HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC

HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.609 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent computer for the family

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Heart of the USA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windows 8 and family monitoring features makes this particular computer an excellent family machine. You can make individual accounts for each child and monitor how many hours/limit hours of use, see web pages visited, apps used. Also the picture login is very fun for the kids and is actually a very secure method for locking the computer.
The touch screen is very responsive and good with multiple point inputs. The onscreen keyboard is very good too, though I wish MS would alter the layout a little more considering how much screen real estate there is. If you sit in front of the computer and use the touch features, I can't imagine using a 23 inch screen. You would end up darting your head back and forth trying to touch everything. 20 inch screen feels like the limit for using touch most of the time. I typically use touch now 75% of the time and use the on screen keyboard for typing web addresses, short emails, etc.
The wireless keyboard is nice and fits neatly under the screen. The auto sleep feature is excellent. The mouse is ok; it has one of those finishes that are ultra glossy, which will get scratched easily.
The screen is excellent, but if you are used to a nexus 4 or iphone, the screen will look pixelated since it does not have the pixel density of those screens. However, at about 2 feet away, it does look very nice.
The unit is easily upgradeable to 16GB ram (sodimm ddr3 1600, 11-11-11) and you can also put in a 256gb msata ssd into the msata port later on! This way, you can keep your spinning hard drive for data and put the os and programs on the ssd.
Very excellent experience so far. The boot time is very fast and resume from suspend is just a couple seconds!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

even a senior citizen can do it.....

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:boondocks california
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so I don't have to be 8 - 12 years old to work my computer; tech support has been fantastically supportive and helped me immensly, although I seem to be mentally impaired; computer is so smart it does everything all by itself, as if it knows what I am thinking and what I need; the online manual is not written for windows 8, so it is difficult to follow, but you guys added a windows 7 button, which has been majorly helpful in navigating. manual could have much more info regarding the operations, the buttons, etc.... In the last 30 years i have had to learn how to set up networks and various machines, and codes and symbols etc....but none of that knowledge is useful anymore... I am still learning how to use the touchscreen and how to use windows 8, and i have yet to upgrade the office program to the 2013 version, or install the internet mccaffee software because my satellite internet cannot handle downloads online, so I have not been able to explore or discover much, just trying to establish wireless connections and printer connections which is difficult, as the photosmart printer manual speaks windows 7, and the computer speaks windows 8... and laptop speaks xp. but the wireless mouse and keyboard automatically worked... I wish i knew if they used bluetooth or wifi, no where does it tell me. .... I don't know if printer uses wifi or bluetooth, maybe i could figure things out, if things were better explained..... Tech support had to give me links, and finallyt told me where things were on the computer -- nowhere in the manual download did it explain which ports where for what, etc. You should provide a good written manual book, that explains everything explicity, written the programs provided: i.e. how to use the computer with windows 8 and/or office 13. You should include a specification sheet of what is what on the computer (diagrams) and a 1-2-3 step by step written in words not pictures, of how to set up and in what order (I am not 8 - 12 years old, so it does not come naturally). If you made things easier for the senior citizens (who can afford your equipment) perhaps, you would increase your sales... I am certain you could afford to provide complete manuals, specifications, diagrams, and pictures (gateway did....).. If you want,I can write you one, after I get everything set up here.... touchscreen is beautiful and my eyes feel more rested and comfortable after use; mouse and keyboard are fast and light to touch, which makes my laptop feel like cement.... all in all excellent machine, once i get over the operator malfunctions
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So impressed!

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Depoe Bay, OR
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is the perfect combination between functionality and fun, I really love the combination of Touch Screen all in One and Windows 8. I was really afraid of Windows 8 after all the review, but with the Touch Screen it is all you could dream of. It took about 2 days to set up everything, making my short cuts the way i wanted and Pinning program short cuts to the Tool bar. I have moved my music or and the sound is fantastic! I still need to move my pictures and load the rest of my programs. I am so impressed, I ordered another one for my daughter have recommended it to friends. I love to touch on the screen, and have the keyboard appear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is amazing! It was easy to set up. Windows 8 just took some time on getting used to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's OK.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York , NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1.Keyboard has no "caps on" light - impossible to see - very bad design.
2.No turn off keyboard to save batteries (like on the mouse).
3. at least 1 port should be on the front panel.
4. Turn off/on button should be on front and visible - it's invisible now -one has to stand up to see and touch - please, kill the designer.
5. system recovery disks must be included in the package. Until you install disk for recovery creation you don't know what type of DVD one needs - bad design.
6. Norton security should be easy to remove - one click.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not great, not bad, just right

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would like an expansion bay so I could slip in my old hard drive. Also I would like Windows on a solid state drive.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

quick, quiet very cool!!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:philadelphia
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I love my new HP. just wish It came with instructions for both the touch features and windows 8.
The machine it self is sleek, easy to set up and very cool. video uploads are great, no more buffering and starting and stopping, (my old hp was really old so it really was time for an upgrade)
it recognized my hp printer somehow by magic, I didn't have click on printers and add drivers, nothing, it just knew!!!
So far the experience is great, I'm sure this hp product will last as long my last.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellet Value

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This computer came well packaged and was a snap to set up. The monitor has very nice resolution and boots up very quickly. The build quality seems very good and the keyboard and mouse come ready to go out of the box. The touchscreen is a great feature, particularly with Windows 8. It takes a bit of getting used to, but Windows 8 is a neat operating system and allows for easy access to photos, apps and social networking features. Overall, quite pleased with the product and happy I chose HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The build quality on this computer is excellent and it was a snap to set up. Within 3 minutes, had the computer plugged in, booted up and was browsing the web. When compared with what other manufacturers offer in terms of features at this price point, this computer is hands down the best value out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product meets it's advertised specifics.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Savannah, Ga
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Product is sleek and was easy to set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ease of set up and fast

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
anticipate great value and high quality.... love the all-in-one and touch features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the hd features, picture and sound!!

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milwaukee
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first hone computer, and i didn't hesitate to make this purchase!! The best investment i eever made i love my computer and so does everyone else!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP's redemption

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For this PC I give it two thumbs up. Incredible machine and easy to setup and use! Unlike their Photosmart 7500series: that printer is not even good for a paper weight!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:middleton,mass.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
computer is great,just wish you had add a tutorial for use. still picking my way through how to use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the great tech.

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Issaquah,WA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packed in a great very protected box. The way you get your comp. is sooo important these days.
Easy install, Blazing fast & runs smooth. HP is really the best bang for you buck! Touch Screen
bonus points. Life is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machines!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 3 all-in-ones networked for my small business. This machine is fast and the graphics are exceptional. We also love the touch screen. I highly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Envy

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this computer! I've never had such an easy computer to setup and start using immediately. The space savings from old desktops is amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great PC

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I need and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an excellent product

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As all Hp Touchsmarts it never ceases to amaze me how well built these computers are. NOTHING CAN COMPARE TO AN HP TOUCHSMART in my books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 20-d030xt TouchSmart All-in-One Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Product with one major flaw

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indian Wells, CA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall the computer performs well. However, there is one major flaw that, to me, is inexcusable. One several occasions throughout the day the sound cuts out and the computer has to be rebooted in order to get the sound back. This happens at least three to five times per day. This is simply unacceptable for a computer that is brand new and was recently built to order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.