HP

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cary, NC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My family has owned several HP products (Touchpads, Laptops, and Desktops) over the last few years. In general, they have delivered a nice value proposition. This latest example from HP seems to be no different.
Pros:
--Attractive Design
--Fast
--Strong Value
Cons:
--Touch pad could be improved
--Keyboard flex
While the keyboard flex is a bit annoying, it does not hinder typing at all and if you're not looking at it you don't notice it.......so pretty much a non issue. I have noticed a few gripes about fingerprint smudges in other reviews. The half solution to that is to go with the natural silver option. I say half solution only because the outer lid is still the black aluminum that unfortunately does show fingerprint smudges. All in all though, these are minor issues for an otherwise solid entry into the ultrabook arena.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy customer

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orlando, FL
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice looking device and actually somewhat bigger than i thought it would be (not a bad thing) completely silence, runs smoothly and performance wise i cannot complaint. My only con would be that 5-6hrs of life for me seems kinda short, powerpoint is not included and the fan are located somewhat in a difficult spot were average coolers are design for, other than that great purchase.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has everything I need!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose,CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the speed and back lite keyboard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two is better.....!

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mesa, Az
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I both purchased both the HP ENVY Sleekbook 6z-1000 and the HP ENVY Ultrabook 6t-1000 laptops. The Sleekbook 6z-1000 has the AMD Dual-Core A6-4455M Processor, backlit keyboard with the Midnight Black/Red soft touch bottom. The Ultrabook 6T-1000 has the Intel Core i5-3317U Processor(1.7 GHz), backlit keyboard with the natural silver/black soft touch bottom. Both shadings of color are impressive, especially with the computer thin body. Their both very attractive laptops and the lower profile screens make them attractive compared to our previous laptops. Our use for the laptops is for home use after work, internet and occasional pics or short videos. Both laptops behave the same, boot up the same and whiz around the internet at fast enough speed for us. I occasionally use photo-shop which is why I went with the Intel processor for mine. Agree with other posters, the black finish around the keyboard shows the finger prints as opposed to the silver finish, but I’m not knocking the computer for it. The keyboard is rubbery and has a good feel when typing and simply love the back lite option. What a difference. A must. The 1366x768 resolution could be better when cropping or magnifying pics. A lot of the problem is with these wide screen LCD’s as they show the square like pics with much of the sides of screen used. I am moving into a 15.6” from a hefty 17” HP laptop that weights a ton, comparatively. No issues and love the light weight laptop very thin design. Having no DVD/CD drive is something to get used to with these ultrabooks. Some of the CD’s and DVD’s can have an image transferred, but one must depend on downloads for most programs downloaded, unless you get an external drive. I held out during the purchase, but I would recommend an external drive/burner during purchase ($49). I spent 6+ hours downloading and so forth on the laptops after a full charge and they still had some 20% of battery life left. Pretty good. I purchased the one System Recovery DVD option (2 DVD’s), but have found out one could create a boot-up recovery disc yourself. Your call. One impressive thing about the software are the internal diagnostics accessed during the reboot. I’ve tried Dell’s diagnostics on a recent laptop for a friend, but HP’s is much much better. Recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 6t-1200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Evansville, IN
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had it for about a week and real only complaint that I have this the keyboard. I went with the back lit version and it just feels a little flimsy, especially the space bar. The touchpad is great and responsive, only complaint there is when you use two fingers to right click you have to push on the pad, not just tap it. Screen looks really good and performance is right where I expected it to be. Get about 4 hours of heavy use out of the battery, and about 6 normal use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.